Customer Reviews


2,304 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,537)
4 star:
 (326)
3 star:
 (172)
2 star:
 (104)
1 star:
 (165)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


737 of 801 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restful & Pleasing to Me!
The first time I encountered a salt lamp was in a local day spa that features therapeutic massages. The warm, glowing product captured my interest and curiosity. That particular salt lamp at the spa was big, though,--a sphere kind of like something from a Harry Potter movie--LOL! The salt sphere was costing over $100, so it was beyond my budget at the time. My curiosity...
Published on May 14, 2010 by Arcturus70

versus
309 of 371 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two defective lamps so far!
I bought two of these Salt Lamps.... Within days the electric went on one of them. Amazon replaced it.. Now 2 1/2 months later, another lamps electric is defective. The first one I believe was just a faulty electric on/off (rotation) switch.

But this one now appears to be a faulty design with these lamps.

I took this apart and the electric bulb...
Published on December 10, 2011 by James Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

737 of 801 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restful & Pleasing to Me!, May 14, 2010
By 
Arcturus70 "Arcturus70" (In the Orion Spur of the Milky Way Galaxy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first time I encountered a salt lamp was in a local day spa that features therapeutic massages. The warm, glowing product captured my interest and curiosity. That particular salt lamp at the spa was big, though,--a sphere kind of like something from a Harry Potter movie--LOL! The salt sphere was costing over $100, so it was beyond my budget at the time. My curiosity led to me Amazon to see if I could find a smaller, more affordable one. To my joy, I found that Amazon had various opportunities for a product like this, but to my worry, there seemed to be some negativity / problems about certain groups of products. I read all the mixed reviews from various products, including the horror stories where people had received defective, damaged lamps and beat up boxes. After landing on this product's page and mulling it over for a day or two, I decided to try the product...for better or worse. I clicked checkout, and I didn't set my expectations too high. So, the day came, and the product arrived in a nice, clean sturdy outer box with plastic air bags as internal cushions. The product was heavy, but its personal box inside the shipping box was in pristine condition---no bangs, dents, scraps, etc. My heart lifted! So, I carefully opened that outer box and encountered a white innerbox, then at last, the product in carefully arranged, secure bubble wrap. It was quite obviously new---not some display product that had been in someone's shop and stuffed in a box at the last minute for shipping. I did NOT see any broken pieces, shards, dust, or broken bulb! (The bulb was included; some reviewers had stated they had received the product with no bulb.) Also, one of the best things for me: no upfront assembly was required! :) Once the lamp was free from packing materials, it was ready to go! I flipped the generous-sized switch and received the beauty, magic, and joy a salt lamp promised to offer.

In my experience with this WBM International product, everything was in perfect order--better than expected actually, and the product even came with a helpful little user manual that discusses the following: 1) Product Features; 2) Benefits; 3) Locations for Usage; 4) FAQ section; 5) Safety Instructions & Handling; 6) Operating Instructions and maintenance; 7) How to Change Bulb when needed / what type of replacement bulb to use; and 8) company contact information. I suggest that everyone read this information thoroughly before using the lamp!

One of the FAQ questions caught my eye, and I thought it was interesting information to pass along to potential buyers: "What size should an Ionic Salt Lamp be to give the best results?" The answer was given with some examples in a little grid, but here, I will give you some of the information as text. Quoted from User Manual: "A rough rule of thumb is 1 pound for every 10 square feet." / For optimal results in large rooms, several lamps should be strategically placed throughout the room." Examples:Room: Office Cubicle; lamp size needed, 4-8lbs. Room Size: 10' x 20'; lamp size needed, 16-23lbs **

**You should be aware, though, that some people believe such products' health benefits to be an outright hoax / scam from specified source, and googling salt lamp scams can be very interesting reading for those that like to delve into more research and debates, You get to see people that swear by them and people who believe its all bunk--with everything in between. It can be really difficult to decide who to believe and why! LOL :)

Health Happy product or Hoax--it's still an interesting, unusual lamp to me. The whole product is really earthy and natural looking, and if someone didn't like earthy and natural, he / she may not like this product. People who like smooth, "elegant" products and no jagged edges may not like this product. I, however, was pleased with the unique, somewhat egg shape of my lamp. I find its peaks and valleys to be most distinctive and interesting.

From my view, the light's color is rather like a happy, warm orange that rather glows like embers in the fireplace. I cannot speak to its actual ionic health properties and / or as scam folks would say, the "lack there of." I believe that determination comes with more use and time and what people wish to research and believe or disbelieve as the case may be. However, in my home, this strange lamp comforts through its glow and appearance. It inspires creativity, conversation, and humor--really, its hard to be so miserable and serious around a lamp made of a large lump of salt! LOL I feel most blessed to have received a quality, intact product, and it is my wish that others receive the same quality and satisfaction with the Salt Lamp as I have. My advise is to read product reviews and informational articles first before you buy---especially with certain manufacturers as well as certain types of electrical chords / bases. Be safety concerned for you and yours as apparently there are a lot of inferior products in this category from certain providers / sellers! Be sure to look at SELLER reviews / ratings also. [I suspect the seller / manufacturers makes a notable difference between receiving quality and a box of junk --scams, crams, and otherwise.] A visit to the WBM International website can give you specific product details as it relates to uses for their products like the one on this page, its benefits, and even its alleged healing. Sometimes, with healing and comfort, attitude and belief are everything! If you believe something is positive in your life and helpful, then maybe in many cases that something is! :) Everyone's experiences are different.

