Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has Everything and More
Normally I don't write reviews, but this is worth writing home about. Most guides are over priced and barely have what you want. Other times they don't deliver at all making it an expensive opinion that you could have discovered in game on your own. However, this guide stands above and beyond all that came before it. It has detailed close and personal maps. The quality...
Published 8 months ago by loverbird

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really necessary
For this game, a guide is not really necessary. Collectibles show up on your map when you unlock the ctOS Control Centers and Towers (like viewpoints in the Assassin's Creed series), so a guide isn't needed. The game has pretty repetitive activities, so once you've done them once, you can pretty much do them all. Missions are quite linear. Hacking can be daunting at...
Published 7 months ago by Kairi


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really necessary, June 8, 2014
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
For this game, a guide is not really necessary. Collectibles show up on your map when you unlock the ctOS Control Centers and Towers (like viewpoints in the Assassin's Creed series), so a guide isn't needed. The game has pretty repetitive activities, so once you've done them once, you can pretty much do them all. Missions are quite linear. Hacking can be daunting at first, but you will get the hang of it.
Only one type of collectible can be tricky to solve, the QR codes. So if you don't want to figure it out yourself, this guide can help (although the location of Aiden on the supplied map is small to read, making finding the correct camera harder than it should be).
ctOS breaches are another type of collectible that can be tricky, but video guides for these are much more useful than a text guide.

What I was disappointed to find is that there is an achievement related to finding 23 songs through an in-game app called SongSneak. The guide lists all the songs, but no advice on finding them. It could have at least listed what stores play certain songs, and what songs can only be found via NPCs, and what songs are unlocked from the story campaign. A guide should have this information. I had to find this info from another website which compiled which songs can be found where.

The guide has useful info on the Online portion, from the full maps and checkpoints of all the races, and good tips on each Online Decryption map, etc.

The Collector's Edition guide has extra 32 pages of background stuff -- but it's not worth the extra $8 above the Paperback version, unless you really must have it in Hardcover.

The game is quite easy; if you have a problem, a grenade launcher will most likely solve it. I finished the game with 92% progress (only missing the online hacking games & drinking game). I only referenced the guide for the Online Contracts, and skimmed through it for some other curious information, but to be honest -- you can do fine without this guide. I wouldn't pay more than $10 for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has Everything and More, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Normally I don't write reviews, but this is worth writing home about. Most guides are over priced and barely have what you want. Other times they don't deliver at all making it an expensive opinion that you could have discovered in game on your own. However, this guide stands above and beyond all that came before it. It has detailed close and personal maps. The quality you expect from Google maps. It gives amazing back stories with beautiful pictures. It takes you step by step through: achievements, quests, side quests, how to's, secrets, etc. If you ever need the help. I also covers the online multi-player side as well as giving helpful tips to improve your gaming experience. The down side is the hardcover is heavy, bulky, and thick. Lucky for us the developer realized this and it has a code inside for a free digital copy with tutorials and zoom features for maps. With the price on amazon it's possibly one of the best deals I've ever gotten. This truly is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Help, May 31, 2014
By 
Sabo (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent way to quickly grasp and understand how to play the game effectively, quickly and with maximum entertainment. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guide that (finally) impressed me, May 27, 2014
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
‘Watch Dogs Collector's Edition’ is kind of exemplary guide that can be used as benchmark for the publishers, both in the terms of the amount and usefulness of information, design and additional content for hardcore fans it provides.

Watch Dogs is a game that even most casual gamers have probably heard of, being for the long time one of the most expected games for people across the globe interested in innovative gameplay and the ideas that it offered for the first time.

Therefore seeing for a such complex game listed on one place all the achievements, quests and side quests description, description of online multi-player part of game, plus tons of tips and secrets is just incredible and I’m sure that anyone who will take this guide into own hands will share my opinion. Though, probably the thing that impressed me the most were its maps which are so well-made and detailed that you can spend hours just looking them.

I guess someone will surely write in the comments that this is a paid advertisement review - due to the nature of writing many book reviews I often encounter various guides, but typically do not write reviews for them because I do not feel competent enough considering that I no longer have much time to play. But for this guide I made an exception because as soon as I saw it and flipped through it, it’s really evident guys made a great job.

Therefore all the recommendations though try to use it as less as possible; enjoyment is still greater when something is achieved independently, without following others' instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, extensive, worth the price., December 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
One of the heaviest of all Prima strategy guides. I expected something of 200 pages and got the double of it. Very extensive, very deep, covering every single thing in the game except for the city games which are e-guide exclusive. That being said the e-guide comes with this one via an unlock code inside the book so you not only get 500 pages worth of intense strategy but a mobile-friendly one with the same content plus the city games and other interactive content. Very helpful, I am perfectly satisfied with it. This one justifies the price the best out of those I have seen so far. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great strategy guide, May 27, 2014
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
I only have a few strategy guides, but this watch dogs guide is fantastic. It is divided up nicely, so you can find what you're looking for very quickly. It has already helped me on a couple of side missions. Another reason why I like this guide is the 30+ page introduction at the beginning of the guide, giving insight to characters and locations. I found myself looking through this part while my game was installing.

To sum it up, I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quality strategy guide (the look of it and the actual content inside the guide). It is a great complement to an awesome game - I'm a few hours in and I love it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~This is well worth the money, and I think you'll agree.~, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
It would be quite difficult to comment on the sheer joy that you are presented with once you open the pages of this Watch Dogs Collector's Edition, without mentioning the ABSOLUTE need for a strategy guide for the game itself. Watch Dogs is huge, it is fun and at the same time it is extremely frustrating. I am by no means a gamer, meaning like those cats who upload videos to YouTube and show the world how it's done. But I do enjoy some games and since such hype was made about Watch Dogs, especially when the delay was announced, it was hard not to notice all that was being said about it. Whenever possible, I prefer the collector edition of a strategy guide and this one not only looks great, feel sturdy and premium, the information within is so detailed, so precise, you will take care of it as though it were one of the last ones ever on earth. The cover features a blue outline of what appears to be a map, and initially I missed it, but the outline faintly shows Aiden holding a gun and his phone: MAN, THIS IS TOO COOL. I am not sure what the material is housing the guide, but it has a velvet feel to it, almost criminal for a book to feel like this. Oh, by the way: THIS. IS. A LOT. OF. INFORMATION. The mix of images and written information is well balanced so no guesswork is needed. There is enough background on each of the main characters you'll experience during the game, and the headshot of the characters seem almost real, making it clear just how much games have vastly improved, not just since home systems were made, but in the last 5 years. Textures & wrinkles in the skin come through nicely, which made me wonder if their photos were actual people altered just enough for the game. The size of this guide is like an encyclopedia and while that is not a bad thing, it is unexpected since I have never owned a guide of this size, nowhere close. But considering it took 5 1/2 years to complete Watch Dogs, it is clear the makers wanted to imbue us with supreme confidence. You can get sidetracked easily from doing the next task in the storyline, so should you choose to divert from your intended goal, this will help you get back on track. Instruction is so, so vital for Watch Dogs, unlike some games that are easier to pick up on. From game play to hacking to side missions, everything you need is here: the driving, however, sucks. Really, really, REALLY sucks! At one point I wrecked a car so bad I was riding on the rims, sparks flying everywhere like it was the 4th! I don't guess driving lessons can be given, but since it is such a huge part of the game, it should be much, much better.

And if you are interested, please note(at the time of its release)that Amazon sells this for $13 less than GameStop, which is where I normally purchase my games. I am able to get points from surveys that I use to get huge discounts for games I buy. Those savings cannot be ignored so hopefully those dedicated to only buying from GameStop will become aware of Amazon's price. Promotions from both can be quite good at times, but Amazon wins this round.

P.S. This guide also includes a FREE Mobile Friendly eGuide from Prima Games, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Awesome guide. It really encompasses every iota of information from the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Usually don't buy for games but with Watch Dogs the guide is a must!, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Worth it for this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars big brother see u, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
this book very cool look great was well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide
Watch Dogs Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide by David S. J. Hodgson (Hardcover - May 27, 2014)
$34.99 $24.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.