Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
5 star
89%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
11%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2004
Every American should read two thin books about Iraq: "The Five Biggest Lies Bush Told Us About Iraq" by Christopher Scheer, Robert Scheer, and Lakshmi Chaudhry, and "Warrior King: the Case for Impeaching George W. Bush" by John Bonifaz with forward by Congressman John Conyers.
The first book exposes the lies that President Bush and members of his Administration knowingly told during the build-up to the war on Iraq, including the lies that are keeping US troops in Iraq today.
The second book addresses Bush's unconstitutional act of taking the US military to war without a declaration of war by Congress. A number of US soldiers and US Congress Members sued the President in a failed attempt to prevent this war, and this book lays out the case.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2004
This book is a powerful indictment of how the Congress failed to adhere to its constitutional responsibility to make the decision on whether the country should go to war in Iraq. Ultimately, this book reveals how the balance of power in America is totally out of wack in favor of the executive branch. While much attention for this questionable decision has focused on President Bush, this is the first book to reveal how Congress handed over way to much power to the President by failing to fulfill its own duty. The book also reveals the truth about Sen. Kerry's position on the war and his failure to uphold his promise to speak out against the policy of pre-emption should the President act unilaterally. Nobody should vote for John Kerry without reading this book and comparing his actions then to his statements now on the war.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2004
John Bonifaz was part of the legal process in seeking to impeach Bush, confronting critical constitutional issues in that process. In failing to meet the criteria established by elements of the international community, Bush bypass UN approval in his haste for war.
Bush stated the importance of going to war as what he and advisers termed a preemptive action, a necessity in the face of a clear and present danger from an aggressive enemy. In choosing to act on his own rather than allowing the UN weapons inspection team finish its work, and relying on a false claim that Iraq's Saddam Hussein possessed weapons of mass destruction, Bush threw open the distinct possibility of an impeachment action.
The U.S. is obligated to follow laws and processes to which it has committed itself, namely the UN Charter and the Geneva Accords, and to fail to do so means more than a violation of international law. Such an act is violative of the U.S. Constitution since a president is mandated to follow the laws to which the nation is committed. Bonifaz and fellow petitioners contend that this failure leaves Bush open to removal from office.
Richard Nixon resigned from office after being impeached and facing a Senate trial for removal. He was previously found guilty of high crimes and misdemeanors by the House of Representatives. A good case can be made that Bush, by rushing to war and not allowing inspections to be completed, violated the law and distorted the facts by insisting that that which had not been proven, namely that Iraq possessed weapons of mass destruction, compelled him to go to war in the interest of American safety.
The more the issue has been studied the more compelling the evidence has become that Iraq under Saddam Hussein was only a shell of the military threat it formerly posed. Did Bush and his close advisers not know this? If so, by what rationale could it commit American troops to war?
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2005
Certainly there have been no allegations of George W. Bush having an affair. However, what John Bonifaz is able to do in this explosive book, is detail a strong case for the impeachment and removal of Bush as President for real and tangible Constitutional issues. In fact, it makes the impeachment of Bill Clinton seem trivial and silly. There is no telling how many people have died as a result of the "illegal" war that President Bush started. The conservatives have always prided themslves on being strict constructionists, well, if that is the case, then Bonifaz is really on to something here.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2004
Regardless of your views about the War in Iraq, John Bonifaz's Warrior-King is a must read. Bonifaz presents a concise, compelling case for why Bush's and Congress's actions with respect to the War were so dangerous. Rather than focusing on the merits of the War itself, Bonifaz explains why the methods employed to bring our nation into War are so objectionable. He forces readers to take a step back and view our government's actions in a historical framework. After reading the book, readers will have a deeper understanding of the far-reaching implications of our government's actions.
Unlike other authors who solely provide written social commentary, Bonifaz is a man of action. Outraged by our government's behavior, amazingly Bonifaz organized a coalition of individuals - from Congressmen to soldiers to soldiers' parents - to bring a law suit against our President. Through Warrior-King, the reader has the unique opportunity to get an insider's perspective into the legal case waged against our President. All readers, including supporters of the War, will finish Bonifaz's book with an appreciation for the gravity of our most powerful leaders' actions leading up to the War.
Bonifaz's book cannot prevent the deaths that have already occurred in Iraq, but it can inspire us to demand that our future leaders take seriously their constitutional obligations before entering our nation into another world conflict.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2004
Warrrior-King is a fantastic book that I wish every American would read! It is extremely well written and researched and reads more like a detective mystery than the story of a court battle. I was so hooked on the story, I even read the courtroom transcripts included as appendixes.
