Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VOX Tonelab Meets My Needs and Roadworthy as He#@
I bought the VOX Valvetronix Tonelab ST about 2 months ago and love it. I'm primarily a keys player who backs up the lead guitarist occasionally on guitar, so I needed a unit with plenty of preloaded, great guitar sounds: clean, chunky and downright screaming. I plug directly into the mixer board, so having the fatter tube sound is perfect. The unit is compact enough...
Published on January 30, 2010 by P. Thompson

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds great, usability so-so
I A/B'd this extensively with the POD X3 before purchasing it. I went with this because it gave a much more convincing emulation of a tube amp, particularly played clean. It just had a body and sparkle to the sound I could never get out of the POD. The problem, I have discovered over time, is that it acts like a single-channel amp that is not easily switchable between a...
Published on August 14, 2010 by Alright Yeah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds great, usability so-so, August 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
I A/B'd this extensively with the POD X3 before purchasing it. I went with this because it gave a much more convincing emulation of a tube amp, particularly played clean. It just had a body and sparkle to the sound I could never get out of the POD. The problem, I have discovered over time, is that it acts like a single-channel amp that is not easily switchable between a good clean sound and a good overdriven sound at anywhere near the same volume. This is because it only sounds really good with the master volume cranked all the way up. With the master volume all the way up, a good low-gain sound is going to be way quieter than a good high-gain sound. This can be compensated for with the power level knob on the back of the unit, but this knob is not programmable, making it impossible to switch directly between clean and overdriven without a huge volume jump - you'd have to adjust the power level knob every time, or live with an anemic overdriven sound if you lower the master volume. The built-in distortion/overdrive effects are not tweakable enough to really make up for this, either. Also, its capabilities as an audio/recording interface are minimal compared to the POD. So, in summary: much better tube amp emulation than the POD, but only within a very particular range of adjustability, making it a cool practice tool but not really practical for live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VOX Tonelab Meets My Needs and Roadworthy as He#@, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
I bought the VOX Valvetronix Tonelab ST about 2 months ago and love it. I'm primarily a keys player who backs up the lead guitarist occasionally on guitar, so I needed a unit with plenty of preloaded, great guitar sounds: clean, chunky and downright screaming. I plug directly into the mixer board, so having the fatter tube sound is perfect. The unit is compact enough to sit on the corner of my keyboard, allowing quick adjustments with the knobs. I play out every weekend with three bands (80's stuff to current) and every band is impressed with the new addition; we're learning more "guitar driven" tunage just because of the Tonelab! And roadworthy???? A couple weeks ago, I backed over my gig bag (Tonelab taking the brunt of it) with my TRUCK... besides being a little compressed on one side, it still works great!! Way to go VOX!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for what it is, January 5, 2012
By 
Fernand Ray (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
All of these multi-effects units basically offer the same thing: various degrees of distortion with delay/chorus/yadda yadda and minimal reverb and a pedal. So the advantage of this one is that you can get one pretty cheaply, especially used (some dude decides to "upgrade"). In addition it functions as a USB audio interface with a passable ASIO driver. There's a librarian app, but no patch editor.

I purchased, and returned, several Boss units that all sounded like zzzzz fuzzboxes. Granted, a GT10 is much more flexible in routing and programming, but it always sounds metallic-transistor-fuzz. The Vox units sound more like tubes, the sound is pleasing and fat and warmer than most, though in reality I doubt that glowing 12AX7 really plays much of a role in this. The range of possible effects and "models" is good. This unit is a cost-effective way to get those overdrive and effected sounds. The tuner can be useful live, but doesn't have much of a display. There are lots of clever little things here, like stereo adjustable output, and different EQ curves for different boxes you'll plug it into. It's a live stomp box that's pretty studio-savvy in good ways.

The big on-stage problem is that the only way to change sounds live is to step through presets. THAT's pretty useless, as you can't get to your #13 preset without stepping through 9,10,11,12, and you get big jumps in level on the way. Try going from 3 to 38. There's a way to step by 10s, but it requires holding down tiny switches. And try remembering what patches 77, 78, 79 are. You get the picture. If you assign the pedal to volume you can get around the level shifts, and at least quiet it while you step, step, step, but then if you want to assign the pedal to a parameter, you lose the volume control. OK, it doesn't have everything.

But this is a great unit for practice, studio work, and maybe an occasional gig, though for real live work, you do need something with at least individually switchable effect sections. A detail is that the ST expects an electric guitar input. With piezo pickups the presets sound completely different, rather anemic.

So why 4 stars? After trying units costing up to several hundred, I concluded that ALL of these were about the same, the differences are effectively cosmetic, and this one sounds actually more than just OK - so why spend more?

