Customer Reviews


718 Reviews
5 star:
 (557)
4 star:
 (122)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All I want for Christmas is a Farnsworth and a Tesla (and maybe Cecil B. DeMille's riding crop)
This being a weird, mystifying world that we live in, don't be startled that dangerous supernatural items are scattered all over the globe, artifacts which when activated can raise hell and grief and unholy aggravation. Frequently our mere existence is jeopardized by these artifacts. Down thru the ages of man, a Warehouse has existed to store these objects, located in...
Published on November 28, 2011 by H. Bala

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warehouse 13: Season 3
I was fairly disappointed in this season, especially the episode where the characters got caught in the video game. Although to me, this was very hokey, the actors did their best to pull it off instead of making it a complete spoof. The last two episodes were pretty good and back on track. Warehouse 13 has a very good and unique concept, and I would like to keep...
Published 15 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All I want for Christmas is a Farnsworth and a Tesla (and maybe Cecil B. DeMille's riding crop), November 28, 2011
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warehouse 13: Season 3 (DVD)
This being a weird, mystifying world that we live in, don't be startled that dangerous supernatural items are scattered all over the globe, artifacts which when activated can raise hell and grief and unholy aggravation. Frequently our mere existence is jeopardized by these artifacts. Down thru the ages of man, a Warehouse has existed to store these objects, located in that era's most powerful nation, with especially-trained Warehouse agents called upon to collect and safeguard them. Today's version, the vast Warehouse 13, sprawls somewhere in the blasted nowhereness of South Dakota. And while Warehouse Agents Myka Berry and Pete Lattimer may sometimes come off as goofballs, they're exceptional at their job. Season 3 retains the lightness and goofy humor, but maybe it's so as to catch you wholly unprepared for the crushing Sturm und Drang of the closing episodes. This season tremendously hoists up the quality and pushes the actors and their characters to someplace they've not yet been.

Myka's emotional departure in the Season 2 finale has left the rest of the Warehouse 13 staff seriously gutted. In Season 3's opener, "The New Guy," time has elapsed, time enough that it's been decided to recruit a new Warehouse agent, except that everyone still misses the fudge out of Myka. But in comes the very likable ATF agent Steve Jinks (Aaron Ashmore) who happens to be a human lie detector. He rapidly becomes close to the Warehouse's resident geek tech support Claudia. And here's the cool thing about this episode: There's no teasing about. By the end of this episode Myka has come back to the fold. I didn't think her daytime gig of prim bookstore clerk was gonna fly for too long.

The spotlight shines brighter on the Regents, specially since the season's projected big bad - as embodied by the dangerous Anthony Michael Hall - nurses an unrelenting vendetta against them and the Warehouse. Awesomely, Kate Mulgrew plays one of the Regents and her character presents an unexpected link to an Agent. Of course, the Regents forfeit that patina of intimidation and infallibility once Walter Sykes (Hall) starts abducting them, torturing them, eliminating them. And Sykes' end game is damn diabolical, as we learn in the finale. Jaime Murray wonderfully reprises her role as H.G. Wells. And, in what looks to be a steady poaching of Star Trek actors, Jeri Ryan guest stars in the hilarious episode "Queen for a Day" and René Auberjonois also returns to impede Artie's fledgling romance. Speaking of which, I've got the back of any show that reintroduces my childhood crush Lindsay Wagner.

Absolutely there are highlight episodes. Like "3...2...1," which deepens the show's mythology. "3...2...1" features Warehouse teams from three different eras attempting to corral the fabled trumpet what blew down the walls of Jericho. This episode also marks the return of H.G. Wells, as well as of Rebecca St. Clair and Jack Secord, the two Warehouse agents/starcrossed lovers from the 1960s (from "Burnout" and "Where and When"). What we get are three interweaving threads from, respectively, 1893, 1962, and the present day. Jaime Murray is outstanding in those flashbacks to 1893, in which we see her unleash all manner of steampunk asskickery as a Warehouse 12 agent in the British Empire. Step back, Lara Croft. See this ep and wonder no more about why there's rumor of Jaime Murray getting her own Warehouse 13 spin-off series.

"Don't Hate the Player" is the crossover with EUREKA as the Warehouse agents must save Fargo who is stuck in a virtual reality game. In "Past Imperfect," Myka achieves closure when she gets a second crack at the man who murdered her former Secret Service partner. "Insatiable" is a fun story revolving around an artifact that turns people into zombies (except that Pete is somehow immune). And how does the taco truck figure into this? Meanwhile, "Love Sick" concerns Artie, Claudia, Dr. Vanessa Calder (Lindsay Wagner) and Hugo Miller (Auberjonois) trying to neutralize an artifact that transforms people into clay. But never mind that plot. This episode also finds Pete and Myka waking up in bed together, stark nekkid and stricken with amnesia.

But it's the two-part finale - "Emily Lake" and "Stand" - that kicks the chair out from under. It ties up a lot of loose ends but then creates several cliffhangers. The writers pull no punches on this one. It's a hefty roster of casualties, and you won't like that some of them what don't survive happen to be popular characters. Let's face it, in this universe, there are so many ways to get your ticket punched (even including Horrible Death by Chess Match!). I like a show that caters to tongue-in-cheek stories but then recognizes when it's time to get dark and grim and pregnant with pathos. And I like that this cast of actors gets challenged in their performances. Awesome Allison Scagliotti, the most natural actor in the series, has a field day chewing scenery. She can channel some truly raw emotions. Still, I watch this show primarily for Myka and Pete's interactions. Joanna Kelly and Eddie McClintock have got their rapport and patter down pat, but this time they also get put thru their paces. And in light of the explosive finale, I can't wait to see where Season 4 takes us. Season 4, where, hopefully, deaths are not a permanent state, there's another EUREKA crossover in store, and Allison Scagliotti sings and plays her guitar some more.

