Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Job, Telltale.
As a long time Wallace & Gromit fan, I've come to expect very little from any video game adaptation of the adventures of the cheese-loving Brit and his hound. It's not particularly surprising to me that the sugar-sweet charm of the franchise has, prior to this outing, failed to properly translate into a medium dominated by cheap thrills and adrenaline-based entertainment...
Published on March 11, 2010 by Oliver Leland

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wallace and Gromit Grand Adventures USA Version
The United States version (Blue Box) has a bug in it. The game freezes when Gromit goes to town to rescue the town from the giant bees. There are reports about this problem on-line. It may be that some discs work and others do not, but I have exchanged, uninstalled, reinstalled twice now and get the same result. Hopefully Telltale Games will issue a patch soon!
Published on February 16, 2010 by J. Archer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Job, Telltale., March 11, 2010
By 
Oliver Leland (Bolton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
As a long time Wallace & Gromit fan, I've come to expect very little from any video game adaptation of the adventures of the cheese-loving Brit and his hound. It's not particularly surprising to me that the sugar-sweet charm of the franchise has, prior to this outing, failed to properly translate into a medium dominated by cheap thrills and adrenaline-based entertainment. And as such, I regard Telltale Games' "Grand Adventure" as a delightful surprise.

By adventure gaming standards, these episodes are arguably easy with a relative handful of more difficult puzzles. Compared to the often bewildering puzzles of early 90's Lucasarts adventures (considered by many to be the height of the genre), each of these episodes will seem decidedly easy - perhaps fitting, as the Wallace and Gromit shorts (and feature film) owe much of their success to their outstanding appeal across a broad age range. Likewise, though the puzzles may not provide ample challenge to the adult gamer, it is ultimately the personality of these delightful characters which has propelled this series of episodes to being my favorite of Telltale's outings (yes, above the very satisfying "Tales of Monkey Island" and "Sam & Max" seasons).

Each episode took me three to four hours to complete, and I found the experience to actually be rather Zen. The contrived perils and day-dream objectives are all approached with a sense of minutia - and I absolutely adore it. "Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure" is downright charming. Some of the episodes are better than others - "Muzzled!" being the best and "Last Resort" being the worst - but all are an absolute joy to experience. To quote Eurogamer's John Walker, "It's bursting with happiness. And so am I when I play it." (from his review of "Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good game, chuck!, June 21, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
I bought this game for my girlfriend, and she loves it. Recently, we've been on a Wallace and Gromit kick. We watched all of the movies, and there was a demo of this game on A Matter of Loaf and Death. After giving the demo a try, we decided to buy the real game. I'm not disappointed at all.

For the most part, I'm the one playing games while my girlfriend watches - but with this, she can easily play without the panic of people attacking her. What's especially nice about it, is that I can help play with her by pointing out objects and giving ideas as to what we need to do next.

As far as the game itself goes, it's great - although, there is an issue on the first episode: Fright of the Bumblebees, there is an issue when you're playing as gromit and there are (spoiler alert) Giant bees in town. When you go to pick up a piece of cheese, it freezes. This can be resolved by opening up the folder where you installed the game, and deleting "env_TownExterior_Gromit.dlg" and "env_CountryRoad.dlg" Why these need to be deleted, I don't know - but it fixes the bug.

We've still yet to beat the game, but if the rest of the episodes play out similar to the first, I can highly recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the puzzle genre, and of course - Wallace and Gromit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wallace and Gromit Grand Adventures USA Version, February 16, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
The United States version (Blue Box) has a bug in it. The game freezes when Gromit goes to town to rescue the town from the giant bees. There are reports about this problem on-line. It may be that some discs work and others do not, but I have exchanged, uninstalled, reinstalled twice now and get the same result. Hopefully Telltale Games will issue a patch soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, April 22, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
An absolutely charming adaptation. You play alternately as Wallace and Gromit, with Wallace handling the messing-things-up portion of the adventure (and the dialogue) and Gromit doing the righting-them-again. Gromit's expressions and movements are captured perfectly, and I love his interactions with the humorous townfolk, including Mr. Paneer (grocer)and Ms. Flitt (gardener/neighbor). It is a perfect game for families, as the puzzles are not taxing, but it is not exactly a game for Gamers for the same reason. I treat it this way: if you are a Wallace and Gromit fan and would like to see a Wallace and Gromit story, you can unlock the adventure by clicking. The controls are relatively simple, but unlike most TellTale Games, both the mouse and keyboard are required. It took me a while to get used to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A Game Adaption Of W&G That's Actually Interesting!, April 28, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
Let's face it. All the other game adaptions are boring-- at least compared to this one. I'm a Wallace and Gromit fan, having watched all short films, the feature-length film, and even the Cracking Contraptions Shorts (which are so conveniently placed on this disc). When I tried this, I could easily feel the same enjoyment that comes from the films. It is definitely enjoyable.

First off, the gameplay is relatively simple. You take control of Wallace or Gromit, depending on the situation, and move around a 3D environment, clicking on things and solving puzzles. It even comes with a tutorial that quicky puts players in a situation that simply explains the controls. The puzzles are somewhat challenging, but perfecly solvable by all ages.

As is tradition with Aardman, new characters are introduced to the duo. All of them fit perfectly and provide the laughs (Major Crum is my favorite).

Included in this disc are four adventures with an original plot. Fright of the Bumbebess puts Wallace and Gromit in the honey business, with a few annoying bees. The Last Resort has the duo's vacation ruined--or so it seems. Muzzled pits the two against a con artist. Finally, The Bogey Man brings in the unthinkable--the END of 62 West Wallaby Street!

The part I like the most is that within each episode is a reference to a previous film. The door to the rocket from A Grand Day Out is in the basement, the Autochef's head from Cracking Contraptions is now a blender, and the Techno Trousers from The Wrong Trousers are now a lawnmower! And there are more references!

Try it now! And enjoy the endless laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallace and Gromit's Grand Adventure, October 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
Fantastic little game, will give you hours and hours of fun. The graphics are really good. If you like the ones that come on TV, then you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN GAME, September 2, 2010
I BOUGHT THIS GAME AWHILE BACK AFTER WATCHING A FEW EPISODES OF THE SHOW ON TV. GAME IS JUST LIKE THE TV SHOW, FUNNY AND OUTRAGEOUS, THIS GAME IS A MUST HAVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
Great. Game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very cool game. Done similar to the old PUTT-PUTT games., February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
Much like PUTT-PUTT series. Kids puzzles but not easy puzzles. Much fun, glad I got it. Runs on Windoews 7.

Hail Flavius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My grandson love this game:), September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC (Video Game)
My grandson who is 7 love this game, will be ordering the whole series for him, he has recommended this game to his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC
Wallace & Gromit's Grand Adventure - PC by Telltale Inc (Windows Vista / XP)
$29.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.