Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has it all. Action, romance, mystery - GREAT READ!!
Review done by Carlyn, Book Monster's Reviewer

When David is released by his master from 250 years of sensory deprived captivity he is thrust into the world of life, color and touch. When he is sent to a club to locate his mark he can't keep his eyes away from a beautiful woman named Beka but he know he must not give in to his desires as it would transform him...
Published on November 16, 2011 by Carla Gallway

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars paranormal tale of dark angels
Having been recently released from two hundred and fifty years of solitary confinement for having failed in his last mission, David is sent by the Master, Lucifer's right hand man Locien, to bring in his new mark, a young girl named Jessica or face another quarter century in torment.
David, already four centuries old, was sold into this blood contract with the demon...
Published on June 17, 2012 by Mark P. Sadler


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has it all. Action, romance, mystery - GREAT READ!!, November 16, 2011
This review is from: Wasteland (Paperback)
Review done by Carlyn, Book Monster's Reviewer

When David is released by his master from 250 years of sensory deprived captivity he is thrust into the world of life, color and touch. When he is sent to a club to locate his mark he can't keep his eyes away from a beautiful woman named Beka but he know he must not give in to his desires as it would transform him into a full demon and he wants to keep his last shred of humanity for as long as he can. When he finds out that Beka and her brother are Guardian's, whose job it is to protect the mark he was sent to retrieve, David has to decide whether to betray Beka, his master or himself.

I really enjoyed this book and couldn't read the pages fast enough. David has had a really crappy life. His mother sold him to the devil before he was even born and he must do his masters bidding or he suffers for it. When he is first released from his most recent captivity he is overwhelmed and out of touch with the times but he is watched by another demon who likes nothing more than to taunt and tempt him. His reaction to Beka is beautiful as he knows he cannot touch her. He is the perfect mix of alpha male with a lot of vulnerability thrown in. Beka is so different from him she is everything that is good and doesn't have any problem with protecting herself. She is intrigued by David as soon as she meets him but she doesn't know he is a demon. When David saves Beka and betrays his own kind he realizes he must try to find a way to get out of his contract and he realizes that his mark could be the key.

This book had it all. Action, romance, mystery and kept me guessing until the last minute. It is beautifully written and so easy to follow that it was a pleasure to read. I would recommend this to anyone who likes, angels, demons, action, romance and a story that will keep you up till 3am because you just couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars paranormal tale of dark angels, June 17, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Paperback)
Having been recently released from two hundred and fifty years of solitary confinement for having failed in his last mission, David is sent by the Master, Lucifer's right hand man Locien, to bring in his new mark, a young girl named Jessica or face another quarter century in torment.
David, already four centuries old, was sold into this blood contract with the demon as the unborn spawn of a poor girl who sought a life of wealth and riches but who died in childbirth, leaving her child to the evil biding of demonic powers. He is unusual in that through the pact his mother made he remains half human, half-demon, taunted and tempted by his Master to have relations with a woman and change into a full-fledged demon. He had resisted for over four hundred years until this night when in a bar, surrounded by scantily clad females he meets and falls head-over-heels for Beka.
Beka comes from a long line of Guardians, appointed to kill demons and guard girls like Jessica, whose destiny it is to help save mankind from the powers of Locien and his ilk. She too feels a strong pull for David and so the relationship between the two enemies sprouts much to the dismay and amazement of their followers until through Jessica the long awaited destiny, set into motion generations ago is fully revealed.
This high-action, sexy paranormal story is full of graphic demonic battles, romantic liaisons with a tormented but honorable hero and strong female lead that make this story a sweeping epic; a dark and mysterious page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets the Bar High for New Adult Genre, March 27, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Kindle Edition)
This was the first New Adult genre book for me. It not only satisfied my curiosity about the genre bridging Young Adult to Adult but gave me high expectations for future books I'll read. Rush hits the audience right on target. The storyline is sophisticated enough to satisfy the adult paranormal romance reader while also keeping an innocence that I love about YA. It was a page-turner for me. This is a requirement since I am picky and don't get enough reading time. I also liked the male viewpoint, and I think Rush does it well. David Sadler had my sympathies from the very beginning of the story. To be honest, I didn't expect that from a demon. I recommend this to paranormal romance fans who long to see the mixture of steamy + innocence that was always in my old fav show, Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked! Hot Paranormal Romance & Lynn Rush, June 23, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Paperback)
This book was an introduction to paranormal romance for me, and now I am totally hooked on the genre. At least I am for stories written by Lynn Rush. Her character development was so complete, I felt I knew David & Beca ... guardians, demons or humans ... they all captured my attention and heart.

