Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Intresting
I deceided to buy the entire season 1 based off the first show. It may not be for everyone, but if you enjoy finance and intrested in how the Wallstreeters are living.......you may enjoy. My wife would fall asleep trying to watch this, but seeing their hunger, work ethic, and picking up a tip here and there is what keeps me intrested in the show.
Published 21 months ago by Troy

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing documentary look at Wall Street insiders
This show was based on a series of interviews with various Wall Street folks.

While somewhat interesting in places, overall I was disappointed.

Any advice about investing or success on Wall Street was extremely vague, and mostly sounded like standard business platitudes.

The common theme from the traders shown was that their job life is...
Published on August 8, 2008 by Mr. Roger H. Geyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing documentary look at Wall Street insiders, August 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show was based on a series of interviews with various Wall Street folks.

While somewhat interesting in places, overall I was disappointed.

Any advice about investing or success on Wall Street was extremely vague, and mostly sounded like standard business platitudes.

The common theme from the traders shown was that their job life is frenetic. The pace and style is, ironically, exactly opposite the tried and true methodology for the vast majority of successful INVESTORS (i.e. as opposed to speculators) - as described by legendary folks like John Bogle and Warren Buffett.

Timothy Sykes, a day trader who had made a killing in the post-internet market collapse (as a microcap short biased trader -- he was obviously in the right place at the right time) was a perfect example of the hyperactive, overconfident, and self-congratulatory 20-somethings that are playing the Wall Street game. These folks seem to have NO clue that making $10 million to $100 million on Wall Street by trading is about as realistic for 99++% of traders as the ghetto kid who is convinced he'll make the NBA by playing basketball instead of studying. I guess the youth get their drive from dreaming big.

(To his credit, Tim does admit he was lucky when he made his big gains). On the other hand, he talks about the need to control emotions, but is constantly very emotional when he trades and discusses his trading. He also seems completely random to me as he trades -- basically, he's a technician who gets his contrarian ideas from Wall Street and technical publications. Not exactly unique. Not exactly insightful, though apparently delusional.

Another common theme was an extreme attachment to wealth and the arrogance the taste of wealth (like a house in the Hamptons, a fancy car, and fancy food, etc) gained clearly implied -- that folks who couldn't afford such a thing are clearly inferior to the folks that can. I guess this is all too predictable, but I was hoping folks who are supposedly so brilliant or talented or socially in tune would have a BIT of perspective or social insight into how the world works.

Most of the folks, like a specialist or a futures floor trader just explained the basics of what their jobs entail. Nothing insightful there at all.

I was hoping to get some meaningful insight into what some of the truly genius folks on Wall Street do and how they think. maybe some useful insight into what to read or how to do research (more sophisticated than seeing how prevalent a brand of blue jeans are in certain stores).

If you are an investor looking to actually learn something - take a big pass on this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you can look past Tim Sykes, September 20, 2007
I really enjoyed this series except for the idiot Tim Sykes. The show covers a different assortment of traders and market professionals which gives a nice overview of some financial people. The hard part to watch is a failed trader named Tim Sykes whose fund is down 36% since January 2006 and has had to resort to fighting for media attention since he can't make money trading. Some of his idiocy is funny at times and sometimes it is downright painful. A good show overall though if you like the stock market. There are only 6 epsiodes of this show and the extras are light and basically pointless so be aware of that before you purchase the 2 DVDs. It is a much smaller DVD set than the average buyer would realize. I know I was very surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Intresting, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wall Street Warriors Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I deceided to buy the entire season 1 based off the first show. It may not be for everyone, but if you enjoy finance and intrested in how the Wallstreeters are living.......you may enjoy. My wife would fall asleep trying to watch this, but seeing their hunger, work ethic, and picking up a tip here and there is what keeps me intrested in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This show is for MATURE CAPITALISTS ONLY, April 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those who would tune into WALL STREET WARRIORS; believing that this series is some satirical view on capitalism, this may not be for you. WSW is a surface look at the wheels that keep Capitalism rolling along. I find the show to be a breath of fresh air, when it comes to showing how the pursuit of profit, can drive some people in their business activities. I rate this show up there, with APPRENTICE, Season 1. I will definitely be adding this series to my DVD collection. For all TRUE CAPITALIST out there reading this......WELCOME HOME!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I kept watching..., April 7, 2008
I trade stocks from home a little bit and the show inspired me. Best parts were the trading floors, Alex and Tim turning $16,000 into $1.5 million. It doesn't get very detailed on the technical side of finance, which I guess is good because that would be kind of boring. I've caught a few episodes of the new season on TV - it's pretty entertaining, especially the 28-year-old Hedge-fund Manager who runs a $100 million fund - Damn! I got to go back to school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy that 15 minutes, Timmy?, August 21, 2007
By 
Nice to see that the once-hot Tim Sykes enjoyed his little brush with fame, but as the respected "Trader" magazine publishes the 2007 list of "Hottest Traders Under 30," our sad little Timmy is nowhee to be found. Quoting from the magazine's lead paragraph:

"You won't see Cilantro's humility-challenged Tim Sykes, who in the past year has gone from wunderkind to Ryan Leaf-like laughingstock."

[...]

(Ryan Leaf, for those non-football fans, was the second pick in the 1998 NFL draft -- behind Peyton Manning -- who was such a bust he was out of the league only a few years later.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wall Street Warriors Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
Realy good show but very technical in nature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chance to peep real wall street warriors' life. very boring. Lacks in drama., March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wall Street Warriors Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
As I do trading for a living, I can identify some of the traders' day to day life. It shows different traders/Fund mgr' typical days are like, but nothing special. It surely lacks Drama! It's ok to watch just once, but I won't watch it again. Too boring!
Perhaps, Gordon Gekko doesn't exist in real Wall street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why capitalism is the best!, February 5, 2014
This is a series that shows you why that nowhere in the world can you make it from nothing, as long as you're driven. This series follows people from different parts of Wall Street in each of there respected roles. After watching this it should leave you interested and motivated in investing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Insiders, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wall Street Warriors Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
Nice look at what really happens behind the headlines. You won't learn any strategies here, but it's good to see they put their pants (And Skirts) on the same way we do! This series is more about the characters.

In a backhanded way, It helped my trading psychology, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.