Customer Reviews


418 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Solution to the Poor Battery Situation for Sony RX-1/100
One of the basic problems with the Sony RX-1 is the battery situation. By the battery situation I don't just mean the poor battery life, it's also the inconvenience of USB charging, and the lunacy of Sony making most USB chargers not work with the camera - the camera can't detect an active data line in order to allow charging - don't ask me why they did it that way, as...
Published 22 months ago by D. F. Watt

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batteries die instantly
Travel charger is convenient and works great. Batteries, on the other hand, are unpredictable and unreliable. Reading frequently drops instantly from nearly full to completely drained. I bought the charger half expecting the batteries offered no added value so I am okay with it.
Published 21 months ago by Tazman


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Solution to the Poor Battery Situation for Sony RX-1/100, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
One of the basic problems with the Sony RX-1 is the battery situation. By the battery situation I don't just mean the poor battery life, it's also the inconvenience of USB charging, and the lunacy of Sony making most USB chargers not work with the camera - the camera can't detect an active data line in order to allow charging - don't ask me why they did it that way, as it's absolutely crazy. The proprietary Sony charger doesn't have a data line, and some other chargers with also work with this, but any computer or laptop that is on supplies a data line, so if you try to plug your phone charger into the micro-USB port on the RX-1, it typically won't charge at all. It's one of the more infuriating pieces of design stupidity and it means that only the proprietary Sony charger will work even though the USB port is a standard USB micro connector. Additionally, one has to be concerned about the long term wear and tear on the port from endless plugging and unplugging. Plus, the stock Sony battery is absurdly overpriced, and runs out quickly, esp. if you are shooting lots of flash.

This neat charger with two additional batteries solves all of those problems because it allows you to have extra batteries and charge them outside the camera in a normal plug-in charger that Sony should have provided in the first place. Like I said, a great solution to problems that should never have been there in the first place if Sony had been paying attention. This set of issues probably applies to the Sony RX-100 as well as to the Sony RX-1.

Add to that that this has to be a best value (all of this for $16) and you get five stars, no question about it. Buy it if you have a Sony RX-1 or RX-100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wasabi rules, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
I've seen past reviews on Wasabi products from others and seem as if they were happy with the purchase. I decided to try and see for myself and seeing it was very price competitive, I ordered the battery charger for the Sony Rx100. Since it also included 2 spare batteries, I started charging and it was done in no time. I needed the charger cause whenever I shoot, I usually take 200-300 shots and I want to be sure I have charged batteries on hand and even more important, I can use the camera while being charged. I also had a follow up call from Wasabi to see if I was satisfied.....hey, if a company calls up to ask about their service, be assured that they care about their products and customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review For Batteries Only, November 14, 2012
By 
ron_c (Ennis, Tx USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
The 4 stars are for the batteries only, the charger, no problem.

On my camera, Sony DSC-R100, the batteries do not indicate the remaining charge left in the battery. Both batteries will show full charge until suddenly the Low Battery Indicator shows. I also used the 1600Mah rating batteries, but they also will not show the remaining charge. The stock Sony battery will show 3/4, 1/2 or 1/4 charge. I've only seem one other reference of the batteries doing this, so, it might just be my camera and not all cameras. The stock Sony battery, when removed from the camera, will show it has discharged by 1/4 charge when putting back in the camera and has not been used for about a week.

UPDATE: Found a post on a forum about the same thing I experienced about the battery not showing the amount of charge showing on the camera. The poster stated that the indicator on the camera would show full charge until after some use, the first bar would show (indicating 3/4 charge) that it was time to change the battery. Today, while shooting video, I watched more closely and sure enough after some use the first bar would go dark. After about 3 minutes later, the second bar went dark (indicating 1/2 charge) and then after about 2 minutes more, then the Low Battery Warning icon would show. So, when the battery indicator shows the first bar there is about 5 minutes left before the Low Battery Warning icon shows when shooting video anyway. I don't know how many stills can be shot in that 5 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great battery and charger deal for the money!, September 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
I purchased the Wasabi Power battery 2 pack charger to compliment the Sony RX 100 & the RX100miii. The package arrived on time. There were no frills to the packaging, but everything looked neat and organized. In addition to the charger and two batteries, a decent quality car/boat adapter is included, allowing you to charge while driving. There is also a European plug adapter. The charger is lightweight, but does not feel cheap or poorly produced. The batteries appear to be be well constructed and fit the battery compartment in the same fashion as the Sony battery. The charger took more than an hour, but less than hours to charge a fully depleted battery, it also works with the Sony batteries. The Wasabi brand batteries seem to last as long or a bit longer than the Sony battery. As for reports where people complain the Wasabi batteries don't communicate how much power they have remaining, I don't think that is unique to their brand of batteries. The Sony power meter seems to often be "catch as catch can". I carry the Sony RX100 everywhere, (the best camera is the one you have with you, and while i love my iPhone camera it isn't enough for my tastes.) and I shoot 30 to 100 shots per week. Not a day goes by when I am not taking at least a few shots with it. I am also a user of the electronic viewfinder and the wireless function, I mention this as they are power intensive chores for the battery and I average a week and a half between charages. I say all of this because when I swap between the Sony battery and the Wasabi branded batteries I can tell no difference in the experience and I can't say that for every non manufacturer battery I've purchase in the past. This Wasabi battery deal is outstanding bang for the buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addon to my Sony HDR-AS15, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
I bought this kit to supplement my Sony HDR-AS15 power needs. Charging from AC outlet or via the car adapter allows you to continue using the camera without missing a shot. Battery life is identical if not more then the original Sony battery! The battery shape is identical to Sony & fits the camera perfectly! Standard shipping only took 2 days & the price can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great accessories, speedy deliver!, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
Wasabi Power Battery (2 Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1, DSC-RX100, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15

The Wasabi Power Battery Pack and Charger for my Sony Cyber-shot DSC-rX100 camera work perfectly. The battery charger is compact and has an adapter for European electrical outlets, making it ideal for international travel. The batteries seem to last at least as long as the Sony ones. The delivery from Blue Nook was very quick, arriving even before the camera did! I would definitely order other products from Blue Nook in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great batteries, November 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
Great price for an awesome battery. My order arrived very quickly with no issues. I love the charger since the RX-100 does not come with a separate charger. The battery life seems as good if not better then the stock Sony battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batteries die instantly, March 26, 2013
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
Travel charger is convenient and works great. Batteries, on the other hand, are unpredictable and unreliable. Reading frequently drops instantly from nearly full to completely drained. I bought the charger half expecting the batteries offered no added value so I am okay with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars batteries work well, February 24, 2014
By 
GMb.c. "GRM" (Coquitlam, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
this is a good deal considering the Sony battery is much more expensive and doesn't seem to last any longer. The fact that it comes with a charger (while the Sony sports cam doesn't) is a bonus. The addition of a car adapter and a European plug adapter makes it a good traveling choice. I use the camera as a traffic cam and the batteries last about 1 1/2 to 2 hours on 720 HD. They are usually run flat each time. The batteries have run about 20 cycles so far with no problems. The batteries appear well made with the exact dimensions as the Sony.. Came on time with no problems. I would buy the product again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars last longer than original factory battery, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
bought this as sony rx100 backup batteries. It seems lasting longer than original one. charger work fine too. i will recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.