Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice product but buy it with auxiliary battery
It works very well, but unfortunately it consumes the iPhone-battery too fast and can only be used for short distances. With the GPS turned off and with the phone in flight mode and all other functions turned off, the battery time is less than 4 hours. The instruction video on their homepage shows an auxiliary battery to put on the back of the case. When asked they say it...
Published on June 4, 2011 by POK

versus
83 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If they send it broken you pay to ship it back???
I received this product as a gift and it arrived non-functional. After having to contact Wahoo twice to get some support this is the actual correspondence between myself and customer support at Wahoo Fitness...

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Drew XXXXXXXXXX <XXXXXXXXXX@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 12:36 PM
Subject:...
Published on June 29, 2012 by chaindtoarock


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If they send it broken you pay to ship it back???, June 29, 2012
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
I received this product as a gift and it arrived non-functional. After having to contact Wahoo twice to get some support this is the actual correspondence between myself and customer support at Wahoo Fitness...

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Drew XXXXXXXXXX <XXXXXXXXXX@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 12:36 PM
Subject: Cannot connect to sensors
To: "support@WahooFitness.com" <support@wahoofitness.com

To Whom it May Concern,

I recently received a brand new Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack as a gift and
I am having issues connecting the sensors to my iPhone 4S.

I installed the sensors on my chainstay per the video instructions
available on your website and YouTube. The magnets are aligned with
the marks on the sensors and less than 4mm apart. After trying to wake
the sensors by turning the cranks I attempted to connect the sensors
in the Wahoo Fitness App, the Wahoo Utility App and also Cyclemeter.
The sensors were not recognized in any of these apps. I then removed
the magnet from the spokes and attempted to wave it over the speed
sensor manually but, again, none of those apps could see the sensors.
I removed the battery from the speed sensor and replaced it with a new
one and still the sensors were not recognized by my iPhone. I cycled
my phone on and off, verified that the ant transceiver was fitting
properly into the iPhone and made sure that the battery was properly
seated in the speed sensor. After all my troubleshooting effort I
still cannot get the sensors to be seen by the aforementioned apps.
Could you please direct me to the next step?

Drew XXXXXXXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

On Fri, Jun 29, 2012 at 4:18 PM, Drew XXXXXXXXX <XXXXXXXXX@gmail.com> wrote:

I would greatly appreciate assistance with my sensor pairing issues. It has been 24 hours since I sent the below message and have not yet heard back from your company.

On Fri, Jun 29, 2012 at 1:26 PM, Wahoo Fitness <support@wahoofitness.com> wrote:

Hi Drew,
sorry for the late reply! Sounds like we need to take a look at the device and repair or replace the item. Please send the sensor along with your return address and a note describing the issue to:

Wahoo Fitness Returns
1604 Athens Hwy
Gainesville, Ga 30507

Sean
Wahoo Fitness

On Fri, Jun 29, 2012 at 4:36 PM, Drew XXXXXXXXX <XXXXXXXXXXX@gmail.com> wrote:

Sean,

Am I to understand that you want me to pay to ship the defective product from California to Georgia and then wait to receive a replacement or worse a repaired product? That's not going to work for me. I would really appreciate a phone call from someone to discuss alternatives courses of action.

- Drew
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

On Fri, Jun 29, 2012 at 1:40 PM, Wahoo Fitness <support@wahoofitness.com> wrote:

Hi Drew,
I'm sorry, this is our stated return policy. If you could supply us with tracking information for your return as well as a receipt for the original order we could ship a replacement out to you the day we receive that information.

Sean
Wahoo Fitness

On Fri, Jun 29, 2012 at 1:49 PM, Drew XXXXXXXXXX <xxxxxxxxxxx@gmail.com> wrote

Sean,

That's your return policy even when you provide a defective product out of the box? So if I'm lucky you'll send me a working product and if I'm not have to pay to return a product that you sent broken?

Never mind it was ordered through Amazon on an Amex. I'd rather just return it and work with a company that stands behind their product. Expect to see this conversation anywhere I can rate your product.

- Drew

UPDATE 7/2/12:

I checked today on the Wahoo Fitness website and the review that I wrote has been filtered. It seems that reviews have to be checked by the staff for compliance with their posting rules and surprise, surprise only the positive ones make it. I suppose posting a review that reflects poorly on their product and company is not in compliance with their posting rules.

I would be weary of dealing with any company that does not support their own product and artificially inflates the ratings on their site by selecting only positive reviews to be posted. Omitting negative reviews to alter the rating of a product is akin to lying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice product but buy it with auxiliary battery, June 4, 2011
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
It works very well, but unfortunately it consumes the iPhone-battery too fast and can only be used for short distances. With the GPS turned off and with the phone in flight mode and all other functions turned off, the battery time is less than 4 hours. The instruction video on their homepage shows an auxiliary battery to put on the back of the case. When asked they say it is not in production yet. Until this happens, this product can't replace the traditional bike-computer, unfortunately.

Edit: After buying an auxiliary battery (see below) this device works excellent. Wahoo's own auxiliary battery is now also available, and will be a great improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HR Sensor Doesn't Work, March 26, 2012
By 
Seth (Fort Myers, Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
This is a great idea and I was really excited to receive my Wahoo Bike Pack in the mail. I have had it for a little over a year now and the heart rate monitor is completely non functional. I have had long e-mail conversations with Wahoo about what the problem could be. They told me its a common issue that their heart rate monitors don't report accurate readings when being used with a bike jersey in high wind conditions. This means if you're going over 20mph the heart rate monitor will read anywhere from 160-210 bpm even when coasting on a descent. Why anyone would market a product specifically for bikers that can't be worn with a bike jersey is baffling.

They sent me a replacement hr strap. They also recommended using a conductive gel to improve the hr strap connection. Neither of these things helped. I've been on over 20 rides with this hr monitor and I haven't had a single accurate measurement of my heart rate. It has been incredibly frustrating. (As a point of reference, I used a suunto t3 for years under the same conditions without any problems.)

On the upside the speed and cadence sensors work well and it's really cool to have all of the metrics displayed on your iPhone during the ride.

Ultimately the fact that it's a really good idea and 50% of it works well doesn't make up for the fact that the other 50% doesn't work at all. My goal in buying this product was to get my hr data, gps info, and speed/cadence into an intelligible format all on one device. I have to say that the Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack just isn't capable of pulling that off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wahoo setup is hands down the best ANT+ offering on market for cyclists., October 4, 2011
By 
thatericguy "Eric C" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
At first I was pretty settled on the Garmin 800 because I couldn't find anything better from other local cyclists and mag reviews, but I didn't want to commit to the Garmin solution because it's so $$$ and I wasn't excited about it at all. I then decided to scour the web for any offerings that I thought would even be slightly better.

After a few days of searching I found out about a Fisica ANT+ plug-in for the iPhone on some random bike forum, and the rest is history, I ended up finding Wahoo's site and was like "I knew there were people out there frustrated with current options and making something better!" I ended up buying the Wahoo Bike case and Speed/Cadence sensor several months ago, and at first there were some issues with the mount (phone case fell off on a rough road, going 20 mph, no damage at all to iphone 4), but after working with Wahoo via their Facebook page, they soon put out a revised version of the mount, and sent me a replacement mount and case (to replace top of my case that had taken damage from the fall) and it's been perfect since! I am all for the company that is doing its best to provide a superior product BUT even more so when they are so responsive to issues that arise.

I love the fact that Wahoo is using the ANT+ communication standard (like bluetooth is for headsets but for a fitness focus) which means that iPhone developers can compete among themselves and make a better and better interface. The Wahoo Fitness app is getting much better each release, but it is exactly the flexibility of their hardware solution that makes it so much better than Garmin, Polar, iBike, etc. You choose what software you want rather than have it dictated to you.

Bottom line: if you are using ANT+ sensors on your bike and/or want to be able to use different software apps, and you do not want to carry yet another specialized piece of hardware for monitoring like Polar or Garmin, then get this pack, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy a Garmin, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
I thought this was going to be a next sliced bread...figured since I already had an iPhone4 why spend the money on a high end bike computer?
Pros:
1. Cool looking all in one device. Your going to carry your phone anyways, might as well use it.
2. Several cool apps.
3. A little protection from the elements case.

Cons:
1. You cannot go on long rides with the screen lit up, it will drain your battery...but wait for $59.99 you can purchase a back up battery. So you turn the screen off to save power, now you cannot see the display to monitor what you bought it for.
2. The case is a bit cumbersome to snap open on and off, the snaps will eventually break, but wait you can buy a replacement now also..how about fix the design to use actual hinges?
3. The mount will not fit on my road bike stem due to the length of the case.
I could prob go on and on but this is the straw that broke.
4. I have one year of riding with this, that is about 4,000 miles, as stated it wouldn't fit on my road bike stem, battery would drain with the screen on..so I would start it up and put in my middle jersey pocket. Well I think I have about 3 rides out of hundreds that I have the complete ride, just about every ride someplace or another I lost ether the speed, cadence or heart rate. Sometimes not all three...before you say well maybe the transmitters quit, remember I no longer have it mounted on my bar..I have had to purchase a bike computer (Bontrager Node 2). I watch my HR and Cad pretty closely for training purposes and I never seen it loose connection or drop out, so I know its not the transmitters. I have contacted Wahoo...there excuse was that some dust could be on the connector of your phone or app crashing. So I tried my wifes iPhone 4 and the same result, so lastly tried my iPod..that was even worse.

I have even tried to use it as a bike computer on my Spin bike in the house where nothing is getting moved around that might cause the phone to loose connection...works for maybe 5-10 min and than looses connection..POS.

So now I have upgraded to an iPhone 5...this thing doesnt even work with that phone. GARMIN 810 on order! If someone wants this please contact me, I will sell it CHEAP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worked well then connectivity issues torpedoed it...., July 24, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
[Prior version of review referenced error on Amazon website indicating a heart rate belt is included with this unit - it is not]

The unit initially worked great and as advertised. Installation was pretty easy, there are videos on the Wahoo site that review the process. It attaches with cable ties which seem to hold it securely. I would recommend mounting the speed sensor UNDER the appropriate frame part on your bike rather than OVER as shown on the video. This makes sense since if the unit is mounted over and gets bumped it will be impacted by a spoke and would likely shatter / would likely also bend the spoke. Mounted under, if bumped then the subsequent spoke impact would likely push it back out of the way. It would also be much harder to bump it in the under position. The sensor works well either way, though in the "under" position the Wahoo logo does not show, just the back of the unit.

There are many good applications which this unit can use - the Wahoo site is a good resource for these. I recommend the free Wahoo utility for testing the unit as well as the free MapMyRide, which is the one I use on rides. It is quite intuitive and easy to use.

Now about the battery issues. I just completed a 40 mile ride today and although the battery was under 20% for the last 4-5 miles it made it. It is true that if you are into longer distances, the iPhone battery will not be sufficient. Either buying a separate battery to connect via the included micro USB port full time, taking a break to charge your phone, or waiting for Wahoo to release the expected battery booster pack would be your options. If none of those appeal, you may wish to use something else for now.

I have had no problems whatsoever with the tabs breaking off or with the unit not attaching securely to my road bike. I can't vouch for how well it would work n a mountain bike over rough terrain. From the reply posted on the review mentioning the tabs issues, I do suspect they redesigned things significantly. It seems like a very solid build.

Overall, I am happy with the purchase as it has allowed me to take my renewed interest in cycling to a new level. I had hoped the battery pack mentioned on the Wahoo website would be out by now (so I could use it for an upcoming cure cancer ride called Pelotonia) - but the port to allow a backup battery to be connected is an okay substitute (when it works - see Update).

UPDATE 8-13-11: I have started having problems with the unit not connecting with ANT+ devices (including the speed and cadence sensor as well as a Garmin heart rate monitor). During 2 prior rides it lost connection with speed / cadence sensor. I thought it might be a bad battery in that unit and replaced it. During a 50 mile ride today it lost signal twice with the speed / cadence sensor and once with both the speed / cadence sensor and the heart rate belt. I was able to get it to re-connect by using the Fisica Utility to re-establish the connection. I have also added a backup battery and wired it to the unit with a USB / micro cable - and it lost the ability to convey power to the phone about 40 miles in as well. When I got home I carefully analyzed it to be sure it was not a cable failure or other issue. After removing and replacing the phone from the Wahoo unit, it reset and was able to pass the power through. I am hoping this is just one bad unit and I've requested a replacement.

UPDATE 8-21-11: Well, I started out rating this 4 stars and noted I would bump to 5 if they added an integrated battery (even at extra cost). I decreased to 3 stars after one unit had connection problems / see last update. The replacement unit worked even more poorly. I could tell on setting it up that it was not connecting as easily to the sensors and during my 43 mile Pelotonia ride yesterday the unit was of very limited utility. Oddly, it had problems connecting to the Wahoo speed and cadence sensors and not much problem with connection to my Garmin heart rate belt - perhaps proximity was the issue. It would intermittently display speed and cadence which were likely accurate; but "0" would also be seen for those values intermittently as well; so average speed/cadence was affected, etc. I am pleased that this time it did not lose the ability to pass power through to the iPhone. I really, really wanted to like and keep this product but I'm sending this one back for refund. I am rating it 2 stars on concept - if it worked then it would be the perfect way to use your iPhone as a bike computer. If anyone from Wahoo is reading this, I would be happy to be a beta tester to help work out the bugs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, October 3, 2011
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
I bought this a couple of month's ago and couldn't be happier with it. At the moment I am even using it for running, as a student I can't afford to get the fisica key as well. I use it for cycling with a speed/cadence sensor as well as the HRM, and for running a footpod and the HRM

Pros:
Sturdy and the different phone sleeves for 3Gs and iPhone 4 fit well and cradle the phone from shock. I have dropped it in the case once and you cannot even tell on the case!
Seems waterproof in light-medium rain
Mounting is sturdy

Cons:
The film on the back of my screen is a bit loose near the home button. Not sure if this is the same on all.
Bit big for running! :p

Overall I recommend this product and with using the Wahoo fitness app I can upload my data to trainingpeaks, nike+ or map my fitness its awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
Having used bike computers for decades I've grown accustomed to them just working. Last night I installed the speed and cadence sensors on the chain stay as shown in the video. The instructions in the box where not helpful (something I've noticed with other Wahoo products), but the YouTube video made it easy (and had a little humor with an outtake left in where the instructor refers to the chain stay as the rear derailleur).

