Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time To Enter The Devil's Playground!!!!!!!
Hell in a Cell has been called the most dangerous match in the WWE since its debut in 1997. The cell has definitely shorten and ended not only susperstars's careers but also referees and managers. This 3 disc set shows you the best remembered Hell in the Cell Matches over the past 10 years of it's exsistence. If you have seen the Ladder Match DVD set then you will really...
Published on October 15, 2008 by Scotty M.

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hell in a cell
I love the fact that it included all cell matches but 1. I would give it 5 stars but the first disc was really scratched
Published on December 17, 2011 by Siscoxv1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore Hell, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
Recently bought this DVD, and I was really impressed. I wish undertaker vs. Edge at summer slam '08 was on here, but its still a great release. Hosted by none other than the hardcore legend himself Mick Foley. Definitely worth whatever you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, March 6, 2014
By 
Michael H (Plymouth, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
Bought it as a gift for my brother and he loves it. It features 15 classic Hell in a Cell matches in their entirety that will surely keep the WWE fan you buy this for entertained. Not a bad buy for 8 bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Hell Where the Trip Is Worth It, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
This was an absolutely amazing Hell in a Cell set featuring the top matches through the time frame. WWE should seriously consider making a Part 2 series of this. Although the newer matches that have commenced following this set's conclusion (as well as some of the latter matches here) aren't as intense or graphic (mostly due to PG rating), they are still pretty good. If you're a longtime WWE fan, this is well worth the revisiting of Hell's Cell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the dvd is fantastic but..., February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
The DVD is fantastic, I really love being able to watch the history of this match. The only reason I didn't give this a five star rating is because I ordered this as a brand new factory sealed package and the case came in damaged with bent corners.. Other than that I am happy with the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, I loved watching these matches, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
I'm a die-hard wrestling fan; I'm 63 years old. I've decided to collect as many wrestling videos as possible. Amazon is extremely helpful in that regard.

This set had many fantastic, often bloody matches. I had seen some of them in my younger days. The audio & video quality were excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best i ever saw, June 14, 2009
By 
Nicholas F. Dandrea (bellmore ny 11710, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
this is the best wrestling disc i ever saw. you will be a complete fool if you do not buy this. if you are into wrestling this is the one. the only one. a 3 disc set,a great price,the best and bloodiest matches.this one is unbelievable.i been watching wrestling all my life and this is the best so far. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shawn Michaels inspires another classic gimmick match!, October 14, 2008
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
Just like Shawn helped make the ladder match a gimmick staple of WWE, he did the same when it came time to have a cage match with Undertaker during their classic 1997 feud when he suggested to Vince to have a cage match with a roof on it. Shawn had remembered a match from the NWA that featured a cage with a roof on it, thus his suggestion became "Hell in a Cell".

I wont list the matches, there are enough reviews like that already. Instead, I want to review the actual product. First, the 3-disc collector's package is arguably the best designed packaging WWE has ever released. It's full of stunning high-resolution images that get pretty graphic. When you open the set, you're greeted by 2 gory full panel photos of Triple H and Batista respectively from their battles within the HIAC.
The DVD is hosted by the now departed Mick Foley (he's now on the mess of a promotion called TNA) who does an excellent job introducing the matches and giving informative analysis of HIAC's most memorable moments. On a side note, it's a real shame that the way Vince would rattle Mick in his Smackdown headset during tv tapings lead to his departure from the promotion he played a major part in helping to make Vince the undisputed top promotion in the US during the Monday night wars. Here's hoping Mick will get to come back and get the respect he deserves.
Each match also includes a video package recapping the events leading up to the match. I love this, because these packages bring back a lot of memories for me personally and give the context needed for new viewers to understand the reason why these matches were booked in the first place.
As for the matches, I can't imagine anyone having anything to complain about here. This is the best of the best. Most of these matches I already have on other DVDs, but decided to buy this for 4 rare HIAC matches, 3 of which are making their DVD debut. You get two HIAC matches from Monday Night RAW that most fans may have forgotten about. One is pretty much just an angle and not a real match ( Stone Cold Steve Austin and Undertaker vs. Mankind and Kane ), but the second, Mankind vs. Kane, is actually pretty good. Some people may find it odd that RAW aired these matches, instead of saving them for PPV, but they took place at the height of the Monday night war when ratings were king and hot-shot booking was common for both WWF and WCW. During his match with Kane, Mick takes some sick bumps on free tv. I'm talking about the kind of bumps that make you shake your head in their excess and risk. Although nothing like his infamous HIAC match with Undertaker, Mick's HIAC with Kane is worth seeking out. Another rare match, making it's DVD debut, is the six-man battle inside HIAC from Armageddon 2000. At the time, the match didn't get over very well because people didn't think it's stunt bumps measured up to previous HIAC matches, but now that WWE has conditioned fans not to expect cage dives in HIAC anymore, the match can be enjoyed for what it was, an all-out action packed match from bell-to-bell. Kurt Angle, The Rock, Triple H, Steve Austin, Undertaker and Rikishi (of all people) put on one hell of a match. Austin and Rock in particular get to shine in this one. Finally, the last rare match worth seeking this DVD set out for, is the hard to get Triple H vs. Chris Jericho HIAC match from Judgement Day 2002. The Judgement Day 2002 DVD was quickly pulled after it's release I think because of legal issues over the use of the old WWF scratch logo which partly appears in the event, even though the company had already changed their name to WWE by the time this event aired on PPV. The DVD was later briefly released by a Canadian distributor called Koch and copies of this event were selling for outrageous prices both here and on rival auction sites. So, finally this great match from that event is available on DVD again for a reasonable price. This match marks the end of Tim White's ref career, when he took two hard bumps and was never physically able to referee again. Both Triple H and Jericho give it their all and it marks the first time a HIAC match ended with the decision taking place on top of the cell!
As for the rest of the matches, if you haven't seen them they're worth going out of your way to see. I was glad to see my favorite HIAC match included here, which is Brock Lesnar vs Undertaker. In my opinion, no other HIAC has been able to top this one for both it's storytelling and athleticism. The action is brutal, stiff and believable. Taker also does one of the sickest blade jobs I've ever seen in WWE during this match, surpassed only by Eddie Guerrero's graphic blade job where he bled buckets during his title match with JBL from Judgement Day 2004. Both Lesnar and Taker deliver a classic match here that if you've never seen it, is guaranteed to blow you away.

So, if you're a long time fan like myself, and have seen most of these matches or own them on other DVDs, you may want to skip this release, but I think it's worth picking up for the rare RAW HIAC matches and the six-man match from Armageddon, all making their DVD debut here. If you're a recent fan and new to wrestling, then this is a must buy that will leave you speechless numerous times, by the sheer brutality that the HIAC matches are famous for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back some great memories, December 2, 2008
By 
D. Johnson (Rice Lake, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
I started watching WWE during the Attitude Era. Hell in a Cell was one of the creations of that era. It's great seeing all of the these classic matches. All of them are great. Even the ones from the current era. It brings back some great memories. A must have for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, April 8, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
this is 0ne of the most amazing wwe dvds EVER! Its full of the most extrodinary matches ive ever seen. If you are looking for wwe dvds, this is the first one you should get. what a must-see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hell in a Cell review, August 21, 2010
This review is from: WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time (DVD)
The only bad match on the dvd set is the Kane/Mankind-The Undertaker/Steve Austin tag team match from RAW(June 15,1998). The rest are first-rate. I give this set a 9 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WWE: Hell in a Cell - The Greatest Hell in a Cell Matches of All Time
$14.95 $9.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.