Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ke$ha - Warrior: 10 Things to Know
Since the beginning of her pop career, I've been a Ke$ha fan. The initial guilty pleasure of her music turned into full-fledged appreciation of her as an artist. But how does her latest album stack up to her previous works in terms of expectations and talent? Here are ten things you need to know about Kesha's Warrior:

1. Dance - On the surface, Kesha's albums...
Published on December 7, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ke$ha can do more
I love Kesha and I love going to see her in concert. She is fun, exciting and talented. This album doesn't deliver. Her first two albums had the mainstream catchy songs but had additional fun or sweet songs. This album only has two and a half good songs. I love the collaboration with Iggy Pop but I wish Warrior had more of it. Overall, for how long this album took to come...
Published on December 11, 2012 by L. Larissa


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ke$ha - Warrior: 10 Things to Know, December 7, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Since the beginning of her pop career, I've been a Ke$ha fan. The initial guilty pleasure of her music turned into full-fledged appreciation of her as an artist. But how does her latest album stack up to her previous works in terms of expectations and talent? Here are ten things you need to know about Kesha's Warrior:

1. Dance - On the surface, Kesha's albums have always been about dance pop, and Warrior delivers! The first five tracks are solid, and that style resurfaces in later songs as well. Fans of Kesha's mainstream hits will not be disappointed.

2. Variety - Despite the fun barrage of dance tunes, Warrior offers more musical variety than ever before. Several tracks employ various elements of rock, from heavy drums to guitar, while "Wonderland" is a country song at heart.

3. Performance - Kesha can still rap and be endearingly crude, but that doesn't stop her from singing with a new sense of purpose. "Crazy Kids" features a wide range of fun vocal styles while "Wonderland" is more even and raw. Warrior has Kesha at her best whether she's loud and confident or soft and vulnerable.

4. Songwriting - Warrior is catchy, thrilling, and even beautiful at times. Kesha is a proven songwriter, and she's smart to develop songs to their full potential via collaboration. The end result is a more cohesive, meaningful, and larger collection of songs than her previous releases.

5. Collaboration - Aside from long-time songwriting partner and producer Dr. Luke, Kesha worked with the Flaming Lips, will.i.am, Nate Ruess of Fun, and others to bring Warrior to life. But the biggest surprise is Iggy Pop joining Kesha on the brash rock duet "Dirty Love."

6. Uncensored - The explicit version of Warrior offers the most honest version of Kesha yet. Previous albums had some crude language, but Kesha was often censored and constrained. Fans had to rely on b-sides and live shows to hear what Kesha wanted us to hear. Warrior is Kesha unleashed!

7. Production - Several arguments can be made against the loudness war and autotune, but thanks to Dr. Luke, Warrior's sound is tight and powerful while embracing both. True, Kesha has a beautiful natural voice, but the end result fits well into her most polished album yet.

8. Love - Kesha has said the theme of Warrior is magic, but the album is really about love (in all of its forms) and how that feeling can often be magical. It's easy to relate when Kesha explores her energetic sexuality without ignoring her soulful tenderness.

9. Maturity - Warrior showcases a more mature Kesha in nearly every aspect. She knows more about herself, she's better at her craft, and her music is more honest than ever. Her work is still fun, but it's deeper. She builds on her usual trends by broadening her outlook on music and life, and it's refreshing to see her grow without losing her way.

10. Deluxe Edition - Warrior's Deluxe Edition offers four more songs that act as an encore bringing the album to a better close. They expand the depth and fun of Kesha without being filler. No fan should miss these!

Conclusion
If you're a fan of Kesha's music, then Warrior is for you! With more variety, honesty, and maturity than her previous works, newcomers should consider it too. Warrior feels like the album Kesha has always wanted to make, and that's why I give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Pop Album of 2012, December 4, 2012
This review is from: Warrior (Explicit) (Audio CD)
*4.5 Stars*

Well whataya know? Kesha actually CAN sing, well sort of.

