Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Andra Day Storm Fire TV Stick Grocery Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services Home Theater Setup Plumbing Services Assembly Services Shop all tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Fire HD Kids Edition Kindle Voyage The Walking Dead\ Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Case and artwork are in great condition! CD has light marks. Ships within 24 hours!
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Vultures Await
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Vultures Await

3 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, September 7, 2004
"Please retry"
$29.99 $9.84

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

That Will Johnson is a powerful and prolific songwriter is not up for debate. His 200+ songs sustain three thriving, simultaneous musical entities: Centro-matic, South San Gabriel and his solo work. Johnson’s talent is well documented – Centro-matic’s 2003 release, Love You Just The Same, was the recipient of endless praise in the press, with mentions of Neil Young and the Replacements littering the reviews; South San Gabriel’s hallucinatory chamber country, especially live, has been noted by such outlets as the New York Times.

After a seemingly endless itinerary of tour dates (including stints with My Morning Jacket, Death Cab For Cutie, Ben Kweller and more), Johnson has opted to strip things down on his second solo album. Vultures Await blends the minimalism of Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band with the classic Americana of Springsteen’s Nebraska. It carries the darkness absent in Johnson’s other projects, but is not just somber – an underlying hopefulness flows through these songs. Stark vocal melodies cut a swath to Appalachia; ghosts of roadhouse barmen backing up against Flannery O’Connor are interwoven throughout piano ballads, acoustic elegies and, occasionally, fully fleshed-out pop songs that carry the seamless, rough emotion of a Southern literary genius. Sit back, have a drink and spend a little time with this one. You won’t regret it.


"...It's a hootenanny of sweetly weathered proportions, freewheeling clap-alongs and perfectly boozy balladry..." -- Magnet

"Country twang with a pinch of emo...It's hearty, stick-to-your-ribs fare that makes you proud to be an American." -- Rolling Stone Hot List

1. Catherine Dupree
2. Just To Know What You've Been Dreaming
3. Vultures Await
4. Just Some Silence
5. Sleep A While
6. As Victims Would
7. Closing Down My House
8. On, Caledonia
9. Your Bulldozer
10. A Thousand Other Parts
11. Fly, My Sweet Dove
12. Nothin' But Godzilla

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 7, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Misra Records
  • ASIN: B0002QO36E
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #77,405 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Marvin Mckee on September 18, 2004
Format: Audio CD
what an amazingly prolific songwriter - just keeps churning out great stuff. after six full length cds and numerous eps with centro-matic, two excellent south san gabriel cds, will now offers up a second superb "solo" effort. i say "solo" because will is once again joined by by centro mates scott (fiddle) and matt (drum programming?). however, will plays all instruments other than fiddle, showcasing the extraordinary musical talent that he is. as is the case with many of my favorite cds, vultures await took a few listens to appreciate the full package. some highlights are the tom waitsesque 'catherine dupree'; nice scott fiddle on 'just some silence' and 'sleep a while'; the upbeat 'just to know youve been dreaming' (nice piano chorus line); rhythm and blues on 'fly, my sweet dove'; will and an acoustic guitar 'as victims would' and 'a thousand other parts'; personal fav 'closing down my house'. fabulous stuff. word is that the guys are working on the next south san gabriel. cant wait.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By M. Gaines VINE VOICE on September 26, 2004
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
WIll Johnson maintains the crown 'most prolific' of any performer/songwriter/band member within the canon of American contemporary recording artists of this century. A cultural icon to those who are aware of his abilities while an outer fringe cult artist to those whom have not a clue.

"Catherine Dupree" and "Just To Know What You've Been Dreaming" are just two of the songs that most recording artists today would kill to have written and recorded.

The beauty of Will's music, solo as well as with Centro Matic, is the sense of past musical accomplishments set by others, revisting those places of reference without reguritating, emerging with a true sense of musical purpose and scope.

These are wide musical landscapes to loose oneself, a place of solitude and reflection, poetic and powerfull, delicate yet balanced. Truly amazing in magnitude. Listen and be prepared to be drawn into the musical world of Will Johnson and Centro Matic, contenders that lerk behind the curtains, waiting to be disclosed to those who will listen............
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Jeannette Altman on March 30, 2015
Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
Brilliant in its intelligence and sincerity, this album is suited perfectly for a Sunday afternoon. I love his homey, raw voice. This is a wonderful album.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?