Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Warriors Orochi 3 Hyper - Nintendo Wii U
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eli Paperboy Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars33
Price:$49.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 15, 2014
It had been years since I've played a Dynasty Warriors title. My last was Dynasty Warriors 3 for the PS2.

The core of this game is basically the same as its always been. You run your character through a huge battlefield, killing enemy soldiers and generals and completing objectives. The combat is a little repetitive, yes, but this IS a hack n slash so that's to be expected. It's so satisfying killing huge numbers of troops in a single swing which makes this game an excellent stress reliever. And with all the character unlocks and weapon unlocks you're sure to be engaged in playing again and again.

The story mode is actually pretty decent. The storyline revolves around you going back in time, because in present day you've lost a war to the "hydra". You need to go back in time to recruit allies to change the timeline. Cut scenes aren't bad - only con is all voice acting is Japanese only with English subtitles. But I actually prefer this to prior games where they did do English voiceacting...as the English voiceacting came off as incredibly cheesy.

There are so many characters to unlock and choose from. They all use tons of different types of weapons with their own pros and cons. Some are better at single target, some are better are crowds, some have better special attacks, ect. My personal favorite is Taishi Chi - I love his duel wielded clubs. But you can bring 3 characters into battle and swap as you see fit.

There's even a duel mode where you can fight one on one. Also internet modes are offered for standard modes...but with such a low number of players on the Wii U you'll be lucky if you can ever find a game online unless you have friends who play.

There's a weapon system to let you buy/craft weapons. Also there's a system to build relationships between your characters which gives you some special abilities in battle.

Graphics are pretty good. Not amazing or jaw dropping, but satisfactory. The game looks about average as far as the Wii U goes.

As far as cons about the game - the one main flaw this title suffers from on screen limitations that have haunted all Dynasty Warriors games. You'll frequently see troops dissapear and reappear around you as every console has limits on how many troops can be on the screen at any one time. It's not a big deal once you get used to it though.

The other con as I've already mentioned is the lack of english voiceovers. Everything is in subtitles. This can be annoying when you are given objectives during battle that pop up in subtitle form...you have to read the subtitles which is hard to do while you're focused on killing things. This isn't a huge problem, but annoying nonetheless.

And the music is basically the same as previous games, many tracks are recycled. But somehow, the Japanese rock/techo music fits.

Overall, I can't recommend this title enough, especially for the low price. Unless you hate hack n slash titles I highly recommend this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Good ol' Slashy-Slashy

This game is a lot of fun, and I'm a huge fan of crossover games. I get way too hyped up whenever I see characters from one franchise meeting characters from another.

If you like slashy-slashy action adventure games, there's nothing better than the Warriors series. The graphics are amazing, gameplay is a lot of fun, and there are a TON of characters to play as each with their own unique skills and weapons.
44 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
I got this game 'cause I played Samurai Warriors Chronicles for 3DS (and I love that game), I' actually play (just a little) Samurai Warriors 3 and Dynasty Warriors 5 and this game is so repetitive and addictive like the others games I mentioned and the rest of games in the series

Story line: U had to travel in time to rescue your partners to to help U to fights again the resurrected Hydra

Game play: Like i said before repetitive, but addictive, every

Graphics: Actually it is very nice, the Wii U had good graphics and are a little better that the Xbox 360 and PS3 version

Sound: Really good

Additional content: well there up to 130 characters to unlock like U can read in the product descriptions but each one had al least 2 different suits and more content can be purchase an the Nintendo E-shop , including new suits, battlefields for duel mode , etc,

Overall it is a good game, like I said before repetitive (like every game in the series of Samurai Warriors, Dynasty Warriors and of course Warriors Orochi)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
I was just griping about another game being more of the same, but in this case, it's not a bad thing. Yes, you might do several missions over again (Designed this way, really.) But you do so with PURPOSE. It's the Apocalypse, and you're ready to Ragnarock (typical pun, I know.)

And then, just as everything is about to go dark, you're given a chance to fix everything with a very contorted version of time travel. Don't ask me how it works, just go with it. The whole purpose now is that you're jumping back in time repeatedly to save everyone you possibly can so you have a real army instead of tattered remnants.

There are some technicalities here though, such as someone needing to be in that spot in time to go back and save someone, so everyone goes about trying to remember what they've seen that's relevant, and it ends up being a pretty good story so far. If you don't mind wrapping your head around the whole 'time travel' bit at least.

If you like the series, this is a solid step in the story telling bit by not being a retelling of classic fiction-based-on-history, but as a new thing entirely.

If you don't like the series, why are you here again?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I Have been playing this game for the past week and i can't seem to stop. It is so much fun trying to unlock 127 characters that time simply just flies by. Me and my friend played story mode together and have been unlocking multiple characters and buying new weapons for them. This is a must buy game for the wiiU unless you already own warrior orochi 3 for PS3 AND XBOX360.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
This game is pretty standard fare for anybody used to the dynasty warriors franchise. Sub par visuals and retentive gameplay are the only real draw backs that i can find. The character roster is extensive and the weapon crafting is incredibly deep for a game that comes off simple in the surface. It can and will become an addiction as it did for me. It can be found pretty cheap if you shop around as i did but it's worth every penny no matter if used or price. I'm not really a fan of this type if game but still had a hell of a good time with it and i recommend it to anyone looking for a game that's just fun without being very serious.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
ADDICTING. Love hack 'n slash, and with all the characters you can unlock and play, this game will eat time like crazy. 2 player story mode? Yes please. You can do split screen, OR 1 person gets GamePad and 1 person gets the whole TV. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Then there's the battlegrounds and the multiplayer modes - glad I got this game. One of my favorite Wii U games. Did I mention it's addicting?
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
This game is addictive. There are problems where enemies disappear and reappear as you get closer and further from them. This does not impede the fun factor. I've lost entire weekends to this fun game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2014
Player 1 or Player 2 can use Wii U Pro controller ( I do not know if 2 pro controllers will work).
Wii U version - Stage Ueda Castle crashed on me twice.
Can Split screen.

Cannot use wiimote or wiimote + nunchuks.
2nd player is a hassle to play next stages as 2nd player has to re-choose his or her characters.

Honestly this a fun game, especially if you plan to just solo the game. I'm truly borderline love/hate it because of the 100+ character combo is fun.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
this game is my favorite out of all my wii u games
i love charaters and weapons extremely detailed all around story is amazing
not sure if im corret on this but i think there are two storys in this game
but i do have one problem the normal and most the officers are a little too easy to beat but easy fix with hard or chaos diffucutily.

i love this game and i recommed it to anybody loves a good or epic game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.