Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Breakdown!
"Voltron: Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion" (as newly titled by Media Blasters) is a 3-disc set featuring Lion Force Season One episodes 1-15 digitally "re-assembled frame-by-frame from the best available sources (mostly from original Japanese film negatives), and video and audio imperfections wiped clean wherever possible." The set comes in a "[Blue]...
Published on June 27, 2006 by Servo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first DVD box set for Lion Force Voltron
This three-disc box set contains the first fifteen episodes of the Lion Force Voltron series. The first two discs each contain six episodes, while the third disc contains three episodes and the special features.

When I watched this set, I noticed on the second DVD that some of the episodes looked a little fuzzy. This is probably due to the fact that Media...
Published on October 1, 2008 by Lesley Aeschliman


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Breakdown!, June 27, 2006
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Voltron - Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion (DVD)
"Voltron: Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion" (as newly titled by Media Blasters) is a 3-disc set featuring Lion Force Season One episodes 1-15 digitally "re-assembled frame-by-frame from the best available sources (mostly from original Japanese film negatives), and video and audio imperfections wiped clean wherever possible." The set comes in a "[Blue] Lion's head" special molded tin designed to be stackable with subsequent volumes. Described as "quite the set" by Media Blasters, fans who've been longing to own "Voltron" on DVD are sure to be pleased by all the work put into this set and following volumes. Here are how the discs will be configured, plus a list of extras:

Disc 1:
1. "Space Explorers Captured"
2. "Escape to Another Planet"
3. "A Ghost and Four Keys"
4. "The Missing Key"
5. "The Princess Joins Up"
6. "The Right Arm of Voltron"

Disc 2:
7. "The Lion Has New Claws"
8. "The Stolen Lion"
9. "A Pretty Spy"
10. "Secret of the White Lion"
11. "Surrender"
12. "Bad Birthday Party"

Disc 3:
13. "The Witch Gets a Facelift"
14. "Yurak Gets His Pink Slip"
15. "Give Me Your Princess"

Special Features:
*Original Pilot: "The Voltron Trilogy"
*Staff Interviews
*Making of the DVDs
*New 5.1 surround mix
*Insert: Episode Synopses with Original Air Dates

Voltron - Collection One: Blue Lion
September 26th!

Form Blazing Sword!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Planned Releases for Voltron (English + Japan Versions), June 9, 2006
By 
Jason Dodge (Milaca, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voltron - Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion (DVD)
In September 2006, Media Blasters, in conjunction with World Events Productions, is releasing Voltron: Defender of the Universe on a series of Special Edition DVD boxed sets. Each set will contain about 15 episodes, all with a newly remastered 5.1 audio (created just for this release) and remastered video.

In addition to original character sketches, TV ads, and news footage, the DVDs will contain new extras created "with help from the original producers and staff." This will reportedly contain never-before-seen interviews that have been previously created over the years, but never made available to the public before.

In 2007, Media Blasters is also planning to release the original uncut Japanese version of Voltron, under the original translation title "Hundred Beast King GoLion" and the Japan-only sequel series under the translated name "Armored Squadron Dairugger XV" on DVD starting next year. They both will be uncut and subtitled - which is perfect for all of the hardcore anime fans out there. We get the original series they way we remembered it, and the way it appered on Japan TV - with subtitles - plus the official 52 episode sequal series to the original Voltron (which never was released outside of Japan in any form).

