Customer Reviews


380 Reviews
5 star:
 (298)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than OEM? Better believe it!
Wasabi kit (US Version) VS: Smatree kit (biggest rival) kit & OEM Accessories
Good:
--> Battery Rated Capacity - Wasabi Batteries 1280mAh rated higher than 1200mAh rival brands & 1050mAh OEM
--> Battery Performance - Batteries SIGNIFICANTLY outperform OEM & rival brands in Rec time test (see below)
--> Battery Weight - Wasabi batteries weighted same as...
Published 6 months ago by The REAL Radiodude

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but has trouble charging GoPro-brand batteries.
The batteries seem to work fine, but I've had trouble getting the two GoPro batteries I own to charge. Sometimes the charge connects with them and charges them, other times it refuses to recognize them. I had hoped to be able to use this to charge all my batteries, so that's disappointing. Otherwise it's a good product, and if you have just gotten a camera I'd recommend...
Published 5 months ago by Tom K.


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than OEM? Better believe it!, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
Wasabi kit (US Version) VS: Smatree kit (biggest rival) kit & OEM Accessories
Good:
--> Battery Rated Capacity - Wasabi Batteries 1280mAh rated higher than 1200mAh rival brands & 1050mAh OEM
--> Battery Performance - Batteries SIGNIFICANTLY outperform OEM & rival brands in Rec time test (see below)
--> Battery Weight - Wasabi batteries weighted same as OEM 23g each, Rival brands 25g each
--> Battery Core - Li-Poly meets OEM specs and is better than rivals that use Li-Ion
--> AC Adaptor - Compact travel AC adaptor w/ fold up prongs smaller than rival & OEM offerings
--> AC Adaptor - Outputs 3.1A instead 2.1A of rival brand and 2.0A of OEM
--> AC Adaptor - No Bright LED unlike rival AC Adaptor (OEM has no LED)
--> DC Adaptor - 3.1A output matched rival and beats OEM (2.0A)
--> Build Quality - Wasabi matte finish and build quality on par with OEM and better than Smatree's mixture of matte and glossy
Bad:
--> Battery Physical Size - Wasabi Batteries were a noticeably tighter fit in GoPro3 camera
--> AC Adaptor - THIS Wasabi kit only offer US plug (international version is now available), Rival brand offers US & EU Plug compatibility, OEM offers US,UK,EU,& AU
--> DC Adaptor - Wasabi unit is largest physical size unit compared to rival or OEM (smallest)

Most would agree mAh ratings from aftermarket batteries are rarely accurate. Even if rated lower, OEM batteries typically slightly outlast aftermarket products. Coming into the comparison test that is exactly what I expected to find. I was VERY pleasantly surprised to find the Wasabi 21% higher mAh rating over OEM to be fairly accurate. My recording time test yielded 25% longer record time over OEM and 35% longer than the rival Smatree batteries*. I also noticed the Wasabi batteries appeared to retain stored power longer than it's rival, but were comparable to the OEM battery. I believe the primary differences in battery performance between Smatree and Wasabi can be credited to Wasabi using a Lithium-Polymer core, exactly the same as the OEM. Smatree battery is the only one of the three that used a Li-Ion core. The only complaint was that the Wasabi battery had a very snug fit inside the camera. I am unable to test the long -term size variation in the product (since it's new) to see if the batteries will increase/decrease with use, but I expect it to be very minimal due to the use of a Li-Poly core.

Timed Battery Performance*:
OEM 1050mAh - 69:55
Smatree 1200mAh - 64:33
Wasabi 1280mAh - 87:26

*Recording time settings: GoPro3 w/ latest Firmware, Sandisk 32GB CL10, Video mode @ 1080/60fps, NO Wi-Fi, 2 Led flash, Indoors, avg room temp 65F; Batteries used: brand new Wasabi 1280mAh 4.7Wh Li-Poly, brand new Smatree 1200mAh 4.4Wh Li-Ion, 1 month old (charged twice) GoPro OEM 1050mAh 3.885Wh Li-Poly

The OEM and comparable Smatree kits include AC adaptors that feature international outlet support. Perhaps convenient, I don't see this as a huge advantage due to accessibility of USB ports globally. The inclusion of a DC port adds another in-car charging option internationally as well. The Smatree and OEM AC adaptors are physically 50%+ larger than the Wasabi's AC Adaptor that featured foldable prongs. More importantly the Wasabi features 3.1A total output and the other only offer 2.1A and 2.0A. The increased amperage output is a huge advantage in using the AC adaptor to charge large item (tablet) and 2 batteries at once. Something that might be an annoyance to some is that the Smatree AC adaptor feature a VERY light blue LED, while the Wasabi and OEM offerings do not. NOTE: Wasabi is now offering a Worldwide Kit with a AC charger similar to the Smatree kit but with 3.1A and more plug adaptors.

