Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great PPV It takes so much uneccasary coments. I loved it
I personally loved this wrestlemania every wrestlemania is good in differant ways.
Match ratings out of [5]
(May not be in order)
1. Tantaka vs. HBK- Very overrated match but still very good third best opener for wrestlemania. [3]
2. HeadShrinkers vs. Steiners- This was an amazing tag match i was suprised with the result. [4]
3. Crush vs...
Published on June 21, 2004

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
One of the below average Wrestlemania's I've seen. The only standout matches on this program were Bret vs. Yokozuna and Shawn Michaels vs. Tatanka and they both had horrible endings especially Bret's where Hulk Hogan's ego pretty much made this Wrestlemania that much worse. A good key thing for this Wrestlemania was the debut of Jim Ross. I wouldn't mind if Jim Ross,...
Published on March 22, 2006 by Bran


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, March 22, 2006
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
One of the below average Wrestlemania's I've seen. The only standout matches on this program were Bret vs. Yokozuna and Shawn Michaels vs. Tatanka and they both had horrible endings especially Bret's where Hulk Hogan's ego pretty much made this Wrestlemania that much worse. A good key thing for this Wrestlemania was the debut of Jim Ross. I wouldn't mind if Jim Ross, Gorilla Monsoon and Bobby Heenan commentated for this Wrestlemania as it probably would've made this one better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars - 1* = Zero Stars, April 7, 2005
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
When the highlight of a wrestlemania turns out to be Shawn Michaels versus Tatanka, you know it was a bad night.

Every thing surrounding it was cool. Caesar's Palace- great hotel. I like the idea of an outdoor setting for wrestling. JR's first PPV, but overlaps with Macho Man and Bobby Heenan. Pomp and ceremony was a change.

Then there's the matches.

Shawn versus Tatanka was a good opener maybe a 3 1/2 *s. probably the best match of the night. Both these guys get in some pretty good moves Michales plays the heel as well as anyone and Tatanka clearly had some talent.

Undertaker versus Giant Gonzales - 1 * Oh my ! Oh my ! Even the taker couldn't pull a good one out of this pile.

Doink the... yeah whatever, 1 * and that's generous

Headshirkers versus Steiner's - 2 cool teams one bad match. 2*

Mr. Perfect vs. lex Luger- As another reviewer mentioned, surely Perfect can save the day. He put in a good effort but not enogh to rescue this PPV. 3 maybe 3 1/2 *'s

Money Inc. Vs. Hulk Hogan and Beefcake - requires no explanation other than that two guys celebrate and pose for 5 minutes after a stunning...disqualification. 2 *

Bret Hart versus Yokozuna. Actually this match was pretty good, maybe it's a tie with the Michaels-Tatanka match 3 and 1/2. Bret puts in a great effort and the ending is kind of cool. A heel has to get the belt at some point and cheating always fits the bill. And hey it ushers in the new generation right. Bret put out a great effort, Yokozuna puts in probably the best effort any huge guy has ever put in (with the possible exception of Bundy in Wrestlemani2). WWF is moving on.... Wait what's that...

Do you hear something....

"When it comes crashing down and it hurts inside"...

Bret needs assistance, but don't send a doctor or a trainer or even an official, send the Hulkster, afterall when he's not wrestling he MOONLIGHTS as a medic. And how does he help Bret by accepting a challenge from Mr. Fuji to take on the 9 minute reigning champion. A big Wrestlemania requires a BIG FINISH, the kind only a boot-leg drop can give.

"Courage is thing that keeps us free!"...

CLICK

ring ring...yeah Hi cable company, can I get my money back? No. thanks anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great PPV It takes so much uneccasary coments. I loved it, June 21, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I personally loved this wrestlemania every wrestlemania is good in differant ways.
Match ratings out of [5]
(May not be in order)
1. Tantaka vs. HBK- Very overrated match but still very good third best opener for wrestlemania. [3]
2. HeadShrinkers vs. Steiners- This was an amazing tag match i was suprised with the result. [4]
3. Crush vs. Doink- Good match but not great. Probably average I like the ending. [2]1/2
4.Razor Ramon vs. Bob Backlund- The legend Backlund comes back to his first wrestlemania. A good show of old school wrestling . [3]1/2
5. Lex Luger vs. Perfect- Perfect is probably the best wrestler ever. The only one close is Kurt Angle. Match was Pretty good but a dumb ending ruined it. [3]1/4
6. Hogan & The Barber vs. Money inc.- very good tag match upset ending. crowd went nuts for hogan. [5]
7. Undertaker vs. Giant Gonzalez- bad match didnt like this one . Cool entrance by Taker tho. [1 and 1/2]
8.Bret Hart vs. Yokozuna- short but good match i liked it but it wasnt great. [3]
9. Hogan vs. Yokozuna- super short match but it was just made after the Yoko-Hart match. I hate Hogan but the ending put a smile on my face. [5]
I loved this show . This was the good times of wrestling. When families would go to the events. And it would be a fun family trip. Rather than now when Only adluts and some kids go.
Weather you will like it or not you should see this at least once. Because alot of people said it was great but some said it was bad.
I say It was GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated WrestleMania, September 7, 2005
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The problem with this card and the reason people knock the event is because there isn't one standout match. There are however, a cluster of decent-to-solid matches that WrestleMania IX has to offer.

Before I give a rundown of the matches, let me start off by saying that WrestleMania IX had the best atmosphere of any WrestleMania, period. The gilts and glamour of the event, the spectacle of the outdoors Caesars Palace and Roman theme, sets a great stage and does a great deal to help the event. This is one of the reasons why I personally hold WrestleMania IX as one of my all time favorites. Well... that, and I was there : )

1) Shawn Michaels vs. Tatanka - **3/4
(It's a decent opener, but it doesn't seem to flow. Very lame ending, Tatanka should have went over.)

2) Doink The Clown vs. Crush - *
(Even though it's 1 star in terms of quality, it's actually pretty entertaining.)

3) Steiner Brothers vs. Head Skrinker's - **2/4
(Solid tag match, but Money Inc. vs. the Steiner's would have been much better)

Bob Backlund vs. Razor Ramon - *¾
(Backlund was a big star in his day, but this is a squash match to make Razor look good. Throw away match.)

4) Lex Luger vs. Mr. Perfect - ***
(Let me start off by saying, that Luger's entrance here is one of the best in Mania history.
Good carry job by Perfect, who still had a serious lingering back injury that kept him out of action for 2 years at that point. Luger`s character at that point, the Narcissist, was very entertaining IMO. I loved the supposed metal plate that he had in his elbow, that he would use to knock people out with. They build up that move as deadly, and they do a good job of playing off of that at WrestleMania IX.)

Mega Maniacs vs. Money Inc. - *½
(The Million Dollar man and IRS were good wrestlers, but this match is designed to make Hogan look good at the expense of everyone. Everyone involved were physically past their prime at this point anyway, and Hogan was always a horrible wrestler and wasn't nearly as over with the fans as he used to be.)

Undertaker vs. Giant Gonzalez - ¼
(I'm not going to waste my time on this one. The only thing good about this is Takers awesome entrance. The one thing that this show did offer was great entrances, lol.)

WWF Champion Bret "Hitman" Hart vs. Yokozuna - ***2/4
(Suprisingly, this turned out to be the best match of the night. Bret does a good job of creating a realistic and entertaining match that the crowd was really into. Bret makes it seem like he has no chance and hell, but he ends up making the big comeback and locking Yoko in the sharpshooter. *this is legit* Hulk Hogan refused to work the show if he didn't win the title, and Bret's reign as champion came to and end. Yoko won the belt to have the heel transition the title over to the baby face Hogan.

At the time, this finish was exciting, but never made any sense. The plan was to have Hogan and Bret square off at Summerslam, but Hogan being the egomaniac that he is, refused to put Bret over, so the finish is the most illogical in WrestleMania history.)