Originally, "Hyakujuu Ou Golion" ran in Japan for 52 episodes from 1981-82, but when it was released in the USA as Voltron in 1984, the show's popularity was so immense that World Events Productions commissioned Toei Animation (the original creators) to produce 20 more episodes exclusively for the western audience. I really can't say enough positive coments about Voltron, but it had me memorised as a kid. As popular as Transformers and G.I. Joe was, it was still produced by American companies trying to make money by marketing a toy-line with an inexpensively made cartoon program. I love both of those series, but it really was the more maturely-written anime programs that had stories and animation well beyond what was available in the USA at the time. Robotech might be more fondly rememberd on the websites nowadays, but Voltron will always be what started my love affair with Japanese animation -- even though I didn't even really know what "anime" was back then. I hope the diehard fans enjoy this DVD collection I much as I do. I even hear a new toy-line will make some kind of appearance along with the DVD release, and a possible marketing campain from Cartoon Network themselves (who will also show the series in some form). Also, please don't confuse this release with the rather bad CGI-based 26-episode "Voltron: The Third Dimension" (1998) that was only produced in the USA. The failure of this "new" Voltron franchise brought CGI animation studio Netter Digital to bankruptcy. If you never saw it -- it wasn't the worst thing around, but it was probably for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voltron's Legend Continues With Collection Two!, October 8, 2006
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Picking up where Voltron - Collection One left off with the next 15 episodes in the series (note the continuing disc and episode numbering), "Voltron: Defender of the Universe - Collection Two: Yellow Lion" is a 3-disc (350 min.) set featuring digitally remastered Lion Force Season One episodes 16-30. The set comes in a "[Yellow] Lion's head" special molded tin; features Full Frame (1.33:1) video, English Dolby 5.1 audio; and is the 2nd of 8 "Voltron" DVDs (5 Lion Force, 3 Vehicle Team) planned for release by Media Blasters. Also of fun note is that at the time Collection Two was first announced, Media Blasters confirmed that the Lion head tins would release in the order in which the lions form Voltron in the show: Blue & Yellow [the feet & legs], Green & Red [the arms & body], and Black lion [the head]. As with the previous collection, fans are sure to be pleased by all the work put into this continuing set. Here are how the discs will be configured, plus a list of extras:

Disc 4:
16. "Bridge Over the River Chozzerai"
17. "My Brother Is A Robeast"
18. "Zarkon is Dying"
19. "The Buried Castle"
20. "Pidge's Home Planet"
21. "It'll Be A Cold Day"

Disc 5:
22. "The Deadly Flowers"
23. "It Takes Real Lions"
24. "Raid of the Alien Mice"
25. "Short Run of the Centipede Express"
26. "The Invisible Robeast"
27. "The Green Medusa"

Disc 6:
28. "The Treasure of Planet Tyrus"
29. "Magnetic Attraction"
30. "The Sleeping Princess"

Special Features:
* Buckethead music video, "Viva Voltron!"
* Exclusive Staff interviews on: The Life & The Legend; The Toys
* TV Ads
* International Voltron: Voltron in different languages
* AnimeWorks Trailers
* Newly remastered picture, 5.1 Surround Sound
* Insert: Episode Synopses with Original Air Dates Booklet

Voltron - Collection Two: Yellow Lion
December 12th!

Go Voltron!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voltron - Collection Three: Green Lion!, September 2, 2007
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Voltron, the mighty robot loved by good, feared by evil returns with the next 15 episodes in the series with Voltron: Defender of the Universe - Collection Three: Green Lion. Picking up where Collection Two left off, Voltron - Collection Three is a 3-disc (375 min.) set featuring digitally remastered Lion Force Season One episodes 31-45. The 3rd of 8 Voltron DVDs planned for release by Media Blasters, Voltron - Collection Three features Full Frame (1.33:1) video, English Dolby 5.1 audio; and comes in a "[Green] Lion's head" special molded tin, confirming the studio's Collection Two announcement that the lion head tins would release in the order in which the lions formed Voltron on the show (Blue, Yellow, Green, Red and Black). Not to mention extras which include an exclusive interview with John Peterson, the man behind the show's memorable music! As with the previous collections, fans will be amazed by all the work put into this continuing set. Keep 'em coming. Here are the episodes contained in this collection, plus a list of extras:

Episodes:
31. "The Sincerest Form of Flattery"
32. "A Transplant for the Blue Lion"
33. "Attack of the Fierce Frogs"
34. "Lotor Traps Pidge"
35. "Doom Boycotts the Space Olympics"
36. "Lotor's Clone"
37. "Lotor's New Hitman"
38. "Raid of the Red Berets"
39. "The Captive Comet"
40. "The Little Prince"
41. "There Will Be A Royal Wedding"
42. "The Sand People"
43. "Voltron Frees the Slaves"
44. "Voltron vs. Voltron"
45. "One Princess To Another"

Special Features:
* New 5.1 Surround Mix
* Interview with rapper Murphy Lee
* 1984 News Reels
* Exclusive Composer Interview
* TV Spots
* Episode synopses with original airdates

Go Voltron!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VOLTRON LIVES!!, September 12, 2006
By 
This review is from: Voltron - Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion (DVD)
First of all, my apologies to Amazon...I had this item preordered and then I cancelled my preorder today when I was able to get a copy from a national electronics chain with a price tag for a logo...TWO WEEKS SOONER THAN AMAZON WAS GOING TO GET IT!!

The packaging is great...Just one look at the tin with the head of the blue lion on the front and Princess Allura on the back shows just the surface of what is inside.

The episodes are just about as you remember them, just better looking.

Hardcore fans will notice certain minor things that are different, but they are just minor. One of those items is that the on screen fonts used for scene locations and the end credits are totally different than the original shows...There is a reason for that. If you watch the "making of" DVD feature on disc three, you will see that Media Blasters had to go to Toei Animation in Japan to get a new digital copy of the original animation film since the World Events Productions broadcast copies were to "blurry" to even work with. What this means is that MB recreated each scene frame by frame, matched it up with the audio tracks, and rebuilt each episode practically by hand to give us the best experience ever.

Someone over on the Voltron.com message boards posted side by side comparisons of the new US release and a Aussie DVD release in terms of picture quality, and the US release is hands down the best.

I can't wait for the next volume to come out later this fall as well as the eventual subsequent releases of the rest of the Lion Voltron series, Vehicle Voltron and the Japanese originals of GoLion and Armored Squadron Dairugger XV

If you are a VOLTRON fan, don't wait, get on board now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voltron Rules!, July 2, 2007
Thanks for the free episode. This is one of "the" classic animation series of all time! Love it!

BTW, Macs aren't supported by Unbox. I downloaded the file to my PC and it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the beef?, July 2, 2007
By 
John Paul "eyewitness" (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
What are you guys talking about? I had absolutely no problem with the download and episode one is free! This show looks better on my computer than it ever looked in the 80's on TV. Forget about the new Transformers movie today and rock out with VOLTRON. Go VOLTRON Force!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, December 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Voltron - Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion (DVD)
I bought this product because my youngest son loved it when he was a child. So right before he left for his second tour of duty in Iraq, I bought it for him for Christmas.

Even though he is a husband, father, brother, son, soldier, police officer and training Captin for a state prison here, for a moment in time he was the child again. His face lit up and he said my favorite of all times.

I pray he will be home again in time for Christmas. If I can afford it I will be buying more for him. So for all the parents out there who have a son who loved the Voltron cartoon get this and you will see the child once again. I pray for all of our troops over seas.

Sandra Heptinstall

Whispering Winds Book Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voltron Season One, October 19, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Voltron - Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion (DVD)
Man I have said it once I will say it again; the 1980s was the best time to be a child. We had Voltron, Transformers, GIJOE, M.A.S.K., Thundercats, Battle of the Planets aka G-Force, and many other awsome cartoons. I am glad to see many of my favorite cartoons coming out on DVDs that way I can share it wth my little cousins and my own kids when I have them. Voltron ranks up there with many of the best cartoons of the 1980s and this series is a must for anyone that wants to relive their childhood. GO VOLTRON FORCE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Amazing, September 22, 2006
This review is from: Voltron - Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion (DVD)
I would probably pay twice what they're asking. No, that's not a hint to the corporations to charge more, just that other old cartoon series on DVD often go for more and you get less. A lot less. Voltron has been painstakingly restored for the fans, and the fans all agree that this is as good as it gets. The picture is clearer than it ever was, thanks to the re-cutting of the Go Lion footage, the audio fantastic in 5.1 surround, and the extras are fun and informative. Even the packaging is fun, and not too tedious. This is one of my all time favourite shows from when I was a kid. I find it not just nostalgic, but still entertaining for me to watch as an adult, and now I've got my son hooked on it as well. While I know the genre has taken a turn towards graphic violence and innuendo, the creators of Voltron worked very hard to cut that stuff out. I'm not a fan of censorship, but in this instance it works and it's fun to have such an entertaining show that appeals to my young son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Voltron - Defender of the Universe - Collection One: Blue Lion
$33.98 $29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.