Customer Reviews


553 Reviews
5 star:
 (351)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important message...
I just finished reading, Waking Up in Heaven by Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski. I am very thankful for this message: God is in control and He has a plan for our lives. ('Funny', it's the same message He's given me in my own writing!) For Crystal, it took years for God to get her attention, years for her to know for sure that He is real, years for Him to draw her to...
Published 17 months ago by Barbara Hagler

versus
144 of 172 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, but was a BIG Disappointment
I am 37-years-old and I have read several near-death experiences books (I have even had a near-death experience myself), but I was very disappointed with Crystal's book. I have to admit that the autobiography about her life was good, but unfortunately, that is all her book was, an autobiography. Crystal's book (in my opinion), was more about her life and the things she...
Published 17 months ago by Miss Renee


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important message..., April 18, 2013
I just finished reading, Waking Up in Heaven by Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski. I am very thankful for this message: God is in control and He has a plan for our lives. ('Funny', it's the same message He's given me in my own writing!) For Crystal, it took years for God to get her attention, years for her to know for sure that He is real, years for Him to draw her to Himself. And yet, He did draw this doubtful, young woman to himself. Crystal has barred her soul in this book, not to get attention, but only because God has asked her to tell her story. Thank you Crystal. This book is hard for someone like me to read, I like to read 'feel good' stories and for most of this book, I can't say it made me 'feel good'! But Crystal's story is all too common in our world today... abuse, misunderstanding, sinfulness, heartache and healing. Her story is about the power of God's forgiveness and that He wants to draw us to Himself. He is in control and He has a plan for each of us. This is a must read if you've ever doubted God's love or doubted God's existence or doubted that He could care about someone like you. He is, He does and He's calling you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 172 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, but was a BIG Disappointment, April 26, 2013
I am 37-years-old and I have read several near-death experiences books (I have even had a near-death experience myself), but I was very disappointed with Crystal's book. I have to admit that the autobiography about her life was good, but unfortunately, that is all her book was, an autobiography. Crystal's book (in my opinion), was more about her life and the things she has endured in her life versus her near-death experience. I was expecting more information about her experience with God, Jesus, angels, etc, and I was very disappointed in the lack of content about her near-death experience. I also did not like the style of the book (how Crystal would go back and forth from her earth life to her near-death experience). I was very disappointed in the book, but maybe it will help someone else, it just wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, April 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
God "nudged" me to read this book after hearing a radio talk show host, who I don't care for and don't usually listen to, mention Crystal' s story. Her story is truly inspirational and fills you with such hope- God's love is pure, does exist, and he has a perfect plan for each of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waking up in Heaven, April 13, 2013
This review is from: Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again (Paperback)
This was an amazing story that the authors share with us. Crystal lived a life that involved a lot of struggles that seemed to make her question God's existence. Her life turned around the day she was pronounced dead and then came back to life. They are many book written about near death experiences but I think this is one of the most amazing I have read. I think it is because of the author's background and how her experience draws her to God. God told her to share her experience with others. She never thought about writing a book, but she shares how this idea came to her.I find reading about near death experiences very interesting and I am often drawn to books such as this. I have read and reviewed many but this is the first I have read by a woman. Other were by children and men and they dd not include a life full of difficulties as this author describes. Her story i touching and truly amazing. I found it to be full of hope, encouraging and very inspirational. If you like reading this type of book, then I highly recommend this book to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another perspective, June 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again (Paperback)
I have read about 10 books on this subject and find all of them intriguing. Some people will become bored with hearing about the author's life experiences, but this is essential to the story. Our lives are a journey and every experience shapes us. I especially like stories of near death experiences from people who are not particularly religious to begin with. It makes it more believable. So when you read these type of stories, you have to take it in as their story. After you read many of these types of stories, you can form your own opinion. I want to thank Crystal for writing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could be a scam, January 22, 2014
By 
BillS (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again (Paperback)
It is possible that the woman's story is true, but it is also possible that it could be just a money-making scam. In my opinion, the book does not have the details and dignity that one would expect to be presented from an ethereal experience. As other negative reviews have stated, the book is mostly about her life. She states that God told her to tell people everything she remembered about her experience, but she remembered very little (she admits that in the book). The book is about 250 pages, but her purported experience would probably need no more than 4 pages. I agree that some information about her life was needed for her to illustrate how God will grant his mercy, forgiveness and love to those who have done things he would severely disapprove; that said and supposing her story to be true, the book should have been no more than 30 pages. At times she also mentions financial problems in her life, which suggests that financial relief may be the true purpose of the book, especially when there is so little of her ethereal experience; and what little there is one could easily fabricate. Also in my opinion, the writing style of the book made for a somewhat irritating read: The author would interject chapters dealing with her ethereal experience among those dealing with her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much Heaven, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again (Paperback)
I bought it to read her story about her experience in heaven. Instead it was a non stop horror read about her life. Blow by blow in graphic descriptions of life events. I do not suggest at all if you are looking for a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story of survival, June 25, 2013
By 
Susan D Roberts (Marietta, GA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think Crystal's story is clearly a story of survival and a message to never give up. We are all a work in progress, but it doesn't matter what we have been through, we can be forgiven. By sharing her difficult story, it gives others hope to persevere.
Thank you Crystal for opening up and letting us in to see a glimpse of Heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, September 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not much content. Author repeated the same basic story throughout he book.
There are better book on the same subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A non-compelling read on a believable subject, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again (Paperback)
I didn't find it a smooth read. The story was just okay....I found it to be 'more of the same ole story' people give about their hard life some by circumstance and some by her choices, and it took too much time to get to her point, that she experienced being in heaven. I am sure she had the experience she shared so that was convincing for me.
This was a book required to read for a group discussion about heaven from different perspectives..would I choose to purchase this book to read? No.. I would have picked something else.. was it awful? No, but it was not a very compelling read for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again
Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again by Alex Tresniowski (Paperback - April 2, 2013)
$15.99 $14.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.