Customer Reviews


345 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun, fast read that hits all of the right emotional and intellectual highs
I think the thing I enjoy most about Ted Bell's Alex Hawke novels is the sense of balance. It's there in the characters, the emotions, the plot threads, and the pacing. If you're like me, you come for the action and the adventure, but it's all the other elements that keep you reading each page closely, rather than just skimming head for the next 'big' moment...
Published 11 months ago by Bob Milne

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real Men Use Editors
I enjoy these books as a harmless diversion. The stories aren't first class but they are fun. But oh my gosh it is like 10 different people wrote this book alternating chapters and had the plot in common but no editing. Phrases, character descriptions, background information is repeated over and over as if someone was afraid a reader might pick up the book mid-chapter...
Published 11 months ago by JDJeff


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real Men Use Editors, April 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy these books as a harmless diversion. The stories aren't first class but they are fun. But oh my gosh it is like 10 different people wrote this book alternating chapters and had the plot in common but no editing. Phrases, character descriptions, background information is repeated over and over as if someone was afraid a reader might pick up the book mid-chapter and need some catching up, or go into a coma between chapters and need to start over. Hawke lives at Hawkesmoor, Congreve's best friend is Hawke, Hawke oozes charm, etc., etc., etc.,. Got it, check, got it, etc., etc., etc. 30 minutes with a decent editor would tighten this thing up nicely, but as it stands it is distracting how poorly this book was edited. Still enjoyed it though....shame on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun, fast read that hits all of the right emotional and intellectual highs, April 1, 2014
This review is from: Warriors: An Alex Hawke Novel (Alex Hawke Novels) (Hardcover)
I think the thing I enjoy most about Ted Bell's Alex Hawke novels is the sense of balance. It's there in the characters, the emotions, the plot threads, and the pacing. If you're like me, you come for the action and the adventure, but it's all the other elements that keep you reading each page closely, rather than just skimming head for the next 'big' moment.

With Warriors we get more of that deliberately careful balance. Family (both intimate and extended) plays a significant role this time out. It begins with a family dinner, a birthday present, and a roadside abduction of Bill Chase, his wife, and their two children. Captured by the Chinese, Bill is tortured and tormented, forced to put his military genius to work against the Western world for the sake of his family. It continues with the relationships between Alex and his son, as well as between father, son, and Nell, the governess from Scotland Yard. There are equal doses or sorrow and happiness there, mixed in with the difficult realities of protecting a child who presents a prime opportunity for striking at Alex himself. It even extends to the villains of the piece, General Sun-Yat Moon and his daughters (Jet, Li, and Chyna), all of whom have a complicated relationship with Alex. Theirs are relationships of love and hate, emotions powerful enough to push the world to the brink of nuclear war.

With so much raw humanity to the novel, it's quite a surprise to find the technological aspects just as strong. There's a highly advance fighter jet designed to deliver Alex to his Chinese contact, and a pair of equally advanced missiles designed to prevent him from making that meet. There's an entirely new class of submarine here, far more dangerous and more chilling than anything fans have read before. The first appearance of one off the shore of the continental USA is almost as chilling as the reconnaissance team's descent below the waterline. There are extremely sophisticated drone planes, unmanned but well-armed, with a graveside attack that rivals just about anything else within the genre. By contrast, the devices of torture are decidedly old school - ancient in a few cases - but no less effective.

Again, in terms of plotting, balance is everything. While Alex Hawke is highly reminiscent of a more human sort of James Bond, this is not a book that's all about him. In fact, his acts of heroism are probably just under half the novel. His old friend, Chief Inspector Ambrose Congreve, gets a great deal of time in the spotlight here, with a pair of criminal investigations and a vengeful pursuit of would-be assassins key turning points, and his son's governesses - the aforementioned Nell and her replacement, Sabrina - have key roles to play as well. Even the bit players have their scenes, with comradely banter and trash talk adding some color to the story as a whole.

Of course, this is an Alex Hawke story, so it must be said he's once again given the opportunity to shine. The stakes are higher here than they ever have been before, but he tackles it all with his customary wit, charm, and prowess. The climactic set-piece is more of a team effort, with old friends and new heading into danger alongside him, but that doesn't diminish his contributions. As you would expect, it is Alex who ultimately stands before the fate of the world, and he who fights hardest to preserve it.

A fun, fast read, Warriors proves once again that Ted Bell deserves to sit upon the same shelf as the likes of Clive Cussler, Vince Flynn, W.E.B. Griffin, and Ian Fleming. More tightly focused and to-the-point than many of his contemporaries, even with the balance involved, Bell knows how to tell a tale that hits all of the right emotional and intellectual highs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warriors-Worth the Wait!, April 5, 2014
This review is from: Warriors: An Alex Hawke Novel (Alex Hawke Novels) (Hardcover)
New York Times Bestselling Author, Ted Bell, delivers with the eighth novel in the Alex Hawke Series: Warriors. The characters we have come to know and love are thrust into a new conflict with an old adversary. Alex Hawke is back with his motley crew of friends to thwart the enemy’s plans. It’s a tough assignment that spans continents.
An American scientist, along with his family, is captured and thrown into a van off the streets of Georgetown in 2009. Present day, Kathleen Chase and her children are rumored to still be in a North Korean labor camp, while her husband, American Scientist and Nobel laureate, Dr. William Chase is being forced to cooperate with General Sun-Yat Moon of China. General Moon has devised a horrifying plan to use the American’s knowledge against his home country. The product is a fleet of Centurion Submarines more lethal than any sub fabricated before.
It just so happens that Alex Hawke has had a run in with one of General Moon’s daughters in the past. General Moon hasn’t forgotten and would like to exact revenge on his daughter’s behalf. Chyna Moon has the cold blooded nature of her father, and has unusual weapons of choice…ravens. Let’s just say she lets the birds do the dirty work for her. Alex’s longtime friend, Ambrose Congreve, is tasked with trying to trap The Raven at her own game.
Bell isn’t afraid to challenge our emotions in this novel. We lose some beloved characters in the fight this go around. I was pleased to see Bell show some vulnerability with the characters. He explores how they deal with love, loss, and the uncertain future.
Alex Hawke and his band of brothers come together once again to save the world from global anarchy. There are some bumps, bruises, and tears along the way…but boy is it worth the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars In a word - awful, April 23, 2014
By 
skisby "skisby" (MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Verbose, disjointed & condescending drivel that was painful to struggle through.

I've read the whole series & though the Anglophile stuff (sorry) is a bit much sometimes there was always a good cohesive story at the core. I was excited to take this on a long business trip
& prepared to be well distracted during long flights. Instead I struggled through as I had nothing else with me!

I don't remember the other books being this condescending. A reminder of the characters & their back story is needed & appreciated but only from book to book not chapter to chapter, we're not that dim!

It's also very disjointed - it reads like several people wrote different chapters without much collaboration or editing to bring it together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, pure and simple, April 22, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Tallahassee, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been reading the Alex Hawke series since Pirate and have enjoyed them, since they generally had decent (if essentially unbelievable) plots, mainly because the various characters were interesting. However, it looks like the author had a difficult time coming up with anything for this one that made any sense. The various story lines were confused and hard to follow. Frankly, Hawke might as well become some sort of demi-god, since he appears essentially invincible and unaging, despite being shot, tortured and beat up so many times in the series. At least Fleming had Bond showing some scars and depression after the things he went through.

I think Bell needs to retire Hawke. He phoned this one in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is my first Ted Bell novel but it will NOT be my last., April 2, 2014
The thing I love best about this book is the sense of balance in the story. The characters, emotions, plot, twists, pacing, etc. Are wonderful! This is my first Ted Bell novel but it will NOT be my last. This one deals with a kidnapping of Bill Chase's wife and two kids. It had a wonderful balance between family. This was a great fast read even though it is almost 500 pages. The author knows how to tell a story that will grip its reader till the last page. And although I have not read anything about the other 7 books in the series I didn't feel like I missed to much. Although I will deff. be going back and reading those in the coming months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ted Bell does it again, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This Alex Hawke thriller is so compelling you might want to start it on a weekend. It's exciting, funny & unputdownable. I hope Ted Bell outlives me cause I can't imagine a world without Alex Hawke adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ted Bell and Sir Alex Hawke continue to thrill!, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Warriors: An Alex Hawke Novel (Alex Hawke Novels) (Hardcover)
I am a constant reader, and have been so for nearly 65 years! I average a book a week, and have done so since I was eight. This requires that I have a wide range of taste and I embrace a really good series. Earlier it was Sherlock Holmes, then James Bond, then Jack Ryan, then the Cussler heroes and heroines - and now Alex Hawke. I like everything about the man, the plots and the environments. Mostly I love how fresh the series continues to be. Unlike other series that can become long in the tooth, ‘Warriors’ is as good (or better) than 'Spy' and all of the other, quality, valuable and enjoyable thrill rides that Ted Bell has produced.

Take the advice of this twice-published author ('Lynn's Story' and 'Views from Sandhausen’), and continue (or begin) your friendship with Sir. Alex Hawke. http://amzn.to/14vcPlN It will be the best thing that you can do for yourself, as we begin this summer reading season. Cliff Feightner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Hawke rocks!, April 29, 2014
This review is from: Warriors: An Alex Hawke Novel (Alex Hawke Novels) (Hardcover)
Hawke is one of the most enjoyable, entertaining good guys in thriller fiction. I loved Warriors - it's one of Bell's best and it's full of the action, pace, humor, and panache that make him such a star. There are many cool scenes but I especially liked one of the baddies here, a sexy and brilliant woman assassin named Chyna. She's a dangerous lady, but Bell, unlike so many other thriller writers, makes his story funny (often downright hilarious) and still tense and exciting and dangerous at the same time. Cussler is the only other one who does this so often in my opinion. Bell's books still make me laugh out loud and they still have the pace of a runaway train. Super spy Hawke, long may he live and hunt down the bad guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Going further into fantisy, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read Ted Bell since the first book, Hawke. Mr. Bell makes some leaps of imagination in all his stories when Alex (Hawke) gets in a bind. One moment, Alex is in an insurmountable situation and the chapter ends, The next chapter starts with Alex comfortably home or some other secure location. How did he manage to do that - a question unanswered.

Warriors extends and amplifies this methodology. Alex is in sever extremis situations and is suddenly in friendly environs starting the next chapter. How is what I would like to read.

Having said that, Warriors is an enjoyable read, continuing the tradition of Alex Hawke. A gentleman's gentleman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Warriors: An Alex Hawke Novel (Alex Hawke Novels)
Warriors: An Alex Hawke Novel (Alex Hawke Novels) by Ted Bell (Hardcover - April 1, 2014)
$27.99 $20.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.