Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: WCW War Games: WCW's Most Notorious Matches
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
67
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 18, 2013
According to WWEDVDNEWS.COM here is the sneak peak match listing for the WWE "War Games - WCW's Most Notorious Matches" DVD DVD/Blu-Ray.

DISC 1

Creating the War Games

War Games Match
The Super Powers (Dusty Rhodes, The Road Warriors, Nikita Koloff & Paul Ellering) vs. The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair, Lex Luger, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard & J.J. Dillon)
Great American Bash - Atlanta, GA * July 4, 1987

Great American Bash On Tour

War Games Match
Dusty Rhodes, The Road Warriors, Nikita Koloff & Paul Ellering vs. The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair, Lex Luger, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard) & The War Machine
Great American Bash - Miami, FL * July 31, 1987

A Different Type of Animal

Tower of Doom Match
The Road Warriors, "Dr. Death" Steve Williams, Ron Garvin & Jimmy Garvin vs. Kevin Sullivan, Mike Rotunda, Al Perez, Russian Assassin & Ivan Koloff
Great American Bash * July 10, 1988

Brutality

War Games Match
Dusty Rhodes, Lex Luger, Nikita Koloff, "Dr. Death" Steve Williams & Paul Ellering vs. The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair, Barry Windham, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard & J.J. Dillon)
Great American Bash Tour - Greensboro, NC * July 16, 1988

Live Events

War Games Match
The Road Warriors, The Midnight Express & "Dr. Death" Steve Williams vs. The Fabulous Freebirds & The Samoan Swat Team
Great American Bash * July 23, 1989

DISC 2

Getting Replaced

War Games Match
The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair, Sid Vicious, Barry Windham & Larry Zbyszko) vs. Sting, Brian Pillman, & The Steiner Brothers
WCW WrestleWar * February 24, 1991

Talent Change

War Games Match
Sting's Squadron (Sting, Nikita Koloff, Dustin Rhodes, Ricky Steamboat & Barry Windham) vs. The Dangerous Alliance (Arn Anderson, Bobby Eaton, Steve Austin, Larry Zbyszko & Rick Rude)
WCW WrestleWar * May 17, 1992

The Almighty Dollar

War Games Match
Sting, Davey Boy Smith, Dustin Rhodes & The Shockmaster vs. Sid Vicious, Vader & Harlem Heat
WCW Fall Brawl * September 19, 1993

A Really Special Night

War Games Match
Dusty Rhodes, Dustin Rhodes & The Nasty Boys vs. Terry Funk, Arn Anderson, Bunkhouse Buck & Colonel Robert Parker
WCW Fall Brawl * September 18, 1994

DISC 3

Pride in Their Product

War Games Match
The Hulkamaniacs (Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Lex Luger & Sting) vs. The Dungeon of Doom (Kamala the Ugandan Giant, The Zodiac, The Shark & Meng)
WCW Fall Brawl * September 17, 1995

Glimmer of a Fire

War Games Match
Team nWo ("Hollywood" Hulk Hogan, Scott Hall, Kevin Nash & A Mystery Partner) vs. Team WCW (Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Lex Luger & Sting)
WCW Fall Brawl * September 15, 1996

Pulling Out Every Stop

War Games Match
Team nWo (Kevin Nash, Buff Bagwell, Syxx & Konnan) vs. The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair, Steve McMichael, Chris Benoit & Curt Hennig)
WCW Fall Brawl * September 14, 1997

The Talent Made The War Games

War Games Match
Team WCW (Diamond Dallas Page, Roddy Piper & The Warrior) vs. Team Hollywood ("Hollywood" Hulk Hogan, Stevie Ray & Bret Hart) vs. Team Wolfpac (Kevin Nash, Sting & Lex Luger)
WCW Fall Brawl * September 13, 1998

The End of the War Games

War Games 2000 Match
Sting, Booker T, Goldberg & KroniK vs. Kevin Nash, Jeff Jarrett, Scott Steiner & The Harris Brothers
WCW Monday Nitro * September 4, 2000

The Main Event

Blu-Ray EXCLUSIVES

Rage in the Cage Match
Brian Lee, Jimmy Golden, Ricky Morton, Robert Fuller & Robert Gibson vs. Kevin Sullivan, Killer Kyle, The Tazmaniac , Stan Lane & Tom Prichard
Smoky Mountain Wrestling: Volunteer Slam II * May 9, 1993

Ultimate Jeopardy Steel Cage Match
Tommy Dreamer, Public Enemy & The Pitbulls vs. Raven, Stevie Richards, The Eliminators & The Heavenly Bodies
ECW December to Dismember * December 9, 1995

Ultimate Jeopardy Steel Cage Match
Buh Buh Ray Dudley, D-Von Dudley & Mustafa Saed vs. New Jack, Axl Rotten & Balls Mahoney
ECW CyberSlam * April 3, 1999

War Games Fantasy Booking with Dusty Rhodes
1212 comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
Even though this hasn't been released yet I have seen all the matches on this DVD set and I will be able to tell you about them now. First of all, I always liked the War Games match and the concept. It was a great way to settle feuds and I am a little surprised that the WWE has never used the match (but then again, if Vince didn't think of it then it must not be good enough).

The first match that you get is the very first War Games match from the Great American Bash Tour in 1987. It features Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard, Lex Luger and JJ Dillion taking on Dusty Rhodes, Nikita Koloff, The Road Warriors and Paul Ellering. This was a great match with lots of action and lots of blood. Flair was always great in these matches and he shows why here. I liked seeing the Road Warriors in this one as well. Very well done match from start to finish. The only downside is the managers, JJ Dillion and Paul Ellering, because you just knew it would be one of them that would lose the match for the team and sure enough that's what happened. Still, a very good match.

The second match is either the second or the third War Games match, I'm not sure which. It features: Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard, Lex Luger and the War Machine taking on Dusty Rhodes, Nikita Koloff, The Road Warriors and Paul Ellering. This match again was violent and bloody but I didn't think it was as good as the first War Games match. This was to be a return match but JJ was hurt so they added the War Machine to the mix. Again, the match was good but not as good as the first one which I believe was actually first runner up to the match of the year in 1987.

The third match that you get blows my mind as to why it's even on this set because it's not a War Games match. This is a Tower of Doom match that took place at the Great American Bash in 1988. It features: The Road Warriors, Steve Williams, Ronnie Garvin and Jimmy Garvin taking on Kevin Sullivan, Mike Rotunda, Al Perez, The Russian Assassin and Ivan Koloff. I actually just saw this match a few months ago and was not impressed with it. See, this is a triple tiered cage match and it's just hard to watch and hard to keep up with. It was unique for its time period but not really worth seeing. It's not even a War Games match so why it's on here I do not know.

The next match you get is a War Games match from The Great American Bash Tour 1988 featuring: Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard, Barry Windham and JJ Dillion taking on Dusty Rhodes, Nikita Koloff, Lex Luger, Steve Williams and Paul Ellering. This match was again ok but not as good as the first War Games match which featured most of these guys. It's kind of the same old same old by this point.

The next match is from Great American Bash 1989 and features: The Road Warriors, The Midnight Express and Steve Williams taking on The Freebirds and The Samoan Swat Team. This was a fun match to watch but it really wasn't violent and it wasn't bloody. It is great to watch the Midnight Express and the Freebirds though (two of my all time favorites). The match is pretty good but again, not as good as some of the others that have happened.

The next one is from Wrestle War 1991 and features: Ric Flair, Barry Windham, Sid and Larry Zbyszko taking on Sting, Brian Pillman and The Steiners. This is a great one, one of the best War Games matches ever. Sting is awesome in this match as is Flair and The Steiners. The team who won the match is a little shocking but still this is a great match with lots of violence and a decent amount of blood.

The next match is my all time favorite War Games match from Wrestle War 1992. This is an all star match that features: Sting, Nikita Koloff, Ricky Steamboat, Dustin Rhodes and Barry Windham taking on Steve Austin, Rick Rude, Bobby Eaton, Arn Anderson and Larry Zbyszko. Freaking great match. So exciting and so fast paced. Truly the best match on the whole set. It has a little bit of everything: Lots of blood, violence, ropes being taken down, Sting on top of the cages, etc. Well worth checking out.

The next one is from Fall Brawl 1993 and features: Sting, Dustin Rhodes, British Bulldog and Shockmaster taking on Vader, Sid and Harlem Heat. To me, this match is a bit underrated. I think it's a good match when I watch it now. At the time I was a little shocked that Harlem Heat was in the match and that the Shockmaster was as well (I thought Cactus Jack should have been put in it). Still, it is a good match with some blood and a satisifying ending.

The one from Fall Brawl 1994 was also a bit underrated and featured: Dusty Rhodes, Dustin Rhodes and The Nasty Boys taking on Terry Funk, Arn Anderson, Bunkhouse Buck and Col Robert Parker. This match I saw for the first time a few months ago as well and was actually surprised at how good it was. There's no blood but the action is really good and the ending is good as well.

The next one is from Fall Brawl 1995 and features: Meng, Shark, Kamala and Zodiac taking on the all star team of Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Sting and Lex Luger. This match was also good but honestly if you can't predict who will win this one before watching then there must be something wrong with you. I mean, the Hogan team may be one of the best teams ever assembled (that generations Avengers) and the Dungeon of Doom may be one of the worst teams ever assembled but it is still a fun match to watch and look back on.

The next match took place during the war between WCW and the NWO and is another favorite of mine. It features: Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Lex Luger and Sting taking on Hulk Hogan, Kevin Nash, Scott Hall and "Sting." Great match and a great story to go along with it. Just the possibility of seeing two Stings made me tune in to see it when it happened. Just a really good match with a really good ending to it.

