Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gratuitous Grindhouse Goodness
I am going to cut to the chase here...

If you are looking for a game with a great deal of substance... Look Elsewhere. That being said, if you know anything about this game and you are still reading, you are probably in the right place.

Wet takes the best parts of your favorite John Woo, and Tarantino films and brings them to life. In the same style...
Published on September 15, 2009 by Eric M. Brandt

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite hit the bullseye
Mindless, violent shooters like Max Payne and Stranglehold are guilty pleasures for me that I tend to revisit from time to time just to blow away some baddies and relieve a little stress. WET looked like my cup of tea. But after playing it I found the game never really jelled in any significant way.

Despite being written by Duppy Demetrius, a writer of the TV...
Published on September 17, 2009 by Gregory E. Suarez


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gratuitous Grindhouse Goodness, September 15, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I am going to cut to the chase here...

If you are looking for a game with a great deal of substance... Look Elsewhere. That being said, if you know anything about this game and you are still reading, you are probably in the right place.

Wet takes the best parts of your favorite John Woo, and Tarantino films and brings them to life. In the same style made famous (or in some opinions, infamous) by Max Payne, and Stranglehold. The story leaves a lot to be desired, but that isn't the point of this type of game in my humble opinion.

The controls will take you some getting used to as they feel... outdated. This works with the motif of the game though. There is a nice coat of crusty blood and seedy 70's action to be seen on everything. Even the film grain effect is a nod to 70's action films; it can however be turned off, (and the controls can be adjusted in options).

I am halfway through the game now, and the action never stops. I haven't even started the challenge modes, or working on harder difficulties, but I see myself wanting to do this. Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry, Max Payne, Stanglehold... These names will make a hardcore action gamer imagine ways to gracefully slaughter 100's of enemies in minutes, and soon enough Wet will incite the same images.

*Edit*
I have beaten the game on hard and golden bullets now, working on ultra hard. My feelings on this game have only been re-affirmed. Any true action game fan is doing their self a disservice by avoiding this game. Give it a rent at the very least, you wont regret it (once you familiarize yourself with the controls)!
*Edit*

If you have played any of those games and had a good time, you should be right at home with Wet.

Graphics 4/5 Environments and ambience are great, some models could have used work. Otherwise perfect and unifmorm thus far.
Sound 5/5 Great DD and sound effects, all with a 70's film noir tinge to them. Soundtrack is excellent.
Controls 4/5 Would give them a 5, but there is an outdated feel... like stepping back in time to play Max Payne.
Gameplay 5/5 I love the bullet-time style of the game. You are rewarded for being acrobatic and slowing things down to kill mobs of badguys. If this is not your thing, avoid like the plague.
Replay 5/5? I am playing through on normal now, but as I said I see myself playing through several times to unlock the highest difficulty and play through the challenges. Will update when I have done it all.

Final thoughts.... If you are looking for a stylish action game, even if its just to kill time before other games this season, pick Wet up or at least rent it if you can spare the cash. DO NOT just take the negative opinions at face value. It's not perfect, but what game is. Definitely a great time. (<-----DEFINITELY)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, September 16, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I had a great deal of fun playing this game, (just beat it a few hours ago). Let me first get the negatives out of the way. First off the game is a little short, though it does have re-playability through several difficulty settings, a challenge mode and a 'points count' mode (which is essentially playing through each stage trying to tally up a certain number of points). The other major negative is a control issue. In Wet you are almost forced to kill all of your enemies by entering an acrobatic mode as you fire faster and automatically target one enemy. The two most common ways to enter acrobatic mode are to jump and slide. Quite often you may be in a situation where jumping is the best choice, but the direction in which you jump can be twitchy causing you to leap to your death, and once you are leaping you cannot change directions or bail out.

Other than those minor flaws, I see a quite interesting masterpiece under the surface here. Wet is essentially a 70s grind-house movie in the shell of a video game. Everything is over the top, the film is scratchy, and the characters are cool. They are also voiced quite well especially Rubi (the main character). The game is filled with non-stop action and overall a good combat interface that empowers the player. The one thing that really stands out about this game is the soundtrack, honestly it is the best soundtrack I have ever heard for a video game. It fits perfectly, and I found myself playing the songs through the game while I did other things. Overall a very solid title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Entertaining, September 26, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
As you can easily see what the game is about by reading the summary other entries, I'll go ahead and just review the game based on the traditional game review criteria.

Gameplay - 4/5
I've removed a point here simply because some of the controls are a bit clumsy, and at certain stages of gameplay, you're just forced to sit there and ask, "What the heck just happened here?" In reference to the former, for example: you press the A button to jump, as per the typical control scheme for such a game. However, Rubi will automatically jump/roll/maneuver over most obstacles. Jumping is really only used for getting yourself airborne to slow things down a bit whilst gunning down the throngs of enemies being thrown your way. While you'd think this wouldn't be an issue, it took me a bit to get used to not actually having to jump to get up to that ledge. And if you press "A" to jump to get on top of a crate, you end up performing the jump animation without actually getting anywhere, as your jump command, and the game's automatic jump response clash. Solution to this, of course, is simple mental conditioning (i.e., "Don't press the 'A' button, dummy.").

And in reference to the latter part: at some points in the game, Rubi will die from the smallest offenders. For example, you can do these crazy rolls and dives and what have you, but if you fall ten feet from a rafter to the floor below, you'll die. Logically, it just doesn't make any sense. Though I suppose applying logic to a game like this is folly in and of itself. Still, just one of my personal frustrations.

The developers have done really well with how bullet time is handled, though, I think. Unlike most games that utilize this particular gimmick that has you going and recharging some sort of bullet time gauge, WET allows you to slow down the action whenever your feet are off the ground, and a round is leaving the chamber. And throughout a lot of the game, you need it.

On another note, I'm glad that the boss fights--what few there are--are done, for the most part, by just pressing buttons in responses to prompts shown on screen. I can't really think of how you, as a player, could appropriately dispatch characters that've been established as being a bit larger than life within the boundaries of the game. For example, Tarantula is a pretty mysterious femme fatale, so to be able to kill her by just hacking at her with your sword would be a bit anti-climactic, I think.

Graphics - 5/5
Graphically, I think the game is just beautiful. Playing it on my 42" HDTV--even though it's not a top-o'-the-line 120hz, or even 1080p--is just gorgeous. There was definitely a lot of time spent in the details here. Textures are well done, and when you kick into rage mode, it's just entirely too much fun.

Audio - 5/5
Only one real complaint here, and it's when Rubi goes and grunts as she lifts herself up to the next higher ledge. Just seems like Eliza put a bit too much effort into it, and it comes off sounding either awkward, hilarious, or a combination of the two. That aside, the voice acting is quite top notch, and done by some of the more notable voice actors out there: Ian McDowell, James Sie, and Alan Cumming, to name a few. But it's the music that really adds to the atmosphere of the game, and the game's musical score meshes perfectly with the tracks contributed by the various musical groups that chipped in to the project.

Replayability - 4/5
Honestly, there's only so much that you can do in a game like this. It's completely linear, and there's no way that you can do things any differently. Yes, you can go through and vow to do nothing but gun down your enemies, or slash them, or do wall-running shots, or this, that, or the other, but inevitably, all you have is the game's core objectives. And unless you're really big into your Gamerscore, or you really want to see more concept work, once you defeat the game on normal difficulty (which is about six or seven hours, just grinding away at Story Mode), there's really no reason to come back and play more. Not to say that you won't, because again, the game IS fun. Just not very rewarding for what effort you pour into it.

Overall - 4/5
As I've said, WET is a fun game. It's very over-the-top, but still quite engaging. The story is very well done, audio is pristine, and graphics are crisp. Aside from a few mechanical issues, gameplay is a breeze. I'd recommend that you at least play the demo, as it gives you an excellent taste of what you get in the full version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite hit the bullseye, September 17, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Mindless, violent shooters like Max Payne and Stranglehold are guilty pleasures for me that I tend to revisit from time to time just to blow away some baddies and relieve a little stress. WET looked like my cup of tea. But after playing it I found the game never really jelled in any significant way.

Despite being written by Duppy Demetrius, a writer of the TV show "24," the story is insignificant and ends up getting lost in the noise. The entirety of the game boils down to to entering different corridors and mini arenas and just plugging bad guys in stylish ways. There's nothing wrong with that, per se, but when the controls are clunky, that is a problem. The game's main character, Rubi, can jump and slide around environments. These actions trigger slow motion "bullet time" for maximum style. As you earn points killing bad guys in stylish ways, new moves become unlocked to allow Rubi to kill people in even more stylish ways. But even when all moves are unlocked, it still feels limited. Rubi either jumps, slides, or wall runs. And this limited menu of moves becomes stale after a while. It gets worse when these moves are hard to pull off. The most infuriating is the jumping slash move Rubi can unleash with her sword. Getting the starting distance and timing correct to pull off this move ends up allowing the enemy to almost completely wipe you out before you can nail it correctly. Using these new, fancy moves ends up being more trouble than they're worth.

And then there's the issue of the graphics. As stylish and hip as this game tries to be, it can't hide the fact that the grainy filter effect used to put the player in the Grindhouse frame of mind is there to help mask the awful graphics. Seriously, remove the film grain effect and WET looks like a hi-rez last-gen game. Character models aren't terribly detailed, animations are rigid, and the environments are "blah." The Havok physics engine is also wasted here. Very little of the environment is interactive and the ragdoll effects seem to be triggered in a hit-or-miss fashion. The biggest problem with the graphics/art design is the environments are all similar in design and feel. One thing that makes related games like Max Payne 2 and Stranglehold work is in one level you'll battle in a fancy office building or high rise apartment, and the next you'll be in a seedy nightclub or back alley. In WET, you're always in a rundown warehouse, a rundown dock yard, a rundown building, a rundown etc.

I've been very critical of WET so far, but there IS fun to be had. To have fun with this game, you MUST be a fan of these mindless shooters, or else you'll scratch your head wondering what all the fuss is about. If you're new to the genre and want to get your feet WET (ha ha, get it?), there are better games. WET will make for a great budget title once the price drops, but at full price, you're better off waiting or renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Kitchen Sink Game That Works, September 17, 2009
By 
takethekman (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
First, let me say that the challenge mode that opens up after you complete the game is a blast; select a chapter w/full weapon and acrobatic skills, and try to get the highest score possible. Mindless fun, but a nice bonus that can border on obsession.

And....

I have to be honest...there is part of me that lives for this sort of over-the-top, plain and simple shoot 'em up with flair....plus throwing in bullet time, acrobatic sword fights, wall running, & angel dives(just to name a few....)never hurts. The upgrades and arcade-like tally system for style/kill points works well; much like Red Dead Revolver, you get a score at the end of each scenario, and points depending how well you did. You can repeat the level to get a better score if you want...and you will.

I was impressed how easily the controls flow once you get used to them; I can tell this will be a game worth repeating, as by the end of the first run, the controls will be second nature; then you can go thru it again and kick some serious butt. The controls do take a little getting used to, but eventually 2nd nature.

I found elements of some of my favorite games in here....both good ones and guilty pleasures; Bloodrayne(the heaviest influence to me in this game...), Total Overdose, The Club, Samurai Western, Killer 7, Max Payne, POP, Ninja Gaiden, & Stranglehold...just to name a few. Plus the whole 'grindouse' look is great; there are some pretty funny little cut scenes in between......

Somehow this works. Mindless but actually fun. And after coming off Fallout 3 for about 150 hours(sad, I know....), this is a welcome find. Not for everyone, but def a grade A 'B Movie' style game....

I did hit one frustrating part: The training near the beginning that had the timed target shooting while running thing; it took me a while to learn some of the movements as far as running up against walls, jumps, etc....it was mildly annoying but proved beneficial in the end as you will be def well versed in Rubi's abilities....

If you are looking for a nice diversion that will offer you a lot of replay value, WET is something worth looking into. Try the demo on xBox live or on the PS3......if you like it, the game is mostly more of the same. But they keep the action fresh by continually throwing in new tricks, weapons, and upgrades for each level.

This could have been a total disaster; But thankfully the developers knew what they wanted to do, and stuck to their guns(so to speak....). Fun, funny, bloody, stylistic, & well executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent it, October 9, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Don't pay retail price for this game. Wet is rather shallow on storyline and comes in at under 20 hours of unique gameplay. By unique I mean that you could get more time out of it by replaying challenges and the campaign on different difficulties but there isn't anymore original or really varied content after one quick play through. With that said if you enjoy third person shooters with the bullet time gimmick a la Dead to Rights, Max Payne and Stanglehold then this games deserves a rental. You can get most everything you will ever get out of it in a week or less.

Major Pros:
*A really great aesthetic, the game looks and sounds like a Tarantino daydream. Fun, over the top music choices and art direction.
*Some of the "arena challenges" can really get the heart going and the hands sweating. Shouting may ensue.
*Simple but fun combat mechanics, the controls are intuitive and easy to learn without being too simple to enjoy.
*You get a sword which leads to some acrobatic slice and dice fun.

Major Cons:
*The enemies are all just clones of each other with small aesthetic differences and varying levels of accuracy and durability so don't expect much there.
*Pacing: The checkpoint system and arena battles leads to some frustrating replays. The 20th time you hear the same song start up on the same part of the game you've been stuck on for the past 20 minutes is infuriating. On the hard difficulty 75% of my time was spent on 25% of the game.
*Becomes repetitive very quickly. The level design is beautiful but linear and your opponents are uninspired. You'll find yourself zoning out.

All in all the game was simple and fun with a really crazy vibe. In the end though the actual gameplay was not varied enough, the storyline was merely sufficient and the pacing was off. The game ends abruptly but I was ready for it to be over by then so I couldn't complain. Worth spending ten bucks on renting to give it a playthrough but don't buy it, there isn't enough premium gameplay here to justify $40-$60 in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond in the rough, October 19, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I am on my fifth play through of the game and I have quite thoroughly enjoyed it. I honestly cannot understand the awful reviews this game has been getting.

Sure it may lack boss fights or be "choppy"; but people seem to miss the amazing positives. Such as the retro video intermissions, an amazing soundtrack and perhaps most impressive of all is the fact that Rubi is voiced by Eliza Dushku the lead actress of Dollhouse and Tru Calling.

What is not to love? The game mechanics are great for new players and seasoned players alike. With auto and manual targeting, a slew of slow mo shooting, road races, parachute jumping and building hopping it certainly pulls the gamer into the story and has a terrific replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly enjoyable title., August 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I will start off by saying I have played pretty much every game made by Bethesda since The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind, Game of the Year Edition back in 2002, and I've enjoyed everyone. WET, which was released three years ago as of this review, was probably one of my favourites, alongside Fallout 3 and Skyrim.

Taking much inspiration from the grindhouse films of the late 70s as well as John Woo's gun-fu films such as Hard Boiled, WET is a take on the classic Hong Kong action thriller, with a female protagonist, Rubi Malone. The story plays very well for the genre and has Rubi tracking down the leader of a major crime syndicate operating out of Hong Kong. The voice acting for the most part is terrible to the point where it's laughable but unsurprisingly Eliza Dushku, of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Dollhouse fame, gives a flawless performance as Rubi, perfectly capturing and accentuating the tough, no-BS attitude Rubi exudes.

Drawing further from its roots WET features a fantastic neo-noir style in every sense, with classic 70s style humour, a film grit inspired by the effects of nitrate decomposition on actual decaying film, and a very unique red-black-white colour scheme that presents itself most impressively in Rubi's RAGE mode, which is in every essence an extreme form of the Hysteria mode from Alice: Madness Returns. The game also features a very fitting soundtrack composed of punk rock, rockabilly, and grindcore, which I usually don't enjoy but in the context of this game, fit very well. During cutscenes the graphics are incredibly poor but I've never really been one to pay attention to cutscenes unless I'm playing a heavily story-driven game, so I don't hold anything against it. Graphics during gameplay are aeons better in comparison to the cutscenes but still pretty flat compared to modern games, but the sheer speed of the action combined with the film grain basically negates the outdated graphics.

What really struck me about WET was its unique gameplay, heavily based off of various martial arts and gun/sword-oriented combat. WET incorporates the now-overused mechanism of bullet time that was introduced into gaming with Max Payne, and turns it three or four notches higher. The bullet time in WET is fantastic and unlike games such as Stranglehold or Max Payne it is automatically triggered upon initiating an acrobatic move with Rubi, breaking only when her acrobatic combo ends. There is a certain delight in watching the heads of seven enemies explode in a row as you perform a wallrun, proceeding forth to backflipping off the wall and shooting three more enemies, finally ending the combo with a flawless downwards slash onto the last enemy. As the game's thirteen (if I remember correctly) stages are set around large arenas with endlessly-respawning enemies, moments like these are often, and the game provides a fun variety of moves to execute with great vengeance, as Samuel Jackson would put it.

I found the controls in WET to be, contrary to what everyone else described as 'clunky', very fluid, and fitting to the game's style. On the 360, left trigger puts Rubi in a state of acrobatics and so long as it's held down, she will perform some sort of acrobatic move on virtually any object available. Right trigger fires and Rubi has a unique double-lock shooting where one reticle controls her right hand and the other, which autolocks to the closest enemy, controls the left. This allows for true dualwielding, which I found very impressive.

Overall, I highly enjoyed WET and I can greatly appreciate it for its unique style and gameplay. Even now, even after having beaten it six times on all modes and maxed it out to 1000G, I still play it every other week when I get bored of some of my other games, which demonstrates its replayability. Though it's a fairly linear game and outdated three years graphics and animation wise by newer titles the entertainment value provided by its combat, dirty humour, and overall style outweighs some of its more average aspects such as story and graphics, and now that it's at sub-$15 (I bought it originally used for $23, with shipping) it's definitely worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really great...at first, December 20, 2013
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
When I first picked up and played this game, I was actually pretty stoked. I was all like "running on the walls?" And the next thing I know I had to clean all the mind off my wall. Then I played the first mission and went on to the next. It was still fun but with each level it got more and more redundant until I just put down my controller and said "I really don't feel like this anymore." I mean, after you slide, run, and samurai slice someone's head off for the one thousandth time, it gets pretty old. So when I ran out of room on my little game shelf area, this was the first thing to go. Not sold, of course, just stashed away. Don't let my review sway your purchase, though. It just didn't suit me, but you may like it. Apparently some people did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, could be better though, September 28, 2009
By 
James "James S." (Houston, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WET - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Not bad, but not outstanding either. The game was fun for the first 2 hours, but after that you realize that anything the game has to give after that you've already seen. It's just rinse, lather and repeat from that point on. Great idea, good interface and gameplay. Overall concept is great, but could have used a better story and more diverse game play. I'd say it's worth buying when it hits the $20-40 range, not before that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WET - Xbox 360
WET - Xbox 360 by Bethesda (Xbox 360)
$59.99 $42.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.