Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.
I have been watching this video for many times because I love it. Nature is nature. We must protect our nature.
Published 16 months ago by LUIS MARTIN

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D, huge video issues
This disc is really odd. I am halfway through it. And man, does it have issues.

First, it is a documentary about ranching on the Hungarian Plains. If it wasn't for the horseback riders wearing Hungarian Costumes, I would have sworn this was filmed in the Texas Panhandle or Oklahoma - almost the exact same landscape, similar flora and fonna, even similar...
Published 19 months ago by William


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D, huge video issues, May 21, 2013
By 
William "William" (Fort Worth, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
This disc is really odd. I am halfway through it. And man, does it have issues.

First, it is a documentary about ranching on the Hungarian Plains. If it wasn't for the horseback riders wearing Hungarian Costumes, I would have sworn this was filmed in the Texas Panhandle or Oklahoma - almost the exact same landscape, similar flora and fonna, even similar architecture. Horses are horses, goats are goats, and longhorn cows are longhorn cows no matter where they are. There are even some shots that look amazingly like a field of Bluebonnets and firewheels, although the film does tell what the flowers are.

There is not a lot of varrience in landscape, either. It looks like the guy who shot the video had a friend who owned some land in Hungry, and asked if he could shoot out there. It seems like an awfully small sampling of an area to title it "Europe's Most Beautiful Places". And while I am sure it is pretty low landfall, there is obviously more rainfall there than any other "desert" I have ever seen

The narration is attrocious (sp?). It felt like I was back in school watching a horrible 1950s educational film. She will put you to sleep. Luckily a Music only track is provided.

The disc specifications say English / German Audio tracks, but all I saw was English and a music only track.

The video.... Okay, so let's start out by saying that the 3D effect is AMAZING! Stuff really pops out of the screen. One of the best looking uses of 3D I have ever seen.

Tis the FIRST 3D release that I have ever seen that...... HAS GHOSTING BAKED INTO THE VIDEO!!! However, it's not the only visual issue.

Pretty much, it looks like the entire show was filmed with a Pro-sumer grade 3D HD camera, and an older model at that. It seems that there are quite a few interpolated frames. While this looks fine on static landscapes, the video starts to blur a bit on pans. However, when horses are running across the picture, or sheep, goats or cows are in motion, not only does the picture blur and soften, but there are some very obvious ghosting effects. Pausing on a frame of, say, a horse running, will show what looks to be 2 or three frames composited on top of each other, with your current frame being the sharpest, and what looks like the before frame and the after frame which are semi-transparent. As you can see the horses legs in three very different points of motion, and not what you would expect - a left and right image speration issue, this leads me to believe that the issue stems from a camera that is not shooting a full 24 /25 / 30 frames a second and is in fact interpolating footage. As most of the shots are fairly static, though, this issue only rears its ugly head every now and then.

There was something else that was really bugging me - just how soft the picture was during camera pans and action scenes. Turns out that the film has a bitrate between 9-13Mbps (the 13 gets hit in high motion scenes)... for a 3D TITLE! Who the heck encodes a movie that tight? The movie is only 53 minutes long, and there are no extras or subtitles, so why such a tight bitrate? The entire disc is just 11.5 gig.

If this was released by a major studio, I would be screaming for a replacement disc.

That being said, it's NOT awful. Like I said, the 3D IS INCREDIBLE, and there are some beautiful shots in here. And the disc is fairly priced at $10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another attempt to make a quick buck, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
Ok, here's the deal. This whole movie (or at least the 40 minutes I could bear to watch), was shot in a 1 field in Hungary.

First we look at Hungarian water buffaloes, then some crazy sheep, then we get a lesson on hungarian horse husbandry, then we are studying "rare" flowers on the edge of the same farmers field... I poop you not. It is that bad.

The only thing keeping this from a one star was they used some excellent 3D equipment. The 3D was impressive! The topic... not so unless you suffer insomnia

There's been a sudden deluge of nature based 3d content lately, and unfortunately it has been to make a buck. If they keep pumping out uninteresting stuff like this, the genre may permanently be damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the time or money, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
This film is not at all what I expected. For the most part it is just a bunch of cattle and sheep grazing about. Some nice scenery but mostly boring and unimaginative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
Very disappointed with this "European" video. Video is on a farm in Hungary with farm animals, pathetic waste of 3D technology! Now I know why this 3D blu ray video is $9, you get what you pay for here with this purchase. Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somebody is Laughing, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
This is a total rip-off and I want my money back, looking at horse poop and flies in 3-D is not my idea of "Most Beautiful Places in Europe". There are days worth of amazing scenic locations in Europe, but the people who made this piece of junk never heard of any of them. It makes perfect sense if you have ever met cattle herders. They, as a rule have a very limited view of the world, and I guess if you are hard up for cash, this might have seemed like a good idea. It wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful 3D documentary, May 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
The colors and animals are beautiful to watch. However, rather slow moving with some very nice 3D effects. But I wouldn't say run right out and buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, July 12, 2014
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
i would not get it, even if it was for free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, January 25, 2014
By 
Ralf Kraemer (Hawthorne, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
Hardly any 3D effects and basically boring. Nothing showing of the original Shepard's and how they lived. I consider it a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average Product - Presentation a bit outdated, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
Some 3D effect is apparent. The menu is too simple, chapter selection is few. The running time is too short. Sometimes, the content is a bit irrelevant like focusing on grass field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WORLD'S NATURE 3D - Europe's most beautiful Places (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE (Blu-ray)
I have been watching this video for many times because I love it. Nature is nature. We must protect our nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.