Water on the Moon: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $16.95
  • Save: $4.01 (24%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Water on the Moon: A Novel Paperback – June 3, 2014


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.94
$9.74 $6.45
Best%20Books%20of%202014

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 244 pages
  • Publisher: She Writes Press (June 3, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1938314611
  • ISBN-13: 978-1938314612
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.8 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.3 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #689,442 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A fusion of history, romance, and mystery, Moore’s ambitious debut dazzles. With sympathetic characters who come alive, and with threads of Byron and Earhart cleverly woven throughout the pages, Moore spins a bewitching tale of hope, tragedy, and family secrets.”
—Lori Nelson Spielman, author of The Life List

“In this compelling novel, Moore’s characters struggle with loss and change, and they find their way to fulfillment. A moving, well-told story.”
—Nan Fink Gefen, author of Clear Lake: A Novel, publisher of Persimmon Tree, an online magazine of the arts

“Moore’s well-observed debut novel introduces us to Lidia Raven, a relatable heroine whose home, career, and marriage have all recently been shattered. Through her journey, we see possibilities for reinvention and the ever-surprising ways that friends and family shape our world.”
—Caitlin Leffel, editor and co-author of The Best Things to Do in New York: 1001 Ideas, Flair, and The Meaning of Home

About the Author

Jean P. Moore began her professional life as an English teacher, later becoming a telecommunications executive. She and her husband, Steve, and Sly, their black Lab, divide their time between Greenwich, Connecticut and the Berkshires in Massachusetts, where Jean teaches yoga in the summers.

Her work has appeared in newspapers, magazines, and literary journals such as upstreet, Distillery, Skirt, Long Island Woman, and the Hartford Courant. In 2009, Jean was selected to attend the Advanced Fiction Workshop, led by Nahid Rachlin, at the 92 Street Y. A short story, “Friday Night at the Olympia Theater” can be read online in Slow Trains, Spring, ’09. Additionally, a memoir piece, “Leaving Charles,” appears online in Persimmon Tree, summer, 2011. Several poems, “Dancing with My Mother,” (a finalist), “Evening,” and “Views of the Valley, page 76,” can be read in 21st Century Women’s Voices, 2013.

More About the Author

Jean contracted the "writing bug" in elementary when her first "novel" was published in the school newspaper, a mimeographed inky affair, but no matter, her desire to write was born. In fact, the love of literature started years before, when her mother read the Madeline books to her. Jean started her professional life as a high school English teacher. She went on to earn her Ph.D. in English literature and taught college English for a time before turning to telecommunications where she was an executive in education and training for many years. Now she has returned to her first love and has published fiction, poetry, and non-fiction in literary journals, magazines, and newspapers. She lives with her husband, Steve, and their black Lab, Sly, in Greenwich, CT. In the summer, Jean teaches yoga in the Berkshires. Water on the Moon is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Jonathan Kahane on May 28, 2014
Format: Paperback
Jean Moore has provided the reader with a thought-provoking tale that mixes large doses of psychological conflict with family intrigue and non-traditional romance on several levels. One is taken on a trip that includes various paths which the author deftly develops simultaneously. The story lines are intricately woven throughout the book and beautifully come together at the conclusion. I found myself eager to turn the page in order to uncover what the characters would encounter next, and if/how they would be able to resolve the complex issues they faced. As a psychologist, I had a great time interpreting the behavior of the characters in terms of the major personality theorists. I am ready to read Jean Moore's next novel!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By richard hyman on August 3, 2014
Format: Paperback
I was hooked by the second page. Jean Moore has created plot, characters and dialog in the tradition of Susan Isaacs and Elinor Lipman. What a great read! Family dynamics, mystery and romance in what I think is her first novel. Here's hoping for a second.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By SHARON SMITH on June 21, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
There may be “Water on the Moon,” but there’s gold within the binders of Jean Moore’s debut novel. From the first page until the last, Moore spins a marvelous tale of mystery, romance, and historical fiction. The tapestry she weaves is stunning. The story unfolds like a carefully wrapped present—anticipation building all along the way. The author’s familiarity with great literature and poetry, coupled with her interests in Eastern religions and philosophy, allow her to pepper the pages with references to poets, like Byron and Shelley, and Hindu gods and goddesses, like Shiva and Saraswati. Her characters, especially Lidia and Polly, exude warmth, wisdom, and wit. Polly’s ability to face adversity with the serenity and determination of a yogi are what, in the end, help Lidia not only to survive a near-death experience but also to embrace life with a forgiving and open heart. Book club readers will love this carefully crafted story and the myriad possibilities for discussion. Sharon Smith, Jody's Book Club at Rock Barn
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By JR on June 8, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Water on the Moon is an engaging, fun novel. The clever plot, which comes together neatly at the book's conclusion, weaves historical and fictional events and characters seamlessly. The writing is deft, the narrative moves along swiftly, and the characters are most memorable. The reader is left with an understanding of the power of friendship, loyalty, and love--both familial and romantic. Read this book and enjoy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on August 11, 2014
Format: Paperback
I found Water on the Moon to be a compulsively readable mix of authentically set historical fact with engagingly colorful characters. Jean Moore has written a novel that will satisfy readers looking for mystery,romance, and intrigue.I particularly enjoyed the manner in which the author embedded threads of Lord Byron and Amelia Earhart throughout. This novel is MORE than a good 'beach read"!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Gerald Somamore on August 3, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am a fan of Jean Moore's articles, poetry, and short stories; and now I can say I am a fan of her first novel. Her well drawn portraits of believable people and her wry but telling observations of family and relationship dynamics are all very satisfying. From the beginning, you can't help but be drawn into Lidia's soon to be upside world. Great summer read to say the least.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again