Put this book on your must read list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Debut, June 11, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Paperback)
I really liked the premise of this story. I felt the idea was unique and I really enjoyed teh voice in which it was written. David and Beka's story was intriguing and I liked that there were plenty of twists in the plot and revelations. And don't forget the sweet romance.

My only complaint (and it's just a minor one) is that at some points in the book the battle scenes and/or the thoughts became a bit repetitive. This certainly wouldn't keep me from reading the next installment in Ms. Rush's series. ~ Jo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasteland, April 3, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Kindle Edition)
The author's vivid accounts of the dramatic scenes is intoxicating. You can feel the struggle between good and evil in a way that transcends the story. The protagonist is strong and developed and is easy to fall in love with. Action and romance carry you effortlessly through this captivating tale. For those that enjoy reading paranormal or romantic novels, this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far beyond incredible! Heart pumping, and fast paced., March 6, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Paperback)
From the beginning, Lynn Rush not only left me, but has also left the main character named David, a little confused as to why he was made to attend such a party with girls throwing themselves at him, trying to release his other side. His evil side. Was it just a coincidence that he was released from his sentence two-hundred and fifty years early? He's thinking not, and I'm thinking the same way he is.
David isn't regular like you or me. He is half human, half demon. Over four hundred years old. Wow right?! And to top things off, he has been fighting that inner demon all this time, because to give into it, would mean to let it consume him and take over. He doesn't want that one bit. So, with that being said, all these years, David has fought to avoid women at all costs. To give into the sexual desire of them would give into the demon. This is one strong man I tell you!
Now, just because he has been released from his sentence, doesn't mean he can go as he pleases. It's not like that. He still has to take orders. The orders that he has been given were to find the 'mark' which is actually a woman, and he is given very few details to go on, and even shorter time. Luckily, he has found the guardian of this 'mark'. Ready for another catch? It's good! He can't help but find something about the guardian that is just irresistible! Her name is Beka, and he ends up spending more time with her, which, yes, does lead him to what he is looking for, but he is falling for Beka, and the only way to get the girl is by killing the guardian. He can't kill her. There is too much goodness in him. Hmmm...
It is when he is told that the 'mark' isn't just supposed to be some random catch for him to bring back, but something far more than that to David. Something that can save him that gets him to thinking. What's so special about this young girl, what can she do, and how can she save him from himself?
Just when you think it's over, just when you think it's all done and the storm is calm, nothing is settled at all. Things are just getting stirred up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A positively refreshing read, January 24, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Kindle Edition)
From page one, Wasteland jumps right into the tortuous life of David; a half-demon who either has to resist temptations, or succumb to his demon half - for good. No sooner had I started reading, that I realized this is not your average YA novel. It has a lot of mature content and a sophisticated prose that will appeal to older YA fans.

David is a tortured soul. He wants nothing more than to be free of his demon half who screams to let him loose. It's distressing to see what he goes through every day, but his strength, his goodness, is remarkable. He's an all around fantastic character. Simply having a male protagonist is wonderful. I've come to really enjoy books written in a male's POV. We see David develop a connection with Beka almost instantly. However, it doesn't seem rushed or unbelievable. It's written in a way that you can see to the depths of his core and feel his attraction to her. It's not simply lust, nor is it the cliché love at first sight (or insta-love if you wish) that we often see in today's YA novels. They just have this bond that you can feel from the start. And Beka as his own personal forbidden fruit, makes this a positively maddening romance. It was great! The steamy scenes are very intense and give these characters an immense amount of chemistry; almost unbearable at times. I would not recommend this to younger teens. I even think it's classified in the new "new adult" genre. As a non-teenage YA reader, I thought it was perfect for the sophisticated storyline. It has the flow of a YA novel, but the maturity of an adult's.

