Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent dark cold case series., March 13, 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
This show which lasted nine seasons was the english cold case series , only it was much darker than our now as well cancelled series. I disagree that this only about the characters argueing. This show is the same as it always was. the lead character is a driven man who has lost everything but his job. He yells when things don't go well sure but the staff is dedicated to him. He is the father figure to the them and only in this season does Grace the mother figure of the group finally confront him about his disfunctional behaviour. WHy do they put up with him because they are a team and they know he cares. He's not a bully. The cases run from showing about how lsd destroyed people in the 1960's and it did do that , to nazi cases and much more. Each case is two episodes long and the show shouldn't have been cancelled. It wasn't done because of ratings that's for sure as this one was quite popular. WE have three more dvd sets coming , and lets hope they don't continue to only release one set a year. That would be a huge mistake as it would be 2015 before we get the final set. The acting in this one is outstanding and this series had the two newcomers from last series getting more at ease with their jobs. There is little in the way of extras on this set. But if you like dark crime dramas played out over two episodes and that's 12 eps for this set then you will enjoy this one. And this isn't a csi show , it's more grim but engaging. And finally even the lead character has to face some of his disfunction in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting to doze, August 30, 2012
By 
Norm de Plume "lawman116" (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
I have enjoyed the first six seasons of Waking the Dead, which chronicles the cases of a specialized unit of London coppers. The unit chief is played by Trevor Eve (Heat of the Sun) who resembles Victor Garber (Alias). Eve is a good actor, but he (or his director) have been developing a taste for scenery chewing over the seasons. Although Waking the Dead is certainly one of the best Brit procedurals, it has been sliding downhill a little. The whodunnit part of the show remains strong, but the interpersonal tensions of the squad have slipped into melodrama, making my review of Season Six a little less glowing than earlier seasons.

This is still a good show, but alternatives present themselves, like Case Histories, Whitechapel, Sherlock, Single-Handed, and, with a fond bow to Morse, Inspector Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great season, January 27, 2012
By 
GEORGE RANNIE "GWRJWMCL" (DENVER, COLORADO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
Season six (6) of BBC's "Waking the Dead" is, per usual, so very good keeping me well entertained with its very well written, directed and sometimes very scary episodes also with its extremely good acting.

In spite of many cast changes (i.e., third new pathologist, this season), season six (6) shows "short-fused" Chief Inspector Boyd (brilliantly acted by Trevor Eve) and his Cold case investigative team solving some really nasty "cold cases" that many times have "tie-ins" with current nasty crimes. Much to my joy two (2) of the series' "old" characters and two of my favorites are still around helping Boyd solve these very horrendous "cold case" mysteries. The two returning characters that I adore are the psychologist Grace wonderfully played by Sue Johnston who is always able to keep Boyd "grounded" and functioning at his brilliant best along with super sexy and tough Spence greatly acted by Wil Johnson--he certainly gets the other characters, this season, out of some "tough spots". Again this season, the members of the "Waking the Dead" cold case team are very sure of their individual expertise in their profession and are not afraid to go "toe to toe" with their leader (Boyd) in expressing their opinions on how to solve a case. I have always loved the "knock down" arguments that they all can have. That "feature" of this series is very evident in Season six (6). By the way, the "new" pathologist is acted greatly--I like her.

All in all, I loved Season six (6) on three (3) discs with six (6) episodes that are in two (2) parts. All of the episodes in Season six (6) are really entertaining featuring tales about severe child abuse, "devil worship" honor killings, locked in embrace skeletons falling out of ceilings from a room in a hotel not known to exist, extreme religious piety involving self-flagellation, Nazi monsters, love interest for Boyd, selling of drugs and "money laundering", hidden gold etc.--all well written, acted and directed. This season of "Waking the Dead" is some splendid entertainment with each episode having me poised on the "edge of my seat".

(By the way, one of my very favorite actresses, Eileen Atkins, is simply fabulous as a raving Nazi)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review "Waking the Dead", April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
Great characters - great stories - gritty but always engaging. Get it! Get it now! Get it really now! Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WE LOVE IT!!!, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
WE LOVE IT!!!
MY HUSBAND, DAD & I HAVE THE WHOLE SET (SEASONS 1-8)
& WATCH AN EPISODE EVERY NIGHT! SEASON 9 ON ORDER!
PLEASE MAKE MORE!!!
KATHIE,KEN & GORDON, GULF SHORES, ALABAMA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
wonderful sick story lines, great writing and awesome characters. One must start with the first to fuly appreciate the series but you can jump in any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
Love this series and am collecting all of this series when available, discs in really good condition, very pleased with item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The DVD of Seascon Six was outstanding as usual., May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
Repeat, season six, outstanding. I do not have another 11 more words to add. If there is a minimum requirement, please do not ask for another review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a good show, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
This is a really good series I have all of them and do enjoy because they are so different, I will continue getting the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Acting and Terrific Storyline, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six (DVD)
I really enjoy Waking The Dead and Season 6 does not disappoint. Trevor Eve is just as great as ever, and so is the rest of the cast. The thing I appreciate the most about this program is that it does not "dumb down" the plot as is done in so many American crime dramas. The writers assume that they have an intelligent audience, and they relate to that by rising to a higher level of complexity and depth in their scripts. I highly recommend this series. Once you start watching, you won't want to stop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six
Waking the Dead: Complete Season Six by Waking the Dead (DVD - 2012)
$39.98 $25.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.