It's been two years since the release of her 2010 EP "Cannibal", and in that waiting period Kesha ducked under the radar, going through a self-proclaimed spiritual journey to find new inspiration. She was also determined to finally knock down the accusations of her vocal talent (or lack thereof). Did it work? In a word, yes.
Perhaps Kesha and Christina Aguilera should have switched album titles, because while Aguilera's 2012 album "Lotus" mainly focused on being a fighter, "Warrior" focuses more on Kesha's own rebirth and new found cause to represent the misfits everywhere. The opening title tracks proudly exclaims: "We were born to break the doors down, fighting till the end. It's something inside of us, it's how we've always been" in a defiant chant. There's "Die Young" the album's lead single that holds influences from "Animal" and "Cannibal", but also steers towards a more tangible sound instead of drum-machines and auto-tune. In fact, auto-tune has been virtually abandoned, even though Kesha didn't abandon her musical parent Dr. Luke. His perfect pop production keeps the flow, but is now ready to let Kesha, the person, come to the forefront and not her hot mess public image. Instead, she's a little more put together, a little more cohesive and now has a musical ambition. As calculated and as pop-machined "Animal" and "Cannibal" were, they were a necessary move for Kesha. Now that she's gotten that out of her system, she now has a cause: to prove to the world she is a credible artist.

Kesha may come across dumb, because she is nowhere near stupid. All of her own songs, and songs she's featured in, are HER creations, with the help of a couple other songwriters. She's sung back-up vocals for other prominent singers, she's worked with the best hit-makers in the music business, if there's anyone who knows how to make popular music, it's her. And "Warrior" proves she is one of the only artists who can not only add 70s rock and light pop/rock to her track list, but throws them in with her signature style and you ultimately wouldn't notice any change of pace. She will never be tasteful, that's for sure, but she's also continuing to stray away from being crude and is entering into taunting and teasing with the disgusting. She knows exactly what goes into making pop that is irresistible and at the same time is expanding her horizons to lean towards messages besides getting sleazy, partying all night and waking up in bathtubs. "Warrior" may not be as bright as the sun and fun music of "Animal", and it also may not be well-suited for the clubs like "Cannibal", but it's all the more compelling because of it. In "Wonderland", Kesha finally masters the challenge of a ballad (this is also proven in the deluxe version with her most raw vocal performance: "Last Goodbye"), in "Crazy Kids" she hits glory notes that no one ever would have thought she was capable of. She can't out-Whitney Whitney, but she can still crank out the hits like her. "Warrior" is the culmination of Kesha's spiritual journey, and this victory proves that we as an audience may not appreciate her as much as we should. It took eleven months, but this is the first pop album that's enjoyable all the way through.

Like it or not, "Warrior" is the best pop album of 2012. Regardless of genre, it's still up there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart pop with a positive message, though not quite as catchy as Animal or Cannibal upon first listen, December 7, 2012
This review is from: Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
When Ke$ha was still somewhat new on the scene, I received a lot of flack for supporting an artist whom so many were quick to write off as just another drunken party girl desperate for her 15 minutes. Now, I admit I love my share of mindless pop music anyway, but what made her stand out for me was her incredible knack for writing strong, catchy hooks and incorporating clever, intricate wordplay. And however silly the finished product might be, you never got the feeling that she wasn't in on the joke, unlike so many other popular artists who shall remain nameless. I don't throw around the word genius very often, but as pop music goes, she really is. Needless to say, I was very much looking forward to her new album, Warrior.

Truth be told it's kind of a difficult album to rate, because while she has no doubt matured as a person and as a musical artist (see next paragraph), on the surface a large portion of it just isn't as catchy as I would have expected, and as I said above that's one of the things I can usually count on in a Ke$ha record. When the single Die Young was released to radio, it never really elevated beyond "just okay" to me, and still hasn't. The message is good, of course, but it ultimately felt like a half-hearted reworking of We R Who R from her last CD. Unfortunately, I'd say a good half the album is comprised of tracks that left me feeling the same way - not bad necessarily, but nothing you'd likely be caught singing along to, and only just distinctive enough to vaguely remind you of something else she'd done before. Not that there aren't some classic Ke$ha gems to be found here; Thinking of You is a really good "up yours" kind of song that would make your grandmother's hair stand on end, and All That Matters is a welcome throwback to 90's dance in the vein of Real McCoy or Ace of Base. Her duet with Iggy Pop, called Dirty Love, puts her in full rocker mode and is actually quite impressive considering it doesn't even break three minutes. Still, even the tracks I do enjoy in the moment have yet to really solidify themselves in my brain the way Tik-Tok or Take it Off did upon first listen a couple years ago.

However, if you dig a little deeper and look beyond the obvious lack of Top 40 potential, you might be surprised to find that where the record really shines is in its ballads. "Introspective" isn't a word that comes up a lot in relation to Ke$ha, but songs like Wonderland paint a poignant picture of a successful young woman remembering her roots, while Love Into the Light is a forward-looking electro ballad bordering on ethereal. Absolutely phenomenal. Past Lives deserves honorable mention here as well, though my favorite song on the album has to be Last Goodbye; the acoustic structure is not only an unexpected direction for her to take, but really accentuates her vocal range and abilities. Play this one for any of her detractors and you'll have them eating their words, guaranteed.

So, like I said, taken as a whole Warrior is pretty tricky to form a definitive opinion about. Many of the elements I loved about her earlier releases are downplayed this time around, but at the same time she took so many new risks that paid off and you just can't help but appreciate her as an evolving artist. She wears a lot of hats and dabbles in a lot of styles this time around, but a common theme of self-acceptance and enjoying life runs throughout without ever pandering to or victimizing her audience a la Lady Gaga. (Before anyone goes off, I adore Gaga and her efforts at equality awareness. But it often seems she's bent solely on gaining sympathy for her problems rather than solving them. Just an observation.) In fact, in a weird way, even though I don't love as many individual tracks as I do on her past CDs, Warrior still somehow comes off as the better overall album. I still don't think it's the most mainstream or hook-heavy brand of pop music you'll hear - you really need to LISTEN to it rather than let it play mindlessly in the background at some party - but the way she manages to be fun, silly, bold, gross, witty, thoughtful, meloncholy, sarcastic, and inspirational all at the same time is indeed a feat to behold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing follow-up to the debut!, November 19, 2013
This review is from: Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
As I write this review, Ke$ha's second full-length "Warrior" has been out almost exactly one year. So many artists whose success breaks out almost overnight and like a firestorm on their debut, as was the case with Ke$ha in 2010, are sure to fizzle out considerably on subsequent releases. Well, I am glad to report to you that this is most certainly not the case here!

Far from being a sophomore slump of any kind, "Warrior" may be even better than its predecessor. While there is nothing here that is quite the level of "instant classic" in terms of radio accessibility as was her breakout hit "Tik Tok," overall "Warrior" is a step forward in other ways and a more mature, well-rounded album. I think this has a lot to do with Ke$ha's lyrics being a little more meaningful and substantive on this one. All told, there are still a fair amount of the type of lyrics about a free-spirited party lifestyle that we have come to know and love from her like "I don't wanna go to sleep/I want to stay up all night/I don't want to think about what's going to be after this/I want to just live right now" (from "C'mon"). Phrases like these make Ke$ha's music the ideal party music. I know I work second shift and I love listening to her CDs in the middle of the night until, well, "when the sun's comin' up." Her lyrics such as these assert a central and universal theme, of both how good it is to be young and how good it is to be alive. Ke$ha's music is true to herself. She doesn't water it down or make it all flowery and diluted like some mainstream pop stars do. She is the real deal. She can rap like she's from the streets to be sure, with even the occasional f-bomb thrown in here and there for good measure, and yet there is always that remnant present of her suburban Tennessee valley girl roots as well. Ke$ha is an outcast at heart, almost like a hybrid of the Sex Pistols and electro dance pop. I love how in my favorite track here, "Wherever You Are," when she says, "Love will never die," she says the word "die" with such a defiant sneer, not unlike Johnny Rotten before her. Very convincing and distinctive. Finally, perhaps the lyrics that stand out the most to me are in closer "Love into the Light," where Ke$ha poses the question (to paraphrase her): "Can we all get over (our differences) and stop talking (garbage)" about each other? Something for all of us to consider, no doubt, and a superb way to end this excellent album.

So, if you can't already tell, I absolutely love this CD and Ke$ha, which is why I can't for the life of me fathom why "Warrior," although it's been a modest success, has, even after a year, yet to achieve gold status sales-wise, unlike its multi-platinum predecessor. I love both albums and own and will buy anything she ever puts out. She is my favorite female artist to come along in years. All in all, "Warrior" is a super successful sophomore outing. The songs are catchy, fun to listen to, and life-affirming. Highly recommended to any and all Ke$ha fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be cheap!, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Buy the deluxe version. It's only a little more money and a lot more awesomeness! Gold Trans Am might be the best song on the entire album. No disappointement here. Buy it and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Expected By All Means - 3 ˝ Stars, December 11, 2012
This review is from: Warrior (Explicit) (Audio CD)
Kesha is a pop artist that you either (1) love or (2) love to hate given her shocking crudeness and overt, unapologetic approach. Sure it is for shock value and sales, but it is a divisive as Kesha's huge personality. 2010 debut Animal was lifted by no. 1 hit "Tik Tok," characterized by it's memorable line "Wake up in the morning feeling like P. Diddy." The album itself was average, drug down by too much of the same vein of techno-infused dance-pop. Those who partook of her Cannibal EP saw more 'range' of abilities of Kesha and ultimately better songs the likes of "We R Who We R," "Blow" and personal trashy favorite, "Sleazy." 2012's Warrior balances Kesha essentially, allowing her to rein in herself as well as be herself. Sometimes she chooses to be more traditional while at others she just lets it 'all hang out.' Warrior ends up being a solid pop album, surprisingly. There are no outright misses and the bright spots shine, well brightly. And more impressive, there are times where Kesha shows she can transcend gimmicky vocal processing ("Wonderland")... shocker right?

"Warrior" opens the album featuring solid production work from Dr. Luke & Cirkut. As expected, Kesha balances rapping and singing, doing both satisfactorily. "Warrior" isn't too shabby - albeit gimmicky and somewhat clunky, though it does ultimately feels as if it is missing something. The chorus keeps things together: "We were born to break the doors down, fighting till the end/it's something that's inside of us, it's how we've always been/warrior, warrior..."

"Die Young" easily waves off skepticism, giving Kesha a solid pop moment that eschews her profaner nature for the most part. Half-rapped and half-sung verses are intact, crowned by a jubilant chorus: "I hear your heart beat to the beat of the drums, oh what a shame that you came here with someone..." Analogous to "Tik Tok" in breadth, "Die Young" is unsurprisingly a smash. "C'mon" is arguably better, keeping a similar pop-rap format and hitting hard on a gargantuan chorus. Catchy and feisty ("I don't wanna go to sleep, I wanna stay up all night..."), Kesha's youthful rebelliousness bodes well on "C'mon."

"Thinking Of You" is solid, if archetypical - particularly Dr. Luke/Benny Blanco/Cirkut's harmonic scheme. Regardless, the groove is addictive. On "Crazy Kids," Kesha talks more overt, profane trash. While this is how the pop star has come to be characterized, it may be her less vulgar moments that bode best on Warrior. "Wherever You Are" atones for any improprieties, sporting an 80s sensibility reminiscent of new wave. The songwriting structure is solid, sporting verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus format. Pleasant and commercial, Kesha shines sans profanity.

But Kesha is a balancing act herself, so a little grime with the help of Iggy Pop on "Dirty Love" doesn't hurt. The tempo is quick and Kesha is at her most manic ("Oh whoa, I just want your dirty love...all I need is to get in between your sheets..."). Iggy Pop gets in on the action on the second verse, fitting right in "Cockroaches do it in garbage cans, rug merchants do it in Afghanistan..." Risqué, "Dirty Love" is a fascinating listen.

"Wonderland" contrasts "Dirty Love" by slowing down the tempo and giving Kesha a mid-tempo cut. Kesha sounds incredibly smooth, an adjective you wouldn't normally associate with the 'rough-and-tumble' pop star. She deviates from it on another solid cut, the quick-paced "Only Wanna Dance With You," showing some punk-pop sensibility on the whiny chorus. The trio of "Dirty Love," "Wonderland," and "Only Wanna Dance WIth You" contrasts and shows different facets of Kesha.

"Supernatural" seems more standard Kesha fare, not unlike 10's Animal. Dr. Luke/Cirkut pound the drums and electronic sounds while Kesha is on 'autopilot': "Baby when we're touching in the dark can you feel it? I can hear the pounding of my heart can you feel it?" On penultimate cut "All That Matters (The Beautiful Life)," Kesha is supported by the dark, driving synths cultivated by Max Martin and Shellback. Catchy, archetypical, and solid, "All That Matters" does find Kesha issuing pointless cussing that seems more 'shock value' than notable. Closing cut "Love Into The Light" finds Greg Kurstin producing and Kesha again opting for the more serious. The results are half-serious ultimately, as it is hard to take the oft nonchalant pop star seriously: "I know I'm not perfect, I know I got issues/I know that I've got a sorted past/and yes some bad tattoos."

Overall, as shocking as it is, Warrior gets the job done for Kesha. It's not the year's best pop album necessarily (Pink and Fun. certainly delivered triumphs), but it delivers plenty of solid and catchy pop. "Die Young" is one of the brightest moments, but it is not the sole triumph by any means. Kesha will never be for everybody, but she easily appeals to a pop audience who enjoy their 'pop rap,' however much the lyrics are utterly ludicrous. 3 ˝ Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ke$ha can do more, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I love Kesha and I love going to see her in concert. She is fun, exciting and talented. This album doesn't deliver. Her first two albums had the mainstream catchy songs but had additional fun or sweet songs. This album only has two and a half good songs. I love the collaboration with Iggy Pop but I wish Warrior had more of it. Overall, for how long this album took to come out and how good her two previous albums were, this is a huge disappointment. Let's hope she releases something else soon or she will fade into obscurity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Warrior Addiction, December 4, 2012
This review is from: Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Ke$ha's 2nd album delivers the goods - energetic, catchy pop club anthems to get you pumped up on a Saturday night. She doesn't diverge too much from the Animal/Cannibal blueprint, but if it ain't broke...

She still has the attitude and (possibly) tongue-in-cheek snide put-downs and come-ons that have become her trademark. Overall it is a well-produced, well-written, highly-addictive collection of songs that achieve their goal. Love Into The Light and Past Lives even slow things down and provide atmosphere and a bit of emotional depth, as well. Really, the only misstep is the pseudo-Taylor-Swift-pop-country tune Wonderland, which just sounds too manufactured, too blatant an attempt at crossover potential to be convincing.

If Madonna or Lady Gaga had a sense of humor and didn't take themselves so seriously, they might be able to make music this fun. After all, it's pop music, folks, not bilateral international arms negotiations. In the end, I doubt anyone who enjoyed her previous work will be let down by this release at all and there are enough potential singles on here to keep Ke$ha on the airwaves for the next year or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Warrior Wins Another Battle, September 19, 2014
This review is from: Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Her second, full-fledge album is Ke$ha's best, most complete so far. While Ke$sha is a freak and she wears that freak flag proudly in her music, this album also shows a more personal, introspective side. Songs like Wonderland, Love into the Light, Past Lives and Last Goodbye are examples of that more personal facet. However, I am a die-hard fan of dance-pop music, therefore my interest lies in simply lyrics, intoxicating hooks, window-rattling beats and groovy melodies and thankfully those are aplenty here. The opening trio of songs along with All That Matters, the mystical Supernatural and the bonus Out Alive are enough to bring fans to the dance floor while remembering her freak origins. Warrior is Ke$ha's most realized record yet, prove that she can't be dismissed as artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, November 10, 2013
By 
Eddie (Cypress, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I bought the Target exclusive CD, though I still wanted to give my review for this album. While not a fan of Kesha as a person, her music is undeniably great. She continues to make great music and I don't see her slowing down anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version)
Warrior (Deluxe Explicit Version) by Ke$ha (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.