Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what it's about!
On Warlord of Mars: Dejah thoris Volume 1-The Colossus of Mars: I wrote earlier about Dynamites Warlord Lord of Mars John Carter and all the problems it had. In that review I only gave the book three stars. There were so many problems with it and I was very disapointed with it being a ERB fan. I also said they needed to get a different artist. I am still going to purchase...
Published on November 11, 2011 by T. R. R. Comics

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great
The art work is fair and the story is predictable but if you want more Barsoom it isn't bad for the money.
Published 3 months ago by Patrick and Fran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what it's about!, November 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
On Warlord of Mars: Dejah thoris Volume 1-The Colossus of Mars: I wrote earlier about Dynamites Warlord Lord of Mars John Carter and all the problems it had. In that review I only gave the book three stars. There were so many problems with it and I was very disapointed with it being a ERB fan. I also said they needed to get a different artist. I am still going to purchase Volume 2 when it comes out to see if they can fix the problems it had. I also saw this book when I bought the John Carter Graphic Novel. I read John Carter first. Then this book can in the mail. I was bound and determind to read it.

Now, Warlord of Mars Dejah Thoris is how an ERB's graphic novel should be done! The artwork is increadibly beatiful. When I opened the book I just couldn't put it down the story was great. The art is out of this world. I really hope that Dynamite will keep this series going. It is definately a seller. You have got to get this book if you are a fan of the man! Heck any comic fan should get this book to see how good comics are supposed to be done. Now all the publisher has to do is fix the problems with The John Carter novel and all is good in the world again!

Theodore Raymond Riddle Cartoonist/Creator/Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhilarating, rollicking ride through Barsoom that is more than worth reading, June 29, 2012
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
hadowhawk reviews the first two volumes of Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris, Colossus of Mars (collecting issues #1-5) and Pirate Queen of Mars (collecting issues #6-10), published by Dynamite Entertainment.

"Colossus of Mars and Pirate Queen of Mars are exhilarating, rollicking rides through Barsoom that are more than worth reading. They are great sword & planet adventures!" ~The Founding Fields

My only previous exposure to the characters and world created by Edgar Rice Burroughs is the recent movie, John Carter, which I highly enjoyed and even reviewed a few weeks back for the 24FPS movie review blog. The entire setting of Barsoom, as Burroughs calls Mars, is really intriguing, whether its the people, the culture, the technology, the mythology, the creatures, the world itself or what have you. I came across Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 on NetGalley which is a great resource for reviewers (you have to at least check it out!). Reading and finishing it in one sitting, I just had to get the second volume too, because the comics are just that good.

The Dejah Thoris comics are set centuries before John Carter ever arrived on Barsoom and they feature the scantily-clad Princess as the main protagonist as she fights, schemes and fights for the future of Lesser Helium (Helium at this point in time is divided into two warring states). I have to say that the whole notion is quite an interesting one, it sets up a lot of intriguing possibilities with regard to the storylines. And since the people of Barsoom are long-lived, effectively immortal, that just adds more possibilities to the mix.

The first five issues, collected together in a single volume titled Colossus of Mars, tell how the two cities of Lesser and Greater Helium are at war with each other and how the ruler of Yorn, Jeddak Senneth Dor, schemes to take over all of Barsoom. Expect lots of betrayals and double-crosses, heroism and cowardice, and the plans of a madman to dominate the entire world.

I really liked Colossus of Mars. The main reason is that it is simply more stuff related to John Carter, but also because it is a really good story. Not groundbreaking or mindblowing by any means but it is still good. Sometimes all you need is a "basic" story told really well and this one does that in spades. The twists are good twists and they keep you guessing and turning the pages. Consequently, the story moves along at a really brisk pace. It is a war-story after all.

There are a few characters that I really liked: such as Dejah herself, Senneth's son Dor Valian who is an inventor of sorts, and Khanid Thal who is the Jed of Greater Helium. These three were really enjoyable, Dejah for her heroine-antics, Dor Valian for being the clumsy guy who finally grows up, and Khanid for being so damn sincere. The bad guys, in the form of Senneth Dor and his henchmen were somewhat compelling as well, and not a little humorous given the appearance of at least one of them. Overall, a really varied cast of characters that'll appeal to everyone.

Some really emotional scenes as well in the comic, which really make it worth a read. They are not too emotionally-charged but they are still compelling enough to move you. Part and parcel of the double-crosses going on.

The artwork, both the cover and the panels themselves, as well as the various illustrations and inking are also damn nice. My only concern with the art is that the people of Barsoom wear far too less clothing, especially the women. Its... disconcerting. I have no clue if that's how it is in Burroughs' novels so I can't comment in that respect as I am only familiar with the Barsoomians from John Carter, who are quite covered up! The whole we-are-not-really-wearing-much thing is offputting a bit since it makes the combat really unrealistic at times. This is an old problem with the genre however and while I don't mean to be dismissive here, it is what it is.

