Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read
"Death shall scythe your soul," reads the tattoo of the evil pirate Skulls. Yar, matey. This be Matsuri Hino's Wanted. Not that other Wanted that was recently made into a movie with Angelina Jolie and featured the curvy bullet trick.

Once upon a time, there lived a young girl named Ameria. She was an orphaned songstress taken in by a troupe of performers. She...
Published on January 15, 2009 by GraphicNovelReporter.com

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Princess Bride" Meets "Pirates of the Carribean"(?)
"Wanted" is a pirate love story from popular manga-ka Matsuri Hino. A singer named Armeria (aka "Arto") falls in love with an aristocrat, Luce. However, Luce is soon kidnapped by pirates, and Armeria vows to rescue him. Eight years later, she boards a pirate ship in search of him. But first, she'll have to deal with the surly pirate captain, Skulls.

Is there...
Published on August 26, 2008 by Ellen W.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Princess Bride" Meets "Pirates of the Carribean"(?), August 26, 2008
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
"Wanted" is a pirate love story from popular manga-ka Matsuri Hino. A singer named Armeria (aka "Arto") falls in love with an aristocrat, Luce. However, Luce is soon kidnapped by pirates, and Armeria vows to rescue him. Eight years later, she boards a pirate ship in search of him. But first, she'll have to deal with the surly pirate captain, Skulls.

Is there anyone out there who hasn't figured out where this is going? Didn't think so. Forutnately, Hino realized the obviousness of her plot twist and didn't focus the story around it. Unfortunately, the manga is kind of rushed. The episodes are pretty interesting, but they seem to happen all at once. The characters are stereotypical and don't have much development. But the art was pretty, and it was a fun story. Also, I appreciated that the other pirates on board Skulls' ship had their own personalities. Background characters like this have a tendency to blend into one one entity, and it was good to see that Hino avoided this. The short story at the end was also enjoyable.

Overall, I'd say that this manga is good for a one-time read. After that, you can just flip to your favorite parts or look at the art. "Wanted" is an especially good manga for fans of Matsuri Hino, because the author's notes talk a lot about her creative process and how her style has developed through her different series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, January 15, 2009
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
"Death shall scythe your soul," reads the tattoo of the evil pirate Skulls. Yar, matey. This be Matsuri Hino's Wanted. Not that other Wanted that was recently made into a movie with Angelina Jolie and featured the curvy bullet trick.

Once upon a time, there lived a young girl named Ameria. She was an orphaned songstress taken in by a troupe of performers. She even sang for Governor Lanceman, a nobleman who had taken in a rebellious orphan lad named Luce. Ameria admired Luce for his kindness. Luce resented his uncle for the way he treated those below him, including Ameria and her troupe. One night, a group of pirates led by the infamous Captain Skulls took Luce hostage and burned down the Governor's home. Since that night, Ameria has been searching for Luce.

Eight years later, Ameria has finally located the pirates who kidnapped Luce. She disguises herself as a boy named Arto and joins the crew. She fools the pirates for a while until an accident blows her cover and reveals her as a female. Captain Skulls takes her under his wing, but he has neither a kind nor generous heart. Captain Skulls reminds Ameria of Luce, but only physically. The two even share the same hair color, but there's no way this heartless captain could be Luce . . . could he?

Come on. You saw The Princess Bride, didn't you? Matsuri Hino doesn't try to hide the obvious resemblance, but she makes it quite clear that Skulls is not the man Luce once was. Luce was warm and protective. Skulls is a womanizer who couldn't be any more cruel and pitiless toward Ameria.

Wanted is a standalone graphic novel. Hino indicated that she would like to write more, but the outlook isn't too bright. The first two chapters, "Captain Skulls" and "The Enemy of Pirates," work well as a cohesive whole and might even make for a good feature film. Hmm . . . movies about pirates and romance at sea. Think that'll sell? The third chapter, "The Legend of the Devil's Musical Score," functions as a new adventure, most likely because Hino wasn't planning on making an entire singular volume. The problem is that the third chapter feels rushed and certain moments are "told" instead of "shown."

