Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Star Paper view
1.Matt Hardy vs. Vladimir Kozlov
Average wrestling match, that had its moments, great wrestling moves , and some nice submission.
Winner: Vladimir Kozlov rating:6.5/10

2.IC Tournement Final: Rey Mysterio vs. C.M Punk
Great Match, Nice Moves, Counters, and submission, these two show what wrestlings all about, these two fan favorites gave it all...
Published on January 4, 2009 by Laura L. Suarez

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWE Armageddon 2008
This was one of those PPVs where half of it is good and the other half is very forgettable. There is plenty of entertainment to be found on this show, but when you add in all the bad aspects of it, it brings the rating down considerably. Lets just get right into it, matches are rated out of 5 stars (*****).

1. Non-title Match
ECW Champion Matt Hardy vs...
Published on December 14, 2008 by R. Marsiglia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWE Armageddon 2008, December 14, 2008
By 
R. Marsiglia (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
This was one of those PPVs where half of it is good and the other half is very forgettable. There is plenty of entertainment to be found on this show, but when you add in all the bad aspects of it, it brings the rating down considerably. Lets just get right into it, matches are rated out of 5 stars (*****).

1. Non-title Match
ECW Champion Matt Hardy vs. Vladimir Kozlov

Poor opener, but at least they got this over with first. This wasn't as bad as it could have been, but this was no classic I assure you. WWE gave the finish of the match away by making this a non-title match, and they obviously wanted to put Kozlov over. Kozlov, in case you haven't noticed, is one of the most unimpressive workers currently in WWE. This match didn't exactly do wonders for the prestige of the ECW Championship. *1/4

2. Intercontinental Championship Tournament Finals
Rey Mysterio vs. CM Punk

I was unimpressed with Mysterio in this match as he seemed very sloppy, but all things considered this was a helluva match. Lots of great offense from Punk, and I was glad to see him go over. Very enjoyable match, and the stiff GTS to end the match that broke Mysterio's nose (or at least came close) was pretty awesome. ***1/2

We then got my goodness me a long promo from JBL and Shawn Michaels trying to explain this whole angle. Best part of the segment came when fans started a small "Joey Styles" chant, which I loved. This segment most definitely should have been on Raw, I am not a fan in the slightest of having these promos on PPV. The promo was alright but WWE obviously had time they needed to kill

3. Belfast Brawl
Mark Henry vs. Finlay (w/ hornswoggle)

Nothing but weapons shots and a whole lot of uninteresting action. This wasn't unwatchable and it was better than their previous encounters but this was not a good match. Very reminiscent of the terrible hardcore title matches from the late '90s and early 2000s. *1/4

4. Batista vs. Randy Orton

This was a disapointment as I was expecting a lot more from this one. This match really dragged in the early stages and Batista seemed quite lacking, but it picked up quite a bit at the end when both men started hitting all their moves. At the end of the day this turned into a good match but it could have and should have (in my opinion) been much better. **3/4

5. 8-Diva Santa's Little Helper Match
Maria, Kelly Kelly, Mickie James, & Michelle McCool
vs.
Maryse, Jillian Hall, Victoria, & Natalya

Does anyone care? Absolutely shocking match here. I didn't have to go to the bathroom so I actually watched this match, which was indeed a mistake. A cigarette break would have been a much better plan. However, I give this match one star simply because Michelle McCool did a Styles Clash to end the match. *

After this disgraceful match we get a Khali kiss cam segment, which ended up involving Mae Young. I will say nothing more.

6. World Heavyweight Championship Match
John Cena (c) vs. Chris Jericho

Real good match here, much better than their Survivor Series match. I enjoyed the fact that it was kept relatively short for a title match (give or take 12 minutes), which allowed for mostly fast paced action. This was a forgone conclusion match as no wrestling fan on earth thought Jericho would win, but it was still a great effort. ***3/4

7. WWE Championship Match
Edge (c) vs. Triple H vs. Jeff Hardy

Very good match, match of the night, and I must say I was completely dumbfounded when Jeff won. I did not see that coming at all, and to say I was surprised would be an understatement. I'm still trying to decide whether or not I buy Jeff as WWE Champion, but I have to say it presents an interesting situation. This match had a lot of great action including a great announce table spot, and the go home sequence was fantastic. I definitely could have done without the Kozlov and Matt Hardy interference, as I feel it did nothing for the match, but this was still a great effort by all 3 men. ****

So there you have it. While there was definitely entertainment to be found on this show, and there were 3 very good matches, the rest is total garbage. I would certainly not recommend purchasing this DVD, but rent this for the 3 good matches if you have nothing better to do on a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Star Paper view, January 4, 2009
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
1.Matt Hardy vs. Vladimir Kozlov
Average wrestling match, that had its moments, great wrestling moves , and some nice submission.
Winner: Vladimir Kozlov rating:6.5/10

2.IC Tournement Final: Rey Mysterio vs. C.M Punk
Great Match, Nice Moves, Counters, and submission, these two show what wrestlings all about, these two fan favorites gave it all they got.
Winner:C.M Punk rating:9/10

Boring promo on HBK taking J.B.Ls job offer

3.Belfast Brawl: Mark Henry vs. Finlay
This was your average belfast brawl, alot of the same weapons, like trash cans, trash can lids, and singapore canes, this was nothing special.
Winner:Finlay rating:5/10

4.Batista vs. Randy Orton
Good match for their first one on one encounter, they used thier basic singnature moves, and sold real well, the ending was awsome.
Winner:Batista rating:7/10

5.Santas Little Helpers match:Kelly,Mickie,McCool,& Maria vs. Jillian, Maryse, Natalya, & Victoria
All i can say is Average Divas match, they could have used better Divas Like Melina, Mickie made the match a little bit better.
winners:Mickie, Kelly, Maria, & McCool Rating:4/10

6.World Heavyweight title match:John Cena vs. Chris Jericho
Thier Survivor Series encounter was better, but this one was alot more physical, though its only around 13 minutes it was a really entertaining match, everytime you get these two in the ring its a good hard fought match.
Winner:John Cena Rating:8/10

7. WWE Title Match:Edge vs. Jeff Hardy vs. Triple H
A amazing encounter, everybody in this match poured thier hearts out into this match, it was non stop action, including some outside interference form Vladimir Kozlov and Matt Hardy.
Winner and new WWE Champion:Jeff Hardy Rating:10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWE Armageddon 2008 review, July 6, 2010
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
This is one of the best shows in 2008. The HHH-Edge-Jeff Hardy 3 way bout for the WWE title was a really satisfying main event and had a finish that WWE dared not to for very long time. The John Cena-Y2J match for the World's title while not as good as their bout from one month earlier,it was still a solid match. The eight woman Santa's little helper tag team match was cartoonish and a "dud" with Great Khali coming in and making it worse thus making it a "Big Lipped Alligator Moment" but the rest were still great. I give this supercard a 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WWE Armadeddon 2008, June 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
ECW Champion Matt Hardy VS Vladmir Kozlov: I was surprised at how well this match went. Not a classic but still enjoyable with Kozlov pins Hardy in the end.

CM Punk VS Rey Mysterio: Intercontinental champion William Regal and Layla watches from ringside because this was a #1 contenders match. This was what you'd expect from these two-awesome. The last few minutes were great and the go to sleep was executed perfectly.

Shawn Michaels explains why JBL owns him. Fans didnt really care for this segement at all and could have been saved to be shown on Raw.

Mark Henry VS Finlay in a Belfast brawl: Damn I hate Hornswoggle, cant belive he is still employed while more talented wrestlers are getting cut or fired. Then again the same can be same for Mark Henry. This match just plain sucked as Hornswoggle assist Finlay in the win.

Charlie Haas is dressed as Santa to bring the divas a gift. Anther talented wrestler gone from WWE for no apparent reason. Santina comes in and brags about his Slammy award, picks a gift, and its the Boogeyman. Where the hell did he go? Then Santina opens a door and its Goldust under some miseltoe. Then a bunch of random jobbers sing We Wish You a Merry Christmas. Then Mr. Kennedy does a promo for his upcoming movie.

Batista VS Randy Orton: I hate Orton in this period, he was just so damn boring with an exciting finishing move. Cody Rhodes and Manu are at ringside, so that cannot be good. Orton throws Batista to the outside and Manu and Rhodes attacks him but instead of the usual disqualification, he sends them to the back. Very slow paced, boring match. Nothing i'd go out of the way to watch, considering it's been done several times since this.

Maria & Kelly Kelly & Mickie James & Michelle McCool VS Victoria & Natalya & Maryse & Jillian Hall: Sad to see someone as talented Victoria being reduced to stupid gimmick matches. I skipped over this like i've done with every other divas match.

John Cena VS Chris Jericho: Jericho does his best but Cena makes him tap in the end. Week by week, I hate Cena more and more. Not a bad match but hated the ending.