Another concern, a minor one however and I hope it was only me, is that at times I was confused where the action was taking place. Whether we were still in Yorn or in one of the Helium cities. It was just slightly jarring and made following the narrative a tad tedious, but like I said, its a minor point.

All in all, it was a blast reading Colossus of Mars and I'm glad I picked this up. Gives a whole another layer of context to events in John Carter, although the two aren't related story-wise in any way. Also makes me all that eager to get around to reading Burroughs' novels sometime soon. Got my fingers crossed on that one.

Rating: 9/10

You can find the full review over at the Founding Fields:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
The art work is fair and the story is predictable but if you want more Barsoom it isn't bad for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From a fan of ERB, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Artwork is STUNNING, story is very good. I hope to see a whole series, I will buy every one. I have read every ERB book and of course I want more, this is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Colossus of Mars, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
Four hundred years prior to John Carter traveling to Mars, Dejah Thoris appears to have been the hero and action star. The storytelling done in these Dynamite Entertainment graphic novels retains the pulp action feel of the original novels and takes the premise of Dejah Thoris as action princess as in the 2012 film. As heroic and commanding as she is, who needs Carter??

The story: The jeddak (king) of Yorn seeks to use the inter-city rivalry between Helium and Zodanga to his advantage to conquer both by the use of an ancient super weapon, the Colossus.
The art: The book has beautiful artwork both for the story and the bonus illustrations throughout. The artist proves that pulp-style art never goes out of fashion if presented right. The heroine does pretty much goes near topless for the entire story but it seems to fit in the overall arc of things.

Rating: 5 stars for both story and art. Any fan of E.R. Burroughs and/or the Warlord of Mars novels will enjoy this action tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adult-themes Clash With Juvenile Fantasy in DEJAH THORIS's First Volume, February 17, 2014
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
Playing in a world created by George Lucas – like Dark Horse Comics has done with its STAR WARS line for over two decades – is one thing. Basically, you’re taking an artistic property that was created with building a popular-culture audience already in mind and spinning more independent stories starring their favorite characters. Like I implied, it’s an established property with some terrific brand recognition, so there’s already a built-in audience. I don’t say that to diminish any contributions of any writer or artist whatsoever; I just think that, to a certain degree, it’s a bit easier because those people, places, and events have been fairly heavily fleshed out by blockbuster motion pictures already. There’s a solid foundation upon which to consult and build.

Playing in a world created by legendary scribe Edgar Rice Burroughs that has little name recognition beyond fandom AND the association of what many saw as a heavily flawed big-budget film? That’s another thing entirely. If WARLORD OF MARS: DEJAH THORIS is any indication, then I suspect there’s more than one way to skin a Calot.

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and/or characters. If you’re the type of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I’d encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you’re accepting of a few modest hints at ‘things to come,’ then read on …)

Set over four centuries before the time period of Walt Disney’s JOHN CARTER, the ongoing monthly DEJAH THORIS comic shows us the world of Helium warring within its various tribes. As often happens in times of war, there are fragile ‘ceasefires’ put into motion by any series of events, and that’s how this volume opens: the all-high Yorn declares a cessation of hostilities between the various people. However, once these various rulers and princes are drawn to Yorn’s castle – where even Dejah herself gets promised to Yorn’s chubby son, Valian, as part of the terms for ending the conflict – it becomes very clear that ulterior motives are at play.

For those who might be questioning how it’s even possible that Dejah Thoris would even be around four hundred years before John Carter, I can answer that simply: Martians, by their nature, are essentially immortal. They only die when they’re slain, so this story as conceived by Arvid Nelson is entirely plausible, even probable given what we know about the political and social structure of Barsoom (aka Mars). And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with taking this approach so far as I’m concerned: there’s a respectable amount of background provided in the Burroughs’ books (those that I’m familiar with), so the field is a vastly open place upon which to play out some terrific adventures.

The question remains: is “this” a story worth telling?

