Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 29, 2002
This 2 hour made-for-television "Voltron" movie debuted near the end of Voltron's original run in late 1986 (it even aired on primetime where I lived!). In this sequence, (animated for American audiences) both the Lion and Vehicle Force Voltrons are featured, and they join up to battle King Zarkon and Prince Lotor's "Fleet Of Doom". In my humble opinion, the animation and music from this special (along with the 2nd season of the Lion Force Voltron) does not measure up to the original animation of Golion and Dairugger XV, the anime that the Voltron series was based on.
However, it is very cool to see the casts of both versions of the Voltron series interacting for the first time onscreen. For those who want to discover the magic of the Voltron series for the first time, I highly recommend starting with the original five episodes of the Lion Force Voltron, sometimes available as "Castle Of Lions", or on Amazon you will find at least the four of the first five episodes on "Vol 2: Space Explores Captured" and "Vol. 3: A Ghost & Four Keys".
Thanks for reading!
Knyte.
P.S. I was wondering if any other Amazonians out there would be interested in buying a Voltron Television Soundtrack (like the "Robotech" one) if one were made available...if so, let me know. Thanks much in advance for your time!
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2002
Before "Anime" was a household word, kids were tuning in to see the ultimate mecha, Voltron:Defender of the Universe every afternoon. A sort of Holy Grail of an episode is the "Fleet of Doom" installment, in which the the Golion (Lion Voltron)team and the DairuggerXV (vehichle Voltron)team up to battle an evil alliance between their respective nemesis, King Hazar, and the Drule Empire. I caught part of it once when I was a kid, and was never able to catch it again.I recently got this tape, however, and it does not dissapoint. Cheesy? Sure.Dated? You bet. Fun? YOU BETTER...BELIEVE IT!I could vege in front of this wonderful escapist fare for hours right now, just as easily as I did all those years ago. In fact, I think I'll order a few more tapes and do just that.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2009
I don't think the other reviews of this product are very fair.

The picture and sound quality on this release is definetly superior to the previous release which was by the way was just a limited edition that WEP released themselves.

Media Blasters gave this feature the same respect they gave the rest of the Voltron series from Lion force to Vehicle force.

Before you go unfairly bashing this product, remember how crappy the first DVD release was. (The sound was the main issue)

If you as a collector or a casual fan want a really great copy of this special on DVD, this version is the one to get.

Stay away from the previous release at all costs.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2003
Great to see good anim. again, with a PLOTLINE! None of the dumb lack-of-plotlines that you find in the ... "Mighty Morphin Power Rangers"(how I hated that show!)
Voltron is right up there with He-Man and ThunderCats.
A must buy for anyone who loves 80's stuff!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
A short and sweet Voltron team up including both the Lion Force and Vehicle Voltrons. this is dated material (1986) which only adds to the nostalgic feel. The action doesn't kick in until about the last 20 minutes (this is only 46 minutes), but all in all didn't disappoint.
There are not much extras to speak of and no additional inserts that come with the dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
I bought this a few weeks ago and it brings back great memories. Of when I was a kid back in the 1980's, back when cartoons were worth watching. Nowadays kids watch silly dumbed down crap, or the same 3 overrated anime titles . Like for example Dragonball-Z , Naruto, and, Bleach, some of these kids not knowing that there are other popular anime titles out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2013
I won't go too far into the the story as anyone reading this is probably already a big fan of Voltron and knows the story. This short movie involves the traditional lion team Voltron meeting up with the Voltron made of, basically, cars and helicopters and battling against a horde of monsters...and even an evil Voltron-type monster. The picture quality is much what one would expect from a 30 year old tv special. The audio is just alright. Nothing amazing. Certainly not up to the standards of the incredible tin cased sets of the tv series. All in all, you definately need to get this to complete your Voltron collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
Awesome movie! If you are a fan of the Voltron Lion Force and the Voltron Vehicle Force from the early 1980's, then this is the movie for you. Both Voltron's work together to defeat the evil Lotor and his creation of a combiner machine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2012
Recommended to any fan of the 80's Voltron cartoon. Brings back some great memories. Also, this was one of the better fight scenes between both Voltron's and the robeast.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
I have to say I love Voltron Fleet of Doom. Seeing at the end where both the Lion and Vehicle Voltrons came together to fight the one robeast that came into one giant robot was some great action. The graphics was good and great quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse