Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and useful
Even for someone familiar with the concepts discussed in the book, I found it refreshingly accessible and useful.

I bought the Kindle version of this book, which comes with links to the author's webpage that includes other learning aids. I highly recommend the book for the following reasons:

1. The technical concepts are accurately explained, so...
Published on July 2, 2012 by Phillip Phan

versus
154 of 177 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Self-published Books
Not since, "The 4-Hour Work Week" have I been so disappointed in a book.

Warren Buffet should be incensed that his name was used to sell this book. The book touts itself as, "A Guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations". As to the last ... one chapter, consisting of 2.5 pages, which most accurately states, "Since the book...
Published on October 5, 2012 by Darryl Kerkeslager


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 177 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Self-published Books, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not since, "The 4-Hour Work Week" have I been so disappointed in a book.

Warren Buffet should be incensed that his name was used to sell this book. The book touts itself as, "A Guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations". As to the last ... one chapter, consisting of 2.5 pages, which most accurately states, "Since the book you are reading is geared toward individual investing, I haven't found the right place to discuss Smith's famous macroeconomic principles." He really doesn't. Half of the chapter(ette) is a short story about his children, and the rest is a bit of biography of Smith that you can find on Wikipedia. Clearly, "The Wealth of Nations" was just included as a pretext to throw Warren Buffett's name into the title.

The lead on Amazon states that, "... This book is concise (182 pages) ..." Well yes, if you count 16 blank pages and 6 pages of lined paper for note taking, and every page of biography, publishing information, acknowledgements, etc. Concise is misleading. Book may be misleading. The bio states that Pysh is the founder of Pylon Holding Company, and the book is published by Pylon Publishing. I wish I had known that ahead of time. It is rife with grammatical errors ("loose" instead of "lose", being the most annoying). Perhaps the back cover reviews should have been a clue - one by a professor of business (acceptable but little known), the other by the CEO of "Candemia" - which turns out to be a three-person company.

What is Pysh's own expertise? Is he an economics professor? Does he run a hedge fund or mutual fund or anything but Pylon Publishing? It seems not. Yet the book is filled with his own advice on how to invest, with no better qualification than that he wrote a book. While I agree that he does cover some complex subjects in simple terms, I just don't believe that I made an "intelligent investment" when I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and useful, July 2, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Even for someone familiar with the concepts discussed in the book, I found it refreshingly accessible and useful.

I bought the Kindle version of this book, which comes with links to the author's webpage that includes other learning aids. I highly recommend the book for the following reasons:

1. The technical concepts are accurately explained, so readers are getting an excellent discussion of basic finance and investing.

2. The style of the book is conversational (it covers complicated concepts such as bond value/interest rate relationships from the simple story of Billy's Lemonade Stand) and non-technical.

3. It marries the nuts and bolts of a business model with investing. It disabuses anyone from thinking of investing as another form of gambling.

4. The progression from simple to sophisticated concepts is well paced and with the online resources, forms a good self-study program.

In the age of the television financial high priest whose claim to legitimacy is achieved by deepening the mystery of investing, Mr. Pysc has written a down-to-earth book that everyone who has a pension account, a college savings fund or brokerage account should read. At the very least, it would allow one to ask intelligent questions of our financial advisors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars May be useful for fresh investor, but not one who has read other value investing books before, December 1, 2013
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have finished read this book in 2 days weekend, and honestly, it's not about the price of the book (affordable), it's was the value of the book brought to me per price (for me, with out a doubt, is pretty low).

I found nothing new or a stunning discover in the book. But I guest the purpose of the author is providing a concise understanding/education on investing in the "right way". Overall, for many fresh investor it may a good start, but I prefer Buffettology of Mary Buffett over this book for beginner.

Except for the chapter about Adam Smith and "The Wealth of Nations", the book as it's clearly stated, limits but not fully decoded itself on the "cigarbutt approach" - Graham way , and missed a critical part of Fisher way - the part that made Buffett become the billionaire we know today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book I've ever read on investing!!! A+++, June 4, 2012
By 
Rich (Mass, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I would give this book 10 stars if I could!

After reading several other books from Amazon on stock investing I was left out in the cold - most books seems to give you a lot of qualitative information and only touch on important ratios and data with no real background as to why.

This book uses a KISS (Keep It Simple...) format to convey a lot of priceless information to the reader - this takes the complexity and bore out of essential topics you need to cover to truly understand investing in the market from the bottom up.

I realized that prior to reading this book my own strategies for investing were little more than speculation and since getting the solid foundation this book offered me I have been able to identify stocks in solid companies that were undervalued and have reaped the returns.

The books is even backed up with top quality videos for every chapter on the authors website. I really can't say enough good things about it what more could you want & at a bargain price!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best financial book I've read, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So far I've gone through a couple buffet books, and Rich Dad Poor Dad & Wealthy Barber. This is the best financial book I've read so far that actually teaches you about investing and stocks in a way that is easy to understand and can be applied to actual scenarios. A+!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The title of this book is misleading. Simply put, it's just not a guide to the three books mentioned. One would expect a guide book to thoroughly break down the more difficult books mentioned and explain them to the reader. Otherwise, any book on value investing could call itself a guide to any other book on value investing. Having said that, what this book does attempt to do is serve as a very elementary introduction to value investing. In fact, that's what the author should have titled the book: "An Elementary Introduction to Value Investing." Why this title? First, the author makes only cursory mention of "The Wealth of Nations", so there is absolutely no reason for it to be one of the books mentioned on the cover. Next, the author mixes different approaches to value investing. For example, although he is talking about Graham's books, he never mentions net-net stocks, a favorite of Graham. Yet, he talks about companies needing good long term prospects, very much a Buffett approach (which he got from Philip Fisher ("Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits") by way of Charles Munger). At the same time, the author is mentioning (without attribution) ideas from other modern financial authors. For example, his discussion on assets vs. liabilities is all Kiyosaki's "Rich Dad, Poor Dad."

So, despite the misleading title, if you have never read a book on value investing then this book serves as a decent introduction. It is short and concise and breaks down key concepts into the most elementary language possible, often using easy to understand stories to illustrate the principles. This book is probably most appropriate for a young adult that you want to introduce to value investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godsend, February 19, 2013
By 
Mr. Bonifacio Arribas (New South Wales, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Preston Pysh's Warren Buffett's Three Favorite Books is an excellent book. Regardless of what stage you are in your investment journey, this is one to be added to your personal library. Here are three main points as to why:

* Easy to understand with explanations of theory and how it would apply to the real world.
* Main aspects of how to find intrinsic value of a company for someone with even a basic understanding of high school math would have a eureka moment. Further, it adds an extra dimension to your eventual portfolio, namely, the importance of bonds as well as how and when they should be part of your investment to generate even more wealth...after all - they are 'husband and wife.'
* And Most important, the strategies are proven. I mean the main points of the book are about Warren Buffett's 3 favorite books. I think Mr. Buffett has done well in investing..need I say more?

I close off with a main point I learned from the book: Be a leader...be one of the few 'loan fishes!':)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to comprehend and implement, June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Nicely captured the core of the most critical books on investment.
Easy reading and easy to follow in practice. Recommended for all levels of investors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical read for layman investors, May 30, 2012
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Definitely one of the easier-to-understand reads about investing I've had. I'd say it's a great book for anyone interested in value investing and to first time retail investors. It provides easily understandable examples about the metrics and calculations that form the basics of value investing. The book is also heavily linked with the author's site which provide additional information through online videos and calculators, which I find to be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books: A guide to The Intelligent Investor, Security Analysis, and The Wealth of Nations (Warren Buffett's 3 Favorite Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The book starts out overly simplistic and that is why I like the book. Many people shy away from finance as they feel it is complicated, but it is as simple as running a business such as Joey's lemonade stand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.