Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


123 of 127 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Performance and It's a Dash Cam, too!
The first thing you notice is that this camera is a whole lot smaller than you thought it was going to be. Without the waterproof case it measures a diminutive 2.75 inches wide, and the 2 inch viewing screen covers almost the entire back of the camera.

The camera ships without a memory card, so when you buy one I highly recommend at least a Class 10 Micro SD...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars get what you party for
I got this for 40 dollars at Fred Meyer, the handle bar mount works great on my motorcycle (note about previous review - there are two pieces of rubber in the handle bar mount, don't have to use them both!) coupled it with a cheap 8g msd card and it takes video that is good enough to post to YouTube.

It seems to cut the video you take into 5 minute segments...
Published 24 months ago by C. S. Webb


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 127 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Performance and It's a Dash Cam, too!, August 5, 2013
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
The first thing you notice is that this camera is a whole lot smaller than you thought it was going to be. Without the waterproof case it measures a diminutive 2.75 inches wide, and the 2 inch viewing screen covers almost the entire back of the camera.

The camera ships without a memory card, so when you buy one I highly recommend at least a Class 10 Micro SD card. Any HD video camera deserves it. A slower card may not record HD video quick enough to prevent problems such as having your recording stop before you're ready or, worst of all, a slow card might result in data corruption and a camera lock-up. This could be the source of some bad reviews that mention the camera freezing up. Also, you ought to respect the Busy light and do not ask the camera to do anything else while it's saving a file. Just to be safe, there is a tiny reset button on the bottom of the camera. Hope you never have to use it, but it's a better choice than waiting for the battery to expire. So far, I've recorded about 90 minutes of video and plenty of still pictures without a glitch.

Focus range is 120 cm (5 inches) to infinity, but in a pinch you can go in a whole lot closer, up to a half inch with useful results. The 4x zoom is digital, so it will always reduce detail if you use it. Get closer if you can, but if not, you can always crop the pictures when you get home. As for video, as soon as you zoom in you are no longer using 720 HD. My advice: Unless you have a compelling reason, I'd say to keep the camera set at highest resolution for both stills and video, and skip the zoom. For video you actually have two good choices: 720p HD at 30 frames per second, or in case you need to see sharper motion, there is also VGA at 60 fps. Files are saved in AVI format, and either setting will look and sound very good on YouTube and Facebook.

The DVR850HD includes a bike mount with extra spacers, a strap-on helmet mount, a separate tripod mount and, of course, a waterproof enclosure which has its own a tripod mount. Some reviewers have griped about the helmet mount having a strap rather than glue, but I rather like being able to move the camera to a different helmet. Perhaps the most interesting feature is hidden behind the name Vehicle Mounted Mode. No, this is not an anti-shake feature; it's a honest-to-goodness dash-cam! In this mode it will continuously record forever until the battery runs out. Every five minutes the camera automatically saves, so you don't get enormous files. And, if the card fills up, the camera is smart enough to erase the oldest file first. So, for the reviewer who complained that the camera only records 5 minutes at a time: Take it off Vehicle Mounted Mode! I recently shot over 70 minutes of HD dash cam video on a single charge, and when the power got low the camera saved the final file and shut down in an orderly fashion. How big are the HD files? Seventy minutes consumed about 10GB. To save battery power, the camera powers itself off after 5 minutes of standby. If you are in dash cam mode the view screen turns off after a few minutes of recording and a red LED continues to let you know you the camera is still on. Despite the small size, Vivitar even found room to squeeze a teensy playback speaker into the package.

My one disappointment is that this camera cannot shoot while on a charger. When it recognizes a plug in the USB port it assumes you are connected to a computer, and your only two choices will be to offload the pictures or start using the Vivitar as a web cam. That's a real disappointment because it would have been ideal to leave this camera plugged in as a dash cam and never worry about recharging it.

What are the pictures like? Not bad. The center-weight exposure metering gets the job done and, thanks to a coated lens, the pictures show very good color and contrast. Don't expect vivid colors underwater, though. There are technical reasons why everything turns bluish, and your favorite TV shows spend thousands of dollars to make undersea colors look more natural.

The package also includes the "Vivitar Experience Image Manager" on a mini CD. At 18 MB it looked innocent enough, but after it launched a download from the Vivitar site, the final program installation exceeded 120MB. It turns out that the Vivitar experience includes an expanded product manual, (in the language of your choice), plus a picture browser/manager program that finds all the pictures and videos on your PC. It also includes icons for uploading to your favorite social sites, and it lets you can order T-shirts and mugs or create a plain vanilla slide show or custom picture frames.

One word of caution: Treat the buttons with respect. You don't want to smash them like one unfortunate reviewer did. Just press slowly until the camera responds, especially if you are operating the camera through the waterproof housing.

I am giving this camera a high rating, not because it outperforms much more expensive cameras, but because it is an exceptional value in its price range. Store the camera in its waterproof box for protection and to keep the screen pristine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly Superb., June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
I bought this camera to mount on my ATV while riding the Alpinr Loop mountain trails of Colorado ($38). My friend paid $300 for her go pro camera for the same trip. The Vivitar included led screen, zoom, mounting bracket and many other features which the go pro did not. After reviewing comparable trail videos from each camera, I was pleasantly surprised at the clarity of the Vivitar. The go pro was a little bit clearer, but not over $200 worth (in my opinion). Also, the Vivitar held its charge for over 2 days riding, the go pro charge would not last a 4 hour ride. The Vivitar is an excellent buy for the price.