John Bonifaz makes a chilling and compelling case that our war in Iraq is a symptom of a policy that seeks to establish global American power at the expense of our Constitution. How many people knew that marines and their families tried to sue the President to stop the war?! How many people understand that the "Iraq Resolution" passed by Congress was not only an act of supreme political cowardice, but was also illegal. It was great to read the story told by an activist who went beyond slogans and marches to try to make our government accountable to its own laws.
I hope this story becomes more well known so that people understand what is behind the aggressive rush to war in Iraq and our new doctrine of pre-emptive war. Read this book and send it to your patriotic friends. We are treading a very dangerous path for our country.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2003
This important book cogently shows that the President's military effort to subjugate Iraq is illegal under the Constitution. The continual terrorism that is reported to us produces justifiable grief and anger, but it also makes a democracy easier to manipulate. Using actual court records and lucid prose, Bonifaz deomnstrates that, in this climate of fear, even the federal judiciary is willing to perform absurd gyrations to avoid facing the Executive's flouting of the Constitution. Like the Emperor's admirers in the fairy tale, the Executive is asking us to ignore the obvious. This book points directly to the obvious: if the Constitution, contrary to its express terms, can be changed by presidential act, then the President is the supreme law of the land, not the Constitution.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2004
Let me start by saying nobody would enjoy the idea of impeachment more than me. But, this book fails to come close to making the case.
The point of the book is Bush's actions were bad, he acted like a King, the Constitution was set up to avoid the abuses of a King, therefore war in Iraq was unconstitutional. Out of 155 pages, there was some material that could be cut and pasted together to get a few pages worth of sound bites. Those would be really good sound bites, but there is a big difference between sound bites and substance. And this book was nothing in terms of the latter.
From the view of partisanship, I have no problem with Bush is bad, his actions were bad, therefore let's declare this unconstitutional. But, from the view of the Constitution, we need more than that. There are books that make a far better case for impeachment. Books like Worse Than Watergate are among them. This one only makes the case that a bad argument makes a bad book, regardless of how good the title is.
I never imagined that a book with that kind of title would result a negative endorsement from me. But, that's how poor this one was.
And, just to show how all there is a little bit of sound bites, the title represents another one. There is no mention at all about impeachment in this book.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2004
If you plan on voting in 2004, or even if you don't, this book should be on the top of your "must-read" list.
If the U.S. Constitution is explicit about anything, it is that enormous decision to bring this nation into war is a decision that is to be made only by the American people, through our representatives in Congress. In framing the Constitution, our forefathers sought to create a nation utterly distinct from the European monarchies from which they came. They didn't want a republic ruled by a King, they wanted a republic ruled by the people. They didn't believe that a decision as momentous as whether or not to bring the nation to war to rest in the hands of one person. In Warrior King, John Bonifaz argues that President Bush committed an impeachable offense by launching a first-strike invasion (read: a war) of Iraq without a congressional declaration of war. He argues that the U.S. Congress never voted for the war, but rather illegally, and in utter conflict with this country's Constitution and history, and despite hundreds of thousands of protests from their constituents, transferred to the president the power to decide whether or not to send the nation to war. Warrior King not only indicts President Bush in this offense, but the members of Congress (including several Democratic presidential candidates who'd like to remain nameless: John Kerry, Joe Lieberman, Dick Gephardt & John Edwards) who seemingly glibly gave away their most important power, perhaps the most important, significant and monumental power granted in the Constitution - the power to declare war. Prior to the start of the war (in February and March of 2003) Bonifaz served as lead counsel for a group of U.S. soldiers, their families and Members of Congress in a federal lawsuit against President Bush and Secretary of Defense, Donald Rumsfeld, to prevent them from waging this illegal war. The Courts refused to intervene, and today's current events are the result. 500+ American soldiers dead already. Countless Iraqi's dead. No clear exit strategy and it turns out now, no clear reason to be there in the first place. The mess in Iraq, the Mess'O'Potamia, this modern day quagmire, is the result of the U.S. Congress seriously dropping the ball, and President Bush being all to eager to pick it up and run headlong with it - it is a result of the complete disregard shown to the Constitution by this Administration and this Congress. This book is a fascinating (and depressing!) accounting of the case, and what it (and it's outcome) means for the future of the Constitution and by extension, the future of this country. I'll tell you one thing, it ain't good, folks.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.