Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bret Hart
Courtesy of WWEDVDNews.com, here is the full content listing for WWE's "Bret "Hit Man" Hart: The Dungeon Collection." The DVD and Blu-ray set hit stores on March 5th.

DISC 1

A Real Privilege

Untapped Resources

My Backyard

2-out of-3 Falls Match for the British Commonwealth Jr. Heavyweight Championship
Bret Hart...
Published 19 months ago by A. Pierre

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK DVD
Some good stuff here and their in this one. Some of matches themselves have bad film quality Bret vs Andre which surprised me due to it being a WWF/E Match. Otherwise solid not great stuff compared to other Bret Hart releases.
Published 14 months ago by Mr_C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bret Hart, January 9, 2013
By 
Courtesy of WWEDVDNews.com, here is the full content listing for WWE's "Bret "Hit Man" Hart: The Dungeon Collection." The DVD and Blu-ray set hit stores on March 5th.

DISC 1

A Real Privilege

Untapped Resources

My Backyard

2-out of-3 Falls Match for the British Commonwealth Jr. Heavyweight Championship
Bret Hart vs. Dynamite Kid
Stampede Wrestling * December 1978

World Tour

Bret Hart vs. Buzz Sawyer
Georgia Championship Wrestling * September 1979

A Lot of Promise

North American Heavyweight Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Leo Burke
Stampede Wrestling * January 1983

The Best It Gets

Bret Hart vs. Dynamite Kid
Capital Centre * September 14, 1985

Energy

WWE Tag Team Championship Match
Hart Foundation vs. The Islanders
Philadelphia Spectrum * March 14, 1987

A Sign of Respect

Bret Hart vs. Andre the Giant
Milan, Italy * April 10, 1989

The Right Formula

Bret Hart vs. Mr. Perfect
Maple Leaf Gardens * April 23, 1989

DISC 2

This Is For Us

Hart Foundation vs. The Twin Towers
Duluth, Minnesota * May 17, 1989

The Greatest Super-Card of All-Time

Bret Hart vs. Tiger Mask II
WWE / New Japan / All Japan Wrestling Summit * April 13, 1990

Change of the Guard

Intercontinental Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Ric Flair
New Haven, Connecticut * November 13, 1991

On the Threshold of Greatness

Bret Hart vs. Undertaker
Madison Square Garden * January 31, 1992

The Best Big Man

Bret Hart vs. Bam Bam Bigelow
Milan, Italy * April 25, 1993

DISC 3

Evolution at That Time

WWE Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Diesel
King of the Ring * June 19, 1994

Masterpieces

No Holds Barred
Bret Hart vs. Owen Hart
RAW * March 27, 1995

Powerhouse

Bret Hart vs. Jean-Pierre Lafitte
In Your House * September 24, 1995

Time Off

Bret Hart vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin
Sun City Superbowl * September 14, 1996

Simultaneously a Hero and a Rat

WWE Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. The Patriot
In Your House: Ground Zero * September 7, 1997

Wrestling Injured

WCW United States Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Booker T
WCW Monday Nitro * January 25, 1999

Misjudging Sting

Semi-Finals Match for the WCW Championship
Bret Hart vs. Sting
WCW Mayhem * November 21, 1999

Trip Through Memory Lane

BLU-RAY EXCLUSIVES

Dream Matches

Travel Schedule

Sleeping on a Plane

Survivor Series with Bob Backlund

Masked Man

Trumpet Sound

Customs with Owen

Lost at Sea

Prized Possession

Two of the Best in Japan

Super Skilled, Super Athletic

WWE Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Yokozuna
White Plains, New York * November 29, 1993

Doing It Old School

Bret Hart & British Bulldog vs. Owen Hart & Jim "The Anvil" Neidhart
Albany, New York * October 19, 1994

A Good Soul

Bret Hart vs. Hakushi
RAW * July 24, 1995

Cement Truck

WWE Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Vader
Friday Night's Main Event * August 29, 1997

Grew up loving Hart. He always made wrestlers look better then they were and this set is a great reminder. Can't wait for it to be released. I wonder if there is going be new commentary with these matches because alot of these take place overseas. Plus, Hogan's set had new commentary as well. Anyways, cant wait for this one to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the WWE's best DVD/Blu-ray releases to date, March 5, 2013
The best way I can describe this Bret Hart DVD/Blu-ray release is to borrow an old gimmick from iTunes: Bret's first DVD release can be classified as "The Basics" and the Dungeon Collection can be classified as the "Deep Cuts". This collection contains the rare gems from Bret's wrestling career. The rarely seen matches that most fans have probably only read about but have never seen.

Man, I don't know where to start first, this collection has so much great content on it. You'll see tons of great and rare matches, each of which are introduced by Bret himself, and he gives some awesome insight while telling some insider stories for each one. And there are some classic matches on this release: Bret vs Dynamite Kid in a 2-out-of-3-falls match for the British Commonwealth Jr. Heavyweight Championship, Bret vs Steve Austin from the Sun City Superbowl (this match is just a step below their classic Survivor Series match a few months later, and that's not a knock!), Bret vs Tiger Mask II from 1990, Bret vs Andre the Giant (I didn't even know these two ever faced off before this release), Bret vs Flair for the IC Title from 1991, Bret vs Bam Bam Bigelow (these two always had great chemistry together), Bret vs Mr. Perfect (one of Bret's best opponents), Bret vs Diesel from King of the Ring (I thought this was their best match and was thrilled to find it on this release) and an amazing match against his brother Owen, plus tons more!

In my opinion, the Blu-ray is the edition to get because you get more matches and tons more stories from Bret not found on the DVD edition.
I can't put this release over enough, Christmas has come early to say the least folks! I for one hope to see a Vol. 2 edition of the Dungeon Collection in the very near future.

Note on the quality of the Andre the Giant match: Yes, this match does not look good at all and here's the back story on it. For whatever reason, the WWF at the time didn't save this show in their video archives. However, a fan that had recorded the broadcast of this match from television onto vhs had posted it to Youtube 8 months ago (do a search on youtube for Bret vs Andre the Giant and you'll find the exact same match, quality, tracking problem spots, etc.; it was posted 8 months ago). WWE, since they own the original rights, simply downloaded it from Youtube and included this only surviving version (that we know of) on this set. It would've been nice if they could've used the original poster's vhs tape, but he probably would've wanted money for it. So, it's a Youtube download instead, and some people may not like this due to the poor quality, but at least we get to see it. This isn't the first time WWE has downloaded video from Youtube that's missing from their archives to include on DVDs. They also did this on Steamboat's DVD. They downloaded fan uploaded footage of a famous angle between Flair and Steamboat from Mid-Atlantic that doesn't exist in the archives they bought of Mid-Atlantic (many wrestling promotions back then would record over their show tapes and not save them, no one knew how valuable their show footage would later become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare matches from Bret Hart, March 17, 2013
Recently finished watching this so though I'd share my thoughts.

The feature starts with a message from Bret to the fans basically saying he worked with WWE is picking the matches and hopes you enjoy the collection.

Something I found really neat is how he talks about his opponents before the matches are shown.

Disc 1

Bret Hart vs. Dynamite Kid - Two Out Of THree Falls Match for the British Commonwealth Jr. Heavyweight Championship
Stampede Wrestling - December 1978

Bret's Stampede Wrestling bouts are definitely rare. I did not get a chance to see Dynamite Kid much growing up. I think when I got into WWF, he was half of The British Bulldogs tag team along with Daveyboy Smith. After watching this, I see why Dynamite's so popular and hope WWE does a documentary set on him.

Bret Hart vs. Buzz Sawyer
Georgia Championship Wrestling - September 1979

I think I remember Taker saying how Buzz cheated him. I don't remember the specific details of it though. I do know it was related to money. I hated Buzz for that. But as far as being a ring talent goes, I liked him. Like his match with Dynamite Kind, a good challenge, I felt for a young Bret Hart.

Bret Hart vs. Leo Burke - North American Heavyweight Championship
Stampede Wrestling - January 1983

Not a bad one for Bret.

Bret Hart vs. Dynamite Kid
Capital Centre - September 14, 1985

Yes! Another match against Dynamite Kid and a great one at that!

WWE Tag Team Championship Match
Hart Foundation vs. The Islanders
Philadelphia Spectrum - March 14, 1987

I always though The Hart Foundation was one of the best teams in history so I liked any match I saw that featured them.

Bret Hart vs. Andre the Giant
Milan, Italy - April 10, 1989

I did not know Bret fought Andre. I miss the big guy a lot so for that, it was a real treat to see him on my TV again.

Bret Hart vs. Mr. Perfect
Maple Leaf Gardens - April 23, 1989

These two never had a bad match together. Very enjoyable.

Hart Foundation vs. The Twin Towers
Duluth, Minnesota - May 17, 1989

Hart Foundation again. As stated, I like anything that featured them.

Bret Hart vs. Tiger Mask II
WWE/New Japan/All Japan Wrestling Summit - April 13, 1990

Wonderful masterpiece.

Bret Hart vs. Ric Flair - I.C. Title
New Haven, Connecticut - November 13, 1991

I thought these two always had great chemistry together.

Bret Hart on The Undertaker: This is really the only time I watch a pre-match comment. In short, Bret stated he didn't buy the early "Frankenstein" version of Taker's character, but started believing because Taker made it work.

Bret Hart vs. The Undertaker
MSG - January 31, 1992

This is the match that originally got me excited. A great bout although not as great as their matches from Royal Rumble 96, Summerslam 97 and One Night Only. I wish WWE would put House Show/live event matches on sets because I've been wanting to see that match from 96 where Taker and Bret fought HBK and Diesel at MSG, where Diesel nailed all three guys with a chair. Maybe it'll make it to the Best Of MSG set.

Bret Hart vs. Bam Bam Bigelow
Milan, Italy - April 25, 1993

Another great opponent for Bret. Considering the difference is size as far as weight, I didn't think these two would gel as great as they did. But the KOTR 93 final made a believer out of me. This match was another good one between the two.

WWE Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Diesel
KOTR - June 19, 1994

They've had better bouts, But considering this is a collection of rare matches, this match fits best here and it wasn't a bad one by any means. I enjoyed it.

No Holds Barred
Bret Hart vs. Owen Hart
WWF RAW - March 27, 1995

I always love matches involving families because they know each other so well, it makes for a great contest. No exception here.

Bret Hart vs. Jean-Pierre Lafitte
IYH - September 24, 1995

I'm not really sure why this is here. I wasn't a fan of Lafitte at all. There's loads of rare Bret Hart matches that would've been more suitable than this. The Bret Hart-Shawn Michaels Ladder match for the I.C. Title is one example. Another great one would be Bret/LOD vs Mountie/Natural Disasters because when this was taking place, there wre feud happening between Bret/Mountie and LOD/Natural Disasters.

Bret Hart vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin
Sun City Superbowl - September 14, 1996

Another reason I was anticipating this set. Like many, I was waiting for the time when I'd finally get to see this and it was worth the wait IMO.

WWE Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. The Patriot
IYH - September 7, 1997

Wasn't a fan of the angle happening here. But it was a good match.

WCW United States Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Booker T
WCW Nitro - January 25, 1999

Good considering the caliber of talent involved. One of Bret's best WCW matches.

Bret Hart vs. Sting - Semi-Final for the WCW Title
WCW Mayhem - November 21, 1999

IMO, Sting was Bret's best WCW opponent. WHile their match from Halloween Havoc was the best in their series of matches, this one, being rarer, is definitely a great one.

BLU-RAY EXCLUSIVES

Dream Matches

Travel Schedule

Sleeping on a Plane

Survivor Series with Bob Backlund

Masked Man

Trumpet Sound

Customs with Owen

Lost at Sea

Prized Possession

Two of the Best in Japan

Super Skilled, Super Athletic

WWE Championship Match
Bret Hart vs. Yokozuna
Survivor Series 93 Showdown - White Plains, NY - November 29, 1993

I agree with Bret. Their WM9 match was the best match they had. But I still liked this one

Bret Hart & British Bulldog vs. Owen Hart & Jim "The Anvil" Neidhart
Albany, New York - October 19, 1994

Good match pitting the Hart Family against each other.

Bret Hart vs. Hakushi
WWF RAW - July 24, 1995

Always loved the matches these two had. Their IYH match was their best and I think it's gonna be on the Best Of IYH set so their match from RAW was a perfect fit here.

Bret Hart vs. Vader - WWF Title
Friday Night's Main Event - August 29, 1997

A great TV match without question if you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great purchase. I strongly suggest any one to buy this. Well worth the money for this product., March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great purchase. I strongly suggest any one to buy this. Well worth the money for this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Bret Hitman Hart - The Dungeon Collection (DVD)
This Was actually a gift for my sister. It arrive on time and my sister love it. She has made watch the dvd and it has some great matches. It made me happy knowing she loves this dvd since breat heart is her everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wwe fan, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Bret Hitman Hart - The Dungeon Collection (DVD)
This one is a great one to get if you like his old match not seen on TV and PPV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great collection of hidden gems. Bret has a way with his words that makes each match interesting and important. I could listen him to talk about wrestling for hours straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what was expected., May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Bret Hitman Hart - The Dungeon Collection (DVD)
This video set was exactly what we wanted , and what we received met our expectations. It will provide many hours of enjoyable entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bret Hart rules, April 7, 2013
Bret Hart was my favorite wrestler back in the day, so it was a real treat to see his classic matches again. I loved the matches from his time in his fathers territory and his time during WCW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, April 3, 2013
By 
Christopher Miccio (Brooklyn, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
for any fans of the WWF/E and Bret "Hitman" Hart, this is a MUST OWN! he truly was the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WWE: Bret Hitman Hart - The Dungeon Collection
$29.93 $18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.