Customer Reviews


346 Reviews
5 star:
 (262)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Solution to the Poor Battery Situation for Sony RX-1/100
One of the basic problems with the Sony RX-1 is the battery situation. By the battery situation I don't just mean the poor battery life, it's also the inconvenience of USB charging, and the lunacy of Sony making most USB chargers not work with the camera - the camera can't detect an active data line in order to allow charging - don't ask me why they did it that way, as...
Published 20 months ago by D. F. Watt

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batteries die instantly
Travel charger is convenient and works great. Batteries, on the other hand, are unpredictable and unreliable. Reading frequently drops instantly from nearly full to completely drained. I bought the charger half expecting the batteries offered no added value so I am okay with it.
Published 19 months ago by Tazman


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Solution to the Poor Battery Situation for Sony RX-1/100, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
One of the basic problems with the Sony RX-1 is the battery situation. By the battery situation I don't just mean the poor battery life, it's also the inconvenience of USB charging, and the lunacy of Sony making most USB chargers not work with the camera - the camera can't detect an active data line in order to allow charging - don't ask me why they did it that way, as it's absolutely crazy. The proprietary Sony charger doesn't have a data line, and some other chargers with also work with this, but any computer or laptop that is on supplies a data line, so if you try to plug your phone charger into the micro-USB port on the RX-1, it typically won't charge at all. It's one of the more infuriating pieces of design stupidity and it means that only the proprietary Sony charger will work even though the USB port is a standard USB micro connector. Additionally, one has to be concerned about the long term wear and tear on the port from endless plugging and unplugging. Plus, the stock Sony battery is absurdly overpriced, and runs out quickly, esp. if you are shooting lots of flash.

This neat charger with two additional batteries solves all of those problems because it allows you to have extra batteries and charge them outside the camera in a normal plug-in charger that Sony should have provided in the first place. Like I said, a great solution to problems that should never have been there in the first place if Sony had been paying attention. This set of issues probably applies to the Sony RX-100 as well as to the Sony RX-1.

Add to that that this has to be a best value (all of this for $16) and you get five stars, no question about it. Buy it if you have a Sony RX-1 or RX-100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wasabi rules, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
I've seen past reviews on Wasabi products from others and seem as if they were happy with the purchase. I decided to try and see for myself and seeing it was very price competitive, I ordered the battery charger for the Sony Rx100. Since it also included 2 spare batteries, I started charging and it was done in no time. I needed the charger cause whenever I shoot, I usually take 200-300 shots and I want to be sure I have charged batteries on hand and even more important, I can use the camera while being charged. I also had a follow up call from Wasabi to see if I was satisfied.....hey, if a company calls up to ask about their service, be assured that they care about their products and customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review For Batteries Only, November 14, 2012
By 
ron_c (Ennis, Tx USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
The 4 stars are for the batteries only, the charger, no problem.

On my camera, Sony DSC-R100, the batteries do not indicate the remaining charge left in the battery. Both batteries will show full charge until suddenly the Low Battery Indicator shows. I also used the 1600Mah rating batteries, but they also will not show the remaining charge. The stock Sony battery will show 3/4, 1/2 or 1/4 charge. I've only seem one other reference of the batteries doing this, so, it might just be my camera and not all cameras. The stock Sony battery, when removed from the camera, will show it has discharged by 1/4 charge when putting back in the camera and has not been used for about a week.

UPDATE: Found a post on a forum about the same thing I experienced about the battery not showing the amount of charge showing on the camera. The poster stated that the indicator on the camera would show full charge until after some use, the first bar would show (indicating 3/4 charge) that it was time to change the battery. Today, while shooting video, I watched more closely and sure enough after some use the first bar would go dark. After about 3 minutes later, the second bar went dark (indicating 1/2 charge) and then after about 2 minutes more, then the Low Battery Warning icon would show. So, when the battery indicator shows the first bar there is about 5 minutes left before the Low Battery Warning icon shows when shooting video anyway. I don't know how many stills can be shot in that 5 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batteries die instantly, March 26, 2013
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
Travel charger is convenient and works great. Batteries, on the other hand, are unpredictable and unreliable. Reading frequently drops instantly from nearly full to completely drained. I bought the charger half expecting the batteries offered no added value so I am okay with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great accessories, speedy deliver!, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
Wasabi Power Battery (2 Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1, DSC-RX100, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15

The Wasabi Power Battery Pack and Charger for my Sony Cyber-shot DSC-rX100 camera work perfectly. The battery charger is compact and has an adapter for European electrical outlets, making it ideal for international travel. The batteries seem to last at least as long as the Sony ones. The delivery from Blue Nook was very quick, arriving even before the camera did! I would definitely order other products from Blue Nook in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great batteries, November 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
Great price for an awesome battery. My order arrived very quickly with no issues. I love the charger since the RX-100 does not come with a separate charger. The battery life seems as good if not better then the stock Sony battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High capacity, low-cost power (but poor gas gauge performance), May 13, 2013
By 
D. Evans (Palo Alto, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
These batteries work just dandy in my RX100. The increased power density is deeply appreciated and they work just great. I bought these for a long trek in Patagonia where I would be many days without access to chargers. They're light, take up about zero space, and power the camera just great. For the dollar, you'd be hard pressed to do better.

The only caveat, as one other posted has noted, is that the battery "gas gauge" in the camera does not really work properly. The batteries do indeed seem to suddenly run out without much advanced notice. (Though if you have 2-3 batteries in your pocket, who cares...). My primary complaint here is that with multiple batteries it becomes very difficult to manage which ones are carrying what level of charge. Is that battery that reads full in the camera topped-off, half full, or 10 minutes from dead? With these batteries there's no way to pop one in and check how full it is.

So, as far as I'm concerned, these are phenomenal backup batteries and great for extended use cases like travel where you can top everything off to known levels and just slowly burn through a pile of high-capacity batteries. If you really need to know your charge levels more precisely, go with the Sony originals, but if you want value, these are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addon to my Sony HDR-AS15, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
I bought this kit to supplement my Sony HDR-AS15 power needs. Charging from AC outlet or via the car adapter allows you to continue using the camera without missing a shot. Battery life is identical if not more then the original Sony battery! The battery shape is identical to Sony & fits the camera perfectly! Standard shipping only took 2 days & the price can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars batteries work well, February 24, 2014
By 
GMb.c. "GRM" (Coquitlam, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
this is a good deal considering the Sony battery is much more expensive and doesn't seem to last any longer. The fact that it comes with a charger (while the Sony sports cam doesn't) is a bonus. The addition of a car adapter and a European plug adapter makes it a good traveling choice. I use the camera as a traffic cam and the batteries last about 1 1/2 to 2 hours on 720 HD. They are usually run flat each time. The batteries have run about 20 cycles so far with no problems. The batteries appear well made with the exact dimensions as the Sony.. Came on time with no problems. I would buy the product again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 different orders -- problems with the batteries, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasabi Power Battery (2-Pack) and Charger for Sony NP-BX1, NP-BX1/M8 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V, DSC-HX300, DSC-RX1, DSC-RX1R, DSC-RX100, DSC-RX100 II, DSC-RX100M II, DSC-RX100 III, DSC-RX100M3, DSC-WX300, HDR-AS10, HDR-AS15, HDR-AS30V, HDR-AS100V, HDR-AS100VR, HDR-CX240, HDR-MV1, HDR-PJ275 (Electronics)
After 2 attempts from Amazon, we settled for "forget it." First time the battery wouldn't fit in the camera. Second replacement order, the charger would not hold the battery while in plug-in mode. This is a cheap, cheap item, IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.