Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Needed This
When THQ went belly up at the end of 2012, the future of their gaming titles were in question. The two bigger ones were WWE and UFC. Once EA Sports grabbed up UFC, it was left in the air who would get WWE. After some negotiating, 2K Sports took WWE under their wing with promise to keep the same development team on board. Thus, WWE 2K14 was born. Now, the hard part is...
Published 12 months ago by DeadPlacebo

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh.
I love WWE and this is the first wrestling game I've played in over a decade. I am not that impressed with it. The Universe mode is horrid. I wanted to be able to start a campaign with a wrestler of my choosing and go for a title, which this lacks. You can just pick a random match, play it, win the title. No real work involved. The Wrestlemania mode is interesting but not...
Published 10 months ago by Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Needed This, November 5, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
When THQ went belly up at the end of 2012, the future of their gaming titles were in question. The two bigger ones were WWE and UFC. Once EA Sports grabbed up UFC, it was left in the air who would get WWE. After some negotiating, 2K Sports took WWE under their wing with promise to keep the same development team on board. Thus, WWE 2K14 was born. Now, the hard part is topping WWE 13's phenomenal storyline of the Attitude Era. Wrestlemania 30 is coming up in April of 2014 so why not do a tribute to such a landmark?

WWE 2K14 offers very little to change the game just at first glance. The graphics look pretty identical as do the commentary and WWE 2k14 loading screens. The little changes I noticed were: fixed chokeslam (no longer do people turn inside out when getting a chokeslam, it actually looks natural...when you bust someone open to bleed you can see the blood start to trickle down their face...when you land a big move on an opponent you can see them spread out on the mat almost lifeless....Slobber Knocker mode is back!!....reversals and grapples feel more natural and smoother to operate.
The new game mode, 30 Years of Wrestlemania, brings back a lot of warm and fuzzy nostalgic moments for wrestling fans of yesteryear. In chronological order, you will relive at least one, if not more, moments from each and every Wrestlemania until you get to 29. You have historical objectives required to complete the match so that you can be assured everything is how it happened in real life. This mode is insanely fun. Being there when Hogan bodyslammed Andre the Giant, Hogan defeated Yokozuna in record time, Razor Ramon beat HBK in ladder match, Undertakers greatest matches and when HBK retired Ric Flair...it's all there! The roster from this is very impressive. Older, almost forgotten names like Big John Studd and King Kong Bundy, bigger names that haven't been in games like Yokozuna and Razor Ramon all the way to just retro versions of HBK, Undertaker, Triple H and The Rock. Added to this game is also a Rivalry mode to Universe. This will allow you to have programs with superstars just like in real life that play over a set amount of time.
This game is such a huge improvement on WWE 13 and breathes new life into the series. Hopefully this will bring jaded wrestling fans back to the genre. I don't watch wrestling in real life, but playing this game reminds me of all the awesome moments that I got to live through as a child watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Focus On Old-School Gives People What They Want, December 8, 2013
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The state of professional wrestling (at least how that label applies to the WWE) right now is in a strange place. Besides Hulk Hogan's "TNA", which has a loyal following, the WWE basically has a monopoly on the entire business. They should be "bigger and better" than ever before. The truth of the matter, though, is that they simply are not, for the simple reason that they have almost zero effectiveness at developing iconic characters anymore. Once upon a time, pro wrestlers were household names even if you didn't watch wrestling. Now, you have to be a "wrestling fan" to know 3/4 of the current wrestlers this game comes with.

Last year's 2K game got it close, offering a tantalizing portion of old-school wrestlers and game modes, but 2K14 goes all-in on the nostalgia factor and creates perhaps the best wrestling game I have ever played on a video game console.

Basically, this franchise had to start offering up the classic wrestlers or the interest would have quickly faded. Now that I can use guys like Andre The Giant, Big John Studd, Million Dollar Man Ted DiBiase, and Razor Ramon (to name but a few), I feel like I will have hours and hours (days?!) of fun with this game in the future mixing it up with fellow old-school wrestling fan buddies. The possibilities seem endless!

Of course, many sports games are completely and utterly doomed by clunky controls, but 2K seems to have created a very usable system. It is easy enough to "pick up and play" right off the bat, but also loaded with trickier combinations that will take time to master. The oft-maligned "reversal" system has also made a bit more difficult to master, which was a big plus.

Simply put, now that "Madden season" is coming to an end, I can easily say I will log more hours on this game than any other for the foreseeable future. Whether playing the game modes to unlock more classic players or getting some friends over to virtually pummel each other in a TLC match, this game will entertain me for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk about nostalgia!, July 16, 2014
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Okay, I'll start by saying this is the first wrestling game I've played since Smackdown Here Comes the Pain for PS2. My expectations were low for this and I didn't expect much but I was pleasantly surprised. This game was great! From the graphics, to character movement/ finishers/ entrances, and the different modes... everything was very well done.

I'll start with 30 Years of Wrestlemania as this was my favorite part of the game. This takes you through every single Wrestlemania and you get to play through all the big main event matches (46 matches total I think). During each match you'll be given objectives to complete which might lead to an event happening that actually happened at that Wrestlemania which is really cool. It was divided up into 5 different parts. Part one "Hulkamania runs wild", part two "The New Generation" which showcases Bret Hart and Shawn Michaels, part three "Attitude Era" (my favorite and it was the shortest), part four "Ruthless Aggression" and part five "Universe Era".

Also in 30 Years of Wrestlemania was a section dedicated solely to The Undertaker called 'The Streak Mode'. In this you get to play as the Undertaker and defend the streak against a seemingly never ending waves of WWE superstars. And you also get to attempt to defeat the streak and can play as anyone against Undertaker (he is very tough in this mode).

Exhibition Mode includes pretty much any type of match you can think of. From Hell in a Cell to a 2 versus 3 handicap tornado tag team match. If it's been in the WWE you can play it here, local and online.

WWE Universe Mode, I didn't get too into this but it seemed like basically a season mode where you get to play through every single show, event and PPV. You can switch out wrestlers wherever you want and you can play which ever match you want. The season/ year ends on Wrestlemania and you can also play through this with your created character.

As far as creating your own stuff you can create a WWE superstar (there's also preset builds like Roddy Piper), finishers, events (ring color, the background, the entrance ramp, everything), entrances, and championships. Also, there is 'OMG moments' which are all really awesome. My favorite was Ryback throwing two guys into the turnbuckle then picking both up on his shoulders and slamming them... not sure if that was done in real life or not but it was definitely an 'OMG moment'!

This game was a lot of fun especially playing through the pre 2000's matches in 30 Years of Wrestlemania. I'm not exactly a fan of any of the new WWE superstars as John Cena is the newest one I recognized; the rest of the 'Universe Era' wrestlers seem pretty lame in my opinion. None of them are iconic like Stone Cold, The Rock, Undertaker, Hulk Hogan etc. And anyone who has watched WWE in the past will instantly think of awesome moments from Stone Cold when they hear that famous shattering of glass. But a solid 5/5 rating from me on this and I would definitely recommend it to any fan of WWE or someone who used to be a fan and wants to relive some good moments from their childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years of Wrestlemania indeed!, May 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
It's pretty much your standard fare WWE wrestling game until you play the 30 years of Wrestlemania feature. This game is nostalgic for older gamers and wrestling fans, but educational to younger fans. A must play for true WWE fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If you are a wrestling fan, this game is a must have. You get a taste of new school and old school. You will never get tired of playing it. You can choose your favorite wrestlers and have them fight against your not so favorite. The graphics are nice. The different matches, such as tlc, royal rumble, etc... is the ticket. You can't go wrong with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just like the graphics/gameplay of old, July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game is enjoyably heinous. Just like the graphics/gameplay of old, with an historical roadmap that is as comical as it's ridiculous. Play-ability is so-so, controls are rigid and everything feels like it's injected with steroids, which is exactly what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh., January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I love WWE and this is the first wrestling game I've played in over a decade. I am not that impressed with it. The Universe mode is horrid. I wanted to be able to start a campaign with a wrestler of my choosing and go for a title, which this lacks. You can just pick a random match, play it, win the title. No real work involved. The Wrestlemania mode is interesting but not something I absolutely love. Great history lesson for newer WWE fans though. Online is glitchey and very few players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!!!!, November 23, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Amazing game! Best WWE game to date. This game literally has everything and it's the best becasue it's focoused on the wrestlers people actually care about like Ric Flair, Diesel, Razor, Mr. Perfect, Goldberg, Stiner, Giant, Andre, Studd, Steamboat, Henan, Savage, Hogan, Taker, Kane, Hbk, Hitman, Syxx, Lesnar, Warrior, Austin, Rock, HHH, Eddie G, Million Dollar man, bundy, all the greats are here with more to come in DLC. It feels he most complete thur far. All the classic arena's are here hope to get some WCW ones soon, all the titles from WCW, WWE, ECW, all the matches. It's a huge awesome game, can't wait for the next DLC pack just downloaded the NWO pack (Hall Nash hogan, Henning, Stiner, Giant, Syxx). \m/\m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The history of Wrestlemania, October 30, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
For years when you were to mention wrestling the first name that comes to mind is the WWE. With colorful characters, intense action and some great plotlines it is one of the best shows to watch. Now 2k games has released their latest game called WWE 2K14 but is this going to be a match you'll want to take or will you want to tap out?

One of the most awe inspiring things of this title has to be the impressive roster that has been assembled. There are over sixty wrestlers that you can choose from that reflects both current and past WWE greats. Some of the wrestlers have their current look but also have some retro costumes. So imagine taking a match where you can play as the classic undertaker with the widebrimmed hat.

You can also create your own wrestler in the career mode as you can customize the look of your character. As you start you will be virtually unknown but as you win matches you will be more well known. Do you have what it takes to reach mega star status like Hulk Hogan?

Exhibition matches are the heart of the game where you can pit various wrestlers in whatever match your heart desires. One of the newer modes is called Universe Mode where the computer will create random matchups. Instead of assigning all the teams, scenarios and rivalries all of these are going to be completely computer generated. You can choose who you want to play however, when the game starts it feels more like you're watching an episode of monday night raw instead of a planned match.

Another new mode that's being introduced is a single player mode entitled "30 years of Wrestlemania". These are 46 matches that are going to relive some of the epic events of the classic matchups that occurred in previous Wrestlemania's. You will be able to go up against such greats as Andre the Giant, Macho Man Savage, The Rock and others. You need to complete certain objectives to get past the match and you will go on to the next match. Another thing that's awesome about this game is there is classic video footage that will make you reminisce past matches. These videos also establish the storylines that occurred way back when and set the stage perfectly for the match.

With some great game modes, a huge roster of wrestlers to choose from and some new game modes to choose from it's obvious to get this if you're a WWE fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son loves it!, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
My son loves this game. Even though it is cold outside, his friends have been coming over weekly to play it with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360
WWE 2K14 - Xbox 360 by 2K (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $23.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.