Wasteland is the definition of action packed! Fast paced and full of unexpected turns- It's easy to get immersed in this book and lose track of time. The world building is interwoven in the plot in a way that gives enough details to make us incessantly curious, but without bogging down the story. This is also great for creating excellent turnabouts in the plot. As the first book in a series, I was not expecting the ample amount of story development that we got. The ending is also reminiscent of a stand-alone. As I looked into it further - the next installment feels more like a companion, as it's the story of one of the secondary characters from Wasteland. I'm truly delighted by this since I get tired of series that either drag on a story until it turns into a jumbled mess, or simply feel like one book divided in 3 (or more).

A positively refreshing read; I recommend Wasteland to paranormal fans who crave just a bit more out of their YA novels. You can expect a hot romance, captivating storylines and a fantastic world- which, by the way, holds awesome fight scenes that would be brilliant on the big screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LITERAL ADDICTION's Review of Wasteland, January 22, 2012
This review is from: Wasteland (Paperback)
Wasteland
Author: Lynn Rush

Synopsis: Bound by the blood contract his human mother signed four centuries ago, half-demon, David Sadler, must obey his demonic Master's order to capture fifteen-year-old Jessica Hanks. But as he learns more about her, he realizes she may be the key to freedom from his dark enslavement.
The only obstacle-Jessica's distractingly beautiful Guardian, Rebeka Abbott. He must not give in to their steamy chemistry, or he will lose his humanity. But fresh off a quarter millennia of sensory deprivation as punishment for not retrieving his last target, he may not be able to resist temptation long enough to save what's left of his human soul.

Our Review [by a LITERAL ADDICTION Associate Guest Reviewer]:
When David is released by his master from 250 years of sensory deprived captivity he is thrust into the world of life, color and touch. When he is sent to a club to locate his mark he can't keep his eyes away from a beautiful woman named Beka but he know he must not give in to his desires as it would transform him into a full demon and he wants to keep his last shred of humanity for as long as he can. When he finds out that Beka and her brother are Guardian's, whose job it is to protect the mark he was sent to retrieve, David has to decide whether to betray Beka, his master or himself.
I really enjoyed this book and couldn't read the pages fast enough. David has had a really crappy life. His mother sold him to the devil before he was even born and he must do his masters bidding or he suffers for it. When he is first released from his most recent captivity he is overwhelmed and out of touch with the times but he is watched by another demon who likes nothing more than to taunt and tempt him. His reaction to Beka is beautiful as he knows he cannot touch her. He is the perfect mix of alpha male with a lot of vulnerability thrown in. Beka is so different from him she is everything that is good and doesn't have any problem with protecting herself. She is intrigued by David as soon as she meets him but she doesn't know he is a demon. When David saves Beka and betrays his own kind he realizes he must try to find a way to get out of his contract and he realizes that his mark could be the key.
This book had it all. Action, romance, mystery and kept me guessing until the last minute. It is beautifully written and so easy to follow that it was a pleasure to read. I would recommend this to anyone who likes, angels, demons, action, romance and a story that will keep you up till 3am because you just couldn't put it down!
LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Guest Reviewer gives Wasteland 5 Skulls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wasteland (Kindle Edition)
Loved it!! Lynn never disappoints. I loved David and Beka's story and the concept was well written and different from a lot of books in the same genre. This was action packed fast paced and a grab you by the seat of your pants and pull you along story. Can't wait to read books 2 and 3!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wasteland
Wasteland by Lynn Rush (Paperback - August 1, 2011)
$14.99 $10.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.