Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Value!
It's easy to spend a ton of money on a good monopod. And if you are sporting, for example, a Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L lens, you probably want to go for the industrial strength unit. But...

This item is well built and provides enough support for large DSLR and even fairly large collared telephoto lenses (I use it with a Canon 5D Mark II and the Canon EF 70-200mm...
Published on February 13, 2011 by Paul M. Provencher

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, not good as Dolica similar version
I bought this to replace my lost Dolica monopod with very similar specs, and after reading a lot of good comment about this Vivitar which say that Vivitar and Dolica has the same build and quality, the only different is the thin handle vs thick handle of Dolica.
But the truth is different:
1. Build: bad build with ugly and cheap plastic parts, the metal pike is...
Published on January 3, 2012 by espanola


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Value!, February 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
It's easy to spend a ton of money on a good monopod. And if you are sporting, for example, a Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L lens, you probably want to go for the industrial strength unit. But...

This item is well built and provides enough support for large DSLR and even fairly large collared telephoto lenses (I use it with a Canon 5D Mark II and the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM).

The legs are slotted so they stay straight when you extend them. The clamps are sturdy and hold the legs tightly extended - I have never had them slip. The grip is comfortable and welcome on those days when you're outside and it's cold. The tip has an adjustable foot that provides either a rubber grip or pointed metal spike.

There are a couple things I did to improve this already value-packed monopod though it is perfectly useful as-is.

1. I added a small ball head. This enables me to adjust the angle of the camera - Manfrotto 494 Ball Head Replaces Manfrotto 484

2. I put another c-clip and a swivel onto the strap so that it would not tangle. Only one is needed - this is an example of the type I used South Bend Interlock Swivels - Size 14 - 50 Pack

3. Since I don't use the metal spike and I spend a lot of time on the gym floor with this, I added a furniture leg tip to cover the spike and add a removable grip that I can replace when it wears out. It also keeps the spike covered so that I don't damage the gym floor. TIP LEG RBBR BLK1-1/8CD4 [Misc.]

4. You will need a thread adapter to put the head onto the monopod. I used the Gitzo GS5000 3/8-Inch to 1/4-20-Inch Reducer Adapter You might be able to find one cheaper than this but this is a must have!

At the end of the day, combining the ball head (the most expensive item), the swivel and the furniture tip, this still comes in under a number of more costly monopods.

Note that the case is a nice extra but with the foot and ball head mounted, the monopod does not fit in the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job well, December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
I've been shopping around for a mono-pod, comparing brands, quality and prices. The mono-pod I'm looking for must have these: compact, light weight, rigid enough to support my DSLR (Canon 550D w 18-135mm lens), extend above 60 inches and not cost an arm and a leg. I'm very happy with my purchase. The Vivitar mono-pod met all by specifications. Very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product and price, November 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
Versatile, I use this when in nature for taking pictures, as a walking stick, also, if an animal came at me, I wouldn't be afraid to use it as a club. It's really solid a sturdy. Nice carrying case too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome monopod, same as Dolica but it has a thinner grip, the Dolica monopod has a thicker grip which I prefer., November 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
I'll just say that among the monopods out there that are under $20, the Vivitar VIV-VT-67 is a fantastic monopod for its price and quality.

I. INSIDE THE BOX

Inside the box is a Vivitar Monopod with a bag. The monopod has three levers for extension and has the rubber footing on the bottom that can be twisted up to reveal the spike (for outdoor use).

II. COMPARISONS

Compared to the Dolica Monopod, they are the same size. In fact, they look very much the same with the levers having different line length but everything from top to bottom is the same with the exception of the grip. If you want a thicker grip, then the Dolica is perfect. If you want a thinner grip, then go for the Vivitar. I prefer the thicker grip to hold on to when using my camera.

As for the Opteka, I prefer the connections of the Dolica and Vivitar to my Pistol ball head grip but in terms of build, the Dolica is the better of the three because of the build and the thicker grip. But if you prefer a thinner grip, then the Vivitar monopod is what you want and is just as great!

III. EXPERIENCE

My setup is using a Canon T3i on an Opteka Sidewinder pistol grip using a variety of lenses and this monopod has held on to my equipment PERFECTLY! I have extended it high...but had no need to shoot that high yet. I have used it while up on the short ladder but still, no need to have it extend to the maximum. Also, I've learned from certain Tripods that you go to maximum, you can have some breakage. I haven't had that problem with the Vivitar monopod but if you don't need to use the maximum, then don't. Otherwise if you need more height and will be using a heavy lens, then you may want to go with a thicker, better built monopod (and of course, more expensive).