My frustrations first started as I tried to wake up the speed sensor. The cadence came on pretty quickly but for the speed I kept adjusting the magnet position and tilting the sensor in and out trying to get something. Finally it came on and interestingly enough, stayed on as I moved the magnet and sensor to previous positions that were originally unrecognized. I put the bike away for the night and didn't think much about it.

Today I pulled the bike out, popped my IPhone 4 in the case, and tried to plug my headphones in. I noticed a small plastic covering that upon further investigation was part of the plastic tab used to pop out the iPhone from the case when finished. I thought it strange to have it cover the hole, but simply forced it to one side as I shut the case. Upon trying again to insert my headphones I noticed a bigger problem -- my headphone jack wouldn't fit down into the space afforded by the case (it was too deep and narrow). I ended up getting an exacto knife, cutting away at the rubber on my headphone jack to expose just the long piece of metal almost to the wires, then forced it down the small hole. Success with a bit of pressure.

As I started the ride I was content that the sensors were both working and I made two miles before stopping to take a phone call and pausing the Wahoo Fitness app. The caller heard me through the case (although I had to talk loudly) and with my headphones on, I heard them - good.

It was upon unpausing the app and beginning to ride that I noticed the speed was not registering. Just a big "0.00" as my cadence continued. I looked at the sensor and magnet, noted they had not moved, then began to check settings, spin the wheel, check settings again, spin the wheel, repeat. After about five minutes of looking around I finally ended the workout, started a new one, and suprisingly the speed was registering again.

I continued the ride and began a 10-mile climb up a canyon with everything working well again - great. Once I reached the top I paused the workout - bad idea. As soon as I unpaused (less than two minutes later), both the cadence and speed were showing "N/A". I looked at the positioning again (nothing has moved). I checked settings again thinking pausing keeps messing things up - don't see anything I can do. I finally decide to stop the workout and this annoys me. I restart and still get nothing.

So I dismiss Wahoo Fitness altogether and decide to continue with my heart rate monitor, older $20 speedo (which always works flawlessly), and just use Strava.

I continue on the ride and notice a few minutes in that the cadence begins recording. I had set up the Wahoo sensors the night before thorough Strava. At this point I just shake my head in frustration and finish the ride.

I'll give it another try later this week, but so far, very unhappy.

========================================

UPDATE: went out for another ride on Wednesday this week. Slotted the case on my bike, opened the Wahoo Fitness app and was recording immediately. I left my driveway, headed six miles up Sardine Canyon outside of Logan, Utah, and then readings went blank (speed and cadence), while the time and heart rate (from a separate sensor) continued. Is this technology really that hard? Waste of money so far.

========================================

UPDATE 2: I've been on four rides using the Wahoo since the last update. On each ride the software/hardware worked as expected -- including one ride where I paused the app a couple times. I'm bumping my rating up to two stars and will try a few more times before reporting again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice system setup - work with iMapmyride app!, January 24, 2012
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
Ordered the unit on Saturday night, arriving on Monday morning - talk about Amazon efficiency.

The product arrive in good condition, nice design box but could use thicker color box, it is too thin and look a little bit cheap when you handle it.

Switch the inner to iPhone 4 and throw away the iPhone 3 inner cover, the silicon rubber is good quality. Put the iphone in and take it out seems a little time consuming - the whole unit is built base on total protection of your iphone and seal very well. But I'm thinking a simple one that doesn't require this much weather protection, and make it easy to install the iphone.

installing the speed and cadence sensor is easy and pairing with Mapmyride app is easy.

Overall I like this unit - way better than the previous Sigma setup. I gave it 4 star hoping it is easier to install the iphone into the case.

BTW - don't install the app like Mapmyride before you install the Wahoo kits, it won't pick up the sensor signal, i have to delete the app and reinstall after I put the Wahoo sensor on my bicycle. Then it picks up the sensor automatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment!, July 23, 2012
By 
Gary Greenberg (Newton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone (Sports)
Poor contacts to the iPhone cause multiple session data fails. iPhone case dropped off my bike twice, once simply after hitting a bump on a downhill grade. Screen visibility is very poor. The only good thing I can say about this product is that my iPhone survived a terrible fall from my bike while riding almost 30 mph. Complete waste of money and certainly not recommended. Stick with Garmin and other companies with tested and reliable solutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wahoo Fitness Bike Pack for iPhone
$129.99 $31.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.