The next match was from Fall Brawl 1997 and featured: Ric Flair, Steve McMichael, Chris Benoit and Curt Henning taking on Kevin Nash, Buff Bagwell, Syxx and Konnan. This was another underrated match and really worth seeing. I thought when it was signed that there was no way that the NWO would beat The Horsemen. I thought this NWO team was just sub-par. All in all it was a great match with a good ending and a really nice heel turn for one of the people on one of the teams.

In 1998, they changed the format of Wargames. Before it was two teams of either 4 or 5 guys taking on each other and whoever got the submission or surrender would have their team win. In 1998 it was 3 teams of 3 men and whoever got the win would win for their team but would also get a world title shot at the next PPV. So it was a team match but also every man for himself. It featured: Bret Hart, Hulk Hogan and Stevie Ray taking on Kevin Nash, Sting and Lex Luger taking on DDP, Roddy Piper and The Warrior. The match was okay but the rules kind of ruined it for me. Some of the people in the match didn't do anything to help the match out either like Stevie Ray, Piper and Warrior. They were kind of wasted. Still, it's a pretty good match.

The last match is from Nitro in 2000 and featured: Sting, Booker T., Goldberg and Kronik taking on Kevin Nash, Jeff Jarrett, Scott Steiner and The Harris Brothers. This was a good match but not as good as some of the other ones that you will get a chance to see. Sting, at this point, had been in 7 War Games matches so it was a lot of fun to see him in this one as well. Good match but not great.

The Blu Ray matches are pretty good as well. The first one is Rage in the Cage from Smokey Mountain Wrestling and features: Brian Lee, Jimmy Golden, Ricky Morton, Robert Fuller and Robert Gibson taking on Kevin Sullivan, Killer Kyle, The Tasmanic, Stan Lane and Tom Pritchard. This was a really good match but not on par with some of the others that you will see on this set. Still, it was nice of WWE to include it on this set.

The next BR match is from ECW in December 1995. It features: Tommy Dreamer, The Pitbulls and Public Enemy taking on Raven, Stevie Richards, The Eliminators and The Heavenly Bodies. This is a freaking good match with blood and really good violence. To me, this is one of the best matches that ECW ever put on because the action was good and the storyline leading up to the match was good as well. This one is worth checking out.

The last BR match is also from ECW in 1999 and features: The Dudleys and Mustafa Saed taking on New Jack, Axl Rotten and Balls Mahoney. This was the only time I believe that a War Games style match only had 6 people involved but boy oh boy what a match. So much blood and so much violence in this one. I liked this match and I think it was a good addition to add to the set as well.

All in all, this set is going to be great. The matches are really good, with the exception of a few and well worth checking out. I can't wait to actually view it but I know it's going to be one of the WWE's best releases to date only because it's one of my favorite matches. If you didn't like this type of match then you probably won't like the set but I did and can't wait for it to come out.
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
I bought this set brand new, but portions of each DVD freeze. This isn't a common problem with WWE DVDs, but it does diminish my satisfaction with the product.

I got fewer matches to watch than people who bought the blu-ray set. That's annoying, but it can't be helped; still, why not charge blu-ray price for the DVDs and include all the matches? Wouldn't that still be profitable?

The early War Games matches, the ones with the Four Horsemen, are very good, although somewhat repetitive. As the history progresses, the quality of the matches deteriorates, mostly because of the participants being less skilled and the planning being a cluster-flunk. Dusty Rhodes, who provides commentary, pretty much acknowledges the loss of quality, which might be honest, but makes for a strange mood as you watch. "Well, here's the next match, if you weeeeel. It's not that good, but here it eeeeeeees, know what I'm sayin'?"

I think the content is worth the money I paid, but I don't like that the disks were poor and not completely playable, thus the three stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
It's just ok, Dusty gives some info on the history of the match and the matches are full length, but there isn't any backstory to the matches themselves so you don't know why the two teams are fighting. The announces during the matches give you a little bit of info but not enough to clarify.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
WCW
WAR GAMES

Man I miss WCW and I never realize it until I start watching these things. This set chronicles the “War Games” matches that we all know and love.
Spoilers

1.DUSTY RHODES, THE ROAD WARRIORS, NIKITA KOLOFF, & PAUL ELLERING VS RIC FLAIR, LEX LUGER, ARN ANDERSON, TULLY BLANCHARD & J.J. DILLION-Dusty and Arn would start this off and you will notice that that becomes a pattern. These two go back and forth putting on a great match until the next man enters. The heels would win the coin toss [another pattern] and so momentum would switch between teams depending. The action here is great and for the time I am sure was hardcore. This was a great first showing on this set for this match with great talent in the ring. The crowd was so into this and into Dusty’s team. This match came about due to Dusty feuding with the Horsemen. Dusty’s team would go on to win after The Road Warriors broke Dillion’s collarbone for real] and he gave in shortly after that. This match took place at the Great American Bash 7/2/87.

2.DUSTY RHODES, THE ROD WARRIORS, NIKITA KOLOFF & PAUL ELLERING VS RIC FLAIR, LEX LUGER, ARN ANDERSON, TULLY BLANCHARD & THE WAR MACHINE-taking place later that same month as part of the Bash tour on 7/31/87 we would again kick it off with Arn and Dusty. War Machine was in this time to replace Dillion after his injury. Once again the action was great with a quick pace and like the last we get some blood. This one would end after one of the Road Warriors pads was used to make Machine submit.

3.THE ROAD WARRIROS, STEVE WILLIAMS, RON & JIMMY GARVIN VS KEVIN SULLIVAN, MIKE ROTUNDA, AL PEREZ, RUSSIAN ASSASSIN & IVAN KOLOFF-were the last two matches were two rings with one big cage this one was a single ring with three cages getting larger as they go down called the ‘Tower of Doom”. This took place at the Great American Bash 7/10/88 and was one of those crazy WCW matches. The wrestlers had to make their way down and out of all three cages with trap doors opening up every two minutes to let the contests move around. This was a good match and fun for the most part as the Road Warriors team would end up winning it.

4.DUSTY RHODES, LEX LUGER, STEVE WILLIAMS & PAUL ELLERING VS RIC FLAIR, ARN ANDERSON, BARRY WINDHAM, TULLY BLANCHARD & J.J. DILLION-the return of War Games came about on 7/16/88 with Dusty and the Horsemen looking to do battle once again. Dusty and Arn start us off again on this commentaryless match. Once again this is a great match with fast paced action and a good story being told. In the end the good guys win again. But after the match Dusty tells a hilarious story about JJ and Hawk.

5.THE ROAD WARRIROS, THE MIDNIGHT EXPRESS & STEVE WILLIAMS VS THE FREEBIRDS & THE SAMOAN SWAT TEAM-Bash 89 and this one would crack me up every time I watch it thanks to Paul Heyman and Michael Hayes. Another fun match with some good and hard hitting action with fans really into. They really blow when the Road Warriors get the win here. But Hayes was the best here as he did not want to enter the match and kept getting his teammates to go in before him.

6.RIC FLAIR, SID VICIOUS, BARRY WINDHAM & LARRY ZBYSZKO VS STING, BRIAN PILLMAN & THE STEINER BROTHERS-this next match took place at WCW Wrestlewar 91. This was one of those matches that seemed like it was there to put someone over. That someone in my opinion was Brian Pillman as he jumped in to start the match even when he was told not to. So Pillman would have to survive the entire match as the smallest guy there. That story would also continue all the way to the end. Pillman takes two nasty power bombs from Sid, the first one looked like it could have broken his neck. That led to a heel team win.

7.STING, NIKITA KOLOFF, DUSTIN RHODES, RICKY STEAMBOAT & BARRY WINDHAM VS ARN ANDERSON, BOBBY EATON, STEVE AUSTIN, LARRY ZBYSZKO & RICK RUDE-what a talented group of participants we had in this one here from Wrestlewar 92. Man I miss Heyman’s Dangerous Alliance, look at that line up. This is one of the absolute best matches on the set and I am sure you can tell why. The action stays moving and everyone looks great here. I love Steamboat man and it was great to see him here in this match. But he takes a sick spinebuster from my boy Arn [one of my all time favorites] and the action just picks up from there. Sting’s team takes the win here after a mistake from the Dangerous Alliance.

8.STING, DAVEY BOY SMITH, DUSTIN RHODES & THE SHOCKMASTER VS SID VICIOUS, VADER & HARLEM HEAT-now we are at Fall Brawl 93 which is where most of today’s fans may know this match from. Once again a match full of great guys including the one and only Shockmaster who fell on his face when he was announced for this match, literally on his face [look that up]. War Games veteran Animal was in Sting’s corner here. I am a huge Vader fan and this match is wonderful to watch. I love the way he throws his punches, especially his shots to Dustin’s ribs here and then goes to the head. Dustin was a big story here as he was injured and despite Animal not wanting him to go in he went first. Also it was great to see Harlem Heat again and Sid was back. Also the late British Bulldog was on board in this battle. This one ends quickly after all guys are in with the Shockmaster getting the win for his team. Not the best of endings but I can see what they were trying to do.

9.DUSTY & DUSTIN RODES & THE NASTY BOYS VS TERRY FUNK, ARN ANDERSON, BUNKHOUSE BUCK & ROBERT PARKER-Fall Brawl 94 would see Arn and Dusty in the Games again but actually not starting against each other. Arn would instead start against Dusty’s kid Dustin and it was a fun new chapter in the Horsemen/Rhodes rivalry. For some reason while this was not the best match on the set I liked the camera work on this one, don’t know why I needed to say that. It should be noted that Dusty tells a great story about something that happened during this match. It is that moment that led to Dusty getting the win for his team.

DISC 2

1.RANDY SAVAGE, HULK HOGAN, STING & LEX LUGER VS KAMALA, THE SHARK, THE ZODIAC & MENG-finally a match with Randy Savage. This was from the 1995 Fall Brawl event and would see Hulk’s team going to war [hence the war paint and camouflage] against the Dungeon of Doom. It was great watching Randy again here as he went crazy in there. This match also kinda promoted the rivalry with Savage and Luger despite being on the same team. In the end you know Hulk’s team wins.

2.SCOTT HALL, KEVIN NASH, HULK HOGAN & NWO STING VS RIC FLAIR, ARN ANDERSON, LEX LUGER & STING-this was right at the beginning of the NWO angle so this was a big time match right here. The thing was that WCW may have been able to stop the NWO with a win here. But in the weeks leading up to the event Team WCW would come to think that their teammate Sting was turning to the NWO. As it turned out that would be a big mistake as the NWO had an imposter. This match was great with the talent that was in it. The last person in for WCW was the real Sting who came in and cleared house, only to leave. Team WCW takes the loss some time later at the 1996 Fall Brawl event.

3.KEVIN NASH, BUFF BAGWELL, SYXX & KONNAN VS RIC FLAIR, ARN ANDERSON, CHRIS BENOIT & CURT HENNING-the following year at the 1997 Fall Brawl WCW and the NWO would go to war again. This time the WCW team was the Horsemen. The thing was Arn Anderson had to retire before this event and the NOW would infamously mock him on Nitro. This lead to Curt Henning linking up with the Horsemen and taking Arn’s “spot”. The match is full of great moments and highlights like Syxx being launched to the top of the cage for one. Of course the ending here is what most people remember and of course that was Henning’s turn. He comes out with an injured arm after being attacked earlier in the night. Once he enters he turns on WCW and helps the NWO win once again.

4.RODDY PIPER, DDP & THE WARRIOR VS BRET HART, STEVIE RAY & HULK HOGAN VS KEVIN NASH, STING & LEX LUGER-this may have been the most talent filled “War Games” or at least name wise. I remember being so excited for this back then because Bret Hart was finally in the “War Games” plus The Warrior had returned. The match had three teams with the NWO, the Wolfpack, and WCW with the winner getting a title shot the next month. The match started with DDP against Bret Hart, one of my all time favorite rivalries. As the match progressed more would come out representing the three teams with the stipulation also being that the match could end at anytime. This meant that there actually were no teams if you wanted that World title shot. The WCW team was really the only ones that kinda fought each other. Things get interesting when the Warrior enters the match and how they pulled that stuff off. This match actually made Warrior look unlike the match he would have with Hogan at Halloween Havoc. After Warrior leaves DDP picks up the quick victory pinning Ray.

5.STING, BOOKER T, GOLDBERG & KRONIK VS JEFF JARRETT, KEVIN NASH, SCOTT STEINER, THE HARRIS BROTHERS & VINCE RUSSO-now this brought back that three cage thing with the cages getting smaller as the go up. This was called the “War Games 2000” and in this one you had to make your way up the cages and grab the belt. Once you do that you have to make your way down and out of the structure to win. Now of course the action is all over the place with who are involved and yes Russo is really in this match things are really hectic and the action is messy but still kinda fun. Goldberg almost wins this one but gets laid out by Bret Hart. This leads to Nash keeping the belt in another swerve for him that most probably saw coming.

BONUS

1.BRIAN LEE, JINNY GOLDEN, RICKY MORTON, ROBERT FULLER & ROBERT GIBSON VS KEVIN SULLIVAN, KILLER KYLE, TAZMANIAC, STAN LEE & TOM PRICHARD-this is a match from Smokey Mountain Wrestling that we join in progress. Half the people are already eliminated from the match when we join as you had to cuff your opponents to the cage. The match is good from what we get to see with a brawl at the end.

2.TOMMY DREAMER, PUBLIC ENEMY & THE PITBULLS VS RAVEN, STEVIE RICHARDS, THE ELIMINATORS & THE HEAVENLY BODIES-this match was from ECW’s December to Dismember 1995 and is excellent. This is what I think of when I hear the term War Games. Two teams battling it out in violent fashion with the rule being if Dreamer’s team wins he gets 5 minutes with Richards. The action here is all over the place spilling out onto the floor like any good ECW match would. Various weapons were used and even after the match the brawl continued. Tommy would get the win but afterwards his team got beat down.

3.THE DUDLEYS & MUSTAFA SAED VS NEW JACK, AXEL ROTTEN & BALLS MAHONEY-another violent match that was a war, this one at CyberSlam 1999. At first it looked like New Jack backed out of the match so it was two on three for the first part of this match. But New Jack would appear towards the end of the match but it would not help as his team lost. This was a fun match that was a good addition to the set. Also it was good hearing Joey Styles on commentary.

This was a great set that brought back all kinds of memories. I miss WCW so much and I never realize how much until I bust out these sets or old tapes. I do recommend this set to any wrestling fan out there. There matches that are not as good as others but there are some classics here. You also get Dusty picking a dream "War Games" match.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
Loved reliving these classic bouts from WCW's most dangerous score settling match in it's history. The star power in these matches were crazy. War Games involved strategy, timing, strange bedfellows, and knock down drag outs to solve the biggest feuds in wrestling history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
I supposed if I was to break it down, I'd give 5 stars to Disc 1, 4 stars to Disc 2 and 3 stars to Disc 3, so I just went with 4 stars as a whole. Watching these WarGames matches is actually a really good illustration of the way wrestling changed over the last several decades. On Disc 1, WarGames meant something. It meant the Horsemen and Dusty and Nikita and the Road Warriors and all those guys were gonna bleed. They were settling differences. People were gonna get their comeuppance. The focus was the story and the match and WarGames was the place that story was told and that match would also tell the final chapter.

By Disc 3, WarGames is more a novelty act than a storytelling mechanism. It starts well enough with the nWo versus WCW with their mystery partner. The revelation of Sting turning his back on WCW at WarGames '96 was so hot, it could've been told in a paper bag and it would've worked, but that was probably the last meaningful WarGames match. After that, the match became a backdrop as ego-centric wrestlers and promoters just used the cage to push their own agendas. The rules (what little there were) kept being changed to suit whatever agenda the company had. WarGames '98 is an embarrassment to the name. A cage full of some of the biggest names in WCW/nWo at the time are all fallen by a slapjack to the back of the head and lay there for ten minutes while Hogan and the Ultimate Warrior have a 1-on-1 confrontation where they don't even wrestle! Oh! And then DDP won, not a team, just DDP, because the rules were so now convoluted, teams didn't matter even though there was supposedly teams in the cage. WarGames '97 could've been something special, but instead was essentially used to tell any old school wrestling fan that your opinion doesn't matter anymore. Once again, it was the nWo versus WCW, but it was basically Kevin Nash and the B-team of the nWo. By this point, the match means nothing in terms of story because Buff Bagwell and Konnan spend more time talking to the camera and posing than they do wrestling. By the time, Curt Hennig turns on the Horsemen and Flair's head is crushed by a steel door, any fan who grew up with Mid-Atlantic Wrestling and NWA knows their time has passed. As an interesting side note to that match - Chris Benoit is in it. Benoit, who has pretty much been wiped from wrestling history after his horrific murder/suicide, was a participant in this match and made the final cut of the DVD. Then by WarGames 2000, the cage is this giant 3 level pyramid thingy and I'm not sure who is on who's side and Vince Russo is in there wearing football gear and Kevin Nash wins even though he just stands by the door the whole time. It's all confusing and sad.

You'll probably notice I skipped over Disc 2. There's just not a lot to say. The guys work hard, but there just wasn't a lot of talent during this time period. Sting is there doing his best trying to make everyone else look good and Arn Anderson is the consummate professional in these matches, doing the grunt work while other guys are getting the glory. By the time Sting's Army wins WarGames '93 thanks to the help of the Shockmaster, we kind of know the deal.

Dusty Rhodes is the host/narrator of the DVD set. He looks back at WarGames with the sense you might think a father looks back at his kids. He is proud of the great things it did, but saddened to see how the world (or in this case, the promotors) changed it. Everything changes, especially in wrestling. This WarGames set is a great ride through those changes, both good and bad.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
A multi-cage, multi-ring set up where combatants are locked in to settle their differences once and for all, this became known as the War Games Match. It started in the NWA Jim Crockett Promotions, grew bigger when WCW bought the company and was a part of WCW until they closed their doors in 2001. The idea is two men start out and there's a coin flip (which is usually if not always won by the bad guys) to determine who gets the one man advantage, once all 10 are in it is Submit or Surrender to determine a winner. This is a 2-Disc set featuring 17 brutal matches, with a variety of competitors, hosted by Dusty Rhodes, he takes us through the history before and after each match.

-7/4/87, Great American Bash, The Road Warriors, Dusty Rhodes, Nikita Koloff & Paul Ellering vs. Ric Flair, Lex Luger, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard & J.J. Dillion: This was built around Dusty's issues with all members of the Four Horsemen including their manager J.J. Dillion. For being the first, this was pretty brutal, the coin flip advantage goes to the Horsemen team and from then on the action stays at a good pace, the crowd is hot for Dusty's team to win for sure. Anderson and Rhodes do shine here and most everyone gets their spots in. Some blood in this one and some hard hits including one to end the match where the man who took it said he wasn't the same for a good while. 9/10.

-7/31/87, Great American Bash, The Road Warriors, Dusty Rhodes, Nikita Koloff & Paul Ellering vs. Ric Flair, Lex Luger, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard & The War Machine: Long time fans may recognize the masked War Machine as Ray Taylor (aka the Big Bossman in WWE), this was much like the previous match in that Dusty and the Horsemen were the focus. Pretty hard hitting here, blood flows, hard hits are abound, the cage walls are used to inflict more damage. A spiked forearm pad brought in by Paul Ellering is the weapon used to make one of the men submit. 7/10.

-7/10/88, Great American Bash, The Road Warriors, "Dr. Death" Steve Williams, Ron Garvin & Jimmy Garvin vs. Kevin Sullivan, Mike Rotunda, Al Perez, Russian Assassin & Ivan Koloff: This match had a stacked cage set-up called "Tower of Doom", where the men enter the top cages, then fight to get down to the first one where Precious (Jimmy Garvin's real life wife) has the keys to unlock the door and win the match. This isn't quite as star studded as the previous matches and with the 3 cage set up, it's kind of a big ol' mess to be honest. A brawl on the outside is the highlight of this match, Sullivan is at his best during this conest, especially the closing moments. 5/10.

-7/16/88, Great American Bash, Dusty Rhodes, Lex Luger, Nikita Koloff, "Dr. Death" Steve Williams & Paul Ellering vs. Ric Flair, Barry Windham, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard & J.J. Dillion: Lots of scores to be settled in this one, Dusty's team all wanted to get at the Horseman and this was the way to do it. Arn and Dusty start this off and the stars in this one make it feel very big, plenty of fast paced and brutal action, hard hits, good usage of the cage set-up and a hot crowd cheering them on each and every minute. The blood flows and once all ten men are in the match ends quickly with vindication for the good guys. 8/10.

(Available on Ric Flair & The Four Horsemen)

-7/23/89, Great American Bash, The Road Warriors, The Midnight Express & "Dr. Death" Steve Williams vs. The Fabulous Freebirds & The Samoan Swat Team: Interesting one here, especially seeing the Midnight Express as good guys, Williams does well, even press slamming Terry Gordy into the cage ceilin multiple times. The Road Warriors bring the crowd to their feet once they enter and while not great it's certainly hard hitting at times. The brutality proves to be too much for a formerly "Gorgeous" WCCW star, which leads to a submission. 7/10. The aftermath sees the heels attack Animal for a few before the odds get evened out and they run off.

-2/24/91, Wrestlewar, Ric Flair, Sid Vicious, Barry Windham & Larry Zbyszko vs. Sting, Brian Pillman & The Steiner Brothers: This was mainly about Pillman showing he could hang with the main eventers and despite his injury coming into this match he did quite well as did most everyone involved. It was a pretty good match, a good amount of blood especially from Windham who starts out the match for his team. The end saw a brutal pair of moves that lead to a surrender and shock among the announcers and the crowd as to whether this guy was gonna be ok. 8/10.

(Available on Brian Pillman: Loose Cannon)

-5/17/92, Wrestlewar, Sting's Squadron-Sting, Nikita Koloff, Dustin Rhodes, Ricky Steamobata and Barry Windham vs. The Dangerous Alliance-Arn Anderson, Bobby Eaton, Steve Austin, Rick Rude and Larry Zbyszko: A mixture of veterans and young stars in this one really makes for a good balance, where Austin and Windham start out and the action rarely if ever slows down. This is one of the rarer maybe lesser known War Games matches that really shows how great these matches when done right. Everyone shined in this one and this was a match that really showed how good Austin was before he got injured in later years. A previous injury to an Alliance member lead to their downfall and friction between the members. 10/10.

-9/19/93, Fall Brawl, Sting, Davey Boy Smith, Dustin Rhodes and The Shockmaster vs. Sid Vicious, Vade and Harlem Heat: This one had some good talent involved oh and the Shockmaster is there too. Some good action in this one and there was an ongoing story of Dustin wanting to prove himself, even starting the match out despite having injured ribs. The finish was kinda lame though, but not a bad match up to that point. 7/10.

-9/18/94, Fall Brawl, Dusty Rhodes, Dustin Rhodes and The Nasty Boys vs. Terry Funk, Arn Anderson, Bunkhouse Buck and Colonel Robert Parker: Dusty tells a story about this match that's both funny and sickening, but this isn't too bad of a contest. Nice to see father and son on the same team and wrestle in the same match, the action was good but parts of this felt more like a nostalgic act than anything big. The finish (as told by Dusty beforehand) was pretty umm... ick but a fitting end to this fairly average match. 6/10.

Disc 2

-9/17/95, Fall Brawl, Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Lex Luger and Sting vs. Kamala, The Zodiac, The Shark and Meng: Just ignore the goofy military get-up and face paint on Hogan's team, it starts off with Sting and Shark (WWE's Earthquake, the late John Tenta). This was about Kevin Sullivan's Dungeon of Doom wanting to end Hulkamania, while not as extreme as some of the previous War Games, but definitely better than the '94 edition. Once Hogan came in he used dirty tactics to take down the Dungeon members, it just boils down to a slugfest and a former friend of Hulk's would be the man to take the fall in this one. 6/10.

-9/16/96, Fall Brawl, "Hollywood" Hulk Hogan, Scott Hall, Kevin Nash and a Mystery Partner vs. Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Lex Luger and Sting: During the hostile takeover by the NWO there was this match where the story was where did Sting's allegance lie. The tension was very thick throughout this match and very few left unscathed, including an enforcer who had to retire less than a year later. The closing moments really set the stage for a big change in a man WCW fans thought they knew. 9/10.

(Available on Rise and Fall of WCW & NWO Back In Black)

-9/14/97, Fall Brawl, Kevin Nash, Buff Bagwell, Syxx and Konnan vs. Ric Flair, Steve McMichael, Chris Benoit and Curt Henning: Shortly before this the NWO did their infamous parody of Arn Anderson's retirement speech, Curt Henning even stepped up to the plate with Arn's approval to even the odds here. However an attack to Henning earlier in the night, made some question if he would be involved. This one felt more personal due to the aforementioned NWO mockery of Arn and it turned into a hard hitting contest with some good spots. The ending could be seen coming a mile away but still was the "perfect" betrayal by one of the wrestlers. 8/10.

-9/13/98, Fall Brawl, "Hollywood" Hulk Hogan, Stevie Ray and Bret "Hit Man" Hart vs. Diamond Dallas Page, Rowdy Roddy Piper and The Warrior vs. Kevin Nash, Sting and Lex Luger: This has a 3 team set-up where the winner gets a title shot at Goldberg at Halloween Havoc the following month. It's not a bad one but the pacing seems off at times and once Warrior makes his appearance it goes off the rails. It does end up in a victory for a man WCW fans had wanted to see get a Title shot for a long time. 6/10.

(Available on NWO: The Revolution)

-9/4/00, Monday Nitro, World Heavyweight Championship Match, Sting, Booker T, Goldberg and Kronik vs. Kevin Nash, Jeff Jarrett, Scott Steiner and The Harris Brothers: Our second triple cage match, this time you need to grab the title in the third one then make your way back down to the first cage and out the door with the belt in hand. This is easily the most overbooked and therefore the worst match on this set, it seems people even sometimes just stand around waiting for the next spot to happen. Goldberg does have a good showing spearing everyone in sight, but the appearance of familiar foe for Goldberg proved to be the deciding factor. 5/10.

(Available on Best of WCW Monday Nitro Volume 1)

Blu-ray Exclusive Extras include a match from Smokey Mountain Wrestling in 1993, which is a big mess and joined in progress. The two ECW cage matches are good and violent, with the only downside being the crowd noise and chants being muted somewhat.

This is certainly a set fans had waited for, for a good long while and it doesn't disappoint for the most part. A few of the matches are average to just blah, but a lot of the contests are very hard hitting and pretty brutal. The comments from Dusty before each match are certainly nice to hear as he has a great wrestling mind and a wealth of knowledge. One thing to note is there's closed captioning for this set, which is a very nice addition. The blu-ray extras are I guess good, but not really needed for a War Games set. Guess they just felt like filler to me, but other than that it's a set worth getting. One interesting thing is there's an English Subtitles option, so that's a plus.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2014
What you have here is every War Games match the NWA/WCW ever put on tape. This DVD set is really for hardcore fans only. If yo are a hardcore fan, it is really fun to watch all of these old school stars beat the hell out of each other in this brutal structure. It is also very interesting to hear Dusty Rhodes talk about the War Games matches. I really enjoy having this DVD set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
Let me just say this - I HATE WWE. I hate what they have done to pro wrestling and I don't consider that kiddie junk "wrestling" anymore, and I don't think that's a stretch. Even Punk, if not a work, seems like he is fed up with them. I like TNA and ROH. All that said - I LOVE this dvd. The 80s NWA was the best wrestling in history...end of story. Just watch this dvd, especially the first 4 matches. It is so realistic and serious and the fans even cheered in a different way - instead of yelling YES like sheep they were so into it - they would ERUPT at times - just notice it - wrestling crowds were different back then.

Pro Wrestling was SOOOOO much better in the 80s and this disc shows that - but there are good Wargames in the 90s too. My sleeper match? Watch the Midnight Express, Road Warriors, and Dr Death vs Freebirds and SST. I love that match - so well done. But I miss the days where they tried to be realistic and bled. This is not good stuff...this is GREAT stuff. The first 2 Wargames? Two of my favorite matches ever - so intense - they hurt each other.

In this disc, Brian Pillman is almost killed - FOR REAL, and JJ Dillon broke his collarbone. That is all you need to know about this disc - excellent to watch - and Dusty's stories in between are really cool. The Wargames is a great disc, just hate the fact I had to give WWE money to get it. That is all WWE is good for anymore in my eyes, releasing old NWA, AWA, and World Class stuff. But yeah, this is the best wrestling disc you can get out there. It's great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.