Okay, the Season 3 closer is actually the terrific Christmas episode, "The Greatest Gift." The plot - Pete activates an artifact that erases his existence - makes use of one of them tantalizing "What if?" scenarios and serves as a nod to IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE. What chance is there that this holiday ep makes it into the Season 3 DVD set release?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big changes for "Americas Attic"., April 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warehouse 13: Season 3 (DVD)
After almost allowing H.G. Welles to activate the Yellowstone Caldera Myka leaves the Warehouse. In her absence an new Agent Steve Jinx is added to the team. But during an investigation involving a lost Shakespeare Folio Myka rejoins Pete and Steve to get to the bottom of the mystery. But that one case is only the tip of the iceberg. Someone is out there with unimaginable resources and knowledge and it's his mission to destroy not only the Warehouse but the ruling Regents as well, including Jane who has a close relationship with one Agent in Particular. Warehouse 13 continues it's connection to fellow Syfy series Eureka as well as newcomer series Alphas.

This season features some great comedy, outstanding drama, many twists and turns and some tragedy. The finale ends in a way you won't believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you thought they couldn't top the 2nd Season, they blow it out of the water., September 15, 2012
This review is from: Warehouse 13: Season 3 (DVD)
Season three blew me away. Claudia played by Allison Scagliotti, steals the show in many episodes during the 3rd season. Every episode in season three mean something to the overall story line. The stakes are higher, the tension is real, and yes the comedy is still in place and allows for many, many laughs. If you want the definition of brilliant writing and acting, you'll find it this season in every episode, especially in Emily Lake and Last Stand. These two episodes stunned me, and left me breathless. Allison Scagliotti shows her true A-List talent in these two episodes, especially Last Stand. The entire cast, not just Allison Scagliotti bring their A-Game for Emily Lake & Last Stand; I've rarely seen acting this good on television. The 3rd season of Warehouse 13 will not disappoint you, I promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will miss this show., December 2, 2013
We never had access to the syfy channel or other cable or satillite networks...I found this show my accident and really like it. It is not sexual, very few cuss words (most were not even necessary to get the point by),and the stories move quickly. Too bad they will not be producing any more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, December 2, 2012
By 
Ashley (Pelham, Morocco) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warehouse 13: Season 3 (DVD)
Love this show! It is a quirky look at history and the artifacts that accompany it. I am typically not a fan of sci-fi but this is a show that I look forward to watching all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warehouse 13: Season 3, July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warehouse 13: Season 3 (DVD)
I was fairly disappointed in this season, especially the episode where the characters got caught in the video game. Although to me, this was very hokey, the actors did their best to pull it off instead of making it a complete spoof. The last two episodes were pretty good and back on track. Warehouse 13 has a very good and unique concept, and I would like to keep enjoying it for years. The plots that can be written about are practically endless, given all the artifacts there are in the world.

I recommend that the writers don't get into a rut with the plot always being the same, no matter what artifact is being presented, while at the same time the writers ensure that the episodes don't get so far out that the plots are not relatable to most of the adults watching the series. That's a fine line to walk sometimes, but Series 1 and 2 were able to do this.

It is delightful to see more of Mrs. Fredrick and Claudia since they are both unique enough characters to be the sparkplugs that drive the mystique of each episode because both their characters are set up to do unpredictable things. I hope Mrs. Fredrick doesn't become "normal" and continues to be mysterious. The other three characters are more the anchors for the series, and it is always a pleasure when H.G. pops in as #4 to bring the uncertainty that this character gives to the series.

For me, the mix is pretty perfect. Although I wasn't going to buy Season 4 when it comes out, after writing this review, I want to give it another go. Have a great day, everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show, August 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I use Amazon VOD a lot. We view it on our Roku along with Netflix,Hulu, and others. This show is great, the streaming service works great. No complaints.
You take a secret non-government agency with government operatives running it, throw in some sci-fi, and add in some humor and you have Warehouse 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Frustrating, July 25, 2013
I know this show is Science Fiction. I know it's supposed to be a little quirky... cheesey... campy... whatever. But I have to say that the two-part season three-ending episodes were VERY frustrating. Our heroes usually bumble around a bit. I got that. But these two episodes make me think perhaps they really are in the wrong line of work. Despite my disappointment in a few of the season's episodes, I'll come back for season four and hope for improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Entertainment, February 8, 2014
My wife and I both love Warehouse 13. We will likely re-watch.
This is Fabulous clean entertainment. It is Action, Love, and Humor without the usual gratuitous sex, violence, or language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery loves Company - and how!, November 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warehouse 13: Season 3 (DVD)
I really like Warehouse 13! I've seen every episode several times and the 3rd season is no exception. If you like the show and want to see it without commercials, this DVD is a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Warehouse 13: Season 3
Warehouse 13: Season 3 by Chris Fisher (DVD - 2012)
$49.98 $19.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.