Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Learning Tool
As a foreign student who just started learning English 5 years ago, the verbal section is definitely my major obstacle to mastering the SAT. When I first took the PSAT, my verbal percentile was only a 49, but after working through all eight levels of Vocabulary Workshop (A through H) it has increased to a 99 (that was a year ago). Therefore I highly recommend this book...
Published on April 29, 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars wrong
i got this book for my daughter english class but i order the wrong one, so i sent it back to get credit or my money back
Published 11 months ago by evelin martinez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Learning Tool, April 29, 2000
By A Customer
As a foreign student who just started learning English 5 years ago, the verbal section is definitely my major obstacle to mastering the SAT. When I first took the PSAT, my verbal percentile was only a 49, but after working through all eight levels of Vocabulary Workshop (A through H) it has increased to a 99 (that was a year ago). Therefore I highly recommend this book to you (sincerely).
This book is a highly successful tool for guiding and stimulating systematic vocabulary growth for students. It has also been extremely valuable for preparing students to take the types of standardized vocabulary tests commonly used to assess grade placement, competence for graduation, and/or college readiness.
This book contains approximately 300 basic words, selected on the basis of currency in present-day usage, frequency on recognized vocabulary lists, applicability to standardized tests, and current grade-placement research.
The words in the book are organized into 15 short, stimulating units featuring pronunciation, parts of speech, definitions, synonyms, antonyms, and usage.
5 reviews (1 review for every 3 lessons) highlight and reinforce the work of the units through challenging exercises involving SAT-type critical-thinking exercises, definitions, synonyms, antonyms, analogies, sentence completions, word families...
4 accumulative reviews utilize standardized testing techniques to provide ongoing assessment of word mastery, all involving SAT-type critical-thinking.
Other features in this book include: a diagnostic test (which provides ready assessment of student needs at the outset of the term), a final mastery test (which provides end-of-term assessment of student achievement), word roots (which introduces the study of etymology)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vocabulary-building series for grade school-SAT level, April 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vocabulary Workshop: Level F (Paperback)
As a test prep tutor who specializes in exams which test vocubulary knowledge - the SAT, SSAT, ISEE, SHSAT and others - I am always on the lookout for helpful vocabulary-building tools. This series, while not particularly exciting, is excellent; I use the full set. Students in lower grades can start from the lower levels and work their way up, while high school students generally find the highest levels helpful. Each word list is accompanied by a good variety of review and reinforcement drills: sentence completions, mix-n-match, passage readings, etc.

Since this series is often used in schools, my luckier students get their test prep and school vocabulary homework done simultaneously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vocabulary Workshop Book, September 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vocabulary Workshop: Level F (Paperback)
My daughter is a sophomore in high school and uses this book all of the time for working on her vocabulary at home. It's the perfect size to lug around the house with her laptop and all of her textbooks and it has really helped with the vocabulary drills that she has to do each week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vocabulary Workshop: Level F (Paperback)
These are now being used in public school systems at the high school levels honor classes. Very good product. Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocabulary Workshop Level F recommended, November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vocabulary Workshop: Level F (Paperback)
Good practice; however, some vocabulary is too easy for this edition. Also, there are words that aren't exactly synonyms, but they don't have clearly distinguished definitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 17, 2014
Pretty straightforward. Required for school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vocabulary Workshop: Level F (Paperback)
It was just as described and arrived quickly. I bought it used but ther were no marks so my son could use it for school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The book great, the delivery time not so great!, November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vocabulary Workshop: Level F (Paperback)
I received this book a few days later than expected, and when i did receive it, the book had writing in it. Its not too bad and the book itself was in great condition, the only the was the writing and delivery time. It serves the purpose! i would order again from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Usable Copy, October 30, 2013
By 
RainyDay (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Used book as described; only two answers filled in in first lesson; remainder of lessons clean. Well worth the reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vocabulary Workshop: Level F (Paperback)
Very educational book. I got it sooner than I thought I would. The packaging was good and will definitely get the following editions for its ease of use and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vocabulary Workshop: Level F
Vocabulary Workshop: Level F by Jerome Shostak (Paperback - January 31, 2005)
Used & New from: $6.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.