Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 17, 2014
A very good movie on a Korean archer's fighting against Manchu invasion to rescue his younger sister and brother-in-law who were dragged away by Manchurian troops. I like its fast pacing, unselfish love, and sometimes humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
This tells a heart-touching story about the sacrifices a brother will make for his sister. I didn't touch the special features, but I'd seen this movie before, and just had to own a copy. I don't want to ruin the story for anyone, but it's a wonderful movie.

Here are the things about the movie I enjoyed:

- A decent story of a brother and his sister, love and loss, and the struggles of a nation at war.
- Great action scenes. The effects were good, and action wasn't just randomly thrown in as filler.
- Whether you like a good story or action movies, this movie caters to both. The violence isn't unnecessary, and there's not excessive gore.

The English dubbing isn't the worst (if that's your thing), but I definitely prefer the Korean audio with English subtitles. Things flow better that way, but if you don't like subtitles, it's not horrible.

All in all, this was well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2014
I just watched this movie and I was blown away completely!..I couldn't even move off the chair in the last hour of this film...so much drama right til the last second of this Korean Masterpiece...totally awesome movie in every way...Blu Ray looks great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Ordered used, shipped and received immediately. We didn't realize it was subtitled, but it is worth it. If you like the House Of Flying Daggers, Hero, or The Curse of the Golden Flower, I think you will like this. My husband and I love this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Excellent asian dvd...straight story line,,,,good action without excessive blood covering the screen....AND a great interest in "archery" which very popular today with young people....
therefore the ideal dvd to introduce them to asian dvds....probably their first viewing of a Chinese or Korean film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
Slow action, but once it get going then its on. The plot was there really good in the beginning. Didn't have to wait to long to get going. The colors were bright. And characters really seems to be good actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
Nice historical action piece centered about the Korean short bow and arrow of the Joseon (Yi) Dynasty as used to defend against Manchurian Qing invasions from the north. The storyline is centered about one of the female captives, Ja-In (Jaihn), and the attempts to rescue her by her brother and husband. Great detail and authenticity in scene, set, props and costume creation. Superb acting by the entire cast. Superb cinematography especially with the remote running and riding scenes. Use of the bow was emphasized with little in the way of martial arts action that we typically find in this genre. The bow scenes on horseback, by parallel to US viewers, had that classical western movie look.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
I have not delved into too many Korean movies, but they seem to be making an uprising. My first experience was Daytime Drinking, followed by Sword With No Name. Since this movie was roughly the same time period as Sword with No Name, I thought it might be a similar production. And while the costume and scenery are similar, IMO this movie was much more enjoyable.

You can read the premise above, so I won't go back through that. But this particular film gives the viewer enough background to make them care about the three main protagonists (The Brother, Sister and her Fiancé). Each of them has to come to grips in their own way with what is going on around them. Invasion and kidnapping make the Brother pick up a cause to fight for something. The Sister will not simply just let herself be captured and finds her own rebellious strength. And her Fiancé, who has lived a life of luxury and relative ease, is now forced to meet danger and anxiety head on to get his betrothed back from the enemy camp.

There are very few slow points in this movie and even when the action is ensuing, you still get a sense of story. During the fights, nothing seems disrupted or out of place, which is wonderful when the viewer wants to hold on to the REASON this is all going on, and not just focus on the battle itself.

Glad to see some attention paid to other weapons of the time. It was refreshing to see how the "shoot-outs" came to a conclusion. If you're a fan of foreign action films, period films, or just want something a little different, give this one a look. I doubt you'd be disappointed.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
I would’ve rated it a bit better but can’t stand the classic fools that sometimes, or very often, appear in Chinese martial arts movies around the hero figure, even though this is Korean. It’s a turn off when trying to watch a serious action-drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
My teenage cousins saw this in my Korean DVD shelf and liked the cover and asked if they could watch it. I told them they had to read the subtitles and they uttered, "Oh, man," thinking they weren't going to like it for that reason alone. This was the first Korean movie they've seen so they're not used to watching a movie this way but as the movie progressed they were on the edge of their seats. They loved the bow & arrow fight scenes the best. By the end they wanted to watch it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.