Wanted, as a whole, is a very enjoyable read and would make for an excellent series should Hino ever get around to doing more. As for the art, you should be aware Hino is the author behind the popular Vampire Knight series, which means large eyes and detailed hair. Hino is a master of capturing just the right angle to convey a sense of mystery and sex appeal. However, one of her weaknesses is that her lead characters tend to resemble each other throughout her works. Ameria, Luce, and Commander Reid look very much like Yuki, Zero, and Kaname, respectively, from Vampire Knight. (Note: Hino has stated that Ameria was modeled after Aram from Merupuri.) They have the same faces. Only the hair is a bit different. It's mildly frustrating, but only to those who want to be picky about it.

But wait! There's more! This publication of Wanted also comes with a bonus manga called Spring Cherry Blossoms, a short story about a girl in the early Meiji era who falls in love with her arranged fiancé's brother. It's not one of Hino's greatest works because the relationship between the proper young lady and the scoundrel happens so suddenly, and once again, the male protagonist is cruel and aloof toward the heroine. But let's face it: Some girls always fall for the jerks.

-- Courtney Kraft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, December 13, 2010
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I instantly fell in love with this manga!

The story is about a young girl named Armeria who witnesses her first love, Luce, being captured by the pirate Skulls. Eight years later she disguises herself as a boy (Alto) and boards Skull's ship, determined to find out what happened to Luce. It's made obvious from the beginning the Captain Skulls is actually Luce, but Armeria can't see it because he is no longer the boy she glorifies in her memory--he's an arrogant, violent pirate. Unfortunately for Armeria her cover as a boy is quickly blown, and Skulls discovers that she is a woman.

The characters are likeable, the story is entertaining, and there is good chemistry between Luce/Skulls and Armeria/Alto. I absolutely love Matsuri Hino's artwork--she has a very romantic style. The only drawback about this manga is that it's only one volume. I was very sad when it ended, and I hope that she will continue this story in the future!

I highly recommend Wanted, it's definitely worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable short read., May 10, 2009
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
After starting Vampire Knight I fell in love with Matsuri Hino's art, so when I randomly stumbled across Wanted in the bookstore while on a out-of-town trip I couldn't help but grab it. I honestly wasn't sure what to expect as Vampire Knight was the only work of Matsuri Hino's I'd ever read and at the time. (To be honest I just skimmed over the description and decided to buy it simply because it was done by Matsuri Hino.) I managed to read it in about an hour on the drive home.

The story was very predictable, but it was good for what it was. From pretty much the very beginning I figured out what would happen, but even so I was able to enjoy the story. It was pretty fast-paced since the whole story is packed into one book. If some day Matsuri Hino were to continue this story I would gladly continue reading to see what she had in store for the characters, but the volume didn't end it a way that had me feeling there had been no real conclusion to the story.

I would recommend this to any fans of Matsuri Hino's work or someone looking for something short and sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yarr!, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
great condition, fun read :) Hino's art is gorgeous as always, and this is a single book series, so there aren't any continuations to worry about having to collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book for Collectors!, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
The art is absolutely beautiful... I wish there was more then just one book. It sits comfortably next to my Vampire Knight Chronicles. :) <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, September 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
As for some Shojo Beat manga, Wanted is sweetness. It has a bit of curiosity thrown in because you're not exactly sure what is going to happen. It is a great story in my opinion and the art work is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, September 1, 2008
By 
Kay (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I really like this story, I thought it was cute. This is a short series book. A total of three volumes. I really like Matsuri Hino's stories although I would have to say it's not one of my favorites.
Story: A girl sneaks on to a pirate ship dressed as a boy in hopes of finding her childhood friend who was kidnapped by a pairate. Although unknowing to her is that the Pirate leader is the boy she is looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wanted
Wanted by Matsuri Hino (Paperback - September 2, 2008)
$8.99 $7.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.