The DC adaptors offered by all 3 kits feature 2 ports and 2.0A (OEM) or 3.1A (Smatree/Wasabi). All disappointingly don't offer replaceable fuses. The Wasabi physical size is the largest of the three, but is only slightly larger. The Wasabi is the only one of the three to feature an LED. The Smatree charger was labeled with a part number YXT-SC029, but that only appears to reference its generic nature.

The Wasabi and Smatree have charging bases and USB cords that are nearly 100% identical, and worked similarly. GoPro's dual charger positions the batteries horizontal instead of vertical. All feature charging LEDS that change color to indicate charging or not charging.
GoPro still appears to be the leader in build quality, but the entire Wasabi kit still feels very much above average. The Wasabi DC charger might have been the largest but it's no-seam exterior construction seemed to be better design than the other 2.

MY VERDICT: The impressive Wasabi batteries and quality AC & DC adaptor makes this kit a MUST buy for any GoPro user working with a budget and needing longer battery performance. At the time of this review the Wasabi kit was slightly (+-5%) more expensive than the Smatree kit, but even at a 50-60% price premium the Wasabi kit is well worth the cost over their rival. I'd much rather have longer recording times per battery than more batteries with shorter recording time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a no brainer. Outstanding value. Superior performance., February 19, 2014
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
Length:: 2:28 Mins

UPDATE: 5/13/2014 - The replacement base has been performing well during the limited times I've used it over the winter months.

UPDATE: 2/20/2014 - The small charger base has become problematic for me and will not reliably charge my batteries. It seems to be defective. I've already notified the company and they are sending me a replacement. That's some good responsive customer service so I will leave my rating as it is for now pending the results of how well the replacement works. I'll post a follow-up once I've had time to evaluate the replacement charger base.
---

Wasabi Power provides an unbeatable value with this 2 battery, dual charger kit for GoPro. The batteries have 1280mAh capacity. The Hero3+ Black already has improved battery life but with these batteries, that is increased even further. I get 10-15 minutes more recording time compared to the GoPro 1180mAh battery.

You also get an AC charger with folding plug (100-240V, 50/60Hz) and a car charger.

The AC charger has 2 USB outputs...2.1A output and 1A output. Both can be used at the same time. The only negative about the AC charger is that there is no LED indicator to show you if power is reaching the charger or not.

The car charger also has a 2.1A and 1A output and there is an LED indicator to show you that power is getting to the charger.

A 36" USB to Mini USB cable is provided.

Batteries fit into the charging base and hold AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001. I have on one or two occasions not had a battery charge because I did not ensure that the battery was nested on the charger base perfectly. You do need to make sure you insert the battery so it is snug and making contact with the pins in the base. It's not totally foolproof and for that I must deduct a little bit from my rating.

This is just a great value... you'd be nuts to pay the exorbitant price for a GoPro battery when you can get the Wasabi that offers higher capacity, longer recording time and come with car and home chargers. No brainer.

I was provided a sample for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Defective wall charger, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
I was excited for this product as it seemed to be a great value however the charger arrived with a rattling sound and doesn't charge continually. With any small movement it sparks and gets very hot. Very disappointed In the quality of this wasabi product.

Edit - After posting of my bad charger the seller contacted me and sent me a replacement unit. I must say I am very impressed with the customer service and I am happy to say the new unit works as expected.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great battery for your GoPro HERO 3+ - same performance as OEM for less than half the price!, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
As we all know, battery life is the limitation to GoPros. You can buy the largest memory card, capable of 4+ hrs of recorded video but your battery will die long before you run out of room. Therefore it's critical to have more batteries for your GoPro on hand.

When I bought my GoPro 3+ Black Edition, I quickly discovered this. That's when my search for additional batteries started. The OEM GoPro batteries are about $20-35 dollars each, and as I wanted to have enough for about 4-5 hours, I'd need at least 2 more batteries in addition to the one that came with it. So I was looking to spend about $40-70 for batteries alone.

Wasabi, at least on paper, showed similar technical characteristics as the original OEM GoPro battery, but for almost half the price, you also get a dual charger and a car charger. The added convenience of being able to charge 2 batteries at the same time is critical!! I decided to give them a try.

