Buy Used
$4.33
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Item qualifies for FREE shipping and Prime! This item is used.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

I Was There: On Board the Titanic (I Was There Books) Hardcover – September 2, 1996


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$7.95 $0.01
Audible, Unabridged
"Please retry"
$5.95
Preloaded Digital Audio Player
"Please retry"

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 9 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 800L (What's this?)
  • Series: I Was There Books
  • Hardcover: 48 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion; Stated First Edition edition (September 1, 1996)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786802839
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786802838
  • Product Dimensions: 9.5 x 0.5 x 11.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #743,260 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 3-5?This book covers the six days surrounding the sinking of the Titanic, as seen through the eyes of two survivors: 17-year-old Jack Thayer, a passenger, and Harold Bride, the 22-year-old assistant wireless operator. With fictionalized words and feelings attributed to these actual historical figures, the text has a slightly stilted feel to it. Facts and details about the ship are sometimes awkwardly inserted into Jack's experiences, especially during the first part of the book. But overall, the fictionalization works fairly well. Jack observes details that give immediacy to the disaster and the people involved. As the story progresses towards the catastrophe, it is hard not to get caught up in the tension. By the time of the actual shipwreck, readers know Jack pretty well, as well as a few other passengers, so the tragedy has a personal impact beyond the sheer numbers. Numerous full-color and black-and-white diagrams, historical photographs and drawings, and original paintings help bring the voyage to life. Technical flaws that contributed to the tragedy are woven neatly into the text and diagrams. Robert Ballard's Exploring the Titanic (Scholastic, 1988) is more fascinating, and Deborah Kent's The Titanic (Childrens, 1993) gives a drier, more straightforward account, while Daisy Spedden's Polar the Titanic Bear (Little, 1994) offers a more fanciful fictionalized version. Tanaka's book will serve as an attractive introduction to a popular topic.?Steven Engelfried, West Linn Public Library,
Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist

Gr. 5^-7. The doomed voyage of the Titanic holds a mysterious fascination for children and adults, whether the story is fact or fiction. In this solidly told tale, the maiden voyage of the "unsinkable" ship is re-created with stunning vividness. There are intimate glimpses of many of the passengers and crew, including 17-year-old Jack Thayer, who is sailing with his parents, and the much maligned Bruce Ismay, president of the company that owned the Titanic. The illustrations are splendid. Each painting is skillfully realized, capturing the breadth and opulence of the largest ship to grace the oceans at the time. Especially breathtaking are the scenes of the Titanic against midnight blue backdrops with otherworldly-looking icebergs that seem to glow with eerie menace. The tragic story of the ship that was supposed to be indestructible holds up well in this new telling and is enhanced by well-done diagrams and excellent photographs. Denia Hester

Customer Reviews

This book would be interesting to students in the 7th grade and above.
Amanda & Lori
Helpful diagrams also help younger readers understand just how and why the "unsinkable" ship actually sank.
Daniel Jolley
Not too scary, full of fascinating details about the ship and an enjoyable read for grown-ups, too!
Kimberly

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Kimberly on September 6, 2005
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
When my five-year old son became obsessed with the Titanic I was a bit worried, because of the morbidity of the subject mainly -we tend to forget that about 1500 people died in this historic incident. So I was very pleased to see that there are actually books on the subject written with children in mind - and this one is very good. It's written from the view points of two young men who were actually on the Titanic and survived - a young man from First Class named Jack Thayer, and Harold Bride, one of the ship's wireless operators and a true hero. Not too scary, full of fascinating details about the ship and an enjoyable read for grown-ups, too! Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on October 16, 1998
Format: Hardcover
There are millions of Titanic books out there, but this one is the best of them all! The details are fantastic! The pictures shocked me! They were so real! I felt I was in the real Titanic in 1912! The portraits were real!! This is the real Titanic story, not some made up story. The book is filled with diagrams, portraits, pictures, and little paragraphs on the sides of the pages! Shelly Tanaka and Ken Marschall did a wonderful job on this book! I recommend this book to Titanic lovers everywhere. I myself loved this book!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Blake D. Ratcliff on June 6, 2000
Format: School & Library Binding
I read the book to my children, ages 8,7,5 and 4. They didn'tmove a muscle. They were so intrigued and fascinated by the story andpictures. It was a great teaching tool on bravery, heroism, foolishness and honor.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on February 28, 1998
Format: Hardcover
This book is about 2 young men. One of the young men, Jack Thayer. The other:Harold Bride, the junior wireless. Jack was seven-teen when he and his Mother and Father travel to America. As he explores the great Titanic, he runs into Thomas Andrews, the ship designer. After his Father and Mother go to a very special dinner party with the ship's Captian, he meets Milton Long, who they become great friends with. At about 11:40, Jack steps into bed. He feels a sway "As if Titanic was nudged gently on it's shoulder". Meanwhile, Jack Phillips and Harold Bride are working endlessly at the wireless and getting nerve-breaking clacks and clanks. They all say that icebergs lay ahead. When Captian Smith comes in "grim-faced", he says that they have hit an iceberg and to standby to send CQD. As Jack Phillips and Harold joke, the door to the wireless room opens. The Captian orders them to send CQD. Harold tells them to change to SOS (which doen't mean 'save our ship', like most people think). Ever time Jack gets a answer, Harold runs up to Captian. I would love to tell you about this wonderful book, but it would spiol the greatness of you reading it. All I'm going to say is, READ IT NOW!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on June 13, 1999
Format: Hardcover
I recommend this book for children. I recieved this book through a book order in '97 when I was in grade 4. I'm headed for grade 6 for the '99-'00 schoolyear. If are a child whom loves' Titanic, I say this be your 1st book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
my son is 10 years old and is thoroughly into the titanic disaster. so was i when i was 10 - that would be 1956. the book has actual photos - i can't possibly imagine what it would have been like to see my son get into a life boat and watch him be rowed away never to see him again. this book helps with those feelins.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on November 28, 1998
Format: Hardcover
This is a super book for kids looking for a Titanic book with not only a lot of pictures but a lot of info. With this book you could learn many things that you didn't know. Ken Marchall's work is extrodinary in the book. And the author gives a real veiw of what it must have been like to have riden the Titanic.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on September 27, 1998
Format: Paperback
On board the Titanic is an excellent book for young readers. The story is written in diary format that chronicles Titanic's journey. The pictures are exciting and the entire book is visually stimulating. I bought one for the school library and one for my son (age 10).
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?