Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WASP ain't no hair band
I'm writing due to a bad review by another person. Most of the reviews for this album are 4-5 stars, but one individual gave them two stars because "it's hard to tell if they are taking themselves seriously or if the whole thing is a big joke." He continued to lump WASP in with the bands from the 80's as a whole saying "Fans of eighties metal like Motley Crue and Ratt may...
Published on September 28, 2005 by Jeff Zakany

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harumph!
Ya Know, I wish that amazon would expand the review system cuz 1 to 5 stars doesn't cut it. When I was a kid I idolized my big brother and any music he listened to, therefore from that perspective this album gets 12 stars. From a musical perspective it gets somewhere between 1.5 - 2. That being said it is a pretty good american metal album. I don't like to compare it to...
Published on January 26, 2008 by D. Austin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WASP ain't no hair band, September 28, 2005
This review is from: Wasp (Audio CD)
I'm writing due to a bad review by another person. Most of the reviews for this album are 4-5 stars, but one individual gave them two stars because "it's hard to tell if they are taking themselves seriously or if the whole thing is a big joke." He continued to lump WASP in with the bands from the 80's as a whole saying "Fans of eighties metal like Motley Crue and Ratt may find something of interest here, but bands like this were a dime a dozen in the eighties and most created music far superior to this."

Wow. This guy is way off the mark. I was around in the 80's, and I was (and still am) into much of the rock/metal from that era. I feel it is my duty to set the record straight.

Do they take thelmselves seriously? Yes and no. WASP's leader, Blackie Lawless, is a very intelligent, well-spoken person. He knows reality from fiction. The outlandish costumes, obnoxious lyrics, and over-the-top stage persona are not to be taken seriously. But their dedication to their fans and their intense, roaring, screaming brand of metal comes straight from the heart.

Fans of the 90's grunge sound do not realize that at one time Rock Stars and their bands were bigger than life. They were charismatic, confident icons who captivated legions of fans with live shows that were closer to a circus than a mere musical performance. Their songs were a vehicle to escape the BS we must deal with in the real world. THAT is WASP!

Those 90's grunge bands think they should be taken seriously because they whine, moan and complain about the pain and anxiety in today's world? HA! They are so depressing they make me want to slit my wrists. They say "Our live shows are all about the music, not the flash", so they go onstage in T-shirts and jeans and have no fireworks, effects, or anything. What a rip-off. I've been to many shows by many of today's leading rock bands and left feeling like I was ripped off. The laugh at the pics and video's from the 80's metal bands and say "It was all about the look...they didn't even care about the music." WHATEVER! For us fans the music was ALWAYS the main attraction to the band. WASP is still releasing albums and touring after 20 years. If the music was weak they would have faded years ago.

WASP started in the 80's, but trust me...the average Bon Jovi fan did not listen to them. WASP is obnoxious, in-you-face, loud, screaming, crank-it-up, party-till-you-puke, no-frills Heavy Metal, and this album is one of their best.

If you are depressed, hate life, hate the world, and constantly feel like blowing your brains out I would recommend Nirvana, Pearl Jam and a good psychiatrist. If you are an arrogant snob who feels that intelligent people only listen to songs that tackle the social issues of the day I would recommend REM and a good dose of reality. Conversely, if your idea of dealing with today's world is throwing a finger in the air an screaming, "Bring It On!", then this album is for you."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL DEBUT, September 25, 2004
By 
ALEX CANTU (Queretaro, MEX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wasp (Audio CD)
When KISS and ALICE COOPER came out with a shocking show, sticky tunes, easy listening songs; too many bands tried to copy the same line. Just a few ones evolve into something good (WASP, MOTLEY CRUE, TWISTED SISTER and maybe another one that I don't remember right now).

Well, WASP at first sight, when they came out (1983) seemed like a tight band, just as Van Halen, Def Leppard, Bon Jovi, Etc. The members seemed to have a good time but in a few months the one that standed out and stayed in the band was Blackie Lawless. And they seemed tight because they sounded great together. Maybe they weren't as big as some other bands did in the 80's but with this CD they printed a mark on those days.

WASP had a bad attitude with melodic songs, they sound hard and fast but very melodic. Blackie has a voice that only his image could fit, deep and very high range. This album almost did it as a classic, maybe if they had stayed together more time they would have been bigger.

The uptempo part of the CD is "I wanna be somebody", "L.O.V.E. Machine", "School daze", "On your knees", "The torture never stops", we have a very slow (at least for them) and very nice song "Sleeping (In the fire), and not as fast but very dark and crushing are "B.A.D.", "Tha flame", "Hellion", "Tormentor". The music on this CD is very diverse and enjoyable.

On this new edition they included the first EP that they released and it was called ANIMAL (F*!" like a beast). For my taste, they spread the songs cleverly. First they put "Animal" and at the end they include "Show no mercy" and "Paint it Black". This EP was very hard to find in those days (well, at least here in Mexico).

"Animal" is almost as good as any song on the original release, very fast and raw. "Show no mercy" pretty much the same and "Paint it black" is a cover from the Stones and all I can say is that WASP should stick to their music. The cover is bad and frankly I don't like it.

On this edition they included a lot of band information. They printed the original pictures that came on the album but the quality is quite bad because the photos are very grainy and it looks like a copy of a copy.

Is this one recommended? Yes, of course it is.

Highlights: I wanna be somebody, Sleeping (in the fire)
Lowlights: Paint it black
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few 80's bands that had TEETH!, December 10, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Wasp (Audio CD)
Unlike most 80's metal like Motley Crue, Bon Jovi and Poison, WASP was the only glam band with teeth to it, they had an argressive sound and some preety shocking song subjects. Notice i didn't call them "pop" metal either, that was one of the greatest things about WASP back in the day, they didn't write BS about partying or breaking up with your girlfreind like %90 of 80's cheese rock bands did.No,they wrote about "F"ing like a beast and being tortured,having orgys of blood at their concerts.WASP is the only 80's band i like,they were just different from the pack of jovis,ratts,sisters,cindrellas,and wingers of the day. WASP's debut album is there best (the last command is ALMOST as good as this) there is the outragoues "f" like a beast, the obnoxious fist pumping "i wanna be somebody", the hilarious "school days","the flame" and more on this album.

it's weird because i ussaly don't like 80's rock, espessicaly glam metal, but i love this. Blackie lawless was just a bad @$$ frontman,he rules. Overall, this album is nothing short of perfect and you will have a fun time listening to it as i did, just don't expect any intelligent or meaningful songs here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SLEEPING IN THE FIRE, March 19, 2002
By 
Michael Courtney "exiled01" (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: W.A.S.P. (Audio CD)
Absolutely the best single release by W.A.S.P.! This was a phenomenal album when it first came out and the CD is still great to listen to today. This is metal at it's finest! The band would continue to put out good material for years to come, but in my opinion, this was the pinnacle of their creative careers. Every song here is good, whether it is heavy or slow. If I had to pick a weakest moment it would be the track "Hellion", simply because I can't even remember it at 3 in the morning, but the others ring loud and clear.
As far as good songs go, there is more than an ample supply. Tracks worth a close listen include "B.A.D.", "School Daze", "On Your Knees", "Tormentor", and "The Torture Never Stops". Exceptional songs that should have been huge hits are "I Wanna Be Somebody", "The Flame", "LOVE Machine" and my favorite "Sleeping in the Fire". The bonus tracks make this an even better deal as you get "Animal", a great version of "Paint It Black", and "Show No Mercy".
Blackie Lawless vocals are very good on this CD, but the high point is probably the guitar work of Chris Holmes and Randy Piper. Not quite as good as the twin leads of Thin Lizzy, but very good indeed! The production and musicianship make this an excellent release. NO great metal collection should be complete without this recording. This is one of my 100 all-time best. If you like this you may try HEADLESS CHILDREN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that launched the most outrageous band in rock!, March 2, 2000
This review is from: W.A.S.P. (Audio CD)
I really like this album. It may seem cheesy but it is 100% real rock and roll. Every song on this masterpeice is simply bursting with Raw Heavy Metal energy. My favourite songs on this album are 'Hellion', 'Animal', 'I wanna be somebody' and 'School Daze'. The guitar work is great on this album, Chris Holmes is a great guitarist. All the songs are very well written, Blackie Lawless is a materful METAL songwriter who writes music that should be listened to at MAXIMUM VOLUME.
This album come highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever Cool, Ever Fresh, ever WASP!, February 22, 2005
This review is from: W.A.S.P. (Audio CD)
(My review scale: 1- Bad, 2- Average, 3- Good, 4- Very Good, 5- Excellent/Classic)

Of course it was easy to be fresh if you were WASP in 1984, and that's what this furious debut was, even if it wasn't completely original. WASP's debut fits alongside Ratt's, Out of the Cellar; Quiet Riot's, Metal Health and Motley Crue's, Shout at the Devil, in terms of 80's metal impact! It is a masterpiece of melodic metal pounding!

WASP, fronted by Blackie Lawless (who's only former claim to fame was being a member of the New York Dolls for about 10 minutes) came storming out of the L.A. club scene with the kind of reputation reserved for criminals. Stories of their wild stage show, featuring naked women chained to racks, raw meat, beheadings, and discount ticket prices for fans showing up at shows with a pint of blood (all donated to the Red Cross) made WASP legends before they ever had a record deal. A hard legend to live up to, but with this 1984 release, man, did they EVER live up to the billing. The bottom line here is that while it could be easy to dismiss WASP due to their over the top theatrics, there's not a single throwaway track on this album!!!

You start with the ultimate WASP anthem, "I Wanna Be Somebody", which is among the best metal songs of all time. Then the almost as catchy "L.O.V.E. Machine", which came along with a video that video channels refused to play in many countries, including Much Music in my own beloved Canada. (It does get airplay 20 years later on the Much Loud channel)

Smoking rocker "The Flame" continues side one's relentless pace, as it stretches Blackie "Doom Brother" Lawless' vocal range. Side one ends off with good rockers, "B.A.D." and "School Daze".

From the good old vinyl days, side two of this disk just keeps blasting! "The Hellion" is furious energy! "Sleeping (In the Fire) is a nice power ballad. The last three songs on this disk just COOK! "On Your Knees" is one of their best, while "Tormentor" foreshadows Blackie's future sound a bit. The album closes with the heavy and fast, "The Torture Never Stops".

This album is just so damn good! It features the original and BEST lineup of the band, Blackie, Randy Piper, Chris Holmes and Tony Richards. Leather, studs, bolts, nails, chainsaw codpieces, blood, sex, violence, lunacy...and rock and roll! This special 80's Metal release will always be among my faves! The added songs on the CD release are totally unnecessary. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hellova fiery debut album, June 6, 2004
This review is from: W.A.S.P. (Audio CD)
W.A.S.P.(1984). W.A.S.P.'s debut album.
Back in the early to mid 80s, glam metal was beginning to surface, with many of those bands like Def Leppard and Quiet Riot coming out of the earlier NWOBHM scene (New Wave Of British Heavy Metal to the uneducated). At the time, most of these glam metal bands were just starting out and the scene wasn't satuated with tons of cookie cutter bands and ridiculous clothing yet (that would come into effect in 1986). So many were just concerned with writing good hardrock/heavy metal songs. To me, I've always found the better glam metal bands to be the ones that always borderlined on real heavy metal music, but stayed commercial enough to keep in the realm of the glam metal genre. These include Twisted Sister, Kick Axe, and of course, W.A.S.P. This Los Angeles based band consists of lead singer/bass guitarist Blackie Lawless, lead guitarists Chris Holmes and Randy Piper, and drummer Tony Richards. This band appears as a much darker act than most glam metal bands, especially with their Priest-esque leather & studs outfits and the bloody stage props. Cheesy, yes, but it sort of adds to the appeal, and they're not overworked on the looks like say... Poison or Cinderella. With all the disgusting props, these guys were sure to be shunned by anyone associated with the Washington Wives, Tipper Gore and Susan Baker. Anyways, the music is what's really important, and in that they truly deliver. Sounding like a perfect medium between Quiet Riot and Twisted Sister, W.A.S.P. serves up 10 tracks of pure metal anthems, with nary a filler moment to be found. And thanks to the 1998 remaster treatment, not only do the tracks sound better than ever, but we also get three bonus tracks, including the A-side which was previously only available on their first single. Let's take a look at W.A.S.P.'s debut.
Starting things up is the aformentioned "unreleased" A-side, 'Animal (FLAB)'. This was an excellent track and I'm definitely glad to see it on here, though you can clearly see why is was originally cut. The next two catchy, bouncy rockers, 'I Wanna Be Somebody' and 'L.O.V.E. Machine' follow nicely, and are easy to get stuck in your head. 'The Flame' is a rocker which definitely brings to mind Metal Health-era Quiet Riot. 'B.A.D.' slows the pace down, but it's still very noteworthy. If anything is to be said, it's that W.A.S.P. likes to use initialed words in ther song titles, much like Anthrax. 'School Daze' is sort of your typical "rebel kid" anthem. Then there's the awesome fast rocker 'Hellion' (NOT the Judas Priest song), which sports a giant chorus. 'Sleeping In The Fire' is the album's ballad, though not a wimpy ballad by any means. 'On Your Knees' is a favorite blazing rocker of mine, and 'Tormentor' pounds all the way through. 'The Torture Never Stops' is a galloping rocker, like a cross between Iron Maiden and Yngwie Malmsteen. Both the B-sides are a welcome addition as well. 'Show No Mercy' sounds very similar to 'On Your Knees', and 'Paint It Black' is an excellent Stones cover, and does the original great justice.
If you're a fan of Quiet Riot and/or Twisted Sister, you will be right at home with W.A.S.P.'s debut. It has plenty of catchy metal anthems to bang your head to, and most importantly, it rocks like few can! So it gets my full 5 stars. I haven't checked out W.A.S.P.'s other albums yet, but I'm sure they've followed suit to the debut's style. I believe they're still around today. Simply put, if you want a decent glam metal band that plays good and memorable songs, but without all the decadent qualities, then W.A.S.P. is your prime pick. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Other similar albums:
-'Metal Health' by Quiet Riot
-'Vices' by Kick Axe
-'Under The Blade' by Twisted Sister
-'You Can't Stop Rock N Roll' by Twisted Sister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review for .... W.A.S.P., May 24, 2005
This review is from: Wasp (Audio CD)
This album is truely great. This is by far their best album. People say the lyrics are not-up-to-perfection, but comparing to other bands, they are on top of there game. The album came out in mid 80s' so you know its good automatically. If other bands and albums were this good, then the world would be a better place. This album kills other genres and proves to be a stomping stone for metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A disc of unappologetic power!, November 12, 2004
This review is from: W.A.S.P. (Audio CD)
In 1984, a friend played a cassette featuring a song called Animal. The story was that the label refused to release it. Naturally we all had to hear it. Despite it's controversy, animal is actually a damn catchy little number.

Later that year, I snuck into First Ave(Mpls nightclub) to see Armored Saint, Metallica and....WASP! The whole reason for going was to see WASP and their legendary stage show. The two opening bands were awesome(looking back it is funny to think of a time when Metallica was just an underground band with a buzz) but Blackie Lawless and co made the night special. Blackie stepping out, 6'6 with boots and a buzz-saw blade on his cod piece, left a definite impression. I walked away hooked on this band that was too dangerous for mid-America.

On this re-release of the album that started it all, Animal is included, along with Show No Mercy and Paint It Black. As I said, despite it's subtitle, Animal is actually a decent song.

The album proper starts out with I Wanna Be Somebody, a thundering number that is the quintessential teen anthem, even now I want to raise my fist in the air and my teen years are long behind me. L.O.V.E. Machine follows and is a mid tempo dong about...well...not really love but sex. Hey, Blackie wrote it, you can't really expect it to be sentimental. School Daze is a far nastier song than Alice Cooper's Schools out. "Fire Bell is ringing hell and I'd sure like to see it blaze.....BURN IT DOWN!"

Songs like Tormentor and The Torture Never Stops certainly added to W.A.S.P.'s reputation as being satanic and sinister. Sleeping In The Fire is beautiful and dark.

Honestly, this album has a dated sound, but the songs are still enjoyable after all these years. The truth is that W.A.S.P. put out a heavy, tight album of catchy tunes. I would certainly buy it again, especially this version with the bonus cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is 80's metal at it's best, December 2, 2004
This review is from: Wasp (Audio CD)
W.A.S.P. may have changed a lot over the years. Like Black Sabbath and Megadeth, W.A.S.P. has had a rotating assembly of players with one man being the anchor of it all. Blackie Lawless is W.A.S.P. I have listened to W.A.S.P. since their debut when I was in 8th grade and never went away.

This is one of the greatest 80's albums and an awesome debut for a band that was to go on for over twenty years. All the songs here are great and some are classic. The opening "I Wanna be Somebody" was and is a great anthem. This song will never die. It doesn't slow up with L.O.V.E. Machine either.

"The Flame" is one of my all time favorite WASP tunes and I wish Blackie still performed this one live.

"School Daze" is everything why the glory of 80's metal is so fondly remembered. It's furious, juvenille, and rebellious. I love it.

The Hellion is a favorite of Blackie's and 'The Torture Never Stops' kicks ass.

If you want your old school metal, W.A.S.P.'s debut will kick you into high gear. Chris Holmes stood by Blackie the longest and has some great guitar solos.

But what the hell ever did happen to drummer Toni Richards? After this album he just disappeared off the face of the earth. Blackie claims to have shot him for having bad breath, and back in the 80's you would have believed it. So who knows.

W.A.S.P. was at the top of their game on this release and they were only to grow and get better as time went on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wasp
Wasp by The Pretty Things (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.