Having some spare time and armed with curiosity, I decided to test the performance of the Wasabi battery pack against GoPro's OEM battery under exact same conditions. This is no laboratory test, but real world test armed with the following "instruments:"

iPhone 5 - used as a timer
GoPro 3+ Black Edition
Original OEM Battery (1)
Wasabi Battery (2)
Wasabi Dual Charger
Delkin Devices DESDM1032GBQ microSDHC Pro Card (Class 10, 32GB)

I discharged all batteries by simply turning on the GoPro and letting it run until the batteries were drained. Then, charged all 3 batteries with the Wasabi charger. Then, one by one put the batteries into the GoPro, pressed record and simultaneously started the timer on my iPhone. Results were the exact same: 1 hr 50 mins running time on each battery. Fit and finish were identical as well, so besides what's written on the side of the battery, everything is identical.

I couldn't be happier, and would definitely recommend this battery pack! You get the same performance as OEM for a lot less price and the dual charger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GoPro Batteries, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
I bought these for my GoPro 3+ Black Edition. They are better than the original or replacement batteries from GoPro. The charger with a USB, wall and car adapter is also a huge plus for me. I would highly recommend buying these batteries.

Blue Nook was a great experience too. I ordered the batteries for my honeymoon. They called me the day I ordered to ensure me that the batteries had shipped and were there in time. Thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but has trouble charging GoPro-brand batteries., March 27, 2014
By 
Tom K. (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
The batteries seem to work fine, but I've had trouble getting the two GoPro batteries I own to charge. Sometimes the charge connects with them and charges them, other times it refuses to recognize them. I had hoped to be able to use this to charge all my batteries, so that's disappointing. Otherwise it's a good product, and if you have just gotten a camera I'd recommend buying this instead of extra GoPro batteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
So I bought a GoPro Hero3 Black a couple of months back and the biggest problem I had was the battery life.
I realized I need extra batteries so I started researching for the best option and Wasabi kept popping up as the best choice.
The thing that really sold it to me was the dual charger, actually you should call it TRIPLE charger, because as you charge the two Wasabi batteries you can plug you GoPro camera to the other USB port and charge your original GoPro battery (or whatever you put in the camera for that matter).
Only downside for me was the high shipping costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class-leading battery capacity with an incredibly versatile battery charger, April 6, 2014
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
Length:: 7:20 Mins

(Battery comparison chart shown between 0:35 and 2:08 in video. You'll need to maximize the video to see it well; sorry about Amazon's default small video size. Test results are also listed farther down in the written review)

When it comes to GoPro accessories, there's no shortage of choices available. What sets different options and manufacturers apart, then, often comes down to the little things. That's where this Wasabi 1280mAh dual charging set shines. A little more power. A little more travel-friendly. A little more run-time. And a charger design that, while it's becoming slightly more common among accessory makers, puts it ahead of most chargers on the market in regards to versatility. At the end of the day, all those "little mores" add up to a lot of reasons for liking this package.

This package comes with two 1280mAh batteries for the GoPro Hero3/Hero3+, a dual-battery charging base with a mini-USB power port, a 120V USB wall adapter with 2.1A and 1A charging ports, a 12V DC car adapter with 2.1A and 1A charging ports, and a mini-USB to standard USB A cable for connecting the battery charging base to the power adapters.

I tested the 1280mAh batteries in this kit against three other popular brands and capacities: the Smatree 1200mAh battery, Wasabi's older 1200mAh battery, and the GoPro 1050mAh OEM battery that came with my Hero3. All tests were done by filming with a Hero3 in a completely dark closet with no noise to ensure processing requirements for each video were equal. Videos were taken with a setting of 1080p30, which GoPro says is the setting that allows the maximum recording time. Recording times were measured by letting the camera run until auto-shutoff and then noting the length of the video files recorded. I measured the following run times (listed in minutes:seconds) from each battery charged both in-camera over a computer USB connection as well as in the dual-charger base connected to the 2.1A USB port of the 120V wall adapter.