EDIT: it took me about a year to realize that the most important thing in evaluating a modeler is to ignore the factory presets and start clean with just the amp models, and understand how they react to dynamics. By 2013 the modeling technology is getting much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE greatest amp modeller, March 26, 2011
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
Pros:

this unit is technologically MORE advanced than Line 6, it has a real power tube amp,
which surprisingly 'reconfigures' itself according to what amp model you choose (hey I am a tube amp addict, so bear with me).

For example, the old Vox amps didn't have negative feedback, so when I select the AC models on the Tonelab,the power amp AUTOMATICALLY
RECONFIGURES ITSELF for no negative feedback. Then, if I select 'UK Rock', which is a Marshall modelling, (but not mentioned on the ST
because of copyright) the power amp in the ST reconfigures itself for NEGATIVE FEEDBACK, as on a real Marshall!

The Tonelab is a VERY sophisticated modelling machine, while Line 6 models it with DIGITAL DISTORTION, the Tonelab not only models it
with a REAL TUBE, but also with a complete POWER AMP. Yes not many will understand what I am writing here. Vox actually simplified the jargon
on the ST compared to the old Tonelab, for example the '68 plexi model is simply called 'UK Rock', and the ST manual doesn't mention the technical
amp tech detail mentioned in the manual of the old Tonelab, in fact, to understand the ST better, I have studied both manuals.

What it all adds up to is this: no other modelling device, hardware or software, does what the Tonelab does!
Line 6, Amplitube, etc, they all model out of digital distortion, the Tonelab is analog real tube tone, hello ?

More authentic and organic tones than the Line 6 units
excellent build quality (roadworthy)
compact
very good value for money
wide range of quality, realistic tube sounds
quality effects and preamps

even doubles up as an ASIO soundcard for your pc, you can record with the tonelab right into Reaper with NO FREAKING LATENCY!!

Cons:

noise reductor not as good as on my Ibanez TK999 pedal, it is just passable,

I wish the Tonelab had a tube preamp too, beside the tube power amp (which is great).

Conclusion: not perfect, but still the BEST amp modeller out there, in my opinion far more organic and natural sounding than Line 6, and especially better than Guitar Rig and Amplitube and I am a tube amp maniac so I know what sounds good and what doesn't.
The Tonelab produces surprisingly dynamic overdrive, and you can feel the tube power amp (it has a tube POWER amp!) changing character with different presets, just as explained in the manual. On some presets the attack of the pick completely changes and becomes squashed, reminded me of a tone that George Lynch was using in a guitar book, very warm and mushy, but really really musical and responsive, perfect for fast picking, and he was using a Marshall stack. On some other sounds, the pick attack becomes very tight, hard and less sweet. It's very difficult to explain all that with words. The Tonelab is the most impressive pedalboard I came across, and I never liked any before.

Recommended buy!

---------------------------------

Update: I have had this little ace for 1 year now and I just love it. It gives me the sounds I'll ever need, honestly I am not even bothering about amps anymore. Just today I dialled a spectacular Angus Young / early Malmsteen tone from the UK ROCK amp model, by using the Tube OD and boosting it slightly with a Boss pre-eq. FANTASTIC! With this setting, there's also a lot less background noise (and the Tonelab ST is not super-quiet, because the noise suppressor is not very usable if set over one third -it will cut the note's tail- but hey, I am not bitching, this gadget is pretty amazing. )

Honest, it blows all the other modellers out of the water, both software and hardware, and it offers a wealth of tonal variety for recording, the ST inspires you to use more variety in your sound. With an amp, you only dial up your usual two or three sounds. The Tonelab goes BEYOND. Winner on all fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, December 10, 2011
By 
J. Schneider "john_jps" (Mosinee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
Versatile multi-effects board with lots of tones in it. Sounds great but is very fuzzy.

Pros:
- easy to dial in decent tone regardless of what you're after: clean, pushed clean, fuzzy, chunky, etc...
- pretty good effects... Tube OD on top of a Marshall... distortion on top of a 5150 on 10? You can do it!
- really nice chorus effect... just fills up the entire sonic spectrum
- decent delay too - better than Line 6's basic offerings (tap tempo actually works with high-speed taps)
- don't forget you can pick different cabinets too... these make a huge difference.

