Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
Volume 6: 1928-1929 has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Volume 6: 1928-1929
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Volume 6: 1928-1929

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, April 20, 2004
"Please retry"
$9.99 $7.88
$13.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Volume 6: 1928-1929 + Volume 5 + Volume 7: Whoopee Makers, Remaining Titles 1929-33
Price for all three: $52.65

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

This is the sixth of what has grown to be a seven volume project devoted to the complete recordings of Ben Pollack's Orchestra from 1926-33 (excluding the Hotsy Totsy Gang sessions). This basically the Ben Pollack group without Pollack. The tracks are from recordings for small independent record companies like Domino, Regal and Cameo featuring group pseudonyms such as Goody & His GoodTimers, The Lumberjacks and Jimmy Bracken's Toe Ticklers. Features Jack Teagarden, Jimmy Dorsey, Irving Mills, Jimmy McPartland, Al Harris, Benny Goodman, Dick Morgan and others.

1. Cause I'm in Love
2. Digga Digga Do
3. Whoopee Stomp
4. Baby
5. Bugle Call Rag
6. Blue Little You
7. A Japanese Dream
8. Hungry for Love
9. Futuristic Rhythm
10. Out Where the Blues Begin
11. Railroad Man
12. I Wonder Where Mary Is Tonight?
13. There's Something New 'Bout the Old Moon Tonight
14. Mexicali Moon
15. Shirt Tail Stomp
16. Icky Blues
17. It's Tight Like That
18. Four or Five Times
19. Digga Digga Do [Alternate Take]
20. Whoopee Stomp [Alternate Take]
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 20, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Jazz Oracle
  • ASIN: B0001IXT8G
  • Average Customer Review: 2.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #40,081 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Volumes 6 and 7 of Jazz Oracle's Ben Pollack series documents music by selected members of Pollack's star-studded 1928-9 dance orchestra, made for budget labels under names like the Whoopee Makers, Lumberjacks and other aliases . Several private collectors have pooled their resources to assemble all known original recordings, including numerous out-takes. Though the best of these ("Whoopee Stomp," "Makin' Friends," "'Cause I'm in Love," "It's Tight Like That," "Digga Digga Do" etc.) are sterling performances, others are lifeless stock arrangements of routine pop tunes, included here solely for completeness. Several others are misguided comic send-ups of dixieland perennials like "Tiger Rag," "After You've Gone" and a Ted Lewis-influenced novelty called "Shirt Tail Stomp." Even though Benny Goodman, Jack Teagarden and Jimmy McPartland take part, it's music that sounds like a cross between Spike Jones and the Hoosier Hot Shots and makes you wonder what they were thinking of. Surprisingly, the late John R.T. Davies' transfers from original discs are often muddy and distorted. Ordinarily his work set the standard for sound restoration, but these fall considerably below the mark.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: vinyl pop