Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great; didn't match factory exactly but great overall
Works great! Replacement was easy enough for a first time DIY-er. Only downside was that the area where the water enters the icemaker was shaped differently than the factory icemaker. Took a bit of effort to figure it out, but was able to bend the rubber water hose to the side, insert new icemaker, and let the hose "flop" into place.

But has been...
Published 7 months ago by Marshall E. Koch

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT Whirlpool Brand. Deceptive Description
This product's description is deceptive, saying it's brand is Whirlpool. The product I received was clearly marked "Supco model RIM961, replaces Whirlpool 5 cube icemaker." Supco parts may be fine, but I thought I was buying Whirlpool brand. The description says "WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961 by Whirlpool" and...
Published 9 months ago by Gregory D. Woolverton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT Whirlpool Brand. Deceptive Description, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
This product's description is deceptive, saying it's brand is Whirlpool. The product I received was clearly marked "Supco model RIM961, replaces Whirlpool 5 cube icemaker." Supco parts may be fine, but I thought I was buying Whirlpool brand. The description says "WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961 by Whirlpool" and indicates that it's part number is "W10190961."

This is deceptive and unacceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great; didn't match factory exactly but great overall, November 19, 2013
By 
Marshall E. Koch (Arlington, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
Works great! Replacement was easy enough for a first time DIY-er. Only downside was that the area where the water enters the icemaker was shaped differently than the factory icemaker. Took a bit of effort to figure it out, but was able to bend the rubber water hose to the side, insert new icemaker, and let the hose "flop" into place.

But has been working fine for the last few months, no complaints on the functionality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked like a charm, September 19, 2013
By 
Thomas E. Elam (Carmel, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
Took about 15 minutes to install, including the time to replace its water receptacle with the OEM version that was slightly different. Making ice, and making us happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
This ice maker is equivalent to the original with the exception of the fill funnel. The fill funnel is too large which gets in the way of the fill tube. To get around this, I cut a notch in the fill funnel to accommodate the fill tube. It works as good as the original. If it wasn't for the fill funnel being to large, I would have given this product 5 stars. I would recommend this product even if you have to cut the fill funnel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work like a champ, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
I bought this to replace the old ice maker that broke down. The plastic water feeder to the tray is too tall for the water hose that come out from the refridgerator so I used a knife and cut a hole in the water feeder so that I can slide the water hose in for installation. Work like a champ and put out ice faster than the original one that came with the refridgerator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works very well!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
I asked some previous purchasers if this was an OEM unit assuming that would be important. Most said they didn't think so but that it worked very well. They were correct on both counts. It appears very well constructed and totally interchangable with the OEM version. After removing the OEM unit I wasn't impressed with how the coating on the actual ice tray had held up so not sure I wanted another just exactly like it anyway. The new icemaker had an improved water shield where the water hose feeds the tray and I was pleased to see this. Made it a tiny bit of a challenge on install as it has to be pushed past the intake hose and being taller it took a bit more force. Got it installed and waited for the unit to cool to operating temp (it doesn't load water immediately---it waits till tray is thoroughly chilled) and was very pleased to hear ice dropping a couple of hours later. YEAH!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable price - easy install, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
I couldn't believe the price on this replacement icemaker I got for my Dad..... and about $120.00 less than Sears wanted for the part alone. Found an installation video on line and it was swapped out in about 15 minutes. It works great and has twice the ice output of his old one. If I had Sears supply the part and charged me labor to exchange it, I bet it would have been somewhere around $350.00 ! And I've always been afraid to work on an icemaker.... I thought they were some exotic thing to work on! Not any more :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars icemaker, September 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
Icemaker was a perfect match to the original. Very easy to install(10-15 min.). Shipping and packaging were excellent. Probably saved $150.00 over having a repairman come to the house to do it. No special tools needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works better than the original, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
Replaced my Kenmore ice maker with this and it is producing ice at a faster rate than the original. Easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worked perfectly started slowly, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WHIRLPOOL KENMORE KITCHENAID 5 CUBE INFRARED SENSOR CONTROLLED ICE MAKER W10190961
The ice maker came. pull out your old ice maker and look if anything needs taken off. There should be one ice frame around the ice maker. Unscrew that , then place on new maker and screw in place.Slide back in the freezer hod and connect wires. Screw in place then boom it will start making ice. I would not eat this ice at first >it made a batch every two hours then one day it caught up and has stayed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.