Overall, WrestleMania IX isn't the best in terms of match quality, but it has such a classic/nostalgic feel that I personally love. It was a good, wholesome show that was safe for your kids to watch or the family to watch together, unlike today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WORST WRESTLEMANIA EVER!!!, April 16, 2001
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This so called event of epic proportions really bombed. None of the matches were good. Lots of no talents like Lex Luger and Giant Gonzales made it hard for talents like Bret Hart, Mr.Perfect and Undertaker to save this show.
-Shawn Michaels took on Tatanka in the IC title match but after a long decent match it ended in disqualification!
-The Steiner Bros. fought the Headshrinkers in a tag match that just screamed BORING!
-Hogan and Beefcake took on Money Inc for the Tag titles is a match so painful it was embarassing to watch!
-Mr.Perfect suffered a humiliating defeat to the Narcissist Lex Luger one of the worst wrestlers ever!
-Doink's twin showed up during the Doink / Kona Crush match ruining both brilliant careers of the Evil Doink and Crush.
-Undertaker took on one of the worst actor Giant Gonzales and it was also painful to see him go off balance when Taker tried to get him on the ground.
-Bret Hart lost to the mammoth Yokozuna is a horrible match in which Bret kicked Yoko's butt until the "deadly spritual salt" was thrown into his face by Mr.Fuji
-And to top it off Hogan wins the belt in a tacked on match in the end!
After reading these points you should know what I mean by how bad this was. If you have to see this I suggest you rent it. It is not worth buying a wrestling show that is more like a circus! Buy or rent at your own risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic Proportions at Ceasars Palace!, September 18, 1999
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
WWF Wrestlemania 9 took place in Las Vegas, Nevada in the outdoor Ceasars Palace Coliseum. It also had a double main event! WWF Champion-Bret Hart defends his belt against Challenger-Yokozuna. A special surprise is included as an unscheduled WWF Title Match takes place immediately following. The WWF Tag Team Champions-Money Inc. defend their titles against the Megamaniacs made up of Hulk Hogan and Brutus "The Barber" Beefcake. The Intercontinental Title is on the line between Champion-Shawn Michaels and Challenger-Tatanka. The Undertaker takes on the Giant Gonzalez. Mr. Perfect tries to prove his flawlessness against "The Narcissist" Lex Luger. In an awesome tag team match, the Steiner Brothers go up against the Headshrinkers. Crush takes on Doink the Clown in a grudge match that may leave you seeing double. Bob Backlund vs. Razor Ramon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Classic Wrestlemania before the Austin Era, October 18, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This event still blows my mind watching it nearly a decade later! It was the only Mania held outfoors, and the look and atmosphere is amazing! This is the last Wrestlemania to fetaure many of the legends who were so crucial in founding the event in the first place....Brutus Beefcake, Jimmy Hart, Tito Santana, Bobby "The Brain" Heenan, "Mean" Gene Okerlund, Tito Santana, and of course the Ultimate Icon himself, Hulk Hogan, who ends the night on a note that should please any true wrestling fan. Sadly, not long after this show, Vince Mcmahon canned all of the above, and went with the wretched "New Generation". So this show is not only excellent in a wrestling sense, but very significant in a historical senses too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Afternoon of cheating, April 18, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In almost every match the bad guy won cause of cheating. The only thing good about this tape is Bret hart doing a feat similare to raising the dead by carrying Yokozuna to a 3 star match. Then Hulk "the Ego Maniac" Hogan decides to ruin the show by winning his 5th wwf title. Most of the other matches are lackluster. Spend your money on one of the 2 WMs before or after this but not this one. If you do watch the show have a barf bag handy for the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awful..., September 15, 2003
By 
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In my view, one of the two worst WrestleManias I've ever seen. After the opening with Jim Ross, Bobby Heenan, and Monsoon in toga, it went downhill - it's still going downhill.
I quit watching the WWF in 1997. In the years from 1985-1997, this is the WORST PPV there ever was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Kind Of A Mess, August 17, 2013
This review is from: WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Wrestlemania IX begins with well enough intentions, what with Shawn Michaels and Tatanka battle in a pretty crisp match. After that, however, the event takes a nosedive, with no matches even approaching entertaining until the Yokozuna/Hart finale (and even that is ruined by a Hulkster-sized ego).

Usually on an event like this, I list my personal highlights. For this WM, the only "highlight" at all is the debut of Jim Ross at the microphone. Even that, though, is set off by the horrific "commentary" by Randy Savage. He should never be allowed near a mic after this debacle.

Some of the other "lowlights" include:

-Giant Gonzalez vs Undertaker, quite possibly the worst match in WM history. What a joke Gonzalez was.
-The stupidity of "The Narcissist" Lex Luger character. You have to have the malleable mind of a child to find him at all appealing either as heel or babyface.
-A match like Razor Ramon vs. Bob Backlund, two wrestlers who should have really "popped" at the vent, but instead just fall flat.

Finally, the inflated ego of Hulk Hogan, which deserves a paragraph all its own. Clearly, the Hulkamania Era had run its course by this time. Hulk suddenly looks a lot less mammoth (gee, could that little steroid scandal have had something to do with that?), he has to tag-team with a gimmicked ("face-shield") Brutus "The Barber" Beefcake, and he even comes to the ring with a swollen shut eye (a jet-skiing accident...or getting punched by Randy Savage over accusations of an affair with Miss Elizabeth?). Yet, even with those signs so clearly written on the wall, Hulk refuses to let Bret Hart "get over" and set up a mega-confrontation down the road. Nope. Instead, in a rather pathetic moment, he steals the spotlight all to himself. There is a reason he will be nowhere to be found on the next WM card.

The only reason I give this event two stars is because of a slight childhood nostalgia factor (I got sucked into Doink, Crush, Tatanka, etc.). Other than that, though, this is the worst WM since the inaugural event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS]
WWF WrestleMania IX [VHS] by Hulk Hogan (VHS Tape - 1999)
$14.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.