Edge VS Triple H VS Jeff Hardy: A very good triple threat match with Hardy finally winning the title he's been chasing for the year. I love the ending.

Overall, it was a mixed bag. Hardy/Triple H/Edge and CM Punk/Mysterio were the best matches and Cena-Jericho wasnt too bad but I hate Cena. I know Hardy's title win is on other dvds, so get those instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2008 Finally Pays Off For Jeff Hardy, January 20, 2009
By 
D.P. (California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
Matt Hardy vs. Vladmir Kozlov - This was a non-title match with the excuse being that Kozlov never wrestled in ECW to get a title match & that it was a personal issue. If your used to the fast paced type of opening match then you won't like this one as it was just average & nothing special but I'll give credit to Matt Hardy for giving me a better watchable match than I usually see from Kozlov.

Rey Mysterio vs. C.M. Punk - The finals of the Intercontinental Title tournament here & quite frankly, this was the match that should have been the opener as it was exactly what you would expect from both men & a great performance that was needed from both men after their recent lackluster feuds (like Mysterio vs. Kane). Early chain wrestling with Mysterio's hurt arm being worked on before building up over time with countering each others moves and really got exciting towards the end with a GTS that injured Rey's nose.

Right around here was a segment explaining the current situation between Shawn Michaels & J.B.L. Eventhough this was a good talk segment, I always felt like these things should be saved for free TV (RAW) instead of taking time away from the undercard on an event that people payed for because you would have gotten the same effect either way.

Belfast Brawl: Finlay vs. Mark Henry - This was just a decent hardcore match with the usual weapons (trash can, steel steps, singapore canes) being brought in the ring & used to make this a more watchable Mark Henry performance that we usually get but it's nothing special past that.

Batista vs. Randy Orton - After teasing a match between these two since the days of Evolution, they lock up for the first time ever...since the episode of RAW after WrestleMania 21. This was one of those matches that I honestly felt didn't go past "first gear" as they kept the same pace throughout the match with it only picking up at various spots with their impact moves & counters instead of just building up over time but I'll give credit here for telling a story with each move of Orton's being very calculated. It was a good match but I felt like it didn't live up to the "4 years" hype they used to build up this match.

Maria & Kelly Kelly & Mickie James & Michelle McCool vs. Victoria & Natalya & Maryse & Jillian Hall - This was a match where all the divas wore their special "Christmas outfits." It seemed a little unusual to see the RAW & SmackDown divas teaming together after only feuding with each other the previous month for Survivor Series. As another side note, J.R. & Lawler sound like they haven't missed a step with their commentary together with even Matt Striker getting in on the action making Tazz point out how it was the "most uncomforable line of the evening." The match itself was nice & allowed everyone to get their moments in with McCool pulling off a "phenomenal" finisher. All I'm going to say about what happened afterwards with Khali's Kiss Man is...well, to quote Ron Simmons "DAMN!"

World Champion John Cena vs. Chris Jericho - I didn't see their Survivor Series match so I can't comment but I know that this match was well worked between both men with Jericho targeting Cena's neck early on along with a bulldog into the steel steps outside at one point. Good back & forth encounter but missing that intensity & main event feel that their 2005 trilogy had.

WWE Champion Edge vs. Triple H vs. Jeff Hardy - For the second year in a row, Edge is in a main event triple threat for a championship while this is Triple H's 7th multiman main event in a year for those trivia fans. Some action moments throughout the match like Triple H & Jeff Hardy doing a classic "Hardy Boyz" spot onto Edge early in the match, Hardy's wisper in the wind with Triple H holding Edge in an "electric chair," the traditional announce table spot, and that finishing move by Jeff Hardy that you were just waiting all match for him to pull off. This was the match of the night here with this match doing exactly what the other matches were lacking in that it buildup with getting more intense & fast paced overtime with the perfect World Championship win celebration afterwards that was as perfect of a moment that any wrestler or fan can ask for.

The only DVD extra is John Morrison & The Miz doing a critique of Armageddon & if anyone pays attention to their "Dirt Sheet," this is just as entertaining.

In the end, this event reminded me of most of the WWE PPV's this year in that it didn't have a bad match on here & nothing really worthy to skip over but I can't say it was one of their top PPV's of the year with the drawbacks being that with the exception of two matches (HHH/Hardy/Edge & Punk/Mysterio) that the rest of the matches are lacking "it" to really make them standout. In the end, this isn't a PPV that you should go rush out to see but you won't feel ripped off either. This was a 3.5 star event but I'll be nice & round it up to four so I would recommend this after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great PPV!!!, August 8, 2009
By 
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
1. Matt Hardy vs Vladimir Kozlov Not much of a match, pretty boring. 2.5/5

2. Final Match in the WWE Intercontinental Chamionship #1 Contender Tournament: Rey Mysterio vs CM Punk
These two high-flyers put on a great match. Lots of action. 4/5

3. Belfast Brawl: Finlay vs Mark Henry I didn't really like this match. It wasn't much of a brawl. 3/5

4. Batista vs Randy Orton This could have been the match of the night. GREAT MATCH! 5/5

5. Santa's Little Helper Tag Team Match: Michelle McCool, Mickie James, Kelly Kelly, and Maria vs Maryse, Natalya, Jillian, and Victoria Just a Divas match, nothing to it. 2/5

6. World Heavyweight Championship Match: John Cena vs Chris Jericho Good match. Back and forth wrestling. 4.5/5

7. Triple Threat Match for the WWE Championship: Edge vs Triple H vs Jeff Hardy Awesome match! Hardy finally wins his first WWE Title. 5/5!

I thought this was a great PPV, I recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good overall show from right before the start of the ..., August 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
Very good overall show from right before the start of the PG Era which still produces good content but people overlook that. Punk/Rey is an awesome match, you get a nice brawl between Finlay/Mark Henry, and a strong double main event for both titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Way To End 2008, January 26, 2009
By 
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
I won't mince words. Let's get to it:

Matt Hardy Vs. Vladimir Kozlov - Not a bad opener. We know that Hardy can go and while I don't think that Kozlov is main event material, he does have some skills. Certainly better than some of the other big men WWE try to push suck as Ezekial and The Great Khali.

Back to the match, it has some moments and even some interesting submission spots by Kozlov. The Russian Mauler wins with his chokeslam/spinebuster combo after Hardy hit the ringpost with his head.

Rey Mysterio Vs. C.M. Punk - The winner of this match would get a guaranteed WWE I-C title shot against then champion William Regal. This first meeting between these two was almost a Ring Of Honor type bout as they used moves rarely seen in WWE! Also, some surprise submissions such as Rey (who isn't known for them) turned a tilt a whirl backbreaker attempt into a Fujiwara armbar and Punk (who is known for submissions) used a variation of the late Chris Benoit's crossface.

This exciting match ends with a stiff GTS that legitimately breaks Mysterio's nose! OUCH! Punk gets the win and his title shot. Has to be considered 2nd best match of the night!

Finlay Vs. Mark Henry (Belfast Brawl) - Nothing special here but not bad. Its watchable. Finlay wins after Hornswaggle passes him a shelieghly (sp?) to knock out Henry.

Batista Vs. Randy Orton - In one of the most anticipated bouts, "The Animal" faced off with his former Evolution mate for the first time in 3 years (Batista DID have a title bout with Orton in 2005 shortly after WrestleMania 21).

Early on, Cody Rhodes and Manu interfered on Orton's behalf but rather than DQ Orton, the ref threw out Rhodes and Manu and allowed the match to continue. From there, it was mainly rest holds and was pretty slow until the final moments when both guys were going for the win. In this one, Batista gets the win after getting Orton in the Batista Bomb from a unique position. Good bout.

Mickie James, Michelle McCool, Kelly Kelly & Maria Vs. Maryse, Jillian, Naytalia & Victoria (Santa's Little Helper Tag Team Match) - This was okay as well. Nothing special though. Too bad then WWE Women's champ Beth Phoenix and Melina (who was injured at the time) wasn't part of this.

Overall, Mickie, Naytalia & Maryse carried this bout. Kelly Kelly is improving but was just okay here. Maria, at this point, is just eye candy and while Michelle McCool is competent in the ring, she's overrated in my view!

As for Victoria, I felt bad for her. In a way, I am glad she's retired because she was being used sooooo poorly! This is the same woman that used to give Trish Stratus the matches of her life and gave other top Divas such as Lita, Jazz and Molly Holly fits and this is how she's being used?! What crap!

Anyway, worth one watch but isn't must see viewing.

John Cena Vs. Chris Jericho (World Heavyweight Title Match) - While not on the level of their two 2005 matches (SummerSlam 2005 & "Loser Gets Fired" on RAW), this one was good. Very few men can get a good performance out of John Cena. Jericho is one of those guys!

