Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: W.C. Fields Collected Shorts
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars27
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2006
This set comprises "The Dentist", "The Golf Specialist" and "The Fatal Glass of Beer".

The quality of the dvd is relatively decent.

If you're looking for W.C. Fields shorts and are on a budget this isn't a bad place to start.

If you want to know anything else about these three short films check the

"Criterion" collection of these classics.
22 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2010
If I were paying for "The Dentist" alone, this DVD would be worth it. At such a low price (at the time I bought it) you cannot go wrong. As a previous reviewer said, the Dentist bit is hilarious every time. He was a genius of comedy. A special note: obtain his two collections and this DVD,and you probably will not need any others.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
Three of my favorite w.c field classics. For the time this was really risque stuff-especially the "dentist" sketch. He was vaudeville and everyone including the ladies were a hoot! Listen carefully to his on time remarks carefully and you will get the jokes.
Just received this dvd and they did a really good job of cleaning up the video and audio. I have seen other copies that you could barely watch due to the lousy reproduction but i was really impressed with this one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
Three Shorts (W C Fields, 1930-33)

"The Dentist" (1930), "The Golf Specialist" (1932) and "The Fatal Glass of Beer" (1933). Quite reasonable copy. The shorts, as ever, hilarious, like in the sequence of the dentist father asking his teenage daughter: Where is my newspaper? Answer: You're sitting on it. Next: Where are my golf clubs - You just fell over them &c. Fields acknowledges the information like he had never asked the question, with some mildly mumbling approval.

199us - Three Shorts (W C Fields, 1930-33) -Go for it! - 15/10/2012
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2009
W.C. Fields is one of the old time greats! Just a great laugh! I can see "The Dentist" a million times and I still lose it - it's great. All of his films are great as far as my husband and I are concerned.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
GREAT QUALITY AND CONTENT AS PROMISED. GLAD TO HAVE "THE DENTIST" AGAIN. ONCE HAD IT ON BETA AND AGAIN ON VHS AND NOW ON DVD. IT WAS BANNED FOR A WHILE. CONSIDERED TOO RISQUE'........."AND A BEAUTIFUL THING IT IS"....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
WC was an all time classic, comedic genius! I just got the DVD and watched it right away, and I forgot how funny the Man was.
So many subtle innuendos and sight gags! If You want to laugh for the first time, or laugh again at the Man's humor, buy the DVD.
It is worth much more than the bargain price I paid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
With a combination of site gags and brutal humor, W.C. Fields was probably the funniest man of his time. No one else could get away with kicking a dog and even a small child. These shorts are a perfect place for an intro. of the "Great Man". And yes, he did drink a lot.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
LOVED EVERY ONE OF THEM ..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Huge Fields fan and will be purchasing others "shorts" of Mr. Fields soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse