Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Walking Dead Pack [Online Game Code]
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 5, 2013
To start, this game is one of the relative few to make me cry and/or yell at the screen consistently. The means not just once throughout the game, but rather once per episode. It's that engaging. If you want a good story, look no further. I guarantee you that you'll form an attachment with the characters in this game, unless of course your heart is dead.

For those of you that are new to gaming, this game is perfect. Its essentially a point and click adventure game, but the main draw is that every decision you make carries on throughout the rest of the game. The story centers around a man named Lee (the person you play as) and a young girl named Clementine whom he just so happens to run across as the world spirals into utter collapse due to a zombie apocalypse. Trust me, it may sound like it's not your cup of tea, but it is.

When people say, "Video games aren't art. They can't evoke emotion." I point them to this game. If they don't tear up at least once, they are likely dead inside.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Heads up right away: For those of you looking for a fast-paced zombie shoot-em-up, this game will disappoint you. Despite the undead theme, this game is nothing like Left 4 Dead.

That being said, I've immensely enjoyed this game. It's like a choose-your-own-adventure TV show with some puzzles thrown in. The choices are hard to make, and I found myself emotionally invested quickly. The characters are very real, as are the conflicts presented to the player.

My one major complaint is that the game is pretty easy. Even if you manage to die, you get to restart sometimes two steps back from where it was you failed.

If you're looking for a challenge, pass this one up. If you want to be immersed in a great story, tailored by your own actions, this is definitely worth the money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
For me, THIS is what a good adventure game should be like! Can I have more like this, please? They don't all have to be zombies and such...but the flow of this game is just superior! Highest rating possible.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
This game is awesome! It's a great adventure game that tells a story as you go along. It's a separate story from the show, this great game is actually the reason why I started watching the show. I would recommend playing this game through, not just playing once a month or else you'll forget what your character has already seen or gone through and it could affect the choices you make in the game. It gets better the more into the story you go; the 400 Days DLC is short but it's a DLC, it's supposed to be short. The choices that you made in TWD affects the conversations and stuff that happens in 400 days.

If it doesn't work, I'd try looking for solutions online. I had to run the game as administrator and I got it to work, it doesn't seem to be the game's fault. :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2013
IF you're looking for a hack-n-slash zombie game...this isn't it. I recommend Dead Island or a few others.

But, if you want a really engrossing video game that plays much more like a story than a game. This is it. Now, I realize that sounds bad..and honestly, there are a lot of games that if presented this way would be just totally worthless.

But, with this one. I found myself sitting down for 3 hour chunks, playing through. Having a beer and enjoying it almost like reading the comic or watching the show. It really is the BEST story I've ever been through in a video game.

Art looks very similar to the Comics so if you're familiar with them this will be familiar and cool to see in "action".

Game is engrossing, fun and beautiful. You can tell the focus wasn't on the game-play necessarily, but that isn't a bad thing in this case. Game-play is cool, but is more of a "choose-your-adventure" type of decision making and less of.. "Which type of blunt object will look the coolest bashing these zombies heads in?"

Not at all what I was expecting, so if you just want carnage, go elsewhere. But, being one that often skips cut-scenes, etc. I was amazed at how deeply pulled into the story I became within the first 5 - 10 mintues.

Each episode takes about 2-3 hours or so of casual playing and has great replay ability.

The choices you have to make effect who you have in your group in later episodes. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
I really enjoyed this game, the characters are well defined and the plot is character driven. The action is mostly very easy when in difficult (combat/escape) situations, but sometimes you need to figure out what step might be needed. I used YouTube to determine the steps needed. But I found that almost always putting the burden on Lee to save the day (or he dies) was irritatingly unfair. And his always being blamed when things didn't work out as good as possible he was blamed and when things went perfectly he often doesn't get the credit. In spite of this I'm looking (hoping) for another Walking
Dead game, maybe this year, 2015.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
I bought this when it was on sale for $7.50 for the Halloween event. The story of this game is amazing and the mechanics are pretty well done too. The drawn look of the game reenacts the comic book series and is very easy on the eyes. If it's ever on sale again for the same price and you are on the fence of getting this game, do it. You won't regret it. Unless you aren't a fan of the series, emotional stories, extensive dialogue, and gory games.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
I love this game! This game reflects the decisions you make in game. This game comes in multiple episodes, so you're not paying for it all. Episodes are still currently being made so you will have to wait awhile for the next season of the game to be released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Huge fan of the Walking Dead series, in all of its forms (TV, graphic novel, books, and video games). I was super excited to learn of this game, especially when it went on sale for under $8 for the main game and the expansion pack. The main game alone is worth this price, see my review on 400 days (far less favorable).

If you're looking for a game where you run around killing tons of zombies, I'd suggest Rising Dead or Left for dead as this game will leave you sorely disappointed. As with everything else Walking Dead related, it focuses more on the emotional toll such an event would have on people less than the experience of being overrun by a horde of zombies.

You play through the game as a man on his way to jail when the zombie outbreak is in full swing. A sudden car accident grants him his freedom. He has a chance encounter with a little girl who is waiting for her parents to rescue her. The game chronicles their adventures from a farm, a train, a secluded plantation house, and many other venues. There are points in the storyline where the decisions you make impact everything from that point on. Sometimes as important as life or death (do you save this person or that one). Think of it as a choose your own adventure book. Although, sometimes the decisions have little bearing on the outcome as the person you saved dies anyway.

When the "episode" is over, it provides you with statistics on the decisions of other gamers. You can play through multiple times and change your character's personality based on your decision. Do you want to try to please everybody or be the dictator of the group?

I won't spoil it but the ending is probably the most tragic part of the entire game. I felt emotionally drained as the credits rolled. So, so very sad :(
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
Walking Dead Season 1 is an interesting "game" in that it tells a great story and gives the player a variety of choices that can impact the story. However, it plays more like watching/reading a graphic novel rather than being an intense game. It's very story driven and it tells a compelling story. You come to care about the characters and you get some interesting cameos. It's worth playing if your a fan of the show/comics but be warned it's definitely about the story and not necessarily the gameplay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.