JUDGMENT CALL:

This is an awesome monopod! For its price, its build and what you get for under $15 is fantastic. Of the three, the Dolica is better FOR ME because of the thicker grip. But by no means is the Vivitar inferior, they are nearly alike, the same exact size, both come with a bag but the Dolica has a thicker grip. If you want a thinner grip, go for the Vivitar monopod.

Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, not good as Dolica similar version, January 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
I bought this to replace my lost Dolica monopod with very similar specs, and after reading a lot of good comment about this Vivitar which say that Vivitar and Dolica has the same build and quality, the only different is the thin handle vs thick handle of Dolica.
But the truth is different:
1. Build: bad build with ugly and cheap plastic parts, the metal pike is unpolished.
2. Quality bad: the clamps are sturdy but work not smoothly as Dolica as you lock/unlock. It is very difficult to put the clamps into position.

In general, the Dolica monopod is far better that this. It is too bad that now I am not in the state to return the Vivitar. I have to keep it but I will not recommend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, effective, February 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
I picked up this monopod to try to reduce the amount of clutter & space my camera gear uses when I travel. So far I can't say I'm completely convinced it was worth purchasing. The amount of space it uses isn't much less than my tripod. Setup time is obviously quicker, but I'm finding very few times where I use it rather than a tripod other than outdoor hikes.

The product itself is fine. There's no release head but otherwise it's unremarkable with not much to complain about. It extends and closes up easily. I added a Professional Mini Ball Head Camera Mount so that I point the camera up and down easily without having to tilt the entire pole - used for looking down off a bridge or canyon wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect tool for crowded places, January 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
Finally a solution to taking video with unsteady hands. My previous tripod was not a good idea in crowded places where you are seated with other people. The monopod is the best solution. I used my Sony Nex3 for both pictures and HD video on this monopod and it is just perfect.

The construction is sturdy and the foot can be turned into a pointed stick if you used it in hiking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job, March 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
EVALUATION
This is a full-size monopod--not a gorilla of a monopod, but full-size. Ironically the very same monopod is sold under different brandnames as a "light weight", as a "heavy duty", and as a "professional" monopod---it is NONE of these. Given that it is actually an average weight (at best), light-duty, amateur monopod, is an excellent design, and a very good value.

The monopod is NOT "professional grade", meaning that it probably will NOT stand up to abuse, and/or constant use, and/or a heavy cameras with a 1000mm lens. Nevertheless a careful pro who occasional uses a monopod for a small to medium-size camera (or is careful to balance larger loads) would probably be very pleased with it. It does everything a monopod should do, and does those things well. It operates quickly and easily, and is very sturdy, proving solid support. Read the 1-star reviews carefully, but take them "with a grain of salt."

IDENTICAL MONOPODS WITH OTHER BRANDNAMES (may be cheaper)
Except for a very slightly different grip, the Vivitar is absolutely identical with Dolica WT-1003 67-Inch Lightweight Monopod---see that entry for excellent photos of the monopod. Identical with the AmazonBasics 67-Inch Monopod Except for a green case, the Opteka MP100 67" Professional Heavy Duty Photo / Video Monopod is absolutely identical to the Dolica. Exactly the same monopod is sold under the "Digital Pro" brandname.

VITAL STATISTICS
> Length: 21 ¼" long fully-collapsed; 67" tall fully extended
> Diameter: uppermost section is 1"; foam grip 1 3/8"; strap ferrule 1 ½"
> Weight: 14 oz; case 3 oz; total 17 oz

FEATURES
> Maximum Height: 67", more than tall enough for most purposes.
> Minimum Height: 21", 23--24" with a (virtually required) ballhead/tilt-head is a little tall for some closeup nature subjects.
> Head (camera threads, etc.): The design is odd, with an free-wheeling plastic collar around a small metal stem (and camera threads), the collar is free-wheeling so that it will not scratch the base of your camera--but you still have to rotate the monopod or your camera to screw them together, or apart. (A few confused reviewers thought that they could just turn the collar to attach/detach the camera, and when that didn't work, they thought it was broken. Turning the collar doesn't do anything, that's just the way it is). Reportedly the metal stem breaks off if you put it under alot of strain (such as a heavy camera). Then, because the attached collar is free-wheeling, it is very difficult to remove the stem from your camera. If that happens, I suspect that you could glue the collar to the stem with a little crazy-glue and then easily unscrew it from your camara. The problem is best avoided by simply NOT attaching your camera directly to the monopod. Instead always used a "quick connect", a tilt head, or a ball head (see below).
> Lanyard: adequate for hanging the monopod from a hook, but too weak to rely on for as a walking stick hand strap.
> Grip: Foam rubber, provides good grip and cushion.
> Body: Channels prevent rotation.
> Thumb locks: Operate quickly and smoothly, and lock securely---actually just a tad too easily. I fear that with a little wear, that the locks will slip. Unlike the less convenient "twist to lock" design (used on many other monopods/tripods), you can't just "twist harder"---there is nothing you can do if the lock doesn't hold. Honestly, I am torn about applying a little silicon grease to the locks to minimize wear, and the concern that the grease might encourage slipping. If you get one with tight leg locks, the silicon grease is highly recommended, it will both make the action smoother and protect against wear---lightly apply to the levers where they rub against the monopod column. Permatex 22058 Dielectric Tune-up Grease - 3 oz. Note that unlike petroleum grease, silicon grease does not damage plastic or attract dirt.
> Tip: Metal tip for hard surfaces; plastic tip screws out over metal tip for indoor surfaces. Neither tip can come loose and get lost. The metal tip is not particularly sharp, and the plastic tip is not soft. That is, the metal tip might slip on smooth rocks, and while the plastic tip will protect most indoor surfaces from scratches, it does little to protect your camera from the jarring of impacts (which is VERY bad for cameras). Therefore it is best NOT to leave your camera on your monopod if you use the monopod as a walking stick. A "quick connect" such as Sima Quick Connect for Tripod can be handy.
> Case: Rugged, attractive black nylon, with full-length zipper and an adjustable shoulder strap. Unfortunately the case will not close with a ball head attached. The usual plastic fittings will not rust, but can be broken by abusive use.

AS A TRAVEL MONOPOD
At 21" collapsed the monopod is too large to fit in most airplane carry-on luggage. Airport security will probably confiscate it if found. 17oz is on the heavy side for travel. For travel, I use a very similar Norazza Monopod-lightweight TD140, which collapses to 15 ½" x ¾" diameter, weighs only 7oz, but is too short (52") for birding and some other situations.

AS A TRAVEL MONOPOD / WALKING STICK / HIKING POLE
A proper hiking pole needs a substantial strap to catch your hand if you slip, so that you do not have to have a death-grip on the grip for hours at a time. The supplied lanyard is inadequate for this purpose and cannot be replaced with a more substantial strap. However, if use a ballhead, you can install the end of a replacement strap beneath the ball head. I have not found replacement straps for sale---but you can make one from a 12" length of 1" black nylon webbing you probably have lying around form old equipment---use a soldering gun to cauterize 1/4" holes in the webbing, about 1/2" from each end. For travel, when I will be hiking, I use a Stansport Outdoorsman Trekking Pole which has camera threads (and therefore can be used as a monopod), and has a very sharp metal tip for gripping ice or rocks and a very shock absorbing rubber tip for indoor surfaces (but I use the rubber tip outdoors to protect my camera from jarring).

ESSENTIAL ACCESSORY
MANY reviewers report that the head (where your camera screws onto the monopod) can break off attached to your camera, and then can be very difficult to remove from your camera. The best insurance against damage to your camera is to use a ball-head or tilt head, which I consider essential anyway (or a "quick connect" see above). For example, Professional Mini Ball Head Camera Mount which is adequate for small to medium-size cameras. Unfortunately the monopod will not fit in the case with the ball-head attached. The silicon grease I mentioned earlier will also make the action of a ball head smoother---usually only a concern shooting video on a tripod, but it's worth knowing. But keep the silicon very far from your lens---it may be very difficult to remove.

BALL HEAD OR TILTHEAD
For video, when you will never take verticals---a tilt head is by far the best solution, the limited motion is more controllable. Manfrotto 234 Monopod Tilt Head (Replaces 3232) But for stills, when you may want to take an occasional vertical, a ball-head is preferred. A compound tripod head offers both options, but requires at least three hands, one to hold the monopod, one (or two) to operate the head, and one for your camera---in contrast, you can hold the monopod and operate a ball-head or tilt-head with one hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice tall monopod, May 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
I reviewed several monopods and decided on the. Vivitar 67 inch. I am 6 feet tall and thought the height might be nice. I received the product and was impressed with the light weight and sturdy construction.

The thickness of the monopod didn't feel or look flimsy and a nice matted black finish looks very professional.
I use a Canon T1i and it secures well and feels solid

Would definitely recommend and I am a happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice and handy, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod (Electronics)
I bought this to go along with my wife's new camera. It's good quality and is very compact and light weight. If you need a steady rest for your photography, but a tripod is too cumbersome, get this instead. One clue however, you will also probably want to get a swivel adapter to screw onto the top of this monopod. That'll run you about $5, but it's worth it, otherwise you can't pan up or down with the camera rigidly affixed to the top of the monopod. Just a suggestion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vivitar VIV-VT-67 67-Inch Monopod
$14.99 $12.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.