This is a lamp to rest or relax by, not to read by. As with any electrical product, exercise caution AND good sense, especially when changing the bulb or working with the cord. I personally would be mindful about putting this around small children or pets who might grab or bump it--potentially hurting themselves or the lamp. To help other buyers, I have added some images of the box I received. One of the panels confirms the UL listing. // I purchased the "Ships from and sold by Amazon.com" option, and my salt lamp is from WBM. [There seems to be at least one competing product from Ancient Secrets and Tiger Dive!] Again read choices and reviews carefully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


405 of 453 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Helps!!!!!, August 3, 2010
This review is from: WBM Himalayan Light #1002 Natural Air Purifying Himalayan Salt Lamp with Neem Wood Base, Bulb and Dimmer switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
I moved into my new apartment and had the worst allergies. I was taking medicine but I was still waking up every morning with a lot of mucous in my sinuses/throat/everywhere. So a friend told me about her salt crystal lamp and how it had helped her so I went ahead and bought this. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now and no more allergies! This think is amazing! I was skeptical at first especially since it's electric but even after a couple days of use I noticed a huge improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


388 of 454 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neato Lamp - Gives Off a Nice Light, May 3, 2010
Before I realized they were sold here, I bought one on clearance at the Vitamin Shoppe (50% off retail). My personal experience is that they are very nice-looking (IMHO) and since I bought mine with positive intentions, I am reminded of that, when I turn it on. I use it in my bedroom, on a wooden dresser (no issues with moisture or flaking, but I have had to replace the bulb once within the 6 months I've owned it). I've used it in two homes now, and really like the "decor" effect it gave, in both. Currently, there are bright lights outside my bedroom window, which cast unpleasant shadows around my room at night. I haven't yet gotten shades, but I do use the lamp while I'm sleeping, which eliminates these shadows as I fall asleep, or if I wake up in the night ('cause there's some light inside the room, now). If you're a 'conscious-shopper', and the production/procurement/distribution methods affect your buying choices, that might be another thing to consider, as I don't know how these lamps come into being. I have seen some brands tout their fair-tradey-ness, so if you're concerned about that, I'm thinking there may be a number of options. I'm generally an open-minded skeptic, who finds all this new-agey "stuff" interesting enough to research, or at least look into. These lamps may have the ability to ionize/purify/filter, but I can't prove that, in my personal experience. I do know that I like how it looks (on & off), I often feel better/calmer when I have it on (who knows why?!), it is a good reminder for those positive intentions, as well as a 'signal' that it's time to relax and get ready for bed (I think that can be proven via stimulus/response), the price (for mine) was right, and, when I bought it, I needed a lower-light lamp, anyway. So, if any part of my experience resonates with your needs, and if you can afford to take the risk that you may really just be buying a dim lamp, then it may be a worthy purchase, as at least THIS new-agey item does have one scientifically-proven function.

I rely on reviews here at Amazon, to help me make informed buying choices. I hope this review has helped you in the same manner. If you voted this as helpful, I Thank You!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


309 of 371 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two defective lamps so far!, December 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WBM Himalayan Light #1002 Natural Air Purifying Himalayan Salt Lamp with Neem Wood Base, Bulb and Dimmer switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought two of these Salt Lamps.... Within days the electric went on one of them. Amazon replaced it.. Now 2 1/2 months later, another lamps electric is defective. The first one I believe was just a faulty electric on/off (rotation) switch.

But this one now appears to be a faulty design with these lamps.

I took this apart and the electric bulb holder was loaded with salt that apparently had loosened up from the lamp because of the heat and moisture. I cleaned it and replaced the bulb from my other lamp, but it will not work. There should be something covering the bulb and bulb holder to prevent the salt from getting all over it..

Also good to know, both of my lamps drip a lot of water on to the furniture they are on.. I've placed a dish under both of them, but the danger is the cord ends up sitting in the water as the water now collects in the dish! Not a good idea me thinks!

These lamps are a good idea. they give out a nice light, but the electric portion of this lamp is destined to fail as the salt falls down on the bulb and holder and the cord sitting in the water.. And it is dangerous that the lamp cord ends up sitting in water collect is the dish placed under the lamp.

I would strongly suggest to anyone using these lamps to place a dish under the lamp and empty it daily. I would also suggest you take the bottom of the unit (electric) off the lamp weekly and clean out any salt near the bulb..

Jim

December 21, 2011

I now have more info and concerns about these lamps... As I explained in my initial review, these lamps gather moisture from the air and will make your furniture wet, very wet. Placing a saucer under the lamp is supposed to protect your furniture, the only problem is the water gathers in the saucer and the lamp cord is sitting in the water, THIS IS SO DANGEROUS!

Well now I have found with the lamp plugged in, but the light not turned on, this salt lamp still collects a lot of water in the saucer, thus allowing the plugged in cord again to be sitting in water!! I can not express how DANGEROUS this is!

I have removed the electrical part of the Lamp, placed the Salt part on my kitchen counters and again, water is all over the counters... This time the electric was not plugged in, but I am amazed how much moisture these salt lamps collect from the air! Certainly most people buy these lamps to use the light, doing so puts every user in danger. The cord comes out of the lamp on the bottom, and this is where the water gathers in the saucer... Any lamp plugged in while the cord is sitting in water is HIGHLY DANGEROUS for electrocuting someone!

PLEASE BE EXTREMELY CAREFUL WITH THESE LAMPs!

JIM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something great, May 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WBM Himalayan Light #1002 Natural Air Purifying Himalayan Salt Lamp with Neem Wood Base, Bulb and Dimmer switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is the fourth Himalayan Natural Salt Lamp I Have ordered. All my family wants one. Amazon prices have been the best and shipping is really great. The lamp really works.!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have found that they do work!, November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My wife and I are amazed by the beauty of these lights as they are very soothing to look at. Ours looks like a large glowing ember and creates a feeling of warmth about it. But it is how these lights work that blew us away. The claim that these lights can help sinus sufferers seems to have some truth to it. What really clinched it was when we placed one near my wife's father who is 98 years old, has C.O.P.D. and is paralyzed on one side and bed ridden. His normal routine included between 6 or 7 nebulizer treatments a day. After about a week we noticed that he was going longer and longer times between treatments. Currently he needs only 4 treatments a day and none during the night. Nothing else has changed in regards to his care-giving and he was completely unaware of the lamp and it's effects (he could not see it as it was behind him and out of his sight). The people we hire to care-give during the day are equally amazed by his improved breathing. When we finally told him about the lamp he just couldn't believe a light could help him with his breathing. The claim that these lights purify the air also seems based on fact. Since we care-give 24/7 to my wife's father and currently live with him, our house hasn't been lived in for going on 6 years now (except for rare times we can get away over night to sleep there). The house developed a musty smell due to a lack of activity and so I decided to buy a lamp for the house. Within a few days the house had a much fresher smell-no fragrance just a fresh smell, with no funky odors. People who visit us are struck by the beauty of these lights. We have 3 at my father-in-law's residence and one at our home. When we tell them about the added benefit of how these lights can help with breathing problems and eliminate odors they ask me to get them one too! To date I have purchased 29, yes that is right-29 lights for family and friends. I'm sure that Amazon must think that I am crazy for buying so many lights. I'm probably going to order even more since every time I buy these lights, sometimes 4 at a time, they are already spoken for and I have to reorder to fill the new requests. I have read the reviews of those who say they do not work,(in all fairness to the lamps they are not a cure-all but simply help lessen the severity of the symptoms). It appears that the more severe the health problems are, the greater the beneficial results can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sceptic impressed, December 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not into homeopathic medicine and new age cures, but my dad is. I got this as a Christmas gift for him because he's obsessed with crystals and "changing the energy" in the household. I thought this was perfect because it's not only a crystal, but it ionizes the air-- literally changing the energy of the room. When I first received it, I tested it out to see how well it works, and after leaving it on for only an hour, I could noticeably smell the difference of the air. There was a crisp smell similar to ozone that emanated from the salt. I thought it would take a large amount of time, or wouldn't be something I could notice, but I was so impressed by how large of a difference it made that I bought another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 of 5 stars, July 12, 2010
By 
lori kuchenbeisser (fort lauderdale, fl) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like it very much. Except in the instructions they say to water it to release the energy. WRONG! The heat from the light bulb is what releases the energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fire hazard, September 28, 2012
This review is from: WBM Himalayan Light #1002 Natural Air Purifying Himalayan Salt Lamp with Neem Wood Base, Bulb and Dimmer switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
We live in a high humidity area. one day after having one of these on for a few months smoke started coming out. I opened it up and salt had collected in the bulb fixture and and fixture was turning black and ends of wires were black and smoking.

The base is wood and it was on a wood table. GOOD THING I WAS HOME!

Maybe if you leave it on all the time so the salt can not condense enough water it would not be a problem. But the instructions had no mention of possible fire hazard.

Potentially dangerous product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 100 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A salty story, January 27, 2011
These lamps do give off a lovely glow. They claim "Works as an air purifier by emitting negative ions into the air"; so I was expecting a smell or at least the feeling that the sea air gives with its' negative ions - but that is not present.
Still it is a lovely lamp. The one negative incident concerning it, is that if the light is left on for a prolonged period of time, some salt leaches - it `drips' and forms around and over the wood base, so I placed it on a saucer which now has salt `growing' on it.
If you are prepared for that ...fine, but I would keep an eye on this situation despite the light's lovely light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.