Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now Tikes
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Waltzes / Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales

3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, April 4, 2006
"Please retry"
$9.99 $3.98

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. No. 13 In D Flat Minor Op.79 No.3 Moderato
  2. No. 10 In B Minor Op.60 No. 2 Moderato
  3. No. 14 In E Minor Op. Posteh. Vivace
  4. No. 1 In E Flat Op.18 Vivo
  5. No. 3 In A Minor Op.34 No. 2 Lento
  6. No. 11 In G Flat Op.70 No. 1 Molto Vivace
  7. No. 9 In A Flat Op.69 No. 1 Lento
  8. No. 2 In A Flat Op.34 No. 1 Vivace
  9. No. 4 In F Op.34 No. 3 Vivace
  10. No. 5 In A Flat Op.42
  11. No. 12 In F Minor Op.70 No. 2 Tempo Giusto
  12. No. 7 In C Sharp Minor Op.64 No. 2 Tempo Giusto
  13. No. 6 In D Flat Op. 64 No. 1 Molto Vivace
  14. No. 8 In A Flat Op.64 No. 3 Moderato
  15. I: Modere - Tres Franc
  16. II: Assez Lent - Avec Une Expression Intense
  17. III: Modere
  18. IV: Assez Anime
  19. V: Presque Lent - Dans Un Sentiment Intime
  20. VI: Vif
  21. VII: Moins Vif
  22. VIII: Epilogue Lent

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 4, 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B000EAVA82
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #647,033 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By John Kwok HALL OF FAME on May 28, 2007
Distinguished American pianist Stephen Kovacevich is best known for his brilliant interpretations of Beethoven's and Brahms' works for solo piano and piano and orchestra (For example, his early 1970s Philips recordings of the Beethoven Piano Concertos are still highly regarded by fans and music critics alike.). He is known not only for his intense technical brilliance, but also for his cantabile-like phrasing, at the keyboard. Much to my surprise he hasn't honed these traits by offering some elegant Chopin recordings for most of his career. However, now Kovacevich has turned his attention once more to Chopin's scores, offering a fine set of Chopin waltzes which are arranged chronologically by their probable dates of composition, not by their published opus numbers. He offers some finely nuanced, refined interpretations of these waltzes; interpretations which can be compared favorably with those of the great Artur Rubinstein, whom Kovacevich acknowledges in the liner notes as an important source of inspiration in his interpretations of both Chopin's and Ravel's scores. Indeed, he acknowledges Rubinstein's great love and affinity for these two sets of waltzes; a sterling acknowledgement that comes across musically in Kovacevich's own elegant performances of these works. Hopefully this is merely the first of a long-awaited series of new Chopin recordings from one of our finest contemporary pianists.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By J. Grant on March 17, 2009
This is a truly brilliant and splendidly played set of Chopin's Waltzes, bettered only by those of Lipatti and Rubinstein. However, the sound on this set is much better if that's your thing. I must admit that until recently the only Kovacevich material I owned was his Beethoven concertos. I have since discovered that he has a wealth of very fine recordings, from Grieg and Schumann's concertos to the Diabelli Variations (1968) and Beethoven's sonatas. So, thanks to this disc and the above mentioned, I'll be checking more into his recordings from the 60's and 70's especially.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
I remember when this disc came out, after Kovacevich had completed his Beethoven sonatas and late Schubert for EMI. I bought it because neither Chopin nor Ravel was a composer I associated with Kovacevich, and I wondered if this heralded a new direction for him -- at 65 no less. Well, it doesn't seem to have heralded that, and the disc itself didn't make much of an impression in the magazines. However, the program note suggests that this is music that has mattered to Kovacevich, even if he hasn't programmed it often, and I think it's well worth hearing. For one thing, the piano sound is better than on most of his Beethoven and Schubert recordings -- it's quite bright, but not to the point of glassiness, but it is open and airy too, and the aural image on the whole is very pleasing. I haven't seen the Ravel programmed on a disc with Chopin's Waltzes before, and it's fascinating to hear Ravel's modernism and occasional impressionism (from 1911) in the context of Chopin's pieces, which even if they hew more closely to the dance, are nonetheless full of arresting tempo choices and opportunities for the pianist to employ expressive rubato. Kovacevich's Chopin is very forthright in its attack -- there is plenty of rubato in witty moments here and there, but he goes for a quite big sound and isn't afraid to drive home some of the climaxes with real power. For all that, there's nothing mechanical or charmless about it. He plays his own order of the 14, and makes at least two good choices. The Op.34 No. 2 is placed between the long vivace of the Op. Posth. 14th Waltz and the short molto vivace of Op. 70 no. 1, and it is beautifully and soberly done, with the contextual contrast telling. He ends with the three Op.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category