Unfortunately, I’ll leave my answer a bit nebulous, mostly because I’d rather not spoil the overall arch of it. (Though for those truly interested in knowing more I have penned reviews for each of the individual issues which do address some of the particulars, and I encourage you to seek them out here on Amazon or over at Lunch.) I will say that I thought much of DEJAH THORIS to be a bit of a creative misfire: it would seem Nelson and his crew haven’t quite decided which potential version of the John Carter universe they’d rather occupy – that of the books or that stemming from the Walt Disney movie. Thematically, much of THORIS feels like it’s giving a nod to the Mouse House – the drama is very simple and not very elegant given the dynamics of what could’ve been done; and the art style feels unnecessarily ‘clean’ with bright tones and dark lines, much akin to animation geared toward younger viewers. If that is the case, then why are all of Dejah’s ample (ahem) assets on full display? She appears bra-less in any circumstance (not that Martian princesses wear bras), with her bosoms only shielded from full display with nipple adornments. It’s a deliciously grown-up depiction for a story so elementary, and I’m not certain that’s the way to go.

Still, the tale feels almost ‘classical’ in structure, the kind of thing reverential of Burroughs’ world, and that alone interests me enough to continue reading until such a time as I grow weary of all the cheese.

WARLORD OF MARS: DEJAH THORIS #3 (Volume 1) is published by Dynamite Entertainment. (For those needing it spelled out perfect, this is a trade paperback which collects the first five issues of the DEJAH THORIS ongoing comic book.) The story is written by Arvid Nelson; the artwork is drawn by Carlos Rafael; with coloring provided by Carlos Lopez; and the lettering is done by Marshall Dillon. If it’s special features you’re looking for, then you’ve got something to look forward to, indeed: there’s a terrific collection of artwork (much of which is alternate comic books covers) along with some sketches and a terrifically comprehensive rundown from artist Joe Jusko on just how he approaches the legendary princess. Nice job, Dynamite. It all comes with a cover price of $16.99, but I’ve seen it available for much cheaper online from other vendors.

RECOMMENDED. Although it would be easy to dismiss WARLORD OF MARS: DEJAH THORIS (VOLUME 1) with a hearty “nothing to see here” – stylistically, it adds very little to the world of comicdom; and given the fact that it takes years centuries before the legitimate, canonical saga of Edgar Rice Burroughs’ John Carter series of novels. However, I liked it well enough on a straight read-thru to give it a thumbs-up, just not one as enthusiastic as I had initially hoped. The artwork is much too ‘clean’ for my tastes, making it appear like Saturday morning fare for children, but given the prevalence of about as close to male and female nudity as one can get that’s horribly misdirected. If you’re going to pen stories skewed toward adults in any way, then got all of your oars in the water and deliver that instead of something that feels dumbed down for a wider audience. Who knows? Maybe it’ll grow into something more than the typical cheese, though there’s nothing wrong with ogling Dejah so long as she’s okay with it.

In the interests of fairness, I’m pleased to disclose that I’ve repeatedly contacted the fine folks at Dynamite Comics in hopes to arrange for reader copies of WARLORD OF MARS: DEJAH THORIS; however, the company apparently does not recognize nor cooperate with requests from new media outlets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to Barsoom, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
The art inside of these comics don't do justice to the covers. Although it's all very good, I expected much higher quality based on what the covers looked like. Also, I was a bit confused as to the lack of nudity. I'm guessing that some editions show Dejah Thoris topless throughout the entire comic because of images of this on the internet. My edition had her wearing two tiny golden nipple covers. No big deal really, if I was looking for porn I would have gotten porn. I just didnt realize that there are multiple versions of the art as well as many cover variants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real surprise, July 16, 2012
By 
A. Gammill (Tupelo, MS United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
I have to tell you, I usually avoid comics and so-called "graphic novels." But after enjoying the first two of Burrough's "Barsoom" books and the big-screen "John Carter" film, I was primed and ready for more adventures set in the same universe. To that end, "Colossus of Mars" delivers the goods. And even though the story is set some 400 years before the time of Carter, it is far more faithful to the written word than the movie (which I DID enjoy very much, but for different reasons). Unencumbered by the need to tell a family-friend story, the writer and artists really let loose with a true fantasy adventure tale, complete with bloodshed and ample flesh on display. Again, I liked the movie, but THIS is the Dejah Thoris I pictured when reading the original books.

My only gripe--and this extends to my complaint in the opening sentence above--is that things happen far too quickly. I realize this volume contains 5 full comic books, but I breezed through the whole thing in about 30 minutes. When you consider the cost of these things, that's hardly a bargain. Still, the artwork is terrific and the story well-told, so it may not be a huge problem for some. Certainly, if you are fan of the Barsoom stories, you won't be disappointed. I just wish we got a little more bang for our bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comic rendering of Edgar Rice Burroughs' Martian series, May 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
This comic version of Edgar Rice Burrough's martian world is well-done. The artwork and the story are true to the spirit of Barsoom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP (Paperback)
Great drawings and an interesting story. captures flavor of ERB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP
Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris Volume 1 - The Colossus of Mars TP by Arvid Nelson (Paperback - November 1, 2011)
$16.99 $12.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.