This one was pretty physical and it came down to The Walls Of Jericho VS. The STFU. This time around, the STFU came out on top as Cena reversed The Walls into the hold! Cena retains the World title.

Edge Vs. HHH Vs. Jeff Hardy (WWE Title Match) - In this Triple Threat bout, all three men gave their all. This match could've easily been at WrestleMania or one of the other big cards. It was that good of quality. We get brief appearances from both Kozlov and Matt Hardy but their interference had little bearing on the matches.

Ends when Jeff hits his Swanton on Edge that knocks HHH off the pin! The ovation Jeff got for his win was overwhelming at the crowd exploded for his win! For wrestling fans, think Ron Simmons winning his WCW title in 1992 over Vader or 2004 when Eddie Guerrero beat Brock Lesner for the WWE title! For non-wrestling fans, think of the ovations that our current president Barack Obama gets. It was that loud!

The only special feature on this is a recap from The Miz and John Morrison. I haven't watched it yet so I can't make a comment on it.

Overall, while this card isn't a must get, it is worth your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Main Event with a so/so Mid-Card, January 13, 2009
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
From what I've heard about this event I didn't really expect much. But when I watched it for myself, the event didn't turn out so bad as I heard it was suppose to be. To include the HBK/JBL segment wasn't so bad either. But I do think it was a waste of two very good talents. There were some disappointments but overall I was happy with the event. I do have to say though that every match (including the main event) could have been a lot better. Slightly better for the main event however.

Vladimir Kozlov vs. Matt Hardy
With this match not being for the title you could see who was going to win from the start. Kozlov was applying a few nice wrestling holds on Hardy. The match got better with the last 5 minutes. And thats when the crowd got into it. Not a complete waste at all. 3.5/5

Finals of the Intercontinental Championship Tournament
CM Punk vs. Rey Mysterio
I expected way more from these two. Especially with what these two can bring to the table. Punk wrestled a good match with Mysterio pulling off good counters. I do have to say though, Mysterio wasn't so sharp here. But he did use his high flying offense pretty well. Punk scored with a sick GTS for the win which busted Mysterio's nose. Good match but really expected so much more. 4.25/5

Belfast Brawl
Finlay vs. Mark Henry
In my opinion the weakest match on the card. I enjoyed the Little Santa's Helpers match way more than this. Just a few spots with trash can lids & kendo sticks. This could have been saved for ECW to leave HBK & JBL having a match. 2.5/5

Randy Orton vs. Batista
A feud that has been building for four years. The match was the pretty good. But the video promo did help a lot, I must say. The match wasn't bad but once again I expected so more. Not so much more, but more then what I got. Nothing really out of the ordinary. The ending I think is what made the match but I fully think the wrong man won. The match had a good feel to it too. 4/5

Santa's Little Helper 8 Diva Tag Match
Mickie James, Michelle McCool, Maria, & Kelly Kelly vs. Victoria, Natalya, Maryse, & Jillian
On paper this totally seems like a stupid filler diva tag match. But the match wasn't so bad. As I mentioned I enjoyed this match more then the Belfast Brawl. All the divas has a chance to "strut" their stuff. And it turned out to be pretty enjoyable. I could have done without the post match kiss cam with the Great Khali & Mae Young though. 3.25/5

World Heavyweight Championship
John Cena vs. Chris Jericho
This match was so much better then from what I heard what these two did at Survivor Series. It didn't seem to have a main event championship feeling but lasting around the 15 minute mark, it was short and sweet. Cena didn't look sloppy as he usually do. Some nice counters. This is one I can watch again and a few more times. 4/5

WWE Championship
Triple H vs. Edge vs. Jeff Hardy
Now this match did have a true championship main event feeling. All the competitors brought their good stuff to the match. Hardy looked to be on fire and was looking for revenge for what happened at the Survivor Series. Probably the best action takes place on the outside. Good physicalty from all three out there. To include a sick table spot involving a spear to Hardy. I felt the end was a good finish. And the interference was nearly un-noticable. Awesome main event & finally a true crowning moment for Jeff Hardy. 5/5

Overall this was a little bit disappointing. But I don't regret getting this at all. The main event lived up to the hype but I don't think the match alone is worthy of purchasing this event. I say you can probably wait in getting this. No need in rushing out right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WWE Armageddon 08, May 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Armageddon 2008 (DVD)
DVD had some good matches on it and always fun to watch these different pay per views, thanks for sending my order to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WWE: Armageddon 2008
WWE: Armageddon 2008 by Victoria (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: $2.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.