Wasabi 1280mAh (charged in camera): 105:42 (+1:58 vs. OEM)
Smatree 1200mAh (charged in camera): 94:52 (-8:52 vs. OEM)
Wasabi 1200mAh (charged in camera): 87:40 (-16:04 vs. OEM)
GoPro 1050mAh (charged in camera): 103:44

Wasabi 1280mAh (charged in base with 120V adapter): 114:14 (+2:16 vs. OEM)
Smatree 1200mAh (charged in base with 120V adapter): 101:22 (-10:36 vs. OEM)
Wasabi 1200mAh (charged in base with 120V adapter): 96:49 (-15:09 vs. OEM)
GoPro 1050mAh (charged in base with 120V adapter): 111:58

As you can see, the Wasabi 1280mAh battery is the only battery out of the four types I tested that out-performed the GoPro 1050mAh OEM battery. Capacity ratings tend to be somewhat subjective between manufacturers in the battery industry, as is evidenced by Wasabi's 1280mAh batteries having only marginally longer run times than the stock 1050mAh battery, which in turn has longer run times than both the Smatree and Wasabi 1200mAh packs. But the proof's in the pudding, as they say, and ultimately the Wasabi 1280mAh pack came out on top. Like I mentioned before, it's the little things that add up to make this battery and charger package one of the best I've come across to date. It's also worth noting that GoPro now offers a 1180mAh pack, so you can extrapolate out the above results to take an educated guess at its performance (I don't have one of the newest GoPro packs to test firsthand, unfortunately).

The real beauty of this charging kit comes not from its batteries, however, but from the charger's design itself. First and foremost, the dual-charging base can charge two batteries simultaneously (independently at 800mAh per channel). While I've seen comparable offerings from both Smatree and GoPro, this style still isn't the norm yet from most charger manufacturers. Twice the charging power speaks for itself and is a huge advantage compared to single-bay chargers. Plus, you can plug your GoPro camera itself into the 1A USB slot on the wall charger and have three GoPro batteries charging at the same time. The 1A USB slot also works well for charging devices like your smartphone while your GoPro batteries are charging. Both the 120V wall adapter and the 12V DC car adapter provide a strong, steady current over each of their USB charging ports (I verified charging rates using my Watt's Up power analyzer). While connected to the 2.1A port on both chargers, plugging in one battery to the dual-charging base would show just over 0.8A of current being delivered. Adding the second battery would raise the total delivered current to 1.6A or slightly above.

The second ingenious aspect of this charger's design is the separation of the power converters from the charging base itself. This might seem like an insignificant design decision at first glance, but it's what makes this charger one of the most versatile on the market. This separation allows the charging base's footprint to remain incredibly small while still holding two batteries at once, but more importantly, it also widely expands your charging options. Rather than being forced to rely on a wall outlet or vehicle 12V DC port, you can now plug your charger directly into your desktop or laptop - a fact that travelers who like to pack light are sure to appreciate.

Furthermore, you can also use a portable backup battery to power the charging base. For anyone planning on being off the power grid for an extended period of time, this make the charger's design advantages even greater. Instead of keeping up with a dozen GoPro batteries, you can take two GoPro batteries and one larger external battery pack that you can recharge the GoPro batteries from multiple times. Less to pack, less to worry about keeping up with.

Wasabi also wisely chose to make the charging base's USB connection a miniUSB port instead of the now somewhat-more-common microUSB connection. That's a check mark in the "positives" column because GoPro cameras also use miniUSB connections, so you only need to carry one cable with you to serve both devices. Needing less cables is always a good thing.

Given its best-in-class recording times out of the four battery types I tested, its versatile charging options, and little details like the flip-out prongs on the wall adapter for more compact storage, I heartily recommend this charging kit to anyone needing some extra GoPro batteries. This kit is also available without the power converters if you only want the charging base and the batteries themselves, as well as in a package that includes interchangeable power prongs for international use.

Review disclosure: I was provided a sample of this product for the purposes of examination and review. No review or particular rating was promised in return, and the opinions expressed here are my own following my first-hand experiences with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More for your money, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
Batteries are great. With this package I got 2 batteries, a charger ( works on your go pro battery too) car adaptor and cord for the same price as a single gopro battery. Battery test against the gopro battery recording at 1080p 60fps allowed about 15 more battery life too. Great value to increase life of go pros on days out and away from chargers.Would recommend these batteries all day long. Had no issue with the battery fitting like other complained about. If anything, they fit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very sweet kit for the GoPro Hero3+, February 4, 2014
By 
Tony L. Glenn "Tony Lee Glenn" (Mineral Springs Mountain, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Dual Charger for GoPro Hero3, Hero3+ and GoPro AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302, AHBBP-301, ACARC-001, AWALC-001 (with Car and US Plug) (Electronics)
I own this kit and the batteries last a long, long time. Even when you get down to the last bar on the battery LED indicator you'll get 20+ minutes at 1080p 60fps. I bought Wasabi's last year and they were solid performers - but the new Lithium Ion Polymer versions equal or exceed performance of the original battery from GoPro. I have 4 Hero3's and these are my go-to power packs now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.