Cons:
- really fuzzy especially with high gain
- noise reduction is worthless (so unfortunately you can't destroy the fuzz!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compact Aural Powerhouse, May 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
The VOX Tonelab ST multi-effects processing unit is a hot little device packed with features. Being my first effects hardware purchase in five years of guitar playing, I browsed the market for weeks before ultimately choosing what I discerned to be the best available product for my limited budget, and I was not disappointed. The preset Amp Models are organic and authentic, and the Cabinet Models can be used to create an enormous variety of sounds. To complement this already impressive library of sound, the hugely malleable inbuilt effects make the Tonelab's potential virtually boundless. The only issue which detracts from the quality of the device is the lack of any other kind of indicator screen than the two-digit display which denotes what number effect is being used. However, this is a minuscule issue easily overshadowed by the incredible tonal variety and quality the ST has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vox Tonelab ST, June 6, 2014
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
This was my very first effects pedal. It has everything you need to learn all the little basics of guitar effects. Everything is quite straightforward. Almost every switch, knob, and For a beginner, this pedal is not too bad. However, it falls a lot short when it comes to sound quality and sturdiness.

Sound: A beginner of guitar effects will not see many negatives from this item. Someone who knows good tone will not like this pedal at all. It has a very electronic sound that is completely different from a stompbox which are more raw and pure. The only way I am capable of explaining it is that it has a very "fake" sound similar to that of a synthesizer. The delay repeats are off-tune and also, sound very electronic and "synthy".

Some issues I've went through are:
1. Sound spikes. Randomly after turning it on, the volume would be very wavy or it would stay in very low volume for a while until I restart it a couple of times or simply wait for it to disappear.
2. The expression pedal part got very loose and crunchy after about 8 months or so (while using it 2-3 times a month outside of the house) and now it is completely unusable
3. BUZZ / HISS
4. The tuner suddenly stopped working one day. It just reads F# when I'm not even picking a string.

This is definitely not a quality item. If this were a watch, it is a low-end Swatch. A guitar, a low-end Yamaha. A car, a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. You get the idea.
Even if you cannot afford separate pedals, do not pick this one. Have a little patience or maybe go for a Zoom, Digitech, Boss, or Line6 if you really want something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Option For $199.00, January 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
I looked at the reviews on youtube, this one made me take the decision [...], i was interested on getting a classic sound to play led zeppelin, acdc, iron maiden, etc, this pedal works great for that type of sound, it have presets already programed for back in black, black dog, enter sadman, message in the bottle, the trooper, all along the watchtower, man in the box, etc. This have exactly what you need if you want that vintage sound, i tested a line 6 pod plus that a friend got, not recomended at all, i have a digitech bp80 for my bass and i had a digitech RP355 that i sold because the sound was too midi, like the sound you get from your guitar pro, that one was not good. The expression pedal of this Vox tonelab st its awesome, you can have a wha, whammy and volume pedal that works great, i was afraid that the expression pedal could be fragile and that is going to break easily, but this one is great, by the way, this pedal is not made of plastic, its metal. The only problem i had so far is to program the effects, i hate to do it manually, when y plugged the unit to the pc, was detected really fast by windows 7, y opened the tone lab software and it allows you to navigate all the effects with a single click, but then i openened the editor software, i was able to edit two delays options and then the software stoped detecting the pedal, i try deleting the software and installing it again, that didnt work, i tryied it on my laptop running xp and that didnt work either, i went to a forum and i discovered that all people is having this problem. After all for a pedal that cost $199.00 this is the best option, if youre looking for led zeppeling, iron maiden, black sabbath, deep purple, jimmy hendrix, acdc sound, this is the pedal for you, if you want something for megadeth, pantera, metallica, ozzy osburne, sepultura .... dont buy this one, just spend like $100 more and get the Boss ME 70, the best pedal for that sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY accurate amp models, November 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
I am an avid "sound guy" kind of dude in the band. I care HIGHLY of guitar guitar tone and whatnot. I've dealt with amplitube, guitar rig, and other vsts for guitar tone. The poulin legion VST is my favorite. But all the VST plugins in the world are no match for this BEAST. It's perhaps the best preamp you could get if you're into VST plugins as well. It will offer a nice tube sound to whatever your rig is, as long as this is a primary distortion or pre-gain type setup.
The effects can't be run simultaneously, but you can go around that on the computer if you know how to do such things. With the price, and the QUALITY of the amp models and distortion drives, it has a full five stars. I'm sure it just doesn't have enough processing power to run many effects at once, so you'll have to live with ONLY chorus, or ONLY flangers, or chorus/delay effect, etc.
It sounds phenomenal though. I was going to buy better pickups, but this is what my sound needed. I may still get better pickups since I have stock though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible sound, March 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal (Electronics)
I really like the sound coming out of this little box. It was a bit smaller than I had anticipated. The learning curve on customizing this unit is rather lengthy. The best part is the REAL tube that is built-in. Comes with the AC adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vox ToneLab ST Guitar Multi-Effects Processor Pedal
$275.00 $121.00
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.