Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (293)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


510 of 527 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Washington For Our Time
Why do we need another biography of George Washington? The four volume Flexner biography was published 40 years ago, and since then 60 newly edited volumes of Washington letters and diaries have been published, which Chernow has read closely. He has combed the important multi-volume biographies and reviewed the shorter more recent books. The bibliography is many pages,...
Published on October 5, 2010 by Eileen Pollock

versus
224 of 259 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How can Washington be boring?
Let me begin by saying that this work is unquestionably the most complete biography of Washington that I've ever read. Author Ron Chernow makes thorough use of many never-before-available sources of Washington's life to create this comprehensive text. While I hesitate to say it and thus risk offending serious Washington scholars, I feel I must: for the average reader,...
Published on December 19, 2010 by EJ


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

510 of 527 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Washington For Our Time, October 5, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Why do we need another biography of George Washington? The four volume Flexner biography was published 40 years ago, and since then 60 newly edited volumes of Washington letters and diaries have been published, which Chernow has read closely. He has combed the important multi-volume biographies and reviewed the shorter more recent books. The bibliography is many pages, the text meticulously footnoted. Chernow brings keen psychological insight to this magisterial work. His preamble sets forth his purpose: to bring Washington to life, to get behind the grave, somber image so the reader will have a true appreciation of the man. Moreover, Chernow's writing is superb. The book - over 800 pages of text alone - never drags and one's interest never flags. You can open it anywhere and receive enlightenment. On Washington's leadership in the Revolutionary War: "His fortitude in keeping the impoverished Continental Army intact was a major historic accomplishment... He was that rare general who was great between battles and not just during them." On Washington's early charisma: "Long before he achieved great fame or renown, something about Washington's bearing and presence bedazzled people." It is a tribute to Chernow that he "remembers the ladies", with colorful descriptions of Martha Washington and her circle: "It is a testimony to Martha's social versatility that she won over women who were far more intellectual than she." On celebrity: "For all of Washington's professions of modesty, the thought of his high destined niche in history was never far from his mind." On religious tolerance, Chernow quotes a letter from Washington to a Jewish congregation in Newport: "'All possess alike liberty of conscience and immunities of citizenship...'" I approached this book with some trepidation - so long, so detailed, another Washington biography? Why read it? To find out how Washington did it. To study his character. To be inspired. To understand the virtue in moderation and self control. To feel, far beyond the cliche, proud to be an American.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


261 of 271 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, well-written and complete, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
I liked Chernow's other biographies; particularly his one on Alexander Hamilton, so much that I advanced ordered this book. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed. If I had to describe this book in one sentence I would say that it shows why Washington was a great leader and a great man. Below is further information about the book, how it compares to other Washington biographies, and some caveats (mentioned at the end of this review) that I think a potential reader should be aware of.

Why should you read this book when you think that you know all you need to about George Washington? I think that you should because this book is wonderful, both in the writing and in the level of detail. Chernow is a wonderful writer. As with his other biographies, Chernow gives us a picture that goes beyond a stiff formal portrait. He gives us, what I consider to be, a fair picture of Washington, with his faults clearly delineated as well as his positive attributes. Here is not the Washington promoted to a saint-like status, rather a man who made the most of all the opportunities that came his way. A man who was not above ordering gold braid and a red sash for his uniform, and a man who took offense at slights (although when necessary held his anger to himself) and a man who bristled when he was appointed to a military rank that he felt was too low. However, he was also a man who learned by his mistakes (and Chermow points out a lot of them) and was above all; courageous, conscientious, honest, and hard working. He shows Washington the man - a man who felt handicapped by his lack of a college education, a man with a volatile temperament that he kept tightly under control, a man who could lead men but found himself leading untrained and undisciplined ones. He shows Washington to be human, a man who "... adopted a blistering style whenever he thought someone had cheated him". Most of all he shows a Washington who prevented the dissolution of the army during the war and whose actions defined the presidency of the US. One of Chernow's objectives was to show that Washington made his own decisions, after consultation with those whose opinions he respected, and contrary to the charge made by his enemies was not controlled by men like Hamilton.

What I found most interesting were the discussions of those aspects of Washington's life that are generally not covered in one-volume biographies. He discusses the economic factors that eventually turned Washington against Britain. Chernow discusses Washington the businessman (both as a planter and a land speculator) and his dealings with his London agents. Contrary to popular myth, Chernow shows Washington to be land rich but cash poor, frequently to the extent of being on the brink of economic disaster. Chernow devotes two chapters (and parts of others) to the issue of slavery. He makes it clear that Washington did not like the institution, but he viewed his slaves as an investment that he did not know how to dispense with without bring about his economic ruin. Furthermore, he unrealistically expected his slaves to act more like employees or soldiers and could not understand why some did not, or why some ran away.

Remarkably, Chernow makes Washington come alive without sacrificing details. My touchstone for a biography on Washington is the extent to which it covers his family, particularly his brothers. Flexner's one volume condensation of his four-volume biography of Washington mentions George's older half-brothers, but not his older half-sister or his younger full brothers and sisters. Chernow mentions them all. He also clears up the story of how George acquired Mt. Vernon, and how it got its name. Chernow also discusses Washington's difficult relationship with his mother, a subject generally not covered in other one-volume biographies. The book also discusses such diverse topics as Washington's teeth, his height, and many of his illnesses.

This is a complete biography of George Washington. It is divided into six parts, covering his entire life. In contrast, some biographies only cover part of his life. For instance, Willard Sterne Randall's biography of Washington focuses almost entirely on the revolutionary war. Chernow covers everything, devoting almost equal space to Washington's presidency as to his leadership of the army. The book contains 30 black and white photographs of paintings of individuals, printed on high gloss paper. The quality of the photographs is good, but lacks the color of the originals, which is unfortunate.

I think that there are two caveats that a potential reader should be aware of. This is not a detailed military history - there are no maps or detailed discussions of tactics. It is more about the man and how he handled the problems of the war, than a history of the war itself. Neither is this book a political treatise on the Washington presidency. Chernow does, however, show how Washington, by his actions, created the presidency. For instance,Chernow shows how Washington changed the Senate's constitutional requirement of "advise and consent" to consent for actions he took. One should not take these caveats as an indication that the book was not excellent or is incomplete. It is just that there is a limit to what one can put into a single volume, even with more than 800 pages of text. Furthermore, this is a book about Washington's whole life, written for a general audience. In this it succeeds admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


182 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover George Washington and Discover Our Country!!!, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Washington, A Life by Ron Chernow should be required reading by all of us, including our children. For most of us, the images we have in our heads of the founding fathers were formed a lifetime ago when we were children. Today our children are forming those same images in their minds, based on boring textbooks and teachers that have only a borderline knowledge of Washington, or that matter an interest. Had I been fortunate enough to have had a book like this several decades ago, my understanding and interest in Washington would have been remarkably different than the lifeless, waxwork image that most of us have.

Chernow makes George Washington come alive, and how grateful we should be for this. Every few years a new book comes out on our country's first President, each one is pronounced the definitive one, and yet next year there is another one. What differentiates Chernow from all of the rest is his capacity to convey a living human being with an emotional life, something no other author has been able to do so far.

First, let's discuss the mechanics of the book. Without the footnotes and index, we are looking at 817 pages printed with a small font. It's a big heavy book, but remember that many Washington biographies encompass several volumes, usually 3 or 4. Chernow was very reliant on the papers of the George Washington Project at the University of Virginia. This involves more than 130,000 relevant documents.

First composed by John C. Fitzpatrick in the 1930's and 1940's, the papers occupy 39 volumes of letters written by George Washington. In recent years, this work has been expanded to 60 volumes, which now includes letters addressed to Washington as well as writings of his friends, family, and others who lived during his lifetime.

One of the amazing statements I took out of the book was Chernow's comment that we now know more about George Washington than his own friends, family or contemporaries did. The book itself is divided into six distinct parts. They are:

Part I - The Frontiersman

Part II - The Planter

Part III - The General

Part IV - The Statesman

Part V - Acting the Presidency

Part VI - The Legend

I am going to describe an instance briefly from each section to give you a feel for how interesting this book is. Chapter 4 of Part I is called the Bloodbath. In it Chernow describes vividly how Colonel Washington trained 160 green recruits to take on more than 1000 French soldiers with 360 boats and 18 pieces of artillery during the French and Indian War. This occurred in May of 1754.

It is obvious that America's founder lost control of his troops who engaged in scalping, and other acts which the future President found to be degrading. Washington himself had to lie to his troops and tell them that additional soldiers were on their way to reinforce their position. He would regret the actions that took place in this encounter for the rest of his life.

In Part II, chapter 17 Washington finds himself living in Cambridge Massachusetts adjacent to Harvard University, and regrets never having attended college. He lives in the house of John Vassall and encounters a young slave named Darby Vassall. Washington decides to take young Darby into his service and changes his mind, when the young man says, "What would my wages be." What most of us would find to be humor, Washington found to be insulting.

During this period of his life, Washington is described by different people in the following terms, venerated, truly noble and majestic, vast ease, dignity, always buffed and polished. He always had an elegant sword strapped to his side, and had silver spurs attached to his boots. When asked how he would pick an officer, his reply was that he must be a true gentleman, with a genuine sense of humor, and the reputation of being able to rise.

In Part III the General deals with the revolutionary war. Chapter 28 is about the Long Retreat. Washington is so disappointed when General Benjamin Lincoln must surrender Charleston, South Carolina along with 2,571 men with 343 artillery pieces plus 6000 muskets. Normally soldiers are allowed to surrender with dignity and march out with their colors, but not this time. To shame the Americans, we were required to lay down our arms in silence. The choice was than given to become a prisoner of war or return home after a solemn oath to refrain from further fighting.

This part also includes the Benedict Arnold affair. If you think you know the story, believe me, you don't. Arnold comes through as an extraordinary American. Words to describe him include, fearless, racing on horseback to spur on his men, most enterprising, and dangerous as a warrior. Arnold had horses shot out from under him, and kept going. One of his legs was basically blown off, and still he would not stop fighting, refusing amputation; he was able to carry on. The first President of our country is totally enamored of Benedict Arnold.

Arnold on the other hand felt betrayed by our country. Far superior to the generals he reported to, other generals took credit for the victories that Arnold won, and paid for with his body, in pain and parts. Officials in Pennsylvania officials falsely accused Arnold of exploiting his position for personal gain. The General demanded an immediate trial by court martial. Arnold felt that George Washington did not come to his defense, and this led to the ultimate betrayal. It is Arnold's betrayal that has erased all the major battles he won on behalf of this country - sound familiar.

In Part IV, the Statesman, we see George Washington as perhaps the first American celebrity. He is the most famous person in our new country, a position he is completely uncomfortable with. His brother dead, he takes his children into his home, and raises them as his own. If you want to understand Washington, listen to what Nelly and Washy, the two children say to describe the General. He (Washington) never spoke of a single act of his life, during the war. He was a remote figure.

Part V is Acting the Presidency. Chernow used a term that makes no sense unless you read the book. The concept is not creating the Presidency, but Acting the Presidency. Washington felt and knew when he became President that every act would be scrutinized. His fear was that of all the branches of government, only the Presidency possessed the power and potential to slip into monarchy, and subvert the Republican form of government. He would avoid this slippage at all costs. Chernow also explores the concept that many things which appear to be of little importance have the ability to have durable consequences.

Bringing it all together, I believe from this day forward, we will now have a definitive, reliable, and wonderfully readable story of the life of our most important American. Creating what we call America was a very difficult task, but it was left to Washington to lead a war to create it, to win the Presidency to create the model for everything that would come afterwards, and set by example how each succeeding President should and would conduct himself.

We have no idea what America would look like if George Washington did not exist? We don't know if America would have been at all, so much rested on his shoulders. Two-thirds of the colonists sided with the British initially. We do know this however. There were only two times in thousands of years of history when a perfect solution to the formation of a government took place. One was under Caesar Augustus, while the other was under George Washington. Now we have the definitive biography to tell us the whole story. Thank you Mr. Chernow and thank you for reading this review.

Richard C. Stoyeck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


224 of 259 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How can Washington be boring?, December 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Let me begin by saying that this work is unquestionably the most complete biography of Washington that I've ever read. Author Ron Chernow makes thorough use of many never-before-available sources of Washington's life to create this comprehensive text. While I hesitate to say it and thus risk offending serious Washington scholars, I feel I must: for the average reader, this book is too detailed, too dense, and yes, folks, it is actually boring.

Washington is one of the almost inarguable heroes of American history, despite being a flawed human being just like anyone else. Chernow takes the reader through exactly what is promised--the life of Washington, from birth to death. Many readers will already be familiar with the most famous of the events in Washington's life, so the niche that this book perhaps would fill is to provide detail that other biographies do not include. Unfortunately, I found these details to be mind-numbingly dull. By mid-book the reader has a pretty good idea that Washington had a mother who was a massive pain-in-the-you-know-what, that he was deeply conflicted about slavery, and that he really, really liked his clothes. But after awhile, the endless source documentation of each of these things did not add much to the knowledge base. At times it almost seemed as though the author were merely trying to get as much information on the page as possible with little regard for readability.

I slogged through this book over roughly 2 months, while reading others to break up the boredom. Was there a lot of information about Washington? Oh heck yeah. Did I learn some new things about him? Definitely. But for the average reader the information was is overkill. 5 stars for the dedicated research; 1 star for the storytelling. Both, to me, are equally important; hence this book earned 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Popular History, October 22, 2010
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Chernow's "Washington: A Life" really does not add much that is new or fresh to our understanding of Washington the man, although his inclusion of the recently catalogued Washington letters, artfully woven throughout the book, is long-overdue, refreshing, and welcome. Rather, what Chernow has done is set himself the task of finally collating the massive amount of scholarship on the "American Cincinnatus" into a unified explanation of Washington as we understand him. And I am pleased to report that he succeeds admirably, producing a solid, well-researched, engaging work of popular history freely accessible to most readers. And this alone is no mean feat. But what also stands out for me is the tone of the work.

I am not going to summarize the main threads of the book's arguments since the other reviewers have done so thoroughly and well. Suffice it to say, the other factor making this book so grand is its overall sense of balance. Chernow simply refuses to resurrect the breathless myth-culture of President Washington and present it as "fact," but neither does he diminish the man's amazing accomplishments. There is also no gloss of Washington's often paradoxical - even sometimes Quixotic - nature and the more unpleasant aspects of his character and life, not the least of which was his not-so-well sublimated vision of himself as a "Man of Destiny." Like Burlingame's "Lincoln" I reviewed a long time back, what Chernow produces is a person of "whole cloth," not an icon, and a person who had routine flashes of a certain kind of unique political genius and possessing what was, at heart, an elevating, evolving political conscience and sense of his place in history at exactly the right time and moment in the tumultuous history of the early American experiment.

This book is not a valentine or a love-letter, and not a hatchet job. It is popular history done well, the use of sources measured, balanced, and up-to-date, and the clearest biographical picture we have yet, I think, of Washington presented again to the American public at large as he most likely was. While it is not a microscopic biography, neither are there any curious omissions or leaps in Chernow's narrative of this fascinating life. Just first-rate all the way around.

Readable, engaging, comprehensive, and lavishly researched. It would be difficult to ask for more.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Needed and Definitive Biography of Cinncinatus, October 13, 2010
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Chernow's "Washington" sheds light on a founding father that many students of my generation know little about. It's refreshing to read this biography, especially after the magisterial work on Alexander Hamilton. The letters from Washington helps to fill in the gaps of the story we never knew and presented well by a master historian.

It's a long read, but well worth the long nights of stories about a great man. Undoubtedly, there will be some who look at this story and say that there are too many "ifs" in the story and call Chernow a one-sided historian as they did when Chernow wrote the biography on Hamilton. To me, these are parts of history because history cannot be seen as the definitive account of humanity as truths are socially constructed by the living. Chernow does an excellent job of pulling back the dusty curtains of history to give us a three-dimensional view of one of our greatest founding fathers, whose life has been shrouded in shadow by his taciturn nature and forbidding character.

The biography, like other commentators have already established, is very extensive and give a detailed account of how Washington grew from a repressed young boy under a illiterate mother to become the great general whose stoic personality lead America to final victory in the American Revolution. Cinncinatus is resurrected in his best incarnation within American History with interesting analysis on how he chose to be an impartial leader who acted in silence to make the best of a precarious situation for a seedling nation known as America.

In conclusion, this biography will be a defining authority on George Washington and his formerly mysterious life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Washington Bio yet, October 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Simply an amazing biography of George Washington! Comparable to James Flexner's bio, this is far more detailed in the fact that Chernow not so much breaks down the mythical ediface of Washington but explains him in such detail that the reader can actually get a sense of who he really was. Chernow digs deep into Washington's mind by citing the facts and primary sources that make him far more human than mythical. Though critcal of Washington on many issues, he is fair in reavealing that GW was driven by many normal human ambitions and was very critical about his image and his reputation. This was a great read and a must read for any American history reader who wants to learn more and enjoy learning about GW and the times he lived in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An 18th century picture through a 21st century lens, December 29, 2011
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Chernow's skills as a writer are beyond question. The book was an engaging read and provided insights into Washington that most books before it could not, thanks to Chernow's access to a large amount of source material that his predecessors lacked.

I think my main objection with this book is the same I have with most 21st century biographies. We have become a culture where journalists and now historians feel a penchant, if not an incumbency, to psychoanalyze the subject to death. While I appreciate the notion that to understand a man's actions we need to understand his psychology, the fact is that there is scant source material to back any of it up, and so we're left with a bevy of speculation that seems to be based on little but the authors own 21st century lenses.

For what's supposed to be an authoritative biography, there are far too many times in the book for my tastes where the author interjects his own speculation on missing pieces. More than any biography I've read before, this book contains so many "weasel words" such as "one would presume", "must have", "probably", and so on that it would make even a Wikipedia editor cringe. One glaring example is the authors seeming obsession with Washington's attraction to Sally Fairfax. Yes, in the few letters that exist, it's clear that Washington had a "schoolboy crush" on Mrs. Fairfax. But to extend these few pieces of evidence to make statements like "we will never know whether the relationship was consummated" is a bit of a stretch. Yes, such a statement is commonplace in the 21st century where promiscuity is rampant, but in the 1700s where only a few years earlier the crime of adultery was punishable by death, "one would presume" that infatuations seldom ran their full course as is so common today.

There were many other little things where the 21st century sensitivities (or lack thereof) grated on me. Once sentence describes Washington diary entry where he shot some bald eagles. The subsequent commentary goes something like "a curious triumph for the Father of His Country". Again, while not an unfair piece of commentary, I wonder how necessary it really is. It leads the 21st century reader to judge the man based on what we know today, rather than the world in which he lived.

The book also spends a lot of time talking about Washington's early life as a brooding, petulant child, as if a 26 year old man in the 1700s could be judged with the same measuring stick as a 26 year old kid today.

