Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Scanner with Loads of accessories and Software!
First off, This Wand scanner is the 4TH generation of the Vupoint wand scanners and I think the Newest one out too with the Large LCD screen! But On to the review - I bought this scanner to replace my beat up old outdated desktop PC scanner and for the Ultra Portability and the Convenient Scanner Base that makes scanning Picture album photos so much more simpler! Batter...
Published 13 months ago by Dave Williams

versus
38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Portable; overall good scanning quality; wobbly or skewed scanning at times
This is a review for the VuPoint PDS-ST470PE-VP Portable Scanner.

This is a good scanner for flat documents (as advertised), but it doesn't perform well with book pages. Appreciate it's compact size and convenience.

PROS
- Scans flat documents, such as sheets of paper and photographs, well. Color and details are very good.
- Portable and...
Published 9 months ago by VN


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Scanner with Loads of accessories and Software!, November 11, 2013
First off, This Wand scanner is the 4TH generation of the Vupoint wand scanners and I think the Newest one out too with the Large LCD screen! But On to the review - I bought this scanner to replace my beat up old outdated desktop PC scanner and for the Ultra Portability and the Convenient Scanner Base that makes scanning Picture album photos so much more simpler! Batter life is Very Excellent, The Quality of Photos and fabric materials and Paper documents look astonishing! With THREE different Quality settings you cant go wrong with Photo Quality!!! I thought at first how could a Wand Scanner be able to scan different things around the house as good as a Large PC desktop scanner could, BUT i was Mistaken! This Vupoint Wand scanner works Perfect and Gave me Excellent scanned images and word documents all stored to a Micro SD card that is Included with the Wand Scanner, How nice is that?! And the Great thing about this scanner i really like alot is the Large LCD screen it has to Preview the scanned images that are stored on the SD Card, Much better than the wand scanners out there with smaller LCD screens. I scanned the fabric of a throw pillow i had on the couch and i could see the threads in the pillow so crystal clear you can literally count the threads with this Wand Scanner!
You can easily hook this Scanner up with a USB cable that is included to the PC and the menu box pops up on the PC screen to allow you to view the things you scanned easily without having to remove the Micro SD card!
I bought the separate scanner base so i could have something that held the wand scanner a bit more stable instead of holding the scanner in my hand an trying to wave it over the Photo or document i wanted to scan and the scanner base does just that...It holds the wand scanner very well because it just snaps into the base and keeps it there tightly, And i pushed photos through the base and boy was it Awesome fast and Quality is Superb!
***Also to note you can scan images or important documents to send to someone in an email or phone text and it makes it that much more easier to get it out to that specific person, Works Great for scrapbook pages or if your going to use Fabric or material for sewing and need to find that certain color or pattern then there it will be held on the Nice little Micro SD card that you can use on any PC at anybody's house! It can even scan the color of your CAR to find a Dent or ding, Now that is cool!
I highly recommend this Wand scanner to anybody looking to scan documents and Album photos easily and quickly with Ultimate Photo quality! Much better than my PC desktop scanner I used to own! And Go ahead and purchase the scanner base too, You will Not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Portable; overall good scanning quality; wobbly or skewed scanning at times, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VuPoint PDS-ST470PE-VP Compact Portable Wand Scanner with 1.5" Color Viewfinder (Office Product)
This is a review for the VuPoint PDS-ST470PE-VP Portable Scanner.

This is a good scanner for flat documents (as advertised), but it doesn't perform well with book pages. Appreciate it's compact size and convenience.

PROS
- Scans flat documents, such as sheets of paper and photographs, well. Color and details are very good.
- Portable and relatively small
- Nice color preview screen, which other wand scanners typically don't offer.
- Storage is on micro SD card, which, with the full-size adapter, is a universally used storage medium
- Can transfer scans using USB cable or micro SD card to computer

CONS
- Prone to wobbling/veering during scanning, probably due to the single roller on bottom surface. There are a couple other wand scanners out there with double rolls, which helps prevent veering. The wobbling/veering produces scans that are distorted in areas.
- Preview screen has clunky navigation and actually stretches some preview images (but the scan is actually fine), which somewhat defeats the purpose of checking a scan with the preview screen.
- Cannot scan book pages well. VuPoint does not advertise this item as a book page scanner, but I tried it anyway and thought I'd share my experience. The scanning window does not extend close enough to either end of the wand's bottom surface, so the wand cannot effectively scan near the gutter of a book. Therefore, if you hold the scanner horizontally on the right page of a book and start scanning top to bottom (or bottom to top), the left side contents near the gutter of the book are missed entirely. Also, if you hold the scanner vertically (parallel to the gutter), and scan left to right, you might be able to capture the contents near the gutter, but you will lose the contents on the right edge of the page. Why? The single roller will fall of the page, signalling to the scanner that you are no longer dragging the scanner the left to right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good scanner, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VuPoint PDS-ST470PE-VP Compact Portable Wand Scanner with 1.5" Color Viewfinder (Office Product)
I really like this thing. It works very well and does what I wanted it for and more. It is also much faster and easier to use than my desk top scanner.
I have found out a couple things about it that others might be interested in. The JPG files that it creates could not be saved after being edited with Canon's Zoom Browser photo editing program. That program would hang-up when I tried to save the edited JPG from the Magic Wand scanner. I found that if opened the scaner's JPG with Microsoft's Paint, then only saved it, Zoom Browser would work just fine with it. I also found that the medium resolution of 600 dpi makes the best quality scans. They are very clear and much better than ones made at the HI resolution of 1050 or 1200. Talking to friend who is in to high quality photography, he told me that is common with even very expensive scanners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for magazines and books, ok for papers, January 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VuPoint PDS-ST470PE-VP Compact Portable Wand Scanner with 1.5" Color Viewfinder (Office Product)
I got this because my wife and I tend to hoard magazines to save an artificial or recipe we want to have as a reference. We also seem to have a ton of paperwork for her business and our farm so I wanted to be able to clean it up without getting rid of anything we need for taxes.

Pros: This works much better than a flat scanner for books and magazines. Not needing to have it connected to a computer. Doesn't take up much space

Cons: For papers it leaves a little to be desired since you have to try to pull it straight and snow enough that it can capture the document but not so slow it times out.

I know there is an sheet feeder adapter that might solve some of the manual pulling issues and looking around you can get the feeder and scanner as a set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected!!, December 17, 2013
By 
V.S, (Northeast USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It has been able to scan what ever I have needed so far. The slim design is easy to use and charges well. At first, it seemed as though all of my photos were going to be skewed a bit, according to the display screen. Once I was able to download my photos on to a computer, every single document and photo came out just fine!! I was very excited and I will be taking this item with me on many trips to visit relatives for those long sought after photos and documents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viewpoint ST470, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Looks and works Great!! Very impressive. Really nice quality scans, and the larger screen is a plus.

This will fit in the SOFT CASE that is sold by Viewpoint, but WILL NOT IN THE HARD CASE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPACT WAND SCANNER from Amazon, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Arrived quickly and packaged well. Been using it for a month now on a iMac which needed no programing. It does come with programing for Windows. it does a great job of coping anything you slide it across. Mine came with a 8GB Micro card and SD adapter. It also came with a 110 volt ac charger and USB cable for downloading and also charging the built in rechargeable battery. The quality of scans is unbeatable. I have a very expensive printer/scanner for high quality photos and the VuPoint does a better job. Also very easy to use, and being a male, didn't even have to read the book. It takes between 5 and 7 sec. to scan a 8˝ x 11" full color picture and it slides very smoothly and in a straight line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Handy Tool!, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased as a gift for my husband for Christmas, and he loves it! He was surprised how easy it is to use and how nice a quality it reproduces. Great price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VuPoint PDS-ST470PE-VP Compact Portable Wand Scanner with 1.5" Color Viewfinder (Office Product)
good product. the scan quality is good, you just have to learn how to scan properly and it works perfectly. the mini screen is of much help, cause u can have a preview of the result without having to plug to a computer. besides, it comes with a litlle bag/cover, and some cleaning material. good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copy on the go, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VuPoint PDS-ST470PE-VP Compact Portable Wand Scanner with 1.5" Color Viewfinder (Office Product)
This is a must for people who need a way to copy on the go. No computer needed. I use mine with a base unit. I copy and convert to word with the software that comes with it. You do need a computer to do the converting part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.