Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
65
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 16, 2011
Review done by Carlyn, Book Monster's Reviewer

When David is released by his master from 250 years of sensory deprived captivity he is thrust into the world of life, color and touch. When he is sent to a club to locate his mark he can't keep his eyes away from a beautiful woman named Beka but he know he must not give in to his desires as it would transform him into a full demon and he wants to keep his last shred of humanity for as long as he can. When he finds out that Beka and her brother are Guardian's, whose job it is to protect the mark he was sent to retrieve, David has to decide whether to betray Beka, his master or himself.

I really enjoyed this book and couldn't read the pages fast enough. David has had a really crappy life. His mother sold him to the devil before he was even born and he must do his masters bidding or he suffers for it. When he is first released from his most recent captivity he is overwhelmed and out of touch with the times but he is watched by another demon who likes nothing more than to taunt and tempt him. His reaction to Beka is beautiful as he knows he cannot touch her. He is the perfect mix of alpha male with a lot of vulnerability thrown in. Beka is so different from him she is everything that is good and doesn't have any problem with protecting herself. She is intrigued by David as soon as she meets him but she doesn't know he is a demon. When David saves Beka and betrays his own kind he realizes he must try to find a way to get out of his contract and he realizes that his mark could be the key.

This book had it all. Action, romance, mystery and kept me guessing until the last minute. It is beautifully written and so easy to follow that it was a pleasure to read. I would recommend this to anyone who likes, angels, demons, action, romance and a story that will keep you up till 3am because you just couldn't put it down!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
Thanks to the deal his mother made with Lucifer before his birth, David is a half breed demon stuck serving a sadistic demon master with little hope of ever breaking free of the contract. We meet David right after he is freed from a two hundred and forty-five year stint caged in sensory deprivation. His master pulls David from the punishing cage five years early and sends him out on a job before he is given a chance to adjust, his deprived senses still on overload. Once again set loose in the human realm, David learns his mark is a fifteen-year-old girl. There is a reason David's master sends him to a nightclub in search of the girl. Should David ever give in to temptation and bed one of the beautiful women set in his path, he'll lose the battle with his demon side and become a full demon with no hope of ever escaping his master's cruel hand. Anything honest and good left inside him would be destroyed forever.

But David's mark is not left without protection from one such as him. She has been placed under the watchful eye of two powerful Guardians, a brother and sister, both who are willing to give up their lives to protect their young charge. Normally this wouldn't be enough to stop one such as David, but Beka, one of the Guardians protecting his mark, is beautiful and a temptation he might not be able to resist. It doesn't help when Beka is also attracted to him. She feels a connection with him even though her brother recognizes David's demon side and the threat he posed to the girl they must protect at all costs.

Wasteland gave me everything I could hope for when choosing a paranormal romance. Tension begins to build right from the start as we watch David fight for control of the demon inside him (literally). He must risk everything and switch sides if he wants to keep the woman he loves alive and safe, even if it risks another tortured two hundred and fifty years placed in sensory deprivation. Can he dare to hope the Guardians speak the truth when they say his mark can help him overcome his demon side? But only if he hands her over to them instead of his master. The pace is fast and fun with plenty of fight scenes for those of you who love lots of action. A worthy five star read by author Lynn Rush.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Loved it!! Lynn never disappoints. I loved David and Beka's story and the concept was well written and different from a lot of books in the same genre. This was action packed fast paced and a grab you by the seat of your pants and pull you along story. Can't wait to read books 2 and 3!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
The beautifully crafted conflict and angelic romance in Wasteland will keep you turning the pages until you find yourself soaring above the clouds. We all have to make some tough choices in life and David's dilemma is the ultimate quandary in deciding which side of the double edged sword would he most like to have slice him wide open. "Battling your demons" is a cliché that many of us use but for David, the demon is horribly real and part of his genetic make-up. He is even forced to use his "dark side" to survive but also to avail his direction in life- he must also contend with the possibility that "the demon" could destroy him and send him skittering into the woeful burning eternity of Hell.

