Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has received lukewarm reviews so far, but stick with this
it is a long way from the directionless mess that some are making it out to be. Give it a few plays and it will get under your skin, swim into your bloodstream and build tunnels in your bones
Published 2 months ago by S.

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars elegantly celestial, atmospheric indie pop
2nd album from all female Los Angeles band—elegantly celestial, atmospheric indie pop/rock
with a haunting air of dark & delicate electro-dub rhythm over seductive, dreamy voices. The
songs feel gentle and fragile, more likely to break than bend, as they wander (a bit aimlessly)
through realms both eerie and airy. Overall, the album has a sort of...
Published 2 months ago by Charlie Quaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has received lukewarm reviews so far, but stick with this, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (MP3 Music)
it is a long way from the directionless mess that some are making it out to be. Give it a few plays and it will get under your skin, swim into your bloodstream and build tunnels in your bones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, but you may not, January 23, 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
It's slow, melodic, and ghostly. Some times there is too much space, some melody shifts are questionable. But I can't stop listening, it just works. Give it three good listens, it got better every time for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second album, and even better live, January 27, 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
The all-female quartet seemingly has been around since forever (actually since 2007 or so), but they have released only one full-length album (2010's "The Fool") to date. After what seems to be an endless wait, now finally comes the band's second album. If you are not familiar with the band's sound, think (early) The Like-meets-(early) The Cure.

"Warpaint" (12 tracks; 51 min.) starts off with a delightful 2 min. "Intro", which is actually one of the best tracks on here, and which immediately showcases the band's evolved, fuller sound. This also comes across a bit later on "Love Is To Die" (1st single), about as accessible as the band has ever sounded, while maintaining its own unique style. The band slows things down considerably on "Teese", with great acoustic guitar upfront. THE track on this album is arguably "Disco//very", which does have a certain dance-driven beat to it but surely isn't 'disco' as such. The album starts to lag a bit towards the end, although I like the psychedelic-reminding "CC" quite a bit, but the album would've been even stronger/more focused had one or two of the weakest songs been let off (such as the closer "Son"). But in the end it's a minor quibble. The band's growth on this album as compared to "The Fool" is amazing, and one could honestly make the argument that "Warpaint" is the great leap forward for this band. Please note that the album was produced by none other than Flood and mixed by Flood and Nigel Godrich

I had the good fortune of seeing Warpaint in concert twice last Fall in a matter of 2 weeks, once at the Laneway Festival at the Meadowbrooks in Detroit, and then again at the MidPoint Music Festival here in Cincinnati. They played similar sets, and previewed a number of tracks from the then still unreleased album, including Intro, Keep It Healthy, Hi, and Love Is To Die (but unfortunately not Disco//very), and all of these tracks sounded much heavier in concert as compared to on the new album. If you have a chance to see these ladies live, do not miss them! Meanwhile, "Warpaint" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late night perfection, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Perfect for after parties, love affairs and staring into space. These girls are unique and a welcome change to lots of modern bands who chase commercial sounds or go retro garbage digging to get your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Art Rock, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (MP3 Music)
Warpaint make me feel like I'm a part of their jam session. I have yet to see them live but listening to this album makes me feel like I'm in a intimate setting with them. Warpaint, through each track, make me feel as though I'm hearing a song being created and then developed and then concluded and that this has happened right before me.

Alluring, without pretense.. Inspired, without fear.. Driven, but at a comfortable pace.

I can't feel as though any song Warpaint makes has a finish or a start. It has just been something that has happened along the way.

I am blown away by this band but in no way am I in a hurry to exhaust my ears of them either. I will instead appreciate their music with patience till I can get as great a vacuum I can afford to listen to them(probably my truck), perhaps late in the quiet evening.

I have bought Exquisite Corpse and The Fool and enjoy them almost equally. I also love that each album/ep has it's own flow and feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
Warpaint begins with a mistake and an apology. It's a modest way to open such a beautiful, slow and hypnotic album. Like Faith No More's 1992 masterpiece, Angel Dust, only one or two songs contain a clearly defined chorus. This album isn't for everybody. But if you're not completely cynical and don't think music should only go certain places and do specific things (as Pitchfork's dim-witted review reveals about them), you might find yourself lost in its magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars elegantly celestial, atmospheric indie pop, February 4, 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
2nd album from all female Los Angeles band—elegantly celestial, atmospheric indie pop/rock
with a haunting air of dark & delicate electro-dub rhythm over seductive, dreamy voices. The
songs feel gentle and fragile, more likely to break than bend, as they wander (a bit aimlessly)
through realms both eerie and airy. Overall, the album has a sort of hypnotic, druggy-angel
feel, but lacks any real reason for me to want to hear it again, and seems destined for the sale
pile. Nice, but it just puts me to sleep. Sometimes recalls School Of Seven Bells, later Blonde
Redhead, Beach House, CocoRosie, Memoryhouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My album of the year, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (MP3 Music)
A little mellower than their previous work but after a few listens you are hooked! Awesome live as well! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Play it over and over and over and over..., April 14, 2014
By 
Goldtone (Lithonia, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warpaint (Audio CD)
This is a great album that I can play from front to back without skipping. While Exquisite Corpse is my favorite Warpaint album, this is the one I would use to convert a new listener. While each song can easily be played on mainstream radio, they would also sound perfect on your super cool secret underground hipster local college station.

The only negative I have to report on this album is them including the blunder in the intro. It sounds cool at first but it's one of my favorite songs and and it gets pretty annoying after a while.

That being said this is my third Warpaint album and they have yet to disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Camper, April 12, 2014
This review is from: Warpaint (Vinyl)
Awesome record. Already loved it but for a great price I get to listen on vinyl, which is always a great experience. Speedy delivery! Plus free mp3 download. Can't beat that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5ac7870)

This product

Warpaint
Warpaint by Warpaint (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.