Customer Reviews


1,158 Reviews
5 star:
 (610)
4 star:
 (214)
3 star:
 (115)
2 star:
 (70)
1 star:
 (149)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


678 of 708 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Additional changes for Director's Cut
The director's cut runs about 25 minutes longer, and incorporates more elements from the comics, adds more violence, as well as more shots of Dr. Manhatten's schlong. Some of the previous scenes are reworked with additional dialogue. Information has been supported by sites such as AICN etc.

Overall, the storyline and conversations are better fleshed out, and...
Published on July 2, 2009 by Senor Zoidbergo

versus
54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the director's cut... please
Geez, it looks like in April we will be getting the official "Watchmen: The 'This is really the final cut, I'm serious guys' Cut". Or so I thought. I am a huge fan of the Watchmen universe- I read the graphic novel twice, I saw the movie on opening night at the theatre, I bought the Director's Cut on Blu-Ray when it got released. Then I went and bought this when it got...
Published on February 21, 2010 by Renfield


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

678 of 708 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Additional changes for Director's Cut, July 2, 2009
This review is from: Watchmen (Director's Cut) (DVD)
The director's cut runs about 25 minutes longer, and incorporates more elements from the comics, adds more violence, as well as more shots of Dr. Manhatten's schlong. Some of the previous scenes are reworked with additional dialogue. Information has been supported by sites such as AICN etc.

Overall, the storyline and conversations are better fleshed out, and this version is truer to the comics. The largest additional addition is that of Hollis Mason's death, which is spectacularly directed to the score of the Intermezzo from the opera Cavalleria Rusticana (think Godfather III).

(1) Rorschach gets additional dialogue, some straight from the comics.

(2) When Rorschach searches the Comedian's apartment shortly after the opening scene, he encounters two cops still stationed there. He fights briefly with them before jumping back out the window.

(3) Conversation between Dan and Rorschach (beans scene) is extended.

(4) All flashbacks extended, with the exception of Sally's.

(5) Dr. Manhatten discussing the symbol on his forehead. Additional questions in the face to face with Dr. Manhatten. Dan and Hollis watch Dr. Manhatten go crazy on their TV set.

(6) Laurie getting interrogated by the military as they try to determine Dr. M's whereabouts (on Mars). Alessandro Juliani's (Lt. Gaeta from Battlestar Galactica) scene has been reinserted. He plays one of the scientists who bursts in during the interrogation of Laurie to tell the military that they've located Dr. M on Mars.

(7) Probably the biggest addition is the depiction of Hollis Mason's death at the hands of the knot heads. Interestingly, the death is done from poor Hollis' POV, where he imagines himself fighting the gangsters of the 1940s. He delivers left and right hooks to Captain Evil, before being done in by "Moloch". The score for the death scene is very fitting.

(8) Dan taking revenge on an isolated knot head at a bar, post Hollis' death. It's a brutal revenge.

(9) The shootout by hired hitman Roy Chess is much more brutal- e.g. more blood and gore, fingers blown off.

(10) Conversation between Dr. Long and Rorschach is extended.

(11) Longer jail-break scene with arguments between Rorschach and Laurie. Prison guards open fire on Dan's ship.

(12) Longer conversation between Dr. M and L on Mars.

(13) Riot scene is longer with more conversation between the Comedian and the rioters.

(14) Agent Forbes (Fulvio Cecere) has a larger role as the government agent in charge of handling all the Watchmen.

This is THE version to get. It feels complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


192 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End is Nigh.. But at Least it's the Ultimate Cut, November 8, 2009
Finally, Zac Synder's vision as it was meant to be. I can't believe they milked the DVD release for literally ever last penny they could. Nevertheless, I am incredibly pleased to own 'Watchmen: the Ultimate Cut'.

The Set Includes:

Disc 1
- Watchmen, the Ultimate Cut (1080p/VC-1 Transfer, 215min)
- Commentary from Zac Snyder and Dave Gibbons (Explains everything from prop inspirations to plot alterations)
- BD Live

Disc 2
- The Phenomenon: The Comic That Changed Comics (HD 25min)
- Real Super Heroes, Real Vigilantes (HD 26min)
- Mechanics: Technologies of a Fantastic World (HD 17min)
- Watchmen: Video Journals (HD 36mmin)
- Under the Hood (HD 38min)
- Story Within a Story: The Books of Watchmen (HD 36min)
- My Chemical Romance, 'Desolation Row' Music Video (HD, 3min)

Disc 3
- Watchmen: The Complete Motion Comics (1080p/VC-1 Transfer, 325).
- Watchmen Video Journal, Dave Gibbons (HD 3min)
- Wonder Woman Sneak Peak (SD 10min)

Disc 4
- Bonus Digital Copy (Not Blu-ray)- Digital Copy of the Theatrical Version. (Not Blu-Ray, Expires November 2010)

WARNING:
- Disc 1 does not include 'Watchmen' WITHOUT 'the Black Freighter' integrated. The digital copy may somewhat compensate for this, but if you're still not satisfied, you'll have to purchase the 'Director's Cut' and 'the Black Freighter' separetely.

'The Ultimate Cut':

With 'The Black Freighter' interwoven into segments throughout the film, it extends the movie to over three and a half hours long and fills in the missing pieces from the graphic novel along with a few other small live-action scenes, that weren't in the 'Director's Cut' and that bookend the 'comic within a comic', making it all the more magnificently epic and unique. And the extra material is massive, analytic and comprehensive, which is only fair to the fans, who feel milked and cheated, or who just love the 'Watchmen'.

'The Black Freighter' is a grim tale that parallels the lives of different Watchmen, particularly Veidt's and Rorschach's, and their compulsion to fight evil everywhere they think they find it, blinded to the consequences of their actions. Tremendously beautiful yet raw and simplistic animation and the voice of Gerald Butler, bring this intriguing and fan-favorite aspect of the story to life, but it's the effective and pragmatic interweaving of it, that reflects on the Watchmen and stays true to the original source.

In order to match the significance and caliber of the graphic novel, the cinematic version had to embody every thematic nuance and concept behind the 'Watchmen', yet still understand itself as a medium and push the limits of it's own boundaries. And if the 'Theatrical Cut' didn't than that's exactly what the 'Ultimate Cut' does.

The notion of a fluid time-line, explored by Dr. Manhattan's character and the story's complex degree of structuralism is as prevalent as ever. The dark realities of nuclear weapons and humanity's abuse of great power are portrayed in the film through the superhero genre as effectively as they are in Moore's literary masterpiece. The alternative chronology of Cold-War America, defined mostly by the social acceptance of costumed vigilantes, the existence of a superhuman, victory in Vietnam, an endless Nixon presidency and proliferating social rot, reflects upon actual history with profound relevance and cleverly parodies it as well. The cast of talented but unfamilair actors embraces the moral, emotional and psychological aspects of their characters, and the 'Watchmen' universe is equally fleshed out with over 200 elaborate and painstakingly detailed movie sets, that are literally straight out of the comic.

Inevitably, the plot is altered but constructed in a possibly more coherent manner, due to the controversial but practical trade of the bio-engineered squid fore an even more diabolical scheme to frame Dr. Manhattan. Also somewhat diverting from the novel, Snyder pays homage to the 80's inserting a few of his own era-specific grace notes via time-capsule references to Lee Iacocca and "The McLaughlin Group, the film's Reagan generation-friendly soundtrack, head-nods to films like 'Brazil' and 'Apocalypse Now, and capturing the fear and uncertainty felt during the Cold War .

The films depiction of brutality transcends the standard Hollywood repertory of effects; it is more like a cause, a principle.. an ideology. Snyder's marriage to violence exposes the shallow nihilism lurking beneath the intellectual and sophisticated pretensions of 'Watchmen'.

'Watchmen' is a post-modern tale about costumed vigilantes with complicated and true-to-life psychological profiles and a man with god-like earth-shaking powers, trying to function in a world without hope , and it was said to have been impossible to film. Some tried, and failed before they even began. It's probably a miracle it took decades to make the movie, Zac Snyder was the right man to do it.

The film is uncompromising, uncommercial, and unprecedented. It's the 'Watchmen' movie you always wanted, but never thought you'd get, but now, even more so. All the gritty crime-noir, political satire, superhero mythology and science fiction is still there, so unless you forgot or missed the most ambitious, most reverent, most obsessively faithful (to a point) cinematic adaptation of a graphic novel ever and all the stunning and innovative movie magic and gore-porn that went with it, then there won't be much else new for you to get your hopes up for.

O, except maybe for the 3 additional discs with extra material. The Box it comes in, is pretty snazzy and durable too.

I love 'Watchmen: the Ultimate Cut'. I'm glad I bought it. If you're a fan of the 'Watchmen', and need the complete version of the film, then you'll love it and be glad you bought it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie is of course awesome...so is Nite Owl Ship!, July 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is just to point out something not mentioned in the description. As you know, this comes with an exclusive Nite Owl Ship.

First, it looks cool. Nice details, looks 'properly used'. But here's the thing. After I unpacked it I noticed a slip of paper at the bottom of the box. It described how to replace the batteries in the Nite Owl Ship. Wait... BATTERIES?

So I then discovered the ship is made to easily come off it's stand. Under it there is a battery compartment. It requires a small Phillips head to open. I opened it to confirm... yup a battery compartment with two batteries!

But for the life of me I could not figure out what the Nite Owl Ship was suppose to do! I saw no switch. So I even tried talking to it... nope, no voice recognition.

*** spoiler **

Finally... I figured out the top plate (circular on the very top) is a hidden switch! You press it... and it lights up (detail lights and bright main front lights)! And, for about 5-10 seconds... it makes the SOUNDS of the Nite Owl Ship flying around! The lights stay on until you press the hidden switch again...

This ended up being much more than advertised! :)

And of course the movie is great... but you already know that (or else what the heck are you reading this for)!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than theatrical release, but more to come in December, August 4, 2009
By 
J. W. Luther (Rolla, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This edition is an improvement over the theatrical release and is closer to the book. My only disappointment related to this edition was that I opened the package to find a coupon for the ULTIMATE edition, which is to be released Decemberish. The next (and I hope final) version will have the Black Freighter story woven into the main story as it is in the book. If you don't want multiple versions of this film, hold off buying until the end of the year.

I agree with the other reviewers who note the film's ending is an improvement over the book's. It just makes more sense in the context of the story. This is not a knock on Mr. Moore, of whom I am a big fan.

I don't understand the folks who are so down on this film, unless it is that they just had the wrong expectations and/or didn't do their homework before watching it. It was never meant to be another Spiderman, Superman or Hulk story.

Kudos to Mr. Moore. Kudos for the team who produced this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's included, September 24, 2009
By 
J. Hunter Johnson (Centerville, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've held off on buying the Watchmen DVDs released so far, hoping for a "complete" set like this one (which I've now pre-ordered). What you get:

Disc 1:
* Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut Film (rated R), weaving together the "Tales of the Black Freighter" with the "Watchmen: Director's Cut". 215 minutes
* Audio Commentary with Zack Snyder and Dave Gibbons

Disc 2:
* The Phenomenon: The Comic That Changed Comics
* Real Super Heroes, Real Vigilantes
* Mechanics: Technologies of a Fantastic World
* Watchmen: Video Journals
* My Chemical Romance Desolation Row
* Under the Hood (rated PG)
* Story Within a Story: The Books of Watchmen

Disc 3:
* Digital Copy of the Theatrical Version. (The drawback: no Blu-ray version of the theatrical release. But I didn't take a star off for this.)

Disc 4:
* Watchmen: The Complete Motion Comics (this is split across two discs on the non-Blu-ray edition) 325 minutes

Blu-ray exclusive: Connect to Facebook through BD-Live. The content is not rated except where noted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


741 of 900 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is The Masterpiece We Never Thought Would Ever Happen, March 9, 2009
By 
*SPOILER WARNING*

Let me be blunt.

Alan Moore should eat crow and be proud of this movie. "Unfilmable" it most certainly wasn't.

And the fanboys all need to take a laxative. This was in at least some ways better than the maxi-series/graphic novel, which will never be demoted from its status as a classic of its medium.

Aside from the overly graphic violence, a gratuituous sex scene, and Dr. Manhattan's needless nudity (he needed to wear pants, and seeing his genitalia added nothing to the plot)I really have nothing negative to say about Watchmen.

Let's diffuse some of the criticisms I've come across.

Yes, Matthew Goode was foppish as Ozymandias. He's supposed to be that way. He's not intended to exude menace. That's his style. A villian as sublime as Ozymandias is subtle. Coming across as overtly malevolent would have caused his plans to fail. His slender, Aryan appearance and slight German accent made him the perfect choice to play the type of foe who believes that the murder of millions is the only way to save the world.

Which brings me to the casting. There was not one actor who didn't fit their respective character like Rorschach's inkblot mask. The decisions made concerning who should play who were more accurate than any comic book movie I can think of.

Jeffrey Dean Morgan's Comedian was Burt Reynolds as a misogynist sociopath. It was as if the character himself was directly lifted from the pages of the graphic novel and given life. It was uncanny how Morgan captured this character's all too easy violence, his nonchalant, happy penchant for brutality.

I said in a review of Batman:The Dark Knight that Heath Ledger's portrayal of the Joker was unfathomably good, especially considering Ledger's teen idol pedigree.

Jackie Earle Haley's Rorschach dethrones Ledger's Joker in that regard. From out of some forgotten void, a former heart throb returns to play a madman akin to Robert DeNiro's Travis Bickle or Michael Douglas' William Foster. My money would be on Haley's Rorschach as Steve Ditko's right-wing Objectivist Mr. A, the analogue for Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' character, is channeled with such a chilling and disturbed beauty. His guilt is blended with an intolerance as he claims that the dead heroine Silhouette met her fate due to being a lesbian. When Haley takes off the mask, things become even more unnverving as you see how "fascinatingly ugly" Walter Kovacs, Rorschach's alter ego is, inside and out. Again, having a former Tiger Beat hero play such a character was just remarkable to me. 20 years from now, people will never believe that Haley was once a Bad News Bear, and for that alone he deserves an Oscar. Seriously. His performance is more than enough to recommend this film to anyone.

None of the other performances disappoint. Patrick Wilson's Nite Owl also deserves mention as he nails down the David Brinkley (from Robert Mayer's obscure but very influential 1977 novel 'Superfolks') as Batman that Moore and Gibbons intended Nite Owl to be. He's awkward, stuffy, insecure, and rusty in crimefighting and life in general, and Wilson flawlessly gets that across.

As an aside, and us comics fans need to face this fact, the film versions of Silk Spectre, Nite Owl, and Ozymandias absolutely trump the comics versions in terms of design. Silk Spectre is sexier, Nite Owl is fierce, sleek, and punches his wonky-looking comics counterpart back to DC's Silver Age, and here Ozymandias is a Greek god compared to Gibbons' take.

Some people are complaining that Malin Akerman's Silk Spectre was dry, but I thought she was fine. In fact, she was just the right mixture of innocent and sultry and thusly kept with the spirit of not only Silk Spectre herself but also of the characters that inspired Moore and Gibbons to create her. Akerman was one mod version of Phantom Lady or Nightshade.

Remember, they're all analogues because if they weren't, we wouldn't have had any Blue Beetle or Question tales in the 80's.

Carla Gugino is quite the aging diva here. Her makeup job as a senior (The Silk Spectre's mother and predecessor) is so astonishing you'd think she was an unknown. In the flashback sequences she is the epitome of retro eroticism.

She sees herself in an underground porn comic and is flattered. Wow.

And speaking of unknowns, can anyone honestly think of any famous actors who would have done as well or better in these roles? Yet another reason why Watchmen is such a success. John Cusack as Nite Owl? Please.

So the casting was faithful as was the entire movie for the most part, thereby squashing another gripe the fans had. I'll even go as far as to say that Watchmen works so well because it is very faithful to its source material.

Yes, the ending is somewhat different, yet is pretty much the same. Ozymandias stages nuclear attacks instead of an alien invasion to unite mankind, "killing millions to save billions" as he himself would put it.

You know, when I read the Watchmen chapter in David Hughes' book "The Greatest Sci-Fi Movies Never Made," and saw that Sam Hamm didn't feel that the ending of the original comics story "worked" for him, I knew then and there that the makers of Watchmen the film weren't going to completely stick to Moore and Gibbons' vision. And that slight difference (it's just a parallel path to the same destination) only made for a better movie.

Alien invasions are not timely in any period, let alone this alternate Nixon-led 1985 or 2009. The threat of mutually assured nuclear holocaust is. If humanity is to be dealt a serious blow, it will be by humanity's own hand, not something from beyond our solar system.

What we have with the cinematic Watchmen, is what I believe we had with the original tale. It's a treatise on those who rule the world, masked as a superhero yarn, which in turn is masked as a murder mystery. It makes you think, and at the same time is mindful of that needed sense of wonder. It's scary, nihilistic, exciting, provocative, and its ending is as hopeful as it is troubling.

The tale of the Watchmen is like a railroad track that is built with the best of aims yet leads to nowhere but perdition. What will our elites do, or what are they above or not above doing to improve the human condition? Who in power can we trust? In the movie, we see Nixon, Kissinger, and other real-life malefactors who did what they did for personal gain. What of Ozymandias? What did he stand to gain? Did he really love humankind or have nothing but detached contempt for it? We see this with Billy Crudup's Dr. Manhattan as well, although Manhattan suffers from disappointment and heartbroken selfishness, whereas Ozymandias has this sense of birthright to save the world from itself by way of genocide.

I may need to dig out my copy of Watchmen the graphic novel as it has admittedly been a few years since I last perused it, but as a comics fan of 30 years, as someone who holds comics in the highest regard as an artform and recognizes the Moore/Gibbons masterwork as deserving of its status, I will state that Watchmen was more than worth the wait. One could even make a case that it's a better movie because it took so long to happen, that development hell aided in making it what it is.

And it bears repeating, Watchmen, with some minor and essential tweaking, is reverent of the comic book, and that reverence is another component that makes the movie so engrossing.

There was a time when I didn't think that a Watchmen film should be made. However, upon seeing the final product, I am left with some questions.

Why isn't Alan Moore rejoicing?

And why isn't comics fandom rejoicing along with him?

Even if you've never read a comic book in your life, I strongly recommend Watchmen. If it doesn't make you a fan of the comic book or of comics in general, then you didn't enjoy the film, and if you didn't enjoy the film, I have nothing left to say to you. If you think that your unfamiliarity with the characters, the fact that they aren't icons like Batman and Spider-Man, will hinder your enjoyment, remind yourself of the Hellboy phenomenon. Hellboy was a mid-level character that has never had an ongoing series and was published by a company that was not Marvel or DC. He has since been the subject of a pair of moviehouse blockbusters. Also be mindful of the the popular Men In Black franchise and its origin as an obscure independent comic book. From the looks of it, the heroes/villians (are they one and the same?) of Watchmen are about to join that club.

If you are a comics fan and haven't seen it yet, leave the nitpicker in you at home, allow yourself to be surprised in the best way possible, and go ahead and be a little smug as the closing credits roll. You deserve it for being so far ahead of the curve.

A monument of comics finally has a cinematic counterpart. Hold your head high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the director's cut... please, February 21, 2010
Geez, it looks like in April we will be getting the official "Watchmen: The 'This is really the final cut, I'm serious guys' Cut". Or so I thought. I am a huge fan of the Watchmen universe- I read the graphic novel twice, I saw the movie on opening night at the theatre, I bought the Director's Cut on Blu-Ray when it got released. Then I went and bought this when it got released. Greed getting the best of me, I think so.

I was pretty damn amazed when I saw it in the theater. Then when I got it on Blu-Ray, I felt like I had seen a totally different movie (in a good way) with it being the director's cut- It had better pacing, an extra 23 minutes to tie the loose ends, and in the end it was a satisfaction. And then I got this.

For one, the packaging is nice and lovely to hold and look at, and to disassemble it is exciting too, just like when the director's cut of Sin City got released back in 2005, which came with the graphic novel, which was a nice little classy touch. However, in terms of content, this is nothing new. It is essentially the director's cut with "Tales of the Black Freighter" shoved in there.

The problem with it is that it's just unnecessary. TOTBF does nothing but just extends its length, and not in a good way. The movie was already long enough with the 3 hour 6 minute Director's cut. The runtime of the Ultimate Cut is 212 minutes, almost an hour longer than the theatre cut. And the TOTBF just creates an awkward transition from the movie scenes to the animated scenes. Every time the TOTBF scenes come in, they take you out of the movie, thus makeing it hard to enjoy.

Another problem is that the TOTBF scenes ruin any ambiguity there is to Veidt's plan. It basically tells whoever hasn't seen the movie and is watching it for the first time that Veidt's plan is doomed to fail- that he will murder 15 million people and try to cover it up by making Dr. Manhattan look responsible. It also tries to spoonfeed the "good versus evil" cliche to kids under 12 watching the movie. Rorschach good! Veidt bad! The comic let you decide who's good/bad, yet the UC spoonfeeds it to you.

Picture quality is amazing (and I am speaking for both the DC and the UC here since they both have the same picture quality); I remember when The Dark Knight came out on blu-ray and people were oh-so-swayed by its supposedly amazing picture quality yet I couldn't get my mind past the failed attempts to recapture the IMAX scenes, the distracting edge enhancement and the shifting F-stop in some scenes. Whereas Watchmen looks vintage and sharp- a lovely film grain enhances the 80s feel of the movie, the colors are really vibrant (especially in the Dr. Manhattan scenes and Laurie's coat in the "Forest room" interrogation scenes). The Audio is fantastic too- though not different than the DC.

In short, it is worth purchasing, but for the packaging only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, November 14, 2009
This review is from: Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut (DVD)
When the long-awaited adaptation of Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' comic book masterpiece Watchmen was released, it proved to be, despite its flaws, undoubtedly the best adaptation that a fan of the comic could have ever hoped for. Those who found it boring, overlong, or just simply didn't "get it" need not apply here for this Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut edition, which pushes Zack Snyder's adaptation to a 3 and a half hour plus epic. Fully incorporating the animated Tales of the Black Freighter (intercut into segments) as well as deleted scenes from the first DVD and Blu-Ray releases of the film, Watchmen: The Ultimate Edition is a masterpiece of comic book to film adaptations that will not disappoint those who have long cherished the comic. The special features, which include commentary tracks from Snyder and Gibbons, as well as the brilliant Under the Hood segment, the various webisodes, and the Watchmen: The Complete Motion Comic, are worthwhile enough (though one may wish that more would and could have been included features wise), and as for the film itself, the same flaws do remain: including the various alterations in the story (such as Rorschach's origin and the ending), and the fact that the film just isn't for everyone or those expecting to see guys in tights fighting the good fight. Despite its flaws though, the Watchmen film remains a labor of love that does Moore and Gibbons' masterwork, and now that it's in its complete form, is more than worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, November 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When the long-awaited adaptation of Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' comic book masterpiece Watchmen was released, it proved to be, despite its flaws, undoubtedly the best adaptation that a fan of the comic could have ever hoped for. Those who found it boring, overlong, or just simply didn't "get it" need not apply here for this Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut edition, which pushes Zack Snyder's adaptation to a 3 and a half hour plus epic. Fully incorporating the animated Tales of the Black Freighter (intercut into segments) as well as deleted scenes from the first DVD and Blu-Ray releases of the film, Watchmen: The Ultimate Edition is a masterpiece of comic book to film adaptations that will not disappoint those who have long cherished the comic. The special features, which include commentary tracks from Snyder and Gibbons, as well as the brilliant Under the Hood segment, the various webisodes, and the Watchmen: The Complete Motion Comic, are worthwhile enough (though one may wish that more would and could have been included features wise), and as for the film itself, the same flaws do remain: including the various alterations in the story (such as Rorschach's origin and the ending), and the fact that the film just isn't for everyone or those expecting to see guys in tights fighting the good fight. Despite its flaws though, the Watchmen film remains a labor of love that does Moore and Gibbons' masterwork, and now that it's in its complete form, is more than worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moore's Graphical Masterpiece Comes to Life, November 12, 2012
There is a sense of irony in writing this review. Mainly because when i first saw the movie, was overly clouded by judgement due to its content of violence. This is no story about a cliche superhero team. Set in an alternate 1985, parallel to our world, Watchmen tells the story of a "What if..superhero's existed in our world?" possiblility.

The story is a chronicle of the lives of these individuals tarnished by the events of history & a story which all starts with the murder of one of their very own...

Watchmen is a movie with many layers. That been said; you have to watch it more than once, twice, maybe three times to fully grasp it. I speak from experience. This new collection brings about a sigh of relief for fans. Back in 2010, the movie was released in a special edition format titled, "The Ultimate Cut". This was the fully uncut version of the movie which included the Directors Cut release as well as Tales of the Black Freighter. The story that was told in the graphic novel "A story within a story" bringing the movie to an unbelieveable 215 minutes! The original Ultimate Cut stopped being pressed and was out of print. This further led dozens of people selling off their copies for a fortune.

Now you can all rejoice! The ultimate Cut is back and even better than ever. The full uncut movie, The motion Graphic Novel, awesome special features and they even throwed in the classic graphic novel by legendary writer, Alan Moore. All this in a lovely package that screams just in time for Christmas, "Buy me!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Watchmen (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray Steelbook]
Watchmen (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray Steelbook] by Zack Snyder (Blu-ray - 2013)
$24.98 $11.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.