Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 22, 2010
Make no mistake, this is the book to get if you are interested in classic cocktails from before the prohibition. Actually, it might just be the ONLY book that still has pre-prohibition cocktail recipes as they were. The stories preceding and after the main recipes are entertaining and telling of the times it was made. I own two edition of this book, one hardcover from New Day publishing and this one. The hardcover version is far superior, it has crisp print and sturdy pages, something you want if the book is to sit next to your bar. This edition however, is a bad photocopy of the original. The pages are muddled with gray pages with white borders. It is cheap though, so I guess it might do in a pinch.
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2012
I was disappointed to see that "reprint" literally meant a bad xerox copy of the original book with a poortly scanned cover.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
Other reviews warn about the quality of the reprint, and yes, it is bad. Laser printed scans of low quality. Not worth the money at all, even though its cheap.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
Many people are docking points off this book due to the nature of it being a reprint. The book clearly says reprint in the name, and Amazon has a preview for the Kindle version. I won't delve into any of the "ol' runamuck" that has been hammered in most of the other reviews. Proceed if you would like know about the content of the book.

If you're a craft cocktailer or drink enthusiast, stop right here and purchase both the Kindle version and the paperback... now! After reading dozens of the most recommended books buy all my industry colleagues, I have found more insight by reading "between the lines" in this book than any of the others combined. That's not to say beginners should pick this as their only reference, this is an advanced level book if you know what to look for.

Important tid-bits:
- This book was printed in 1935, within two years of the repeal of Prohibition
- Most of the recipes originated well before Prohibition (Evidence: Absinthe,which was banned in 1912, is used heavily throughout the book)
- Drinks have few if no citations on the bartender or origin of each recipe
- Benchmark "Classic" cocktails can have drastically different recipes from what historically we believe to be accurate. This tells us that either the Waldorf Astoria's bar staff adapted what became the classics to the tastes of their customers, or that the recipes were not given the reverence that modern mixologist like to imply. NOTHING is sacrosanct.
- By changing ratios even in the slightest, the name of the cocktail changed, often dramatically. Due to no date of origin, we cannot determine if this happened rapidly or over the course of time, when drinks may have been lost throughout the decades.
- Robert Hess said it best, just because it is in a recipe book, does not mean it is a good recipe. Most of the drinks look pretty solid, but keep in mind, our palates have changed as a culture each decade. Most of these drinks may taste too acidic, potent, rich, or watery depending on what how many fishbowl-sized, high-fructose enriched, rainbow-dranks we've consumed. Portions were smaller back then and some things just will not translate to our modern palates.

This is just the tip of the iceberg. The book has interjections about the era below cocktails recipes. Author, Albert S. Crockett shows he was more of a historian than booze-guru. These bits of information are engaging and help me to digest how people of the time drank. In general terms, the quality of ingredients has mostly gotten better with raw products (wine, whisk(e)y, gin, etc... maybe an exception with brandy), this means recreating drinks in the book can require patience, fine tuneing ratios, and often note taking. Good ole trial n' error... with a funnel. Technology was different enough back then, that unique preparations can be done more quickly today. This needs to be kept in mind when recreating drinks that require some of this fascinating steps. I'll leave this to you to digest, but thankfully, there is an extremely helpful glossary that translates most information. This is where I find it helpful to have the two different versions of the book. Using the search feature is by far the most useful tool for absorbing information categories rather than each recipe, like looking at a tree and not each individual leaf.

The book isn't pristine, nor is it flowery like Wondrich's "Imbibe". If you take the flaws at face value and stick to the content, this book can teach you more than enough about the art of cocktailing. Dig deep enough, you may be able to fine tune your skills behind the bar, and a bit of triva and story telling for your customers (or friends). Watch out cocktail historians, there's a chance you might find some rather surprising renditions of your favorite classics!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
What a great book to have in a bar?! This is a great historic look at cocktails that started it all. Now most of these had already been created but this book is the master collection of fine drinks. It is like owning a piece a history, a delicious, crafted piece of history.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2011
This book is just so so. I purchased 3 other books at the same time and those have proven to be more useful. This one has some history but not the layout and recipe set up that I would have hoped for....
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Let's start with the fact that the book is paperback (looks really cheap), and it looks terrible on my shelve, doesn't even have a spine title, the book is as it states a reproduction of the original, but a very cheap reproduction, is literally a photocopy, it looks like scan with the first ever available scanner on earth, and printed with some printer from the 80's. Don't bother, just invest some more money to get a decent copy of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2009
Got this for research, not really intending to make anything from it, but it's very interesting. Amusing anecdotes and little cartoons, too. Wish it were hardbound.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
I enjoyed the Blue Blazes recipe. It scared my wife to see me tossing blue flames around, but it was really a lot of fun. And drinkable too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
Does not include some of the 'classic' cocktails of the present era including anything with vodka or from Latin America besides rum. Very focused on liquors from western Europe and the US.

Interesting read though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse