Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Beach House $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services gotS5 gotS5 gotS5  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Learn more
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
Wandering Scholar Op 50 /... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by megaclassics
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Outer box near mint in plastic; contents are like new. Not a CD-R, cutout, promo or music club reissue. Ships same or next business day in a secure box via USPS First Class mail with tracking. d
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Wandering Scholar Op 50 / Suite De Ballet Op 10
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Wandering Scholar Op 50 / Suite De Ballet Op 10

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, June 22, 1999
"Please retry"
$8.94 $6.49
$19.06 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Chandos's ongoing Holst series hits another bright spot with this release of works that happen, on this disc, to span the composer's entire musical career. The Suite de Ballet (of 1899) is an unabashed array of "light music," typical of fin-de-siècle England. Its youthfulness nearly risks comparison to the music of Eric Coates and Gilbert and Sullivan, but this robust reading by Richard Hickox and the Northern Sinfonia allows the composer-to-come to peek through now and again, especially in the second movement, Valse. The main work here is the comic operetta The Wandering Scholar. It's based on a Clifford Bax (brother to Arnold) libretto and has the more familiar Holstian flourishes based on an original use of orchestral color and remnants of English folk melodies. Top job. --Paul Cook

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Suite de ballet, Op. 10: I. Danse rustiqueBradley Creswick 2:29$0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. Suite de ballet, Op. 10: II. ValseBradley Creswick 3:49$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Suite de ballet, Op. 10: III. Scene de nuitBradley Creswick 7:18$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Suite de ballet, Op. 10: IV. CarnivalBradley Creswick 6:01$0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. A Song of the Night, Op. 19, No. 1Lesley Hatfield 8:39Album Only
  6. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: When boughs are green in April (Louis, Alison) -Ingrid Attrot 3:37$0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: When rainbows follow flying showers (Alison) -Ingrid Attrot0:58$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: Piggy, piggy, piggy! (Father Philippe, Alison) -Ingrid Attrot 2:33$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: Someone is coming! (Alison, Father Philippe, Pierre) -Ingrid Attrot 1:46$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: Before that I was twenty (Pierre, Father Philippe, Alison) -Ingrid Attrot 3:50$0.99  Buy MP3 
11. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: Learned? Comely? (Father Philippe, Pierre, Alison) -Ingrid Attrot 1:42$0.99  Buy MP3 
12. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: Heigho, a pretty knave! (Alison, Father Philippe) -Ingrid Attrot 3:40$0.99  Buy MP3 
13. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: He'll lie all day in the sun (Louis, Pierre, Alison) -Ingrid Attrot 1:47$0.99  Buy MP3 
14. The Wandering Scholar, Op. 50: As I was walking here to-day (Pierre, Louis, Alison)Ingrid Attrot 5:29$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 22, 1999)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Chandos
  • ASIN: B00000J8QZ
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #818,131 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful By G.D. VINE VOICE on May 16, 2010
Format: Audio CD
To be honest, the program of this disc is bottom drawer Holst. Although some skill and craftsmanship shine through occasionally, touches of genuine inspiration are few and relatively far between. The disc opens with the Suite de Ballet, an early work (1899), and pure light music reminiscent of Sullivan and others. While certain numbers are charming enough to sustain interest on a single listening, this is pretty thin brew - the Carnival movement contains some spirit and gusto, but it is only the Scène de nuit that is worth any concentration or repeated listening.

The Song of the Night for violin and orchestra displays a much surer compositional hand (it dates from six years later). Still, inspiration seems to fail Holst here as well, and despite certain nice touches there is little here to really cherish. So that leaves us with the 25 minute one-act chamber opera `The Wandering Scholar', a much later work (1929-30), featuring just five characters and a paper-thin story. Holst uses spare forces and relative simplicity. In other words, we get Holst's later, austere style combined with folk-like simple themes and musical gestures, which would have been tough going even if the music were inspired - which it isn't really, despite the occasional clever touch.

The singers are allright, but they have little to work with. All of them sound a little weary and rushed, and the characters are over the top one-dimensional, but I guess that's what the score requires. The orchestra seems to have a hard time holding the music together - the phrases are short-breathed and there is little color or shading to realize from the score. They are better in the earlier works, but even here sound quite a bit lackluster. In sum, this is I guess an important release for fans of the composer, but for the rest of us it is probably an issue of more limited interest.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Wandering Scholar Op 50 / Suite De Ballet Op 10
This item: Wandering Scholar Op 50 / Suite De Ballet Op 10
Price: $19.06
Ships from and sold by