There is a portion of the book dedicated to that most controversial subject, Washington's religion. Because Washington lived by the principle of not flaunting his religion (which ironically is a Christian principle), there is not much source material on the subject. Over the years, many have used this to try to spin Washington into the image they want--some have called him a "Deist" who didn't believe in an active, living God, while others have painted him more as an evangelical figure whose every move was guided by religion. Chernow rightly debunks both points of view, providing quotes from his contemporaries as to what his beliefs were. While there are one or two quotes from people who questioned his religiosity, most people knew him to be a man of prayer who made private devotions in his library both morning and evening; tellingly, those accounts are from people who accidentally came across him during these times. But again, when looked through the 21st century lens and perhaps the personal bent of the author, many readers may be left to conclude that this was somehow rote or superficial rather than something which had a role in his daily life and his decision-making. It's telling that the author withheld any speculation on that front, while he was quick to speculate upon other salacious aspects of Washington's life.

There are plenty of examples like this where 18th century events are judged by a 21st century sensibility. While I understand the need of this to make these events readable and relevant to us today, I wish the book had done a better job of drawing us into the world as it was then so we could understand things through their eyes. Everything from the descriptions of slavery to the descriptions of how disloyal soldiers were treated make us cringe today, and yet these things were literally necessary for survival back then. That doesn't excuse them, but on the other hand by our predilection to focus so judgmentally on our historic figures' flaws on the past, we miss a golden opportunity to learn the things about their morals, and their strength of character that made them great. I see this book as a reaction to the "hero worship" biographies that have preceded it, but I do see it as going a little too far in the opposite direction.

I will not say that this is an unfair book, but it just wasn't for me. But it did get me to look up Washington's real diaries (available at the Library of Congress Website) to read the source material for myself, which is not a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chernow's Washington, November 3, 2010
By 
Drew Shaw "Drew" (Silver Spring, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
Ron Chernow, the author of a rare and needed biography on Alexander Hamilton, has penned one on the ultimate Founding Father, George Washington. Washington buffs steeped in Flexner's Indispensable Man will find little new here although Chernow devotes a great deal more time to the inner workings of Washington's mind, e.g. his constant striving for self-improvement and consistency, his feelings towards slavery and African-Americans. Also, the book tends to lose steam factually toward the end, e.g. his explanation of Washington's involvement in Potomac canals, the number of United States in the last years of Washington's administration etc. Still, the book is an entertaining read and a good introduction for those new to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Age of the Impetuous Man, November 19, 2010
This review is from: Washington: A Life (Hardcover)
This was a very in depth look at our first President. Chernow works hard to bring a realistic portrait of Washington and how he was viewed by others in his time. But I must say there were a lot of impetuous men in those days, as that seems to be the most frequent one word description Chernow applies of nearly everyone whom Washington can into contact. I came away from the book overall with a better understanding of what risks our forefathers undertook and how perilously close they came to failing. Had that been today's Congress, we would still all be POMEs (prisoners of mother england).
One grip I have with later 20th Century and early 21st Century historians is their need to explain away views and beliefs in the past that have since been disproved in a way to not bring down our belittlement on historical heros becasue they did not know or share the current views of society. Chernow attempts to make Washington's views on slavery as a life long internal struggle. I doubt that. Rather his views probably more closely echoed those of Martha who couldn't understand why her house slave ran away after she was taken care of so well.

Washington, Jefferson, Monroe et.al., were aristocratic southern planters through and through. And while there may be some slight differences in how they treated their slaves versus the stereotypical picture we have been taught tha tall slave owners were cruel and heartless, nevertheless they did view and treat them as slaves. We need to stand up and simply say so. That that was the main view of that day and it took another 200 plus years and lots of blood shed and inhumanity to change that. But that doesn't take away from what any of these men struggled to accomplish. Likewise to attempt to paint Abigail Adams or Marhta Washington or Dolly Madison as some type of proto-type feminist gets very hard to fathom. We need to accept the way history was at the time it was made and shy away from the revisionist attempts to paint it in a light more favorable to our current views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Washington: A Life
Washington: A Life by Ron Chernow (Hardcover - October 5, 2010)
$40.00 $27.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.