Lynn Rush expertly uses a few twists and turns in the plot of the story that will make you cringe and wonder how it's possible that a romantic love between two souls could ever survive such tumultuous situations and even more; how could the destiny of humanity endure to face its ultimate fate. So, spread your angelic wings and take flight with this story- buy the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2011
I couldn't wait to read Lynn's debut novel. And the wait was worth it. Lots of action, steamy love scenes without being gauche, and I LOVE it that the protag is male. Lynn does a great job of creating conflict and a likable main character, despite his being a demon! Of course, it helps that he resists his bad side. AND, the fight scenes are fab. I read this from cover to cover, stopping only (begrudgingly) for meals. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. Lynn is definitely an author to follow!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2012
Wasteland
Author: Lynn Rush

Synopsis: Bound by the blood contract his human mother signed four centuries ago, half-demon, David Sadler, must obey his demonic Master's order to capture fifteen-year-old Jessica Hanks. But as he learns more about her, he realizes she may be the key to freedom from his dark enslavement.
The only obstacle-Jessica's distractingly beautiful Guardian, Rebeka Abbott. He must not give in to their steamy chemistry, or he will lose his humanity. But fresh off a quarter millennia of sensory deprivation as punishment for not retrieving his last target, he may not be able to resist temptation long enough to save what's left of his human soul.

Our Review [by a LITERAL ADDICTION Associate Guest Reviewer]:
When David is released by his master from 250 years of sensory deprived captivity he is thrust into the world of life, color and touch. When he is sent to a club to locate his mark he can't keep his eyes away from a beautiful woman named Beka but he know he must not give in to his desires as it would transform him into a full demon and he wants to keep his last shred of humanity for as long as he can. When he finds out that Beka and her brother are Guardian's, whose job it is to protect the mark he was sent to retrieve, David has to decide whether to betray Beka, his master or himself.
I really enjoyed this book and couldn't read the pages fast enough. David has had a really crappy life. His mother sold him to the devil before he was even born and he must do his masters bidding or he suffers for it. When he is first released from his most recent captivity he is overwhelmed and out of touch with the times but he is watched by another demon who likes nothing more than to taunt and tempt him. His reaction to Beka is beautiful as he knows he cannot touch her. He is the perfect mix of alpha male with a lot of vulnerability thrown in. Beka is so different from him she is everything that is good and doesn't have any problem with protecting herself. She is intrigued by David as soon as she meets him but she doesn't know he is a demon. When David saves Beka and betrays his own kind he realizes he must try to find a way to get out of his contract and he realizes that his mark could be the key.
This book had it all. Action, romance, mystery and kept me guessing until the last minute. It is beautifully written and so easy to follow that it was a pleasure to read. I would recommend this to anyone who likes, angels, demons, action, romance and a story that will keep you up till 3am because you just couldn't put it down!
LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Guest Reviewer gives Wasteland 5 Skulls.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2011
A review of Wasteland by Lynn Rush
By Lindsay Downs
When I opened up this book in my Kindle I knew two things. The first had to do with the cover, a single pure white feather seemingly floating against a background of dark blue, bordering on black in spots. The other, was this was a book about good vs. evil.
The cover image has a deep impact with the story, one that I didn't understand until almost the end.
Now, when I say good vs. evil, I mean just that. And good readers, I'm talking about the two big guys and you know whom I'm talking about. Then, Lynn slips in one more battle, a fight for David to maintain his soul.
From the very beginning of this book, one that I couldn't put down until the end, Lynn takes us a mystical fantastic journey and not only does David fight his internal demons but as he with Beka alongside fight for the souls of humanity.
This book is a must read and I can't wait for the next one in the series. To that note I'm giving Wasteland four collies and a sheltie, which for those of you unfamiliar with my scoring that is four and a half out of five.
Kudos to Lynn for such a wonderful read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2012
From page one, Wasteland jumps right into the tortuous life of David; a half-demon who either has to resist temptations, or succumb to his demon half - for good. No sooner had I started reading, that I realized this is not your average YA novel. It has a lot of mature content and a sophisticated prose that will appeal to older YA fans.

David is a tortured soul. He wants nothing more than to be free of his demon half who screams to let him loose. It's distressing to see what he goes through every day, but his strength, his goodness, is remarkable. He's an all around fantastic character. Simply having a male protagonist is wonderful. I've come to really enjoy books written in a male's POV. We see David develop a connection with Beka almost instantly. However, it doesn't seem rushed or unbelievable. It's written in a way that you can see to the depths of his core and feel his attraction to her. It's not simply lust, nor is it the cliché love at first sight (or insta-love if you wish) that we often see in today's YA novels. They just have this bond that you can feel from the start. And Beka as his own personal forbidden fruit, makes this a positively maddening romance. It was great! The steamy scenes are very intense and give these characters an immense amount of chemistry; almost unbearable at times. I would not recommend this to younger teens. I even think it's classified in the new "new adult" genre. As a non-teenage YA reader, I thought it was perfect for the sophisticated storyline. It has the flow of a YA novel, but the maturity of an adult's.

Wasteland is the definition of action packed! Fast paced and full of unexpected turns- It's easy to get immersed in this book and lose track of time. The world building is interwoven in the plot in a way that gives enough details to make us incessantly curious, but without bogging down the story. This is also great for creating excellent turnabouts in the plot. As the first book in a series, I was not expecting the ample amount of story development that we got. The ending is also reminiscent of a stand-alone. As I looked into it further - the next installment feels more like a companion, as it's the story of one of the secondary characters from Wasteland. I'm truly delighted by this since I get tired of series that either drag on a story until it turns into a jumbled mess, or simply feel like one book divided in 3 (or more).

A positively refreshing read; I recommend Wasteland to paranormal fans who crave just a bit more out of their YA novels. You can expect a hot romance, captivating storylines and a fantastic world- which, by the way, holds awesome fight scenes that would be brilliant on the big screen!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2012
Can anything good come out of hell? Apparently so. Wasteland is a tale of love and redemption. One man's story of meeting the love of his life and his willingness to face off with one of Lucifer's Generals to free his own soul and protect others.

David and Bekka seem to be fated lovers, there's only one problem David is half demon, while Bekka is a Guardian, destined for an even higher calling. These intriguing characters along with a few other 'angels and demons', make 'Wasteland' an exciting story that leaves the reader breathless, and hoping for a victorious outcome on the side of the Light.

If you enjoy a seemingly hopeless love story with plenty of action and intrigue, 'Wasteland' is the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
If you like gobs of action, epic good vs. evil battles, and winged folk, WASTELAND is the book for you. Lynn Rush's fast-paced story is a non-stop thrill ride.

David is a half-demon who's spent the last 250 years in sensory deprivation as punishment from his "Master." Even though David's got a nasty dark side, his good heart balances him out. Since the story is told from his point of view, David is obviously the most well-developed character. But others stand out too. Beka is a Guardian of good (sort of like an angel) who fights against everything David appears to stand for. She's physically strong and super tough. Her "brother," Russell, is very protective and he's not afraid to put the smack-down on anyone who threatens Beka, including David, who has an instant attraction to her. I also liked Gage, a demon sent by David's "Master" to keep watch over him. He's smarmy and thoroughly obnoxious, but entertaining. :-) Other important characters surface at the end, and I have it on good authority that some will be making appearances in upcoming books. Yay!

I won't go into plot details because I'm sure I'd spoil something, but the pacing keeps the story moving fast - the reader barely has time to catch her breath after each nail-biting scene before the next wave of action hits. While there's romance in this book, it doesn't dominate the story. It's there, and it grows more in the second half, but to me it's a little heavier on action and suspense than romance. But only by a millimeter or two. ;-)

Suffice it to say, WASTELAND will be a trailblazer for the "New Adult" genre. It's already getting tons of attention and great reviews. I had a blast reading it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.