Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$23.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 4, 1999
Studs Turkel is a wonderful interviewer, and over the past five decades he has interviewed many of the great thinkers, writers, and doers of our time. The ones he chose for this collection include Aaron Copland, Oliver Sacks, Margaret Mead, Daniel Ellsberg, Maya Angelou, Pete Seeger, John Kenneth Galbraith, and dozens of others. All together, they provide a fascinating portrait of the last half of 20th century. Highly recommended!
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2007
Having grown up in Chicago and spent a chunk of my adult life there as well, perhaps the thing I miss most is Studs Terkel and WFMT, the best

FM station in the country. I learned as much about life and the never-ending struggle for human rights from Studs' interviews as I did from any

professor or priest. Hearing these wonderful chunks of those conversations again fills me with nostalgia and recharges my batteries for my own twilight struggle against the world's ills.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
If you want to hear what famous people in history (going back to the 1950's) thought about the world, then you should listen to these DVD's. Terkel is a masterful interviewer who digs into each subject with knowledge and enthusiasm. He has important figures from each period talking about their philosophy. Sometimes even before they have become famous, like Woody Allen. He speaks with authors, singers, musicians, writers, and other artists mostly. It helps pass the time during a commute. If you love history and listening to interviews, you will love this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2008
These interviews do NOT disappoint!!! They are concise, interesting and provide a clear crystal-like glimpse into each person Stud's interviews.
I wish there were more. Studs manages to be down to earth yet not fawning.
Charlie Rose, take lesson from Studs! When will there be more???
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2008
Studs Terkel is one of the great historians, letting the stories be told by those who actually witnessed the event. Terkel is one of the foremost oral historians, and these interviews are only a mere insight into the amount of work he has done and recorded.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
My husband and I listened to these interviews while we were on a long car trip, and it was almost possible to imagine ourselves lifted back in time, listening to the actual radio interviews as they were originally heard in our parents' homes. As the interviews moved forward in time, we could recall the famous people and how they influenced our own youth. What was particularly interesting was not only feeling transported back in time but also considering the accuracy of the interview stubjects' predictions for the future and evaluating their opinions and advice with the benefit of hindsight. Very interesting and entertaining!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Celebrity interviews: Studs did it first! Studs may still be the best!

The interviews on this collection do not leave the listener wanting more. Studs does it "just right"! He is the master of the obvious - he asks the questions that we'd ask if the subjects were sitting at our dinner table. On this collection he talks to Gore Vidal, Bertrand Russell, Woody Allen, Dorothy Parker and Pete Seeger, just to name a few.

Studs was non-confrontational though he never failed to ask the hard quesions.

This is a refreshing collection of interviews with important and interesting subjects conducted by a master. Well worth your time and money.....bg
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
He captures quickly and simply the essence of persons who were the fabric
of our culture in the 20th Century. Studs never showboats or gets in the way
of our listening and getting a feeling about what those people were all about.
They're short bites--8 or 10 minutes each. Some witty, some self-involved, some boring.
But all interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2009
The interviews are wonderful but... only small excerpts are provided on 6 cds. Would and could have been a more comprehensive box of his (Studs) works if MP3s were employed and the entire interviews provided.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2009
For brief periods of time I shared moments with people I've read, saw on TV, film, listened to - some I've admired, some I wasn't too sure of, but these little glimpses into the past, into moments of time are magical - the sounds of everyday life, the coffee being drunk, the cigarette inhaled, an intake of breath, the traffic outside a Manhattan hotel window in a decade long since passed, an interviewee singing a song, telling a story, sharing a joke, moments of sadness, laughter - none of it polished, rehearsed, plastic and perfect, all of it 'real' - it's a wonderful CD and Studs Terkel a Master Interviewer.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse