Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and genuine
Marisa is determined to make sophomore year great--she's going to make everyone forget how spacey she was last year when dealing with her anxiety disorder. She's made a pact with her best friend Sterling that from now on, they will live in the Now, and they will find boyfriends--there will be no more waiting.

But the new school year also brings some surprises...
Published on May 14, 2009 by The Compulsive Reader

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars for Waiting For You
3.5 Stars - This was the first book I've read by Susane Colasanti and while it was a nice... it just didn't wow me. The story and the characters were enjoyable enough to keep my interest, making this an easy and quick read that I would have been able to finish in one sitting if I had more time when I first picked up the book.

The story between our main...
Published on February 1, 2010 by L. Reeves


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars for Waiting For You, February 1, 2010
This review is from: Waiting For You (Hardcover)
3.5 Stars - This was the first book I've read by Susane Colasanti and while it was a nice... it just didn't wow me. The story and the characters were enjoyable enough to keep my interest, making this an easy and quick read that I would have been able to finish in one sitting if I had more time when I first picked up the book.

The story between our main characters was often predictable. Marisa is the girl who wants to reinvent herself and try to figure out not only who she is, but what she wants - with the start of a new year in High School. Her crush is the popular guy, Derek who doesn't really even know who Marisa is. She ends up paired with boy, Nash who is a neighborhood friend from her past to work on a class project. It was the classic story of Invisible girl crushing on popular boy, Nerdy boy crushing on invisible girl. Not to forget about the quirky sidekick Sterling, or the mystery DJ that the school's talking about and was pretty easy to figure out whom this mysterious DJ was early on in the book.

By about halfway through reading you knew just where each character was headed and what was going to happen with the turn of each page. Not that it was bad, just no surprises.

Throughout the story we learn all that Marisa has been through last year and what she's dealing with now as her family hits a few pumps in the road. As a reader we see her struggle to keep a grasp on things around her as she tires not to slip back into anxiety that troubled her much of the year before. I was able to connect with Marisa in this aspect of her life as she struggles with anxiety. This part of the story was well written and shows us all that something such as anxiety can hit anyone and anytime, with no rhyme or reason.

The highlights were references to John Mayer songs and how each song can be a truth for just about anyone during various stages in your life. I did really enjoy these little references throughout the book and it was little things like that that made me enjoy this further.

I look forward to reading more books by this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and genuine, May 14, 2009
By 
This review is from: Waiting For You (Hardcover)
Marisa is determined to make sophomore year great--she's going to make everyone forget how spacey she was last year when dealing with her anxiety disorder. She's made a pact with her best friend Sterling that from now on, they will live in the Now, and they will find boyfriends--there will be no more waiting.

But the new school year also brings some surprises as well: Marisa rekindles her friendship with her childhood buddy, the extremely nerdy Nash, and attracts the attention of charming and flirtatious Derek. Her unshakable parents are acting completely odd, and Sterling can't stop falling for older guys over the internet, a scary prospect. Marisa learns that sometimes things in life don't go the way they were planned--but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

Waiting for You is a book that will really hit home with a lot of teens. At the center of the story is Marisa's struggle with waiting for that perfect someone who will love her for her, no matter what; a longing that is familiar to many. But rather than allowing the book to focus on that one want, Colasanti crafts a multi-layered read that digs deep into the details and captures the subtle nuances of friendship, school, and day-to-day life. Marisa is an engaging and refreshingly honest narrator with an authentic voice who sometimes gets too wrapped up in herself, but her genuinely kind qualities more than make up for it.

One of the best aspects of Waiting for You is how Colasanti weaves each of the situations and plot twists throughout the book seamlessly together to reinforce her main idea: the perfect guy isn't always what you expect him to be like, and not all great relationships can last forever. Waiting for You is a humorous, poignant, and quietly powerful book that will inspire readers to live their lives in the Now instead of waiting for something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colasanti Does A Great Job of Creating Realistic Teen Characters, June 3, 2009
By 
This review is from: Waiting For You (Hardcover)
Marisa and her best friend Sterling have a ritual. "We get together before school starts, when all of the electric energy of possibility is zinging around, and make a pact on how we want our lives to change.... There's only so much waiting a person can endure until they start thinking that maybe nothing exciting will ever happen to them. Like, ever."

For Marisa, she would like nothing more than to start fresh. In her first year of high school, she was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder and did some bizarre things as a freshman. She hopes that the summer and a new start will be like hitting reset in her classmates' minds. She doesn't want to be seen as weird. Now she has her anxiety under control and is trying to take charge of the rest of her life as well.

But what happens when things beyond your control happen? Marisa is shocked when her perfect family life is rattled by talk of her parents divorcing. Her little sister is more than obnoxious with her strong political and health beliefs. Not to mention Sterling keeps falling for older guys...on the Internet. And then there are the boy situations. Derek is cute and seems to be flirting with Marisa in art class. But he has a girlfriend. Then there's Nash, the boy next door --- literally --- who is beyond geeky. Marisa only wants to be friends with Nash. Instead, Derek intrigues her, and so does a mystery DJ who has the school enthralled with his nightly online broadcasts and his interesting commentary. (Think Christian Slater in the popular '80s film Pump Up the Volume.)

As Marisa tries to sort out all the craziness in her life while still keeping her head on straight, she begins to realize that perhaps she was waiting for the wrong things. Maybe she needed to open her eyes to appreciate what she had all along.

WAITING FOR YOU is Susane Colasanti's third young adult novel. As in her previous books, WHEN IT HAPPENS and TAKE ME THERE, Colasanti does a great job of creating realistic teen characters. The dialogue and language make her protagonists fresh and current. Her take on romance is sweet and optimistic, and slightly reminiscent of a teen movie. Not only does WAITING FOR YOU pay homage to Pump Up the Volume, it also mentions the seminal teen television show "My So-Called Life." Colasanti clearly knows how to write in an engaging, light manner that teenagers will enjoy.

--- Reviewed by Kristi Olson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Colasanti Book!, February 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: Waiting For You (Hardcover)
To start off, I simply adored Susane's first book, When It Happens, and have had her second, Take Me There, in my TBR pill for a month or two. So, when I got Waiting For You as a present, I was ecstatic! Since, it had been getting great reviews, the cover was cute, and it seemed like the perfect book to start summer of with. Though it had a bit of predictably, it was still all that and plenty more.

In Waiting For You, Susane created a wonderful cast made up of the sweet Nash and Marissa a girl that any teenager can relate to. Also I loved the supporting characters because all were presented in a heartfelt and three dimensional way. Marissa probably was my overall favorite, because I felt for her in the whole Waiting For.... aspect. Since, who hasn't ever "Waited" in one way or another for something magical to happen. Such as get a amazing boyfriend, which was the main waiting for issue in this book.

I have to admit, though, that the plot was a bit predictable. You basically had the whole thing (what was going to happened, who was going to be with who, who the mystery DJ was, ex.) figured out from the beginning. Fortunately, Susanne still made Waiting For You in a way that you overlooked this flaw.

The only other problem I had with this book was the bad transitions. For example Susanne would sometimes mention something big in such little detail, like she already suspected you to know what had happened.

Overall, Waiting For You is another soul mate book that many teen girls should have on their to be read lists this summer. I promise that you won't regret it. Plus, who can resist such a pretty cover?

Grade: B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Bad At The Same Time, November 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waiting For You (Paperback)
I liked this book but at the same time I didnt like this book. I found it hard to connect with the main character. It was very predictable and because of this it made the book since very long. It felt like the main character Marissa was just not quite all the way written. She had a problem with anxiety but never really went into it so I wonder if the author did any research on social anxiety, or maybe just didnt want it to be the main focus. If that was the case it shouldnt have been the excuse of Marissas everytime she didnt go through with something.

Marissa and Sterling are best friends and are starting a new year of High School with plans to better themselves. They want boyfriends. Its the typical 'best friends in high school wants a boyfriend but only one gets one and the other is jealous' teen story. Along the way Marissa experiences some family drama as well and it would have been nice to go more into that since it makes Marissa severly depressed.

I liked this book enough to want to read more and get to what I knew was going to already happen, but I found myself growing impatient when it took too long to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for something better, June 24, 2010
This review is from: Waiting For You (Paperback)
Marissa wants to re-invent herself. Last year she was quiet and people believed she was a "freak". This year she wants to shed that image and even find the perfect guy. She believes that guy is Derek and has her friends Nash and Sterling help her snag him. The entire story is basically Marissa finding out who she is.

I agree with the synopsis from amazon.com, it gets tiresome. The story is extremely predictable and it wasn't able to keep my attention. Marissa has an anxiety disorder, but I wouldn't have even known if she hadn't said it a couple times.

Susane Colasanti has written two other books before this and both were, bland. She makes believable characters, but her plots aren't anything special. Once you've read one Colasanti, you've read them all.

I recommend reading one of her books, but after that don't bother reading the others. I did appreciate the fact that in this book she didn't use the f-bomb ridiculously like one of her past books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for You by Susane Colasanti, November 20, 2010
This review is from: Waiting For You (Paperback)
I really thought this book was terrible. I love books with cliches, as long as they have a good story behind it. This book was just a perfect girl "falling out". I understand that divorce, especially when adultery is involved, is serious, but this was just over dramatic and annoying.

Derrick never seemed too perfect to me after he started getting involved with his ex again. I personally would never put up with that and the fact that she did annoyed me. Dorky boys are cute, but Susane Colasanti made him seem way too dorky at first and then all of a sudden cool.

It also was odd for me to read the book because the main characters were younger than me and I normally enjoy reading book where the characters are older, even just by a little bit. The whole book was just ridiculous and I really wish I could return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waiting For You, July 7, 2009
This review is from: Waiting For You (Hardcover)
Marisa's story is a classic dilemma. Nerdy boy likes girl, girl likes popular boy, will things ever work out for the two?

Marisa and Nash have always been neighbors but have grown apart over the years. Nash is the nerdy boy who is obsessed with robots and science and Marisa is the girl who would love to be popular but can never quite fit in. Marisa's problem is that she has an anxiety disorder that made most people think that she was crazy.

This year, though, Marisa and her best friend Sterling make a pact that Sophomore year will be the best yet. They both plan to reinvent themselves over the summer and start fresh. Things seem to be going great for both of them, especially when Derek, the boy of her dreams, seems to take an interest in Marisa.

While things get better and better for Marisa, her friendship with Sterling seems to be deteriorating. Marisa won't spend time with Sterling because she is too busy with Derek but Marisa won't let Sterling find her own boyfriend. Sterling has a tendency to go for the older guys that she meets on the internet and Marisa is worried that something might happen. All Sterling wants is someone like Derek is to Marisa and she can't seem to find it anywhere but the internet. More and more Marisa blows off Sterling to hang out with Derek and Sterling finally cracks. She can't stand being put second in Marisa's life and she won't put up with it anymore.

Things couldn't be better for Marisa but she can't seem to stop thinking about Nash. Nash also entered into a new relationship and instead of being happy, Marisa seems to be a tad bit jealous. When Derek starts hanging out with his ex-girlfriend, Sierra, things get even worse.

Not only is Marisa having trouble with friendships and relationships, her family life seems to be getting worse. Her parents, who have always been the type to show their affection, don't seem to even notice each other anymore. What could possibly be going on with them?

Will Marisa finally choose the right guy for her? Will Sterling ever get over finding older guys on the internet? Will Marisa's parents make-up of break-up?

Waiting For You is a classic coming-of-age story about friendship and first love. Not only does Susane Colasanti manage to create a great love story, she manages to incorporate that maybe the guy of your dreams is right in front of you and you are just too afraid to look. Susane Colasanti was able to show in this story that love isn't necessarily about looks and what other people think but about how you feel. Waiting For You is one of those books that makes you want to keep reading and find out if everything works out in the end. It will inspire you to live your life in the now and let the future come at you as it may.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, May 20, 2009
This review is from: Waiting For You (Hardcover)
Marisa has had a crush on Derek for a long, long time. He's perfect: friendly, cute, popular. The only problem is that he has a girlfriend. Then there's Nash, her longtime, geeky neighbor. Sure, he's super shy, but he's also extremely sweet and smart.

So when Derek breaks up with his girlfriend and starts paying attention to Marisa, she's ecstatic. Soon it's official - Derek and Marisa, the couple of the school. But then things change between Nash and Marisa. They start to talk more and find themselves becoming good friends. And then there's the fact that the once geeky Nash isn't so geeky anymore. In fact, he seems to have gotten...a style!

When Marisa has Derek, the guy she's always wanted, doesn't that mean she should be happy? And when she's not happy, does this mean that maybe she and Derek aren't meant to be?

Susane Colasanti writes a must-read for all teens. Not only does this book delve into young love, but it also deals with family life and the problems that are common today. This book is a rite of passage for all teens going through the dramas of high school: family problems, friend drama, crazy siblings, cute boys, and surprising finds.

WAITING FOR YOU, the third teen read from Colasanti, is recommended to all. This book will bring laughs, tears, and awkward moments that will be sure to please everyone who reads it.

Reviewed by: Steph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and Real, June 18, 2009
By 
Karen Keyte (Cumberland, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Waiting For You (Hardcover)
Marisa is starting her sophomore year with high hopes. She knows some people (well, everyone except her best friend Sterling) think she's some kind of freak, but she thinks she can show them she's really not. Marisa has an anxiety disorder but she's been down the therapy road for a while now and she really is feeling better.

Marisa is totally into Derek, a surfer-boy type who doesn't act like he thinks she's a freak. In fact, lately it seems like he's been flirting with her, even though he has a serious girlfriend. Then there's Nash, who Marisa was friends with way back in grade school. This year they're partners in Chemistry and Marisa's glad to have him back in her life - until Nash starts crushing on her, that is.

As is all the high school drama and her own insecurities weren't enough, something strange is definitely going on with Marisa's family. Everything is so weird with her parents and her sister lately. How is Marisa supposed to focus on making her life better when everyone and everything around her keeps falling apart?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Waiting For You
Waiting For You by Susane Colasanti
$5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.