Mike, Dallas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars get what you party for, February 2, 2013
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
I got this for 40 dollars at Fred Meyer, the handle bar mount works great on my motorcycle (note about previous review - there are two pieces of rubber in the handle bar mount, don't have to use them both!) coupled it with a cheap 8g msd card and it takes video that is good enough to post to YouTube.

It seems to cut the video you take into 5 minute segments. Annoying. Battery life seems to be an issue, i charged out to full and it lasted half an hour. Might have to use a usb car charger to use it for extended periods.

It's cheap AND inexpensive. If you wasn't a pro grade get a go pro. If you're a cheapskate like me get this cheap camera and quit complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every cent, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
For the Money the best deal going!
I mounted it to my Motocycle helmet (mount included) and got movie quality riding video through the badlands, Mount Rushmore, Devils Tower etc... also I went on vacation in Cabo and got killer under water video of the local fish and coral reefs! (Waterproof housing also included) for around 50 bucks its worth every cent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Definitely for Amateur Use Only, October 27, 2014
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
I only give this two stars because it does technically work. Battery life is pretty good. Bike helmet attachment is not very good, but the handlebar attachment is pretty sturdy. The two cases (one general tripod-attaching case and one waterproof case) are very sturdy. However, the camera itself is just plain horrible.

- There is NO WAY it's a 5 megapixel sensor. The pictures save as 5-megapixel images, but just looking at them, it looks like a sub-one-megapixel image artificially (and poorly) scaled up to 5 megapixels.
- The description on Amazon right now is wrong - this camera does NOT do 1080p. It has two video modes: 720p at 30 frames per second and 480p at 60 frames per second.
- I haven't tried the 480p setting, but the 720p setting is very rarely actually 30 frames per second. It looks like they meant to implement a variable frame rate so the camera can vary the frame rate under different lighting conditions (much like a smartphone). It does do this, but not while the camera is recording. So if the camera decides that it needs to do 20fps and you hit record, the entire recording will be 20fps. (And that looks like the lowest it goes - very rarely can I get it up to 30fps)
- UPDATE: After further examination, it looks like the camera DOES indeed use a variable frame rate (so if you're outside and it's bright, it will do the full 30 frames per second; then you go inside, it cuts down to around 20 frames per second). HOWEVER, the file is saved with a constant frame rate, probably the minimum frame rate. So essentially, the information of how many frames per second the camera is recording at any given moment is NOT SAVED. So if your lighting changes during the recording, or if the camera just feels like it, the video will NOT play correctly in ANYTHING. I have reduced the review to one star because of this.
- For the video enthusiasts (like me), the video codec is MJPG. That's right, Motion JPEG. The bit rate runs anywhere from 10 to 20 Mbps, so there aren't a lot of horrible visible artifacts (especially during motion), but MJPG is an OLD codec, and it shows. But it does use YUV 4:2:2 chroma sub-sampling, so I guess that's something.
- The image also has horrible ghosting in low-light situations.
- The sensor itself isn't that great - colors are okay, but the lack of contrast makes it apparent that it's a cheap sensor. Also, white balance is always automatic, and white balance sensor is AGGRESSIVE. If it thinks it's wrong, it will change at the drop of a hat. And is also often very wrong, resulting in an orange glow in indoor scenes.
- There is no ability to set the date on the device, so the modified date of files recorded is always wrong.
- Audio is absolutely unusable. It's audible, but only outside of the waterproof case.
- Audio codec is PCM 16-bit.... but 11.025 KHz. So what you do hear sounds worse than an AM radio.

Personally, I won this as a prize at a Dave and Buster's. And that's about all that it's worth to me. It's cool to get those action shots or underwater shots that you can't get otherwise, but if you want to use this for anything more than fun, save up for a GoPro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great good priced recreational camera, October 30, 2014
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
Not exactly what you would use this camera for but it works great for paintballing. I love to very much nothing like a go pro of course but you get more than what you pay for out of it. A great camera for recreational activities if you want to capture what you are doing for future uses or to put it on youtube. Very recommended if you are looking for a good priced camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear quality., October 30, 2014
By 
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
Not what I expected. I thought it was going to be durable for a short amount of time, and be very weak. But I was very wrong. The quality was pretty good. I seen some people mentioned it wasn’t good in cold weather. I’m going to have to say it actually worked just fine. Could of just been a faulty part. They should have contacted staff. Anyways, the camera works just fine for me, and is very good under water to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, October 30, 2014
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
OMG , i went diving wit this, and the quality of the camera is great, i mean it is better than most overpriced cameras out there, plus the fact that its waterproof and completely impermeable, just an extra added bonus. I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really great camera., February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
I really like this camera and got to use it in many different elements the first week of having it.
I took it in the Pacific Ocean off the coast of Maui snorkeling and the case held up fine. Obviously with the waterproof case on the sound quality was muffled a bit as expected but I could still pick up the sounds from the humpback whales that were all around me.
It did great on hikes and driving. It have very good stabilization and clarity. The battery life was alright mine lasted about 1.5 hours and the screen turns off after two minutes to conserve energy. I would recommend this camera to anyone wanting an action camera without the very large price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift!, October 30, 2014
This review is from: Vivitar DVR785HD-BLU 5MP Pro Waterproof Action Camcorder with Case and Mounts Video Camera with 2-Inch LCD Screen (Blue) (Electronics)
I bought this for my brother's birthday. He has started trike drifting and was wanting a camera. I researched a lot of different ones and decided to go with this one since it was a lot cheaper than others. He really likes it. Its easy to use. Stays put on mounts. It is durable and takes really good videos. He has